Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Balmers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 4794 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 4794 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jun 2017
9.4

One of the nicest, safest and best vibes of all the hostels I've stayed around Europe! can't wait to come back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
9.4

All of the staff were fantastic, the beds were comfortable, the bathrooms were much cleaner than you would normally see in a hostel, and it was a really great environment to meet people. Guests got a surprisingly substantial free breakfast (although I wouldn’t complain if they added soy yoghurt or another vegan option!), and there’s both a bar with a patio and a nightclub in the basement. The hostel is really well located - only about a 15 or 20 minute walk into the main downtown area/hiking!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mkirby17608
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
9.1

Place was great. The staff knew everything you could do in interlaken, and made sure you knew what you could do. They were very friendly, and asked how I was every time I walked in. Everyone was like a family there. They have a bar and club that have theme nights, and many people from other hostels will come to balmers to party. The worst thing was that they were renovating the showers in my wing while I was there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
5.7

This is a party hostel filled with people in their early 20s.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
8.0

Cool place to hang. It's a party hostel so the nights get a bit loud. The club is fun to hang out in and the location is fairly close to the ost train station. Lots of accommodations and the breakfast was included so that was nice. Food places are very close aswell.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • samparsons11871
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
9.4

I've been waiting to stay in a hostel like this my whole Euro trip. I met great friends and girls from all over the world. We celebrated every night after hiking and swimming all around Interlaken. Was an absolute riot. Every other hostel in the area came to Balmers at night for the unreal cheap happy hour and club. Balmers is mellow and lets you have the freedom to actually have fun and be unrestricted.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • spencer37997767
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Jun 2017
9.1

Best experience i have ever had at a hostel. The rooms are pretty hot during the summer, the showers (in my building) were not great, and no toilet en suite. But even with all that it was the best place ive stayed. Im traveling alone, and it was so easy to meet people that i got along with very well and had an awesome time with. Morning breakfast, and full kitchen facilities. Staff is fantastic, friendly, helpful, and most of them are pretty cute. Much to do in interlaken. Wish i could live ther

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2017
9.1

This is an amazing social hostel that was truly a unique stay! The bar is fun and food is tasty and is reasonably priced for the area, the rooms are so unique and have character that has allowed Balmer's to be such a staple in the community. The staff are lively and super helpful, the facilities are clean, and the room I was fortunate to enough to be in had some great roommates! It was such an enjoyable experience! This is truly a great place for solo travelers to feel a part of the community!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jimmyshimmyaa
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2017
9.4

Had a unreal time staying at Balmers. Met lots of great people. Has a great atmosphere and the staff were very helpful. The best hostel I have stayed at yet. Cheers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2017
5.1

The lack of air circulation was unbearable. It was extremely hot. flies everywhere. The room near me had a cockroach in her bed, we had a huge spider in the food pantry. Showers were tiny and you had to push for water every 2 seconds. Not exaggerating. They are working on that though. My room key stopped working randomly in the middle of my stay, went to reception, it was closed so I found a worker walking by and she said I had to wait (1hr) for reception to open. I was pissed. Never again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.