X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bamboo Rio Hostel Reviews

Rua Lacerda Coutinho # 45, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
341 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

At Hostelworld web page I was asked to put arriving time, I set 9am, when I arrived to the hostel front desk person said that check-in was at 1pm (1pm!!!!!!!) so I asked to leave my stuff there to wander around the city without heavy luggage until the check-in timer, but staff asked me to pay 5 Reales for it!! So, what's the deal?? Late Check-in and pay for leaving personal belongings there? The rest was fine.


83%

Free, nutricious breakfasts, safety, polite and friendly (but not very English-proficient) staff and WiFi in certain restricted areas in the corridor/lobby. A definite choice for the budget traveler in a rush!


100%

I guess the best place to stay in Copacabana. The hostel is in the walking distance from the beach, and it is a great advantage. The staff is really friendly and the place itself is very cozy and nice. The room I stayed in had a lot of free air, which is a huge benefit comparing to other places. They have secure lockers - don't forget to take your own padlock! They also have a swimming pool, so take a chance and try it out. I am highly recommending this place


86%

A very nice lively hostel! A bit noisy but a good atmosphere and the happy hour with free capreheina's is great!

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent startstart (Balthazar and the rest of the crew helper us a lot!). A lovely terrace for breakfast and Evening drinks... Top!


71%

Hostel was clean and secure. (We were in a private room)We took two guided tours organised by the hostel which were good but a little overpriced. Internet was slow.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us, we are very happy to know you liked the experience! It is always cheaper to explore the city on your own, but the tour is more comfortable and saves your time, so it is up to everyone to choose =)

66%

A little disappointed with the happy hour cancelled for 2 nights! The kitchen needs more apparatus but rooms clean and staff helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you staying with us! The happy hour is available only when bar is open, so it was not cancelled, some days of teh week it does not open and a free caipirinha is a bonus cortesy for our guests, not an obligation that a hostel has to give in any circumstances!

91%

Very friendly hostel, great atmosphere, comfortable and in a great, secure location. Definitely a good place for young solo travellers to meet people, and perfect for people of any age on a budget.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so happy you liked our hostel, looking forward to have you again as our guest, best regards from all the staff!

100%

Great hostel! Ideal location - a short walk away from Copacobana beach. Clean rooms. Free caparinias 7-8pm! Good nights out arranged by the reception staff - Vivan & Manuela are the best!! :) Thank you, we had a great time at Bamboo! Rich & Ewan

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Richard for staying with us! Always welcome to come back!!

86%

I had a great time at the Bamboo hostel, staff were very helpful. Big thank you for Lucas at the Bar for the great times and Nilson at the Reception for all his help always with a smile! Thank you also to Manuela at the Reception & another lady that was often at the Bar in the evening but cleaning also (cannot remember her name!). Very nice and chilled place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us! Hopefully you will come back and stay at Bamboo Rio hostel another time!

46%

Beds were unsafe, as if they might collapse at any moment. Room was extremely cramped. 12 people in a roommate for 6max. Not particularly clean. Charged money to leave your bag before check in. Charged big deposit for keys and linen. Staff had a bit of an attitude. Worst hostel i have ever stayed in.

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback and your critics, they are very important for us to improve our hostel. We have a lot of rooms avaliable of a different size and value so that everybody can choose according to one´s needs. The bigger rooms are the most economic ones but if you are not satisfied you can always switch to another one. However, the beds are safe and have never ever collapsed. We offer some extra services ex lockers or transfer that cost an extra but you don´t have to use it.

71%

Anyone can enter and climb the starts. They have free drinkable water but you are not allowed to drink. The location is perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We care about the safety of our guests very much, there is a 24 hoours security in the street, 24 hour open reception and at nightime the gate is close so only people who are staying at the hostel can enter. We do not have a free drinkable water but we do have it for sale.

57%

Hostel is very well situated, it's 2-3blocks away from copacabana beach and the metro station is nearby. However the wifi is not working in the room. It only works in common area. The 9beds room has 3 triple bunk beds and the highest level is neither safe nor clean.(the mattress is all stained and small)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We have a lot of rooms to choose from, so only the cheapest rooms have the triple beds, but there is always an option for those who want more comfort. Anyways, thank you very much for staying with us.

66%

Nice staff but I felt like they 'nickle and dime' you. For example, charging $5 Rial to hold your bag for the day? Every other hostel I've ever stayed at did this as a courtesy. Also, they said I couldn't use the lockers in the halls because they were for the guests staying the night, even though each bed in each room has its own locker (?). No flexibility on refunds within the ie, 2 day period either.. One of the beds in the dorm I was staying in had signs of bed bug poop... not very enticing.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Matt, thank you for your feedback and critics. However, we have to say that we have rooms with really cheap daily rates which includes breakfast, fresh bed sheets, wi-fi, swimming pool and even happy hour of free caipirinha and the rest of our services which are paid are optional, you do not have to pay if you do not want to use them, we only give a possibility for people to use our extra services. And yes, the lockers in the corridor are for the people who are staying at the hostel.

97%

Sebastian, Lucas and the guy with two ear piercings (sorry I firgit to ask you name) were really helpful. The ladies serving breakfas were nices too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Bernadeta on behalf of all the staff for staying with us and leaving us your feedback, you are more than welcome to come back again!

94%

Great hostel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Clean and in a good location a short walk from Copacabana beach. Aircon in rooms overnight is a big plus in Rio. Bar has free caiprihinas every night in happy hour. Pool is great for cooling off after a sweaty day in Rio. Bring insect repellant - the mosquitos are brutal (just standard Rio, not much can be done)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much glen for staying with us and very welcome to come back!

86%

Nice place to stay. Good breakfasts, nice staff starting from Eduardo that helped us a lot, etc.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Javier for staying with us, always welcome back!

86%

Overall had a wonderful stay at this hostel.. The staff are super welcoming and friendly. Had minor problems with my room (saw a bedbug) but the lovely guy working the night shift moved me to another room without any arguments. Didn't have any problems with this matter after that. Overall I would recommend this hostel, just opt for one of the smaller dorms as they are by far better value for your money and cleaner.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for staying at Bamboo Rio hostel, we are very happy that you liked your stay with us. We do the desinfection every month and we are sorry to hear you experienced some problems, but we do everything we can to fic it and hope that you will stay with us another time again.



View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback