Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Balmers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 4,425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 4,425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
Balmers Hostel Located at Hauptstrasse 23-25, 3800 Interlaken, Interlaken.
Balmers Hostel
Switzerland
Interlaken 3800 Hauptstrasse 23-25, 3800 Interlaken
82% 4425
46.6809193 7.8639149
Balmers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2016
6.0

Good hostel if you are looking for a party atmosphere, but the club on site causes noise levels to be high until 3am. Breakfast was mediocre and the kitchen was gross- we saw a couple cockroaches. The staff was very friendly and helpful though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving a review, sad to see you did not enjoy the hostel atmosphere.. but happy you rated it a good hostel :-)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
8.0

This hostels accommodation's suited the location and vibe of the area. They have a good club but any club and hostel is as good as the people you meet there. I was lucky enough to have met some great Auzzies on a Contiki tour who just made my stay fabulous! No A/C and no real security.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the nice review, happy you found like minded people to party in the club with!

7th Jul 2016
10.0

Balmers hostel is probably the coolest hostel I've ever stayed at! Super friendly and helpful staff, the rooms are spacious and clean! I loved the outdoor area and had a lovely nap in the hammock. Bar and club downstairs if you want to party. Food was good at the restaurant. I just loved the way the hostel looks, very Swiss with the dark wood and red. Water spout.. tastes heavenly. Supermarket and bank machine really close by! Definitely staying here again when I go back!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for such an amazing review!!! We really appreciate and are happy you had such a great time here!! We look forward to welcoming you back!

5th Jul 2016
8.6

The staff are absolutely the best part about this hostel. They went above and beyond for any issue and really set this hostel apart from others. My only complaints are that the bathrooms have a lot of room for improvement and there are no lockers/cubbies in the rooms. I was in a 10 bed room where there's no space for your bags when the bunks are lofted into the ceiling or the bunks are really low to the ground. Overall a great stay, good breakfast, good atmosphere for solo traveling.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our staff rock!!! Yes we agree on the shower situation and are working hard to improve them!! We are also hoping to get some under bed storage which will help out with space and security too (although we never have issues) Thanks for taking the time to review us!!

  • coramcgrath
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jul 2016
7.7

The hostel had good potential and the staff were really nice and helpful but the atmosphere isn't great, particularly for small groups or solo travellers looking to socialise. There is only one kitchen which is usually fine but the hostel was massive so it was always packed. They have a club which is cool and you can bring your own drink but forget sleeping at all without earplugs as. We saw the tent village which is much cheaper and basically the same as the hostel so I'd stay there instead

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving a review of your stay!! Happy to hear you enjoyed the club and even got away with bringing your own drinks down there...mmm....not normally allowed (as in the rest of the world) We are sorry you didnt feel the atmosphere is good for solo travelers as we have so many facilities where it makes it so easy to meet other guests .

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Jul 2016
7.4

Pretty solid free breakfast in the morning. Kitchen was useable but very basic. No lockers in the rooms - need to pay $7/day to use lockers, which was inconvenient. Bathrooms were pretty gross. Temperature on the showers constantly changing from freezing to scolding hot without touching it. But the food at the bar is unreal! So amazing and pretty cheap for swizterland!deff a party hostel but a good time can be had by all. No issues with noise at night, but wore ear plugs. :) would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

ha ha glad the ear plugs helped!! :-) happy to hear you enjoyed the food at the grill and that you found it good value for money¨- Thanks for taking the time to review!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
8.0

Front desk is helpful but the kitchen staff severely overpriced cooked meals.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hello, Please could you mail us directly as we would like to find out more about what exactly you found overpriced at the grill? We follow up on every review and are always striving to improve so really appreciate your help!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
30th Jun 2016
7.1

It was a very fun hostel but the room was too crowded with no lockers and the showers were tiny and moldy. The staff was super helpful with booking activities. The breakfast was very limited but the cheese was good. Enjoy the free awesome spring water!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

so happy our staff took good care of you!

  • Stilettobackpack
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jun 2016
9.4

Amazing hostel! The only down side was there were no lockers in the rooms. We stayed in the hammock room the first night and a dorm the next. Staff was very friendly and helpful especially when it came to booking activities in Interlaken. The area was beautiful and very easy to get to anywhere you needed in town or to the train stations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Happy to hear you had a great time here!!! hope you come visit us again!

28th Jun 2016
9.4

Slept in the hammock room. Great value for money but not much security

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

glad you liked it! For 5 bucks we think it's good value for money too, and encourage you to lock up your valuables.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.