Hostelworld.com

Bamber House

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 927 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 927 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
Bamber House Located at 22 View Road, Mt Eden, Auckland.
Bamber House
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland 1024 22 View Road, Mt Eden
87% 927
-36.8734756 174.7581267
Bamber House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
18th Apr 2016
8.6

I really liked this hostel and would definitely stay again ;-). If you travel by car is this the plac to stay in Auckland, there is a carpark right beside the house and of course for free.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
9.4

The Bamber House is a relly good hostel for your first or last days in New Zealand. Or whenever you like to come to Auckland. Its location is really good, especially for people who don't want to party all the time because it is in a very quiet steet in Mt Eden. Close to a supermarket, fast food and bus stop to the city centre. The dorms are quite spacious with lockers for everyone and windows in every room, there are two living rooms which is really good and a large outside area. Recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Apr 2016
9.7

Great hostel. Very clean and the staff were great. Good common areas and a big kitchen. It's only a 10 minute bus ride to town and a 10 minute walk to the local shops.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
8.9

The location of the hostel is in a really nice neighborhood and it takes only 20 minutes walk to the city center. The staff was helpful, rooms were nice, toilets were clean, there was always hot water in the shower, there is also nice living room with big TV. Hostel is pretty quiet most of time, except some parties on the weekends but not too loud. There is also supermarket (Countdown), only 10 minute walk away and nice walk to the Mount Eden.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • riordanmeister
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
8.9

A very nice hostel. Comfortable beds. Some of the guests were a bit too loud while I was there due to too much alcohol consumed. Also some of the guests were beyond lazy and couldn't be bothered their backsides washing and cleaning the cups and dishes they used. Nothing the hostel staff can do about this unfortunately. But it's a hostel I would recommend staying in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
9.7

I had a really nice stay at this hostel. They have a fleet of cleaners, so despite large amounts of traffic everything was always nice. The location is within walking distance of food and shops. The atmosphere really made it. If you want to be social it is a great place to be. If you just want your space you can have that also. I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kokoshneta
  • Denmark, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Mar 2016
7.1

Really nice house with very cosy common room, terrace, and garden. Despite a lot of people using the common areas, though, it didn't feel very social—not many people actually talking outside their own little groups. Room was decent, bed fairly comfortable. Toilets and showers had no privacy—stalls with doors that didn't even reach the floor/ceiling. Big minus for that. Close by bus stop, but fairly far from central CBD area; close to Mt Eden, though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2016
6.9

Bus stop right across the street from the hostel so that's convenient, about a 10 min bus ride to city centre. Room was a bit cramped only because the other backpackers had ALL their belongings strewn across the floor (please don't be one of these people - be considerate). The bunk beds were fine, unfortunate to have the bottom bunk as the top bunk isn't high enough to sit upright. Showers and toilets were clean for my entire stay - a definite positive. Staff was nice and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2016
9.4

My sty at the Bamber House was awesome! Every moment, you feel at home! Great space to socialize and easy to get to! Mt.Eden is so close and so is a bus stop to downtown or a nice walk! I will for sure be returning when I get back to Auckland !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Mar 2016
10.0

What a wonderful hostel! Bathrooms are always super clean. I stayed in the 3 bed dorm and it was very comfortable and spacious. The kitchen is big and well stocked. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. I'd definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.