Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bamber House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1198 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1198 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2017
8.3

Great helpful and friendly staff. Super clean (although quite a few flies in the kitchen even in Autumn) Very comfortable beds and quiet for a good nights sleep. Great location, just close enough to the city but far enough away for peace and quiet. Only negatives, none working extension leads in the 3-bed room I stayed in and after 9 there is really nowhere to go to have a phone call in private, all inside space taken and talking even quietly outside the building isn't allowed?!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Mar 2017
8.0

Wasn't there ling, but what I saw looked good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Mar 2017
8.0

Really big house, good living space, nice garden and well stocked kitchen. Great atmosphere, 15 minute walk to supermarket, close to mount Eden for great views. A little far from centre but walkable and if your flying in or out from Auckland the airbus express stop is really close so it's convenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2017
9.1

Great hostel. The parking lot is like a car dealership. The 2nd day i was there 3 cars were bought, I got one of them. Chill social areas and netflix. cheap laundry. supermarket is pretty close. Give it a shot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • thisclassyman
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Mar 2017
8.3

Had a great stay! Met amazing people

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
8.9

Enjoyable place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, many guest appreciate the homely feeling of Bamber House and our helpful staff.

10th Mar 2017
7.1

I only stayed here one night and it wasn't a bad place at all. Most people were friendly and the staff were helpful. I was just having a bad night due to getting a flat tire on my rental car in front of the hostel and having to deal with that. The staff recommened some shop for me to take the tire to. I saw a few friendly people to chat with.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear you were having a bad day. Glad to hear that you thought our staff were helpful and that people were friendly. Bamber House is one of the only hostels that offers off-street parking, a true rarity in Auckland accommodation.

8th Mar 2017
7.4

Nice big hostel situated outside of town. Easy to get a bus into town for 3.50 bucks. Nice facilities and Hostel does a decent job getting people involved in activities (pizza and movie nights, pub quiz nights etc). I found the atmosphere a bit hit and miss, a lot of people staying here are working in Auckland so you may have some trouble meeting other travellers to go around new Zealand with, can be a bit cliquey. Otherwise a nice spot to chill out at

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Mar 2017
8.9

So clean and nice. Kind staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm glad you had a nice stay with us. Not only is our hostel clean and our staff kind but we're also located in a quiet neighbourhood in central Auckland with easy access to the city centre.

  • everthine22
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Mar 2017
7.7

My first stop in NZ, comfy quiet place to get over my minor jet-lag. Clean bathrooms, not a ton of them but I never had to wait. Cosy lounge, really good WIFI, nice balcony/outdoor space, heaps of cooking stuff and only 10 min bus to town, or 10 mins down road to local supermarket/atm's. It's the little things like an actual proper duvet cover that make a place like this homely. If you want a super social party hostel, this isn't the spot, but sometimes a cosy quiet place is all you want.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Bamber House is definitely not a party hostel. We encourage our guests to socialise and have fun with events and activities but we also offer a quiet environment where you can relax and sleep after a long flight or a day exploring Auckland.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.