Hostelworld.com

Bamboo Paradise

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 197 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 197 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
Bamboo Paradise Located at Jalan Penataran Agung, , Padang Bai.
Bamboo Paradise
Indonesia
Padang Bai Jalan Penataran Agung
74% 197
-8.5339155 115.5061984
Bamboo Paradise
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
6.3

The staff was great and in general we were comfortable but there were a few issues: - our sandals were stolen from outside the room door. - miscommunications about A/C in rooms and price - we were stuck and ended up paying much more than expected for A/C that barely worked ($300,000.00 Rupiah/night) - 'entrance' to beach is close, but the beach itself is another 10 minutes on fairly steep and rocky path! - Value: we paid much less in Kuta and Ubud for much nicer rooms and working A/C :(

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2016
4.6

Bamboo Paradise pretended to be a really nice place, it looked like they kindly welcomed us, explaining us our options about tours and so on. After listening to them we decided we would rather improvise, and then they didn't seem to agree to that. They were pushy and even rude to us, we were told to be stingy. They were very hostile with us since then and even got in our room without knocking. We would only have liked a more professional owners, where missunderstandins are naturally resolved.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2016
8.3

Staff was wonderful. Helpful and friendly !!!! Breakfast was great and shared space is perfect and clean. Bathroom is about what you'd expect. Only complaint is how hot the room got at night. Slept under the AC and was still up all night. Window didn't open but other beds had fans.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
11th Mar 2016
4.3

1 night was more than enough. Room was stuffy and full of mosquitos, very run down and needs a big makeover. The only saving grace was the lovely breakfast in the morning and the friendly ladies who served it to us. If you're looking at a stopover in Padangbai before heading to the Gilis I wouldn't bother- just go straight there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2016
9.4

Amazing place, great location and very good value for money... Totally recommend for ppl who wants to spend time in the village or even have a stop over before travel to Gili Island or Lombok.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2016
6.6

The hostel was in a good location, near the nice white sand beach. It was a good spot for our short stay in Padang Bai. The staff was OK, not very attentive or seemed too concerned with the guests. They didn't clean the room and it was a little gross. Also, the toilet didn't work and the wifi was not the best. Overall it was worth the money for the location we were in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2016
6.6

Met some amazing other travellers at Bamboo Paradise! The nights were fun gathered around the table with the people I met but the guy watching over the hostel, nice but lazy. Him and his friends used up all the wifi drinking beers and watching Netflix so wifi was hard to access. Only tiny little lockers. Beds were clean and washrooms were alright but us travellers were a little annoyed with the care taker when it was hot and the fan was being used for him and his friends rather than the guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Feb 2016
2.6

It kind of looked like the brothel in 'Taken'. The rooms didn't lock, bathrooms look like somewhere you dismember a body, staff were non-existent, dogs roaming around everywhere eating people's shoes and coming in the rooms. Padang Bai is really grim, nothing to see here whatsoever, so just get a morning transfer from another town to get to the Gilis. We definitely could have done without staying here. Only saving grace was the bottom bunk is almost a double... Not worth it though

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2016
9.1

Amazing staff and great community atmosphere, especially for solo backpackers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jan 2016
9.4

This place has a gorgeous, family-style feel. The manager was immediately super friendly and told us everything we needed to know about the area, as well as helping my friend and me organise a tour for the next day. The communal space is great and super chilled - great place to meet people. The rooms get very hot, but otherwise everything was clean and the free breakfast is awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.