Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Bamboo Rio Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.5
Bamboo Rio Hostel Located at Rua Lacerda Coutinho # 45, , Rio de Janeiro.
Bamboo Rio Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro 22.041-030 Rua Lacerda Coutinho # 45
79% 425
-22.9687065 -43.1889295
Bamboo Rio Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.9

Great place, loved the free caipirinha hour!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
3.7

If you are 25 and up or out of the party phase of your life don't stay here! If you love to party get drunk and loud then you will fit right in. The prices for things such as water and laundry are double the prices than regular. The staff also seems to have a bad taste for Americans. My largest complaint is that even though it says here that they have A.C they only turn it on for 8 hours after 10 p.m. which was an issue for me due to a medical condition...Windows have no glass or screens.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
24th Mar 2016
7.1

Pretty crowded rooms, top floor was dingy. Good bar , very nice staff

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2016
7.4

good location, close to a metro station and bus stops. helpful staff. good value.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your opinion and your stay, always welcome to come back!

  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Feb 2016
10.0

We had a great time. We stayed there for 5 nights and then traveled to Búzios. Finally, we return to Rio to catch our flight, but we got 8 hours to kill in the city. The staff helped us to coordinate the taxi, do the check-in, let us use the bathrooms and take care of our baggage while we went out on the city. They were great!.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Natalysuzan1
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Feb 2016
9.7

Best hostel in Rio de Janeiro. Location, atmosphere and social aspects are all excellent. Set up of the hostel is very well done, with the bar/reception area being a fantastic place to get to know guests and staff alike. Staff is not the best in the world, but is ok. Thanks for a great few days in Copacabana! I would recommended Bamboo hostels to anyone who wants to make the most of their time in Rio, for however long you are staying.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Trudyvincent123
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Feb 2016
10.0

Rio de Janeiro is one of the best cities in the world on my list and this hostel will help you enjoy it as its best. The location cannot be better, you are close to Copacabana Beach which is where everything happens, locals and tourists hang out, best place to enjoy a beautiful sunset, close to all the attractions. The hostel is very cool, huge lockers, big rooms and toilets, the staff speaks 3 languages and they know everything about the city. Great breakfast also!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Feb 2016
10.0

I booked my first night here and ended up staying the whole time. I paid $22 for the weekend nights and $15 during the week. Beautiful hostel tucked up in a hill on a side street. You get what you pay for- no a/c and the bathrooms are okay, however, plentiful. I never had to wait in a 10 person dorm. The staff is amazing, everyone is so nice and helpful. The breakfast is also very good. You can choose from eggs, 2 pieces of whole fruit, or meat and cheese.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2016
9.7

Only stayed one night but had a lot of fun. Nothing bad to say really. They did some great deals every day and location was great to easily walk to Copacabana or Ipanema.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2016
9.7

My friends and I really enjoyed our stay at Bamboo Rio in COpacabana. The staff is super friendly and helps you whenever you need information etc. In addition it is near the beach of Copacabana (only two blocks). Rooms are very clean and air conditioned! The atmosphere is very relaxed and you meet a lot of nice people 👍 We will definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.