Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Baluarte Citadino Stay Cool Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 326 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 326 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 7.9
Baluarte Citadino Stay Cool Hostel Located at Rua Castilho 1, First floor on the right, Lisbon.
Baluarte Citadino Stay Cool Hostel
Portugal
Lisbon Lisbon 1250-066 Rua Castilho 1, First floor on the right
84% 326
38.7199249 -9.1492481
Baluarte Citadino Stay Cool Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Jul 2016
8.6

Rooms were super spacious and the free breakfast was a nice touch. Conveniently located next to a bar hopping neighborhood.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
18th Jul 2016
6.9

Double room was nice and bathrooms were clean. The hostel facilities are basic but do the job. Security is good as they use fingerprints. Location is alright, close to Bairro Alto and Chiado but a bit of a walk to the Castelo. Staff were not very helpful and didn't supply us with a city map or any info. We also couldn't use any of the facilities after we checked out which is frustrating when you have an overnight train!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jul 2016
8.0

This hostel was good but we experience a few downsides such as the laundry service which we suggest you avoid (for 5 euros our clothes where stiff and full of detergent). The bed mattresses were of very low quality and pretty uncomfortable. Finally the staff was sometimes hard to find and so not very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Jul 2016
7.4

Kids running around the hostel was a bit annoying. They could have put in more effort for breakfast but it was free so that's good. Location wasn't amazing but it wasn't bad either! Room was really nice and everything was clean. Wifi didn't work in my room but worked everywhere else so I guess it was just bad luck. Was a pretty good stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • chelseakuhlmann
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Jul 2016
8.6

Place was great, definitely affordable even for a private room. It was very clean and well maintained. They even use a finger print scanner instead of key for coming in the building so it felt super safe. It definitely wasn't a loud party hostel which is either good or bad depending on what you want! Would totally go back here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Jul 2016
6.0

Breakfast was beyond basic. I chose a single room to get some privacy and avoid disturb and being disturbed when I got back from a music festival (very late return). I got a tiny room right next to the main door. The door had an electric lock that made a loud "clack" noise right on my ear every time someones walked in or out of the hostel. On the other side of the room was an internal garden where the other guests gather to have breakfast and also some construction works going on.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • gdlavalley2821
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jun 2016
7.4

I had a very comfortable stay here. The staff (depending on who was working) was more or less helpful. Amenities were fairly basic but for a quieter stay as a backpacker this is be a good spot. Hostel was quite secure with finger print locks and lockers also available in the room. If you are looking for a place to party or meet people in your hostel this isn't the right place for you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
4.6

Avoid this place. The staff barely speak English, unable to give accurate information, even calling a cab was too challenging. The bathroom stank. A group of teenagers decided to party all night and the management did not do anything to control them, not even after 11pm. I could not sleep all night, despite wearing earplugs. The breakfast is a joke, they do not even give you proper coffee. The worst hostel I have ever stayed in.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • schregi3221
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th May 2016
8.6

Very nice and clean hostel! If you want some privacy, its the right place. Not a party-Hostel though Katrin from Switzerland

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Apr 2016
9.4

Simple but very lovely and clean hostel! It can get a little bit noisy because of slamming doors and squeaky beds (bring earplugs). If you bring a heavy suitcase I would recommend to walk via Rua Barata Salgueiro instead of the directions mentioned on this website (no hills to climb).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.