Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bamboo Rio Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 507 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 507 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Aug 2017
9.4

It's a really great place to be at. The place is really close to Copacabana beach and also to some places where you can get groceries. Bus stations are also super close, maximum 5min walk. Staff will help you at all cost with anything you need. If you stay long enough you will be able to stay for a really good BBQ! I would definitely go back to this hostel on the next time I travel to Rio!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2017
8.0

Nice staff and atmosphere. Many broken lockers and terrible internet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
20th Jul 2017
7.4

Staff very friendly and helfpul. Good location - only a few blocks from Copacabana Beach and a lot of restaurants and shopping nearby. Kitchen to cook in. Breakfast not very good for extra 10 reals, should be included, then again I don't eat eggs so maybe worth it to you. Wifi was good in certain areas, but not in rooms. Downside was there is only one shower in the hostel, but never had to wait too long. Bar on sight and drinks sold at reception too. Overall good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
4.9

The hostel itself is lovely, but beware of the hidden extras. We booked a private room at the hostel, which on arrival looks lovely. Then we find out our room is offsite (15-20 min walk) in an apartment block that has no atmosphere. We wanted to have drinks at the hostel and hang out, but each time we would have to walk there or get a taxi (which is about R$10-15 each way). You also have to leave R$100 deposit for the room. Then a R$5 (per bag) to leave your bags there, we had 4 bag (costly stay

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • paulcheeck1654
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jul 2017
10.0

My Place! I Just Loved it! I will come back and back! Staff is really great! Fred, from the bar, is a very funny guy! I stayed in a private room and it was amazing! A lot of space, and all the atmosphere! I Recomend for sure. Bamboo is my second house now. They got good kitchen, fully equiped and a very nice bar, with 2 for one caipirinha everyday.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Paulo_roman
  • Chile, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Jul 2017
8.6

Buen hostal

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nllmac775680
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
4.3

Only stay here if you want to be annoyed by a member of staff trying to sell you tours all the time. The red haired woman refused to help guests to see the highlights of rio on their own. "We have a very good tour that takes you there". Eveytime a guest asked for assistance they ended up getting annoyed with the continuous sales pitch and had to go and Google how to get to a location by themselves. Also she intimated any staff that tried to help The most expensive laundry in all south america!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Jacyboreaux
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
10.0

Such a super place to stay!!! We had so much fun - made such great friends and kept on extending our stay! Four blocks from the beautiful Copacabana Beach! They arrange city and favela tours and you can have such a great party every night!!! Be careful as breakfast is not included when you book through hostel world, but you can buy it for $R 10 at the hostel per day. And Its a great breakfafast for 10!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • BruceVincent
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jun 2017
10.0

Good hostel. Well versed in all that a backpacker needs with yours and transfers all easily booked at reception and if you want to do your own thing, no problem. They'll help. As a solo traveller it was easy to meet people and hang out on a daily basis. Everyone was super friendly. Would recommend a stay here for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Natalysuzan1
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jun 2017
10.0

Great location and facilities. Everything was perfect. They let us check in earlier and where very helpful in general. Just 3 blocks from Copacabana Beach. Good Breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×