Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bamboo Rio Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 445 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 445 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.7
Bamboo Rio Hostel Located at Rua Lacerda Coutinho # 45, , Rio de Janeiro.
Bamboo Rio Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro 22.041-030 Rua Lacerda Coutinho # 45
77% 445
-22.9687065 -43.1889295
Bamboo Rio Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Oct 2016
9.7

Me and my friend stayed here for 5 nights. Place is exactly what it says it is. The happy hour from 7 to 8 is a great way to meet new people. The location is very good only a 5 minute walks to the beach. The barman Gustavo is an absolute gentleman, couldn't rate him highly enough. The only flaw was that while we were here the Wifi was terrible! We found it hard to look into the next part of our trip and book buses, accommodation etc etc. Other then that id recommend this place to stay in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for staying with us, we are very glad to know you liked Bamboo Rio hostel. Sorry for the internet, we are repairing it at the time of your stay, but it always works at the area of the reception. We hope you come back another time!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
9.1

If your staying in Copacabana this is the place to stay! Great location as its close to everything but still quiet enough away from the streets. The girls at the desk are so helpful and will guide you in any direction you need to go whether it be on tours, transfers or directions! Facilities are great the wifi is fast and there is hot water in the showers! Highly recommend to stay here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so so much for staying with us, it was a great pleasure and I hope you come back some day again! Happy travelling =)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
7th Aug 2016
7.1

Bedding was old and warm but comfortable. Bathrooms ok. Negatives - firstly they ask for your credit card CVC to 'confirm' the booking. This is just like handing a stranger the keys to your house. I understand the need for deposits but maybe a secure system (PayPal?) is better. Late to breakfast at 10:10, I asked for a coffee cup which the staff rudely denied - didn't think this was any trouble since the pot of coffee was there. They charge for bag storage too. Not much but its unexpected

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us. Before you make a reservation it is clearly stayted on hostelworld that for this special date we do ask to pay 50% in advance, so I believe there should be no surprise as we notice it BEFORE you decide to make a booking with us. The breakfast is from 8AM to 10AM and for those who are late we never denie what is on the counter - you don´t even need to ask, just go and grab it , we just do not do the refill anymore as the breakfast time is over =) As for the baggage storage we have an optional service and it is up to you whether you want to use it or not.

29th Jul 2016
9.7

The hostel is easy to find, near the beach and the metro. The staff were lovely - really chatty and helpful, and the majority spoke good English. I was travelling alone and found the hostel very clean. The beds were clean, but I would recommend using your own towel; theirs were't dirty but old and didnt dry very well. They had a computer available and good internet . The breakfast is very good, with good options (ham, cheese, bred, fruit salad and more). I will be back for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Natalysuzan1
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Jul 2016
10.0

one of the best hostels you will stay in Copacabana. Great location, awesome vibes. some of the friendliest people working there who are willing to help you with any of your needs. Breakfast is pretty good, with good variety. Would definitely recommend to my friends and would definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Trudyvincent123
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Jul 2016
9.7

Great place, very friendly staff who are always willing to help. Very welcoming especially for people arriving in Rio for first time. Would recommend this place to friends and family back home so that speaks volumes for itself. The Bamboo Bar is awesome, with 1 hour of free caipirinhas everyday.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Chrisharis1234
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Jul 2016
10.0

I had such a good stay at Cabanacopa. The staff is super friendly and has excellent recommendations to discover Rio and party ! Aiste, The manager, helped me so much with a problem in the plane ticket. Thank you so much! I would definitely go back there for another stay in Rio.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Jul 2016
9.7

Thanks to all the staff for making my trip unforgettable and the cleaning ladies for their smiles! Everything worked out perfectly. Rooms are nice and the hostel is pretty clean the whole time. They got a cool bar and a happy hour with one hour of free caipirinhas. I will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.9

Great place, loved the free caipirinha hour!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us, very happy you liked your stay!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Jun 2016
6.3

Nice cheap hostel. Stayed here for a few nights in June and it was very quiet. Nice free breakfast. Rooms are a tad small but nice beds and bathrooms. Not much security though, a man ran in shouting and opened my bedroom door when I was there which was kinda scary.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.