Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bamber House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1237 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1237 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Macau, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Apr 2017
7.7

It was ok, just many electric devices are not working (heater, boiler). There's also mosquitoes in the room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
6.6

Nice house and nice rooms. Perhaps we came at a bad time when the hostel was understaffed, but the kitchen was very unclean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
8.3

Great place to stay, not central but local buses right outside and supermarket 5 mins walk away. Only niggle I had was the bedsheets and towels need good deep heat clean as have (from not being washed hot enough)a sweaty smell. Other than that I really liked it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
10.0

Wonderful hostel, kind and helpful staff. I will definitely stay again. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Mar 2017
9.1

I loved my stay here. Mt Eden area is really lovely for walking around, exploring the parks, definitely got to climb Mt Eden which is just 5 minutes away, also there's nice cafes and a grocery store nearby and the city center is a bus ride or a bit of a walk away. There's hostel events in the evening and the people passing through are of different age and background, which keeps it interesting. The place is tidy and the staff is friendly. I would stay here again if back in Auckland.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2017
8.3

Helpful staff. Cleanliness is spot on in all common areas, bathrooms, and rooms. Wi-Fi is good, kitchen is pretty spacious and well-stocked. Get really, really hot indoors, though, as ventilation is poor and AC non existent. Enjoy bingo night!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Mar 2017
9.4

Really nice place with good facilities and the staff was very helpful. You'll be at 15-30 min walk to cbd. We definitely recommend this hostel !!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2017
8.3

Great helpful and friendly staff. Super clean (although quite a few flies in the kitchen even in Autumn) Very comfortable beds and quiet for a good nights sleep. Great location, just close enough to the city but far enough away for peace and quiet. Only negatives, none working extension leads in the 3-bed room I stayed in and after 9 there is really nowhere to go to have a phone call in private, all inside space taken and talking even quietly outside the building isn't allowed?!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
20th Mar 2017
8.6

Very nice hostel. Incredible internet speed. But beware, I am allergic to cats, and there is a cat in the house. He doesn't come into the rooms, so no worries there. It is the perfect place to sort stuff out and get into the NZ vibe. Staff is amazing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Mar 2017
8.0

Wasn't there ling, but what I saw looked good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.