X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Bamber House Reviews

22 View Road, Mt Eden, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
593 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The best value for money you could possibly get. It just feels like at home, so many running around, always available to chat, sweet internet deals, but mainly extremely friendly staff, which helps you take care of everything! We were so thrilled, that we extended our stay for 3 more days :)

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

very nice hostel. helpful managers. recommend.

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Would stay again in a minute!

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

We had a lovely stay, was very clean and seen the staff hard at work. We stayed one night in number 10 and the other in a cabin. The cabin was so nice and cosey. I know it is a bit less money to stay in double in 10 but the noise from reception and people in the lounge etc wasn't to pleasant. That would be my only con. Thank you


80%

Nice hostel which makes you feel very comfortable. Had great 6 nights here before I started travelling across NZ. only bad thing is that the carpets and couch are dirty which made me feel a bit sick.

  • 22nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I absolutely loved staying at this hostel, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was really good at the right times (weekends weekdays), the place is kept clean and tidy and I love the fact it's so homely, so when you want a quiet night watching a movie - the front room is the place to be all cozy on the comfortable furniture. The quiz each week gets all people involved and they take on new ideas for fun things to do. Laura, Aurelian and max - thank you for a great stay. 😃😃

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

So Good we stayed for one night a week later.

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice hostel, just 15 minutess walk to Mt. Eden with an amazing view over the whole city. With a bus you can drive to the civic center in minutes. Really nice staff.


94%

Awesome place and an awesome staff, always willing to help and give you advises. The best place to stay if you've just arrived in New Zealand and in Auckland

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Lovely place


74%

Nice place in every way. But try to get a room away from the deck outside the kitchen as this can be noisy at night.


97%

Great hostel, very nice atmosphere, you feel like at home, there is a lot of furnitures in the kitchen for French cooking!! I will come back for sure!

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

A very nice hostel where the units had recently been decorated in a nice modern style. Everytning was fine except there is a deck outside the kitchen where people sit and talk, once until I actually asked them to stop at 2.15 am. This deck is close to the external units, so something should be done - there should be a curfew of say midnight which should be enforced.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our nice hostel! Regarding the noise level, we are monitoring it as much as we can with regular tours from the managers team. Many signs are clearly disposed as well in this area with a 10.30pm curfew. It can happen that some people are talking a bit loud, but at 2.15am there is usually no guests around as we are not a party hostel.

100%

A glorious hostel, every thing was perfect for us!


97%

Absolutely great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay!

60%

Nice house on the hill, bus stop just over the street but dirty bathrooms and kitchen. Was ok for the beginning after a long flight, because it's very quiet.


77%

I rwally enjoy this place, it was clean and the Staffel is really nice :)

  • 17th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

There is no Airport Shuttle at Bamber House. Prepare for a long walk to the Bus Stop on Mt Eden Rd which you won't make in 7mins like they say in the hostel if you are not Usain Bolt!


89%

We loved our stay! It really felt like we were in a different country, and it was the perfect place to welcome us to New Zealand. Really pretty house, although the couches were a bit dusty (understandable because of the number of people in there.. but wished they cleaned it). Loved the location as well! Although the lady in the reception gave us wrong directions to the zoo so we couldn't get there :( Anyway, loved our stay. We will be back.

  • 25th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Everything seems a bit old fashioned, but that´s cool. We stayed only one night so we can´t rate the hostel very well. For our short stay it was perfect.

  • 15th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback