Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bamber House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Aug 2017
9.4

Great location if you are looking for somewhere a little out of the city, bus stop across the road and airport bus drops you at the end of the street. It was a good social atmosphere and the hostel puts different things on every day of the week. Good common room and TV room and wifi worked good in common areas. Clean kitchen with everything you could want. Room was nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
9.4

Good value, clean and comfortable. We stayed in one of the cabins with ensuite. Good wifi. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2017
10.0

We have stayed here a few times now and never disappointed. Great location for Eden Park and easy to get into Auckland. Lovely friendly atmosphere and staff would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jun 2017
10.0

Wonderful house! I have never seen a kitchen this well equipped! So many spices :) Fantastic room and wonderful staff. My favorite "thing" about this place is Clyde though. The hostel cat. He is just the cutest and super friendly. I will definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind words! We love to cook here at Bamber House! Meaning our kitchen is always clean and full of love. Clyde is definitely excited to see you again soon.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Jun 2017
10.0

Really friendly staff, room just as promised. Would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind reply! We really appreciate it and we hope to see you again some day.

9th Jun 2017
7.7

It was a nice place to stay with a good atmosphere. Bronson the host does a very good job as does Max from Munich, a trained chef who cooks for everyone on a Sunday night. He makes great pizzas! Down side is that it is a $3.50c and 15-20 minute bus ride into Auckland city centre. However in the summer it must be good as a large garden to side outside in with good weather. Small lockers for personal effects in the room. Worth staying here. Good communal rooms for meet ups. Rooms & showers are OK.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback! We are sorry to hear you experienced our location as a downside, we are indeed not a city centre hostel. We are happy to hear you appreciate our garden and communal rooms though. We wish you safe travels

1st Jun 2017
8.3

This place is amazing. Location of mount eden great! Facilities are good and the garden is really nice. We loved our stay there

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we are happy to hear you loved staying with us. We hope to see you again some day and wish you safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
27th May 2017
9.4

A really nice hostel with helpful staff and a great location. For me it was let down by a large number of long term guests who were very cliquey and didn't really want to socialise so we felt a little like outsiders. I guess this is to be expected in hostels in the city though. Can't fault the hostel otherwise!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Very nice to hear we are doing a good job and we will most certainly take your feedback about the long termers in to account for the future. We hope to see you again some day and wish you the best of luck on your future travels

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2017
8.0

Good location with quiet environment, hope to go there again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! If there is anything we can improve we would love to know. Hope to see you again some day! Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2017
9.7

Awesome stay at Bamber House. My only regret was that I stayed only 1 day over there as I had leabe for the airport the next day. Will definitely stay with Bamber House again on my next visit to New Zealand !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.