Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Balmers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 4659 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 4659 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Feb 2017
9.7

Location was great, room was very clean, showers were clean but very basic so do not expect much, staff was wonderful and very helpful. We had a few hours to spend and asked what to do- one staff member marked on a map a hike around Interlaken. It was perfect! He was so nice to help us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and was happy with the staff recommendations! We wish you happy and safe travels and hope to see you again!

26th Jan 2017
8.0

Huge place, lots of energy situated in beautiful Interlaken. Paid for 2 beds in a 4 bed dorm but had the room to ourselves even though the hostel was packed! The breakfast was disappointing - cereal, yogurt, toast, if you want anything hot you have to pay extra. Can't complain too much because it was free! The hot tub was clutch and the night club downstairs was convenient. Most annoying was that everyone was American and a part of the tour group "bus 2 alps".Total sorority/frat vibe (negative)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review! we are sorry to hear you didn't like the vibe when the study abroad programs came to visit ! Happy to hear you loved the hot tub and club!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Dec 2016
5.4

Shower facilities and toilets are a joke. Bar not open in winter therefore no atmosphere for a supposed party hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the itme to review your stay. The bar is open on thursday, friday and saturday as advertised on all our channels due to it being the low season. We are closing the hostel for the whole month of march to renew most of the shower facilities and hope you will retun someday to see the difference :-)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Dec 2016
5.7

Although the staff here were very helpful, I was disappointed with the building itself. It literally felt like it was falling apart and the "bathroom" facilities were awful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry if you felt the buildings are falling apart, we agree some of the bathroom facilities need renovations and we are closed the whole of march to do this. The buildings are typically swiss chalets and they are indeed very old, it is part of the Hostel charm for most people :-) We hope after the renovations it will give a different feel to the place. We are glad you found the staff helpful and thank you for sharing your experience.

20th Dec 2016
7.7

Party Hostel! Lots of young travelers, fun, but loud. Really cute little buildings that feel very Swiss.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Happy to hear that you enjoyed the party atmosphere and swiss feel of the hostel! We appreciate you leaving a review, thank you!

17th Dec 2016
9.4

Loved my stay here! I came in the winter so it's a little bit less busy, but I can't wait to come back a second time (and maybe in the summer next time!). The facilities are very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Makes us proud when we read such a great review, we really hope to welcome you back in summer!!! Thank you and we wish you a merry season!!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
12th Dec 2016
9.1

Great stay, great location with great free breakfast every morning. Good kitchen to cook in. Limited atmosphere as visited in quiet season, but still fun.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review, please come back in a busier season so we can really show you excellent atmosphere!!

9th Dec 2016
9.4

This is a lively hostel with an amazing staff! The view is breathtaking and can be appreciated while relaxing in the jacuzzi. Very great place to stay if you want to explore interlaken while also having a good time. The club is very conveniently located and the staff is very helpful and informative about any extra curriculars you maybe interested in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What a great review, thank you! The staff will be well happy to be mentioned so positively, wishing you many happy travels and hope to see you again!

8th Dec 2016
6.3

Compared to other hostels on our Europe trip, we found this one disappointing. The staff was fairly friendly but not always available. The room was very small, breakfast did not start on time and the shower water temp varied. The facility didn't feel as up to date as other places we have stayed. The location was very nice with a cute cafe down the street. Maybe if we were in our early twenties this would have worked out perfectly but for our age (29/30) I think we could have looked elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments and have taken note on some of the things you mention. We apologize you felt disappointed in your stay. In the winter months our reception closes in the afternoon when there are not too many guests and this may feel that we are not always available.We are revamping the hostel in march and hopefully that will change the up to date feel of the hostel. Wishing you many happy travels!

7th Dec 2016
9.7

Amazing! Enough said!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Happy to hear you had such an amazing experience!! You rock!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.