Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bamber House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,040 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,040 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
Bamber House Located at 22 View Road, Mt Eden, Auckland.
Bamber House
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland 1024 22 View Road, Mt Eden
86% 1040
-36.8734756 174.7581267
Bamber House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Nov 2016
7.1

- Stayed 3 nights - Stayed in adjacent building which lacked character/atmosphere of main house, though welcome to use lounge, kitchen, etc. - Sliding door to room was often left unlocked by other guests and lockers were not big enough to hold main bag, only hand luggage - Feet touched end of beds at 6'1'' - Friendly staff, good facilities - Location was as advertised; around 30 min walk into town - Overall pretty clean. Kitchen, especially sink, often unclean from previous night's guest

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • josiahliston
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved my time here. Such a great atmosphere. Hopefully I'll stay here again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
10.0

Clean kitchen, spacious 4 bed dorm, and helpful staff. Lots of free internet, just have to ask for the vouchers. Great location, not far from Mt Eden or a local supermarket. Half an hour walk to city, but buses available. Cancelled other reservations elsewhere to stay again when returning to Auckland, highly recommend Bamber house!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2016
9.4

love staying here. such a nice hostle that feels a bit like home. the area is peace and quite, stuff is very nice but sometimes need to wait a lot to catch them. there were lots of French people when I was so sometime it wasn't so fun but still great atmosphere and people. highly reccomend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2016
10.0

Can not find a fault at all. Was Amazing. The staff, price, hostel and location were brilliant. The best thing of all is Mars and Clyde. Having a dog and cat makes it unique.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Oct 2016
4.6

This hostel was okay. The rooms are decent with good beds, however they have a major ant problem! Whenever I would go make food in the kitchen there would always be ants on whatever I would use to cook food. The office staff were never around and not really helpful either. There are so many better options for hostels in Auckland than this place.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ants are a constant problem in Auckland and we do our best to keep them out of the kitchen. No one made the staff aware of any major ant problems during you stay otherwise we would have taken extra measures to prevent them. Our managers are present either in the office or around the hostel from 8am-8pm and are willing to help guests with whatever questions they might have.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Oct 2016
8.0

Good location, clean, comfy beds, helpful staff and not a party hostel so you can recover from jet lag nicely!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Oct 2016
9.4

I had a very short but great stay at the bamber house. Set in an old house the rooms are very comfortable and the atmosphere is laid back and relaxed. Exactly what I look for in a hostel yet I rarely seem to find it. Not a far walk from most things to do in Auckland it's also in a residential neighborhood giving it the very added benefit of being quiet at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jocrisfield2060
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
9.4

Such a lovely place, great staff, lovely cat and wonderful dog!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jocrisfield2060
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
20th Oct 2016
9.4

Such a lovely place. Free wifi and well resourced kitchen. Added bonus of cool Clyde the cat and the magnificently friendly Mars! 💙🐾

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.