Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Balmers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 4938 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 4938 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
13th Aug 2017
9.1

We had a great time in the hammock room here at balmers!! Definitely stay here if you get the chance, but be sure to bring your own locks/blankets as the hammock room is public all day from 8am-9pm so you leave your belongings in the common area, lockers are a paid service, and no cages in the rooms and no lock on the hammock room gate over night. These are all small details that did not deter is from enjoying our stay and meeting new people! Thanks for everything!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dis0003
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2017
9.4

Such a good vibe here and something for everyone! Only downside was I had no hot water for one of my showers. Staff were super helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2017
9.7

This location was right in the middle of town and worked out perfectly. The staff was very friendly and had a lot of knowledge on the outdoor activities that Interlaken had to offer. The whole town shuts early, but there is still a bar downstairs if that's what you're looking for. The facilities are currently being remodeled, but the current ones aren't bad.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great rating!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Aug 2017
7.1

Everything here is kinda expensive but that's the same for the whole town, the beds are nice and the showers were clean so can't complain really

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad you had no complaints!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Aug 2017
9.4

I really liked this hostel, the staff that were there at the time were amazing, so friendly and welcoming! The hostel itself was really cool, they have events on every night in the club they have downstairs which surprisingly you can't hear from above ground which is good if you're trying to sleep! Great location, close to its sister hostel, Tent Village which is just as good, and right next to the bus stop where you can take a bus for free wherever you like! Definitely would recommend!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hallbnicole6027
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
10.0

Fun stay. There were lots of people to meet. They host a lot of social events which was cool. There were a few bars around. Breakfast in the morning was simple but good. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • swatidasgr8372
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
6.9

The hostel is very lively and the room was clean. However, the toilet and washroom area was not clean. Since I had to cross the washroom area to get to my floor, this was annoying. The hostel is bit far from the Interlaken Train station. However it has a good night life, which is kind of important as you have no other place to visit after 6-7pm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the nice review!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
9.4

Balmer's was in a great location, next to supermarkets and only a short walk from the station and the main shopping district. We really liked the cosy atmosphere of the hostel and the care shown by the staff through their approachable attitude and eagerness to help. The bathroom facilities were quite dated however we were told they would be upgraded soon and so this may not be a problem in the future. The food was incredible, a great taste of Switzerland and affordable too. 100% recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the amazing review! Our new shower block is open for use as of yesterday so we hope to welcome you back so you can try it out!! Sorry it wasn't ready whilst you were there!

  • jessicaau919615
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
8.3

Great place. Everything was very clean and never had to wait to use a shower or toilet. Kitchen had all necessary supplies to cook your own food, and a co-op store is less than a 5 minute walk from the hostel. They also have a bar and kitchen downstairs. Staff were all super helpful and nice. You can even book a outdoor excursion right down in reception which we did for paragliding! Only qualm was the noise at night when you are trying to sleep from downstairs and wished the rooms had fans.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice review, so happy you enjoyed your experience with us!

2nd Aug 2017
9.1

The hostel has a great vibe and is in a very central location! My one suggestion is that the hostel provide free small lockers for personal belongings.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, we are working on the budget for new beds with lockers on them for the next year!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.