Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bamboo Beach

  • 33 Newtown Beach, Wailoaloa Bay, Nadi, Fiji

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1023 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1023 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
6.0

We booked 3 nights at Bamboo. On opening the door we found a huge cockroach. The waste pipe from the neighbours was constantly running above our heads and we were kept awake until 4am by dogs barking and someone beating a dog. My husband got up and asked to change rooms. But for the following 2 nights they wanted us to go back to a room close by the dogs. We ended up asking for a refund, which wasn't well received and we never had any apologies for our bad experience. We won't be coming back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Bula bula, Thank you for the feedback and apologies for a less than wonderful stay. We have shared your comments with our housekeep and maintenance teams, and encouraged our neighbour dogs to lower their woofing. We will target improvements to ensure our future guests are more cosy and comfortable in their rooms.. In this case, our staff arranged an upgrade to a beachfront room on the woofing night, so you could wake up to a great view, and for the remaining nights they arranged an upgrade to a Superior room that was far away from the original room! We felt that this was a wonderful and generous solution. In unfortunate cases like this one, we try our very best to arrange suitable alternative rooms, but we do not waiver our 1 night cancellation policy, and thus your refund demand was uncomfortable for all involved. We wish we could have helped you more during your stay, and if you change your mind, we warmly welcome you to return to enjoy the Bamboo experience on better terms.. Vinaka and best wishes, Bamboo Team

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Aug 2017
8.9

Great hostel near the airport with a cool backpackers atmosphere! Great value for money, cool people and music, amazing food at the local bar...very recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2017
8.3

Bamboo is a great hostel when you get involved but I'd recommend booking at Bluewater Lodge (a slightly nicer part of the same hostel) seperately.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kadillackate
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jul 2017
10.0

This place had a great location right on the beach with a cool bar/restaurant vibe. Super easy to meet people as a solo traveler. Very nice staff but I think Fijians are pretty nice people in general :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2017
8.9

Amazing place! The staff are wonderful and kind and people in general are super friendly. It's right on the beach and there are tons of activities!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Jul 2017
7.4

Don't go for the female dorm!!! It's so noisy until 1/2am!!!! It's right beside the bar. Other than that, it was alright

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • emlouaw2788
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jul 2017
3.4

Not impressed! Staff not friendly or helpful, actually rather unwelcoming, my 'private room' was on the other side of the side of the strip, the resort was generally dirty. Stay at Smugglers Cove! Better value for money and a far more enjoyable experience!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Bula bula, thanks for the feedback and sincere apologies for the issues. Our staff have a great reputation for friendliness and our awesome housekeep team try their best to keep everything clean everyday, but it seems something has gone astray in this case. We wish we could have done more to make you happy during your stay. For guests seeking a more resorty experience for a few extra $$ then your Smugglers comment is sound advice. For travellers seeking a simple low cost bed/room by the beach with a fun, atmospheric island style hospitality, we recommend to choose us! Vinaka and best wishes, Bamboo Team

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Jul 2017
6.6

Cheao for an overnight stay. The beds are comfy but there is no lock to the dorm room and no lock to th building so anyone can wander in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jul 2017
6.9

Atmosphere here was amazing, lively and right on the beach! Quick 15 minutes bus to port and 20 minutes to the airport. With constant taxis waiting outside. However the 6bed female dorm is not worth the extra money you pay. The staff are constantly in and out using the socket to charge the kettle for the bar next door, it is LITERALLY next to the pool and the huge speakers that play until 2am. And the room connects onto the staff bar walkway so if you have an early flight do not pick this room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Bula bula, Thanks for the nice feedback and apologies for the unfortunate timing on these issues. We have shared your comments with our bar and housekeeper teams, and will ensure improvements are made. We appreciate the opportunity to improve our guest experience :) Bamboo Team

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2017
8.6

Very friendly staff, nice atmosphere. Would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.