Hostelworld.com

Bamber House

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1130 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1130 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Feb 2017
8.9

Bamber House staff went out of their way to be accommodating. Room was clean, secure and relatively spacious. A bit pricey considering it's outside of the downtown area, but would definitely recommend!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Staff was really friendly and did their best to cater to our annoying requests lol. Rooms and kitchen were clean. Free unlimited wifi with decent speed - it can get choppy during the evening when there are more people, but nothing too bad. Easy access to city center by bus, $3.50 one way and costs can add up but I'd say it's so damn worth it just for the free unlimited wifi. 3 minute walk to mini store, 10 minutes for groceries and more eateries.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.1

If you want a relaxed friendly hostel outside the city centre this is it. Nice and quiet at night to get over jetlag. Good sized kitchen. Really good free wifi, I Skyped and Facetimed friends. Staff are helpful, Rebecca even managed to fit me in for an additional night when I couldn't find a hostel in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
10.0

Great hostel, friendly and helpful staff, good facilities. Right next to Mt Eden Domain if your looking for some great sights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Feb 2017
6.0

emm..perhaps we watch too many western ghost movie.The house seems to be one of the ghost house in movie.Anyway,just stay one night,not much comment .

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Bamber House is located is an old colonial villa, most travelers love the opportunity to sleep the night in a gorgeous old house typical of the Auckland area.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Feb 2017
8.0

Great hostel, felt very homely. Good indoor and outdoor communal areas and there was a quiz night when I was there. $3.50 each way into town on the bus and less than a 10 minute walk to a sky bus stop. Supermarket 15 minute walk away. Slight complaints- bunk beds were very creaky, one of the toilets looked clean but smelt otherwise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
7.1

Staff really didn't speak to guests just mainly each other so very clicky. Hardly any atmosphere from other guests as most of them just stayed looking at their phones. Hostel was clean and comfy in bedroom and kitchen area. It's about 25-30 minute walk to the city Centre but right by a small high street and mount eden.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we do take pride in keeping our hostel clean and comfortable for our guests. The managers definitely try and make everyone feel welcome whenever possible but can get very busy at certain times of the day. The staff you are referring to are cleaners and most of them are friendly and will usually try speak to guests in their spare time. Sorry we can't force the guests to talk to each other.

29th Jan 2017
9.4

Favorite spot to stay in Auckland. Never overcrowded, always room to cook and hang out. Rooms are super nice and clean and the staff is lovely. Definitely the best spot for the chill, laid back traveler!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
9.7

Great place to stay. Very helpful, nice staff. Quick response when I had to email them with questions. If I need a hostel in Auckland again, I will go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
9.4

Great place, a bit far from the city center. Seems to be a spot where a lot of French people pass by.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.