Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Balmers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 4,611 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 4,611 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
Balmers Hostel Located at Hauptstrasse 23-25, 3800 Interlaken, Interlaken.
Balmers Hostel
Switzerland
Interlaken 3800 Hauptstrasse 23-25, 3800 Interlaken
81% 4611
46.6809193 7.8639149
Balmers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Nov 2016
6.0

Staff was nice. Bathrooms in hallway. Uncomfortable bed. Wifi somewhat reliable. Ping pong table.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
8.9

By far my favorite hostel we have stayed at because of the atmosphere and the amenities. The only complaint I have is how squeaky the beds are. It was extremely annoying by the third night. The breakfast and club were great. They provide you with laundry detergent but it's 5FCH to wash each load. Make sure to go hang gliding with bumblebee hang gliding! It's amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so happy you really enjoyed the atmosphere and amenities and really appreciate you leaving comments about your stay. We have checked the room you are in and tightened oiled the beds so no more creaking :-) We hope to see you back some day!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
8.9

GREAT experience - I arrived early and checked in early. The staff were very welcoming and provided a free bus pass to get around town. You also pay a 10€ deposit to get a keycard. Daily breakfast (7-10am) is included: toast, yogurt, parfait toppings, oranges, coffee, orange juice, tea, hot chocolate. Lockers are not in the rooms (8€ outside) but the place is vey very safe. I stayed 3 days and left my bag everyday. One downfall: it's a bit cold in the rooms and there are only push showers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the detailed review of your stay, we really appreciate the kind comments and are happy to hear you had a great time!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Nov 2016
7.7

Wonderful place to stay! A few things could be better. The shower situation was a bit difficult you have to stand there to press the water on, as soon as you move your hand the water turns off. One other thing that is probably out of the hostels control was the amount of asians staying at the hostel, not to be discrimantory but as the tour bus pulled up, they kept coming like clowns out of a clown car and took over the whole hostel which was not the best experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, we apologize for the water turning on and off, they are push button showers so as to save water but sometimes can go on and off rather quickly! As with any large groups we sometimes have, it tends to feel as if they take over, calling them clowns is a little too rude and discriminatory for our tastes but that's your opinion which I respect.

8th Nov 2016
9.4

Loved staying here such a great atmosphere! I really want to come back in the summer

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We really hope to see you again next summer! Let us know when! Thank you for your great review!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
9.1

Great hostel with a great atmosphere in a perfect location. There's plenty of things to keep you occupied- games room, chess by the fire, a club most nights downstairs! On that note, the noise from the club can make it pretty hard to get to sleep before 12pm... but nothing you can't handle for being a hostel! Overall a good hostel with good facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and are happy to hear you had a good time here!! Apologies for the difficulty in getting to sleep.....we hope you managed to get some rest and not just party ! :-)

3rd Nov 2016
9.7

Such a fun atmosphere. Great all-you-can-eat fondue night. Yummy breakfast in the morning. Super clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for a fantastic review!! Happy you enjoyed the fondue and breakfast! :-) We hope to welcome you back some day soon!

  • saunders1993
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
31st Oct 2016
9.1

Great place overall, only issue is the charge to use lockers here. Can't remember the cost but it's a daily fee. Great staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review, and for the top rating!!! We hope to see you again!

28th Oct 2016
8.0

A great place to stay in Interlaken. They are wonderful with answering questions, and when I was feeling ill they moved me to a private room. I would recommend Balmers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving a review, we hope you are on your way to being 100% again!

24th Oct 2016
9.4

The hostel is just perfect. They are 20-minute walk from the station, but once you reach there they give you a bus pass. This solves the problem of distance from the station. The breakfast is included in the price and was really good with lots of option.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for a great review! We are happy to hear you really liked the hostel!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.