Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Balmers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 4,491 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 4,491 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
Balmers Hostel Located at Hauptstrasse 23-25, 3800 Interlaken, Interlaken.
Balmers Hostel
Switzerland
Interlaken 3800 Hauptstrasse 23-25, 3800 Interlaken
81% 4491
46.6809193 7.8639149
Balmers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Aug 2016
8.3

I stayed at Hammock room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Awesome cheap stay!

  • mpchodur1588
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
18th Aug 2016
8.0

Very good hostel. Wifi is amazing. Showers are a bit small and there's only 3 showers and 2 toilets for 3 floors of guests. The bar does really good grill food which is cheaper to eat at than restaurants in Interlaken. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for having a good time here and writing about it! we appreciate it! We hope to welcome you back!

  • megan_desai
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
7.7

CONS: No elevator and was on the top floor. Have to put a 10 CHF deposit down for a key. Tons of flies everywhere. Hairdryer in room didn't work and had to rent. PROS: bus pass included. Location is great. Clean bedrooms. Fun atmosphere. Staff is helpful when planning your day.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your pros and cons list... cons. we only have two floors. does not warrant an elevator.. key deposit is returned upon check out Switzerland summer, cows country side = some flies.. Free hairdryers at reception PROS: glad you used the free bus pass happy you liked the location, cleanliness fun atmpsphere and staff!

16th Aug 2016
9.7

Very fun and social atmosphere. Lots to do if you wanted to and staff was super nice and helpful. Would definitely go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for an amazing review, we are so happy you had a great time here!!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.6

Great hostel vibe. Good breakfast, kitchen could have used a few more utensils. Staff very knowledgeable had a great time would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for recommending the hostel and for letting us know we need to stock more utensils in the guest kitchen!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2016
8.6

Great atmosphere at this hostel and great location. I would 100% stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Awesome!! We look forward to welcoming you back!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
8.0

As a family of 4 we really enjoyed our stay. We had an apartment style room with a kitchen and bathroom and it was quite nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Happy that even as a family you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to review us! We really appreciate it!

9th Aug 2016
4.0

We having been traveling for 2 months and this is the worst stay we've had. The "free parking" is located 800m away which was inconvenient as it rained most of our stay and wasn't walkable, there are no lockers in the room and are expensive to rent downstairs, the reception and most of the common areas close down at 9pm, there are no lights or outlets by each bed, it is over crowded due to no storage lockers so luggage is all over the floor, the girl at reception was very rude, and no AC or

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry you id not enjoy your stay. We offer free parking 800 meters away and give you a free bus pass to get you there should you not wish to walk the 10 minutes. There is also a public car park less then 50 meters away. Our main reception closes at 21 pm but the night reception is open for all your needs, all night. All common areas are still available till around 23pm as we have a no noise restriction due to Swiss law for our neighbours. Unfortunately when it rains it puts a damper on your whole stay.....

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Aug 2016
3.1

If anyone looks at the first photo in the booking page and think that the variety of cultures is what you are going to get... You are very wrong. The place was wall to wall with Koreans who had no interest in having a chat, socialising or turning the light off before 1am. There is also one power board for the whole room. Overall I was disappointed. Despite the social nights it seems to be a hostel for larger tour groups who don't have an interest in meeting individual travellers.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

July is holiday time in Korea so we get many Korean guests. We definitely have many different nationalities, it's sad you have given such a low rating due to other guests inconsiderate behavior in your room (not turning the lights off) as this doesn't really represent the actual hostel.

5th Aug 2016
4.3

The guy looks like Joakim Noah was really unfriendly. Breakfast was bad compared to other hostel I have stayed in. Toilets were dirty sometimes. You have to rent the lockers also (and the lockers are at the ground floor which is really inconvenient ). And a lot of Koreans used the kitchen all the time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry you found one member of staff unfriendly.. we usually boast and are told we have the best customer service staff! Our breakfasts consists of: 3 types of cereals, 3 types of Joughurts, 2 types of bread, cheese jam, fruit juice tea and coffee and chopped fresh oranges. We feel for a inclusive free breakfasts thats not bad..

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.