Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bamber House Reviews

22 View Road, Mt Eden, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained


831 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


I traveled by car, so this was a great hostel for me: free parking, quiet neighborhood, store nearby and just a quick drive to the inner city. Staff was helpful and friendly, facilities clean. Stayed there at the beginning and the end of my trip, no complaints!


A very nice place to stay ! Safe and pretty calm, it was perfect to relax at our arrival in New Zealand..


Great dorm/homely feel, only a $2 bus to the city.


I'm sad we only spent one night here, and then left for the airport early in the morning. We didn't get a chance to see the whole place or to really do much in the area, but the cabin we stayed in was exceptional!


This hostel had the best bed I've ever slept on. It was so soft and comfortable! And the staff members were really helpful.


Very cool place, outside the city center. A big house with a big garden, it feels almost like home. Beautiful and friendly. Main drawback to me was the inability to properly open the windows. During summer, we were just baking in our room and there was just no way to cool it down. Please remove these useless windows securities.


Bus ride from city center, very quiet though if you're looking to recover from jet lag. Not a lot going on in the common areas. Not very good internet, but that's true all over NZ. EXTREMELY CLEAN - one of the cleanest hostels I've been to. Main reason to stay here is because it's quiet and close to Mt. Eden - everything else is a bus ride away.


The good: Well-equipped kitchen. Free wifi with 200mb vouchers per night. Bathrooms were clean and available. Room was relatively clean. Hostel was quiet at night. Plenty of free parking. The bad: Location is in a suburb-type area that is about 45-60 walk to the CBD and wharf. It is a bit far from many things that you would want to see in the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Mt Eden is a peaceful neighborhood of Auckland located just 30 minutes walk from the town hall in the city centre, to walk to the ferry terminal on the waterfront it would take you 50 minutes. There are also buses that go directly to the town hall from outside Bamber House. Our hostel is right next to Mt Eden and offers travelers a quiet and safe retreat from the noise of the city centre.


Staff is awesome and super helpful. Rooms have plenty of space and a locker for locking up valuables. Good, fast, free internet is helpful. Only complaint would be that it's not in city center, but the bus is easy enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The staff at Bamber House make an effort to be extra helpful and make your trip special with tips and advice on how best to see New Zealand. One of the best thing about being in Mt Eden is the security and quiet that you just don't get in the city center. The neighborhood is very safe but still close enough to town that you can travel there by foot or by bus when you wish. We hope to see you back at Bamber House soon!


A beautiful building with great facilities, the cleanest hostel I have visited in a long time. A bit out of the city in a nice suburb but does have a regular bus service on the doorstep


Stayed here for the first 7 days of my 8-day Auckland trip. Bamber was excellent on all fronts. Great building, great atmosphere, clean bathroom/showers/kitchen. Farther from city center, but right next to Mt. Eden. Everything is well maintained, free wifi. Nice deck, and living room with lots of spots to lounge around. BONUS: they have a trampoline, cats and the cutest puppy, Mars.


I really enjoyed my stay at the bamberhouse. I especially liked the blankets :D it is a great stay if you have a car. Without you always need to take the bus if you want to go to the city. But still it was the best hostel i stayed in so far

Owner Comment (Hide)
At Bamber House we make a special effort to provide nice blankets, sheets and mattresses to our guests so they can get the best nights sleep possible. We also are one of the only hostels in Auckland that have off-street parking so we're the ideal hostel to come to if you have a car. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.


Had a pleasant stay. They guy working on reception had to do a lot of clearing up in the mornings though after other guests hadnt cleaned up themselves. Very nice to be out of the city and with a cheap bus running frequently was no issue getting into Auckland itself. Would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad that you noticed that our staff take extra care to make sure the hostel remains neat throughout the day. Mt Eden is the perfect place to base yourself to enjoy the city without being amongst the noise and commotion of the night clubs and noisy commuter roads. The bus runs frequently every 5 minutes and only takes 10 minutes to arrive at the town hall.


This is a very nice Hostel, very recommendable. Just next to Mt Eden, easy CBD-access by bus or 45min walk / 15min bicycle. Calm location, good kitchen, nice living room and tv room, garden and clean bathrooms. Dorms and twinrooms very good value, stayed there twice in jan and mar 2015


Very nice staff and lovely cat here. People here are like family. Only 10 min walking to Mt Eden. Nice area.


Staff were very friendly/ polite. Hostel was clean. Fair sized dining room kitchen & lounge. Short bus ride to city centre where bus to airport was easily accessable.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


Good hostel with everything you need. The kitchen was quite dirty though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was New Years and the manager was trying to make sure that the noise levels did not escalate and disturb those who did need a good nights sleep rather than cleaning up after everybody. It's not unusual that on New Years day that the kitchen will be quite dirty however we did make sure it was cleaned up by 10am since we do try to maintain a certain level of cleanliness here at Bamber House.


Awesome place, a lot cleaner than most hostels, great atmosphere, nice and quiet location, 10 minute bus ride from downtown.


Helpful and friendly staff, nice bathrooms. Too bad it is so far from the city, but at least its near to Mt Eden.


Bamber house is a nice home way from home in a charming area of Auckland that is still close enough to easily walk into the city. Staff is very nice and helpful. An easy recommendation for every traveller who is not looking for crazy massive party hostels.

(508 results)

View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback