Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bamboo Rio Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 461 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 461 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
9.1

Awesome experience! We had heaps of fun at Bamboo... staff are so friendly and helpful and will go above and beyond to help you out! Our rooms and bathrooms were cleaned daily! I'd defiantly recommend staying here! It was a little expensive but that was only because we stayed during carnaval.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your positive review! We are always trying to improve in what we can! See you soon, hopefully ;)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Feb 2017
10.0

Awesome staff Decent breakfast Central location Wifi can get a bit overloaded at times Cell reception within the hostel is poor, but easily fixed by stepping out on to the street, just a bit annoying. We stayed for 2 weeks over Carnival and in a private room. Well worth it when you plan to be in the one place for decent length of time. Also received a free upgrade to the best room for a few nights when it came available. Can't thank all the staff their enough for being absolute legends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Jack/Daniel! Thank you for your review! We expect you guys back soon :) :) :)

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jan 2017
7.7

The Wifi doesn´t work in the rooms, just in the bar and lobby! Also they want a 50 Real safety deposit, which is not on the website, so prep for that. Breakfast is really good and the Caipirinha Happy Hour was awesome! We had a private double room with two single beds and shared bathroom and the room was kinda crappy and too hot, because right under the roof, so that the air-condition didn´t make any difference. We then changed for a fee into a nicer room, which we enjoyed very much.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
5.1

The pool is very filthy, it is the highest price for laundry that i hve seen in all south anerica witch is 20 real for a kilogram of clothes (6 dollars), they want 5 real for taking a shower after doing the chack out and 5 real for every bag you leave at the storage room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience as we had hoped. Nevertheless, I think I could reply some of your arguments. Our laundry is a service we offer that, even though it might be considered high, is a 24 hour done service, with washed and ironed clothes to be left and picked back up at the front desk. The price is higher than other places for the convenience that we offer to our guest that does not have to do anything other than just leave the clothes with us and have it done in so little time - also, it's a service, the guest may choose not take it if he is not pleased, we certainly don't force anyone to take it. Before your check in and after your check out, that is, once the daily rate the guest have paid for the stay is over and he is no longer a guest of the hostel, we charge for some services, as such the use of our shower and our storage room. Once more, these are services that we offer and the guest may choose or not to enjoy of them. Other services, as such the use of free wifi, permanence within our facilities, use of bathroom etc, are not charged whatsoever. About the pool, we experienced some issues with it indeed because of the quantity of people using it, but now it's already fixed - we apologize for that and assure we are always trying to improve in whatever we can. I hope what has been said is taken into consideration. Kind regards,

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Oct 2016
9.7

Me and my friend stayed here for 5 nights. Place is exactly what it says it is. The happy hour from 7 to 8 is a great way to meet new people. The location is very good only a 5 minute walks to the beach. The barman Gustavo is an absolute gentleman, couldn't rate him highly enough. The only flaw was that while we were here the Wifi was terrible! We found it hard to look into the next part of our trip and book buses, accommodation etc etc. Other then that id recommend this place to stay in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for staying with us, we are very glad to know you liked Bamboo Rio hostel. Sorry for the internet, we are repairing it at the time of your stay, but it always works at the area of the reception. We hope you come back another time!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.