Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bamber House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Jun 2017
10.0

Really friendly staff, room just as promised. Would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind reply! We really appreciate it and we hope to see you again some day.

9th Jun 2017
7.7

It was a nice place to stay with a good atmosphere. Bronson the host does a very good job as does Max from Munich, a trained chef who cooks for everyone on a Sunday night. He makes great pizzas! Down side is that it is a $3.50c and 15-20 minute bus ride into Auckland city centre. However in the summer it must be good as a large garden to side outside in with good weather. Small lockers for personal effects in the room. Worth staying here. Good communal rooms for meet ups. Rooms & showers are OK.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback! We are sorry to hear you experienced our location as a downside, we are indeed not a city centre hostel. We are happy to hear you appreciate our garden and communal rooms though. We wish you safe travels

1st Jun 2017
8.3

This place is amazing. Location of mount eden great! Facilities are good and the garden is really nice. We loved our stay there

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we are happy to hear you loved staying with us. We hope to see you again some day and wish you safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
27th May 2017
9.4

A really nice hostel with helpful staff and a great location. For me it was let down by a large number of long term guests who were very cliquey and didn't really want to socialise so we felt a little like outsiders. I guess this is to be expected in hostels in the city though. Can't fault the hostel otherwise!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Very nice to hear we are doing a good job and we will most certainly take your feedback about the long termers in to account for the future. We hope to see you again some day and wish you the best of luck on your future travels

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2017
8.0

Good location with quiet environment, hope to go there again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! If there is anything we can improve we would love to know. Hope to see you again some day! Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2017
9.7

Awesome stay at Bamber House. My only regret was that I stayed only 1 day over there as I had leabe for the airport the next day. Will definitely stay with Bamber House again on my next visit to New Zealand !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
26th Apr 2017
7.7

It's a nice quiet hostel. The kitchen is leaned daily but the cutlery is pretty bad. The man at reception was really nice so friendly. The beds were comfy and the bathrooms were clean. It's located really close to mount Eden and the supermarket is 10minutes walk. The bus stop it just outside the gate so very easy to get into CBD. It's a nice place to relax and take it easy if you want.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2017
9.1

Had a really great stay at Bamber House! It is not in the city center, which is one of the things I loved most. The hostel is tucked away in a nice little neighborhood (Mt. Eden) and I found it easy to walk to plenty of things, including the city center. The whole place is very homey and the staff was nice. Loved participating in trivia night! Beds were good and bathroom facilities were very clean. Very relaxed vibe, would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Macau, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Apr 2017
7.7

It was ok, just many electric devices are not working (heater, boiler). There's also mosquitoes in the room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
6.6

Nice house and nice rooms. Perhaps we came at a bad time when the hostel was understaffed, but the kitchen was very unclean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.