Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Balmers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 4,652 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 4,652 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6
Balmers Hostel Located at Hauptstrasse 23-25, 3800 Interlaken, Interlaken.
Balmers Hostel
Switzerland
Interlaken 3800 Hauptstrasse 23-25, 3800 Interlaken
82% 4652
46.6809193 7.8639149
Balmers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Dec 2016
5.7

Although the staff here were very helpful, I was disappointed with the building itself. It literally felt like it was falling apart and the "bathroom" facilities were awful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry if you felt the buildings are falling apart, we agree some of the bathroom facilities need renovations and we are closed the whole of march to do this. The buildings are typically swiss chalets and they are indeed very old, it is part of the Hostel charm for most people :-) We hope after the renovations it will give a different feel to the place. We are glad you found the staff helpful and thank you for sharing your experience.

20th Dec 2016
7.7

Party Hostel! Lots of young travelers, fun, but loud. Really cute little buildings that feel very Swiss.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Happy to hear that you enjoyed the party atmosphere and swiss feel of the hostel! We appreciate you leaving a review, thank you!

17th Dec 2016
9.4

Loved my stay here! I came in the winter so it's a little bit less busy, but I can't wait to come back a second time (and maybe in the summer next time!). The facilities are very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Makes us proud when we read such a great review, we really hope to welcome you back in summer!!! Thank you and we wish you a merry season!!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
12th Dec 2016
9.1

Great stay, great location with great free breakfast every morning. Good kitchen to cook in. Limited atmosphere as visited in quiet season, but still fun.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review, please come back in a busier season so we can really show you excellent atmosphere!!

9th Dec 2016
9.4

This is a lively hostel with an amazing staff! The view is breathtaking and can be appreciated while relaxing in the jacuzzi. Very great place to stay if you want to explore interlaken while also having a good time. The club is very conveniently located and the staff is very helpful and informative about any extra curriculars you maybe interested in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What a great review, thank you! The staff will be well happy to be mentioned so positively, wishing you many happy travels and hope to see you again!

8th Dec 2016
6.3

Compared to other hostels on our Europe trip, we found this one disappointing. The staff was fairly friendly but not always available. The room was very small, breakfast did not start on time and the shower water temp varied. The facility didn't feel as up to date as other places we have stayed. The location was very nice with a cute cafe down the street. Maybe if we were in our early twenties this would have worked out perfectly but for our age (29/30) I think we could have looked elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments and have taken note on some of the things you mention. We apologize you felt disappointed in your stay. In the winter months our reception closes in the afternoon when there are not too many guests and this may feel that we are not always available.We are revamping the hostel in march and hopefully that will change the up to date feel of the hostel. Wishing you many happy travels!

7th Dec 2016
9.7

Amazing! Enough said!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Happy to hear you had such an amazing experience!! You rock!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Nov 2016
8.6

This hostel is on the outskirts of town, but the hostel gave use cards for free travel on all buses so we had no trouble getting around. Very knowledgeable staff, yoghurt parfait style free breakfast, and huge kitchen made this place a great stay. There aren't any lockers in the rooms which needs attending to, and there aren't individual power sockets which made charging devices difficult, but the place seemed secure. Showers were being renovated as they're slowly improving their facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for an honest feedback of your stay, we are happy you appreciated our staff atmosphere and facilities! We are working hard to update certain facilities to make our guests stay more comfortable! Wishing you happy holidays!

24th Nov 2016
9.4

Recommend -I was living in the new building rather than the old one, therefore no noise of walking from upstairs as complained before -Great facilities, nice staff, big kitchen, good Irish pub nearby, and even a club in the hostel's basement. -Free breakfast there is AWESOME. -Around 15 minutes walk from main train stations though -The pizza shop close by is bad, expensive and bad taste, don't go there

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for such a great review!! It was a pleasure hosting you! Sorry you had a bad pizza experience, it is not part of Balmers facilities but good to know!

22nd Nov 2016
6.0

Staff was nice. Bathrooms in hallway. Uncomfortable bed. Wifi somewhat reliable. Ping pong table.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback about your stay!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.