Hostelworld.com

Bamber House

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 939 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 939 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8
Bamber House Located at 22 View Road, Mt Eden, Auckland.
Bamber House
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland 1024 22 View Road, Mt Eden
86% 939
-36.8734756 174.7581267
Bamber House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th May 2016
8.0

Bamber House was clean and a short bus ride to city center. The Mount Eden area is very nice. Jen at the front desk was great and very helpful with anything we needed/asked. I did find some of the other workers there a little less friendly however..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd May 2016
7.7

Hostel with a homey atmosphere, nice and big kitchen, great outside areas, great living room. It is a little bit out of the centre but still not longer than a 30 min walk to queen street.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
10.0

We enjoyed our stay, situated in lovely surroundings, clean & friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
18th Apr 2016
8.6

I really liked this hostel and would definitely stay again ;-). If you travel by car is this the plac to stay in Auckland, there is a carpark right beside the house and of course for free.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Apr 2016
9.4

The Bamber House is a relly good hostel for your first or last days in New Zealand. Or whenever you like to come to Auckland. Its location is really good, especially for people who don't want to party all the time because it is in a very quiet steet in Mt Eden. Close to a supermarket, fast food and bus stop to the city centre. The dorms are quite spacious with lockers for everyone and windows in every room, there are two living rooms which is really good and a large outside area. Recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Apr 2016
9.7

Great hostel. Very clean and the staff were great. Good common areas and a big kitchen. It's only a 10 minute bus ride to town and a 10 minute walk to the local shops.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
8.9

The location of the hostel is in a really nice neighborhood and it takes only 20 minutes walk to the city center. The staff was helpful, rooms were nice, toilets were clean, there was always hot water in the shower, there is also nice living room with big TV. Hostel is pretty quiet most of time, except some parties on the weekends but not too loud. There is also supermarket (Countdown), only 10 minute walk away and nice walk to the Mount Eden.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • riordanmeister
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
8.9

A very nice hostel. Comfortable beds. Some of the guests were a bit too loud while I was there due to too much alcohol consumed. Also some of the guests were beyond lazy and couldn't be bothered their backsides washing and cleaning the cups and dishes they used. Nothing the hostel staff can do about this unfortunately. But it's a hostel I would recommend staying in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
9.7

I had a really nice stay at this hostel. They have a fleet of cleaners, so despite large amounts of traffic everything was always nice. The location is within walking distance of food and shops. The atmosphere really made it. If you want to be social it is a great place to be. If you just want your space you can have that also. I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
8.0

Nice hostel, conveniently located in terms of buses to town and the attractive Mt Eden area, although the journey is walkable. Good private double room, perfect place for us to start recovery from jetlag. Facilities seemed good although we did not use much. Helpful staff to boot. Would recommend for those who don't mind being on the very edge of walking distance to town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.