Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bamber House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,087 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,087 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
Bamber House Located at 22 View Road, Mt Eden, Auckland.
Bamber House
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland 1024 22 View Road, Mt Eden
87% 1087
-36.8734756 174.7581267
Bamber House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
9.1

Nice friendly place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
9.7

This was the perfect place to spend our last days in New Zealand. Great atmosphere, friendly, helpful staff, nice communal areas. Good location next to mount Eden and not too far from the city centre but away from its hustle and bustle. Will definately stay here again when I'm next in Auckland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
9.1

Hostel was very nice and while a little far from the downtown area there are still shops very close to use while you're there. Wifi works best around main areas such as the kitchen and dining area and while you're given a voucher to use it is plenty of data. The rooms were comfortable and clean en-suite bathrooms and well as off street parking which is a big plus when we made our vehicle purchase. Would stay again and probably will.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Jan 2017
9.4

Amazing staff, a lots of lovely longterm travellers, very clean and good atmostfare, nice terrace. Highly recommended! :) Feels like a home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
9.7

I only stayed one night, but I highly recommend it if you're not dead-set on being close to restaurants or bars. Mt. Eden is a beautiful, peaceful neighborhood, and all the charm of Bamber House (the huge deck and yard, balconies on some rooms, antiques) made up for the cramped 4-bed dorm I stayed in. Clean place with a sense of humor. Lots of parking on-site for those traveling with cars. I left deeply jealous of the Bamber family for owning this incredible property!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
6.0

Overall a decent place for a one night stay BUT the wifi wasn't working for the one night. To top it all, the staff wasn't helpful. After having gone to the reception thrice, there was NO information that I got. Basic questions like what is the weather forecast for today, how far is the car rental, where can we get breakfast outside of the hostel?!?! Since there was no wifi, least she could do was help give some info. There was no soap in ensuite. We were hungry all day cause everything was shut

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Dec 2016
5.7

nothing special, little time for check in / welcoming

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
8.6

Nice clean rooms and bathrooms, free wifi, near countdown supermarket, reasonable kitchen with plates, pots, utensils, oven, microwave etc, free parking, short driving distance to town, friendly staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
8.9

Great location and facilities. Really recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Dec 2016
10.0

Loved my stay at Bamber House! I chose this hostel because I had a car that I needed to return to the airport at the end of my stay and they offered free parking. It was very convenient. The house is incredibly spacious with lots of comfy common areas that are great for mingling with other guests. I really enjoyed the vibe here! The bunk room had lots of space and it is fairly easy to catch public transit to downtown as well as takey a nice 15 min stroll up Mt. Eden to watch the sunset/sunrise.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.