Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bamboo Rio Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 494 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 494 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
4.9

The hostel itself is lovely, but beware of the hidden extras. We booked a private room at the hostel, which on arrival looks lovely. Then we find out our room is offsite (15-20 min walk) in an apartment block that has no atmosphere. We wanted to have drinks at the hostel and hang out, but each time we would have to walk there or get a taxi (which is about R$10-15 each way). You also have to leave R$100 deposit for the room. Then a R$5 (per bag) to leave your bags there, we had 4 bag (costly stay

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Jacyboreaux
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
10.0

Such a super place to stay!!! We had so much fun - made such great friends and kept on extending our stay! Four blocks from the beautiful Copacabana Beach! They arrange city and favela tours and you can have such a great party every night!!! Be careful as breakfast is not included when you book through hostel world, but you can buy it for $R 10 at the hostel per day. And Its a great breakfafast for 10!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • BruceVincent
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jun 2017
10.0

Good hostel. Well versed in all that a backpacker needs with yours and transfers all easily booked at reception and if you want to do your own thing, no problem. They'll help. As a solo traveller it was easy to meet people and hang out on a daily basis. Everyone was super friendly. Would recommend a stay here for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Natalysuzan1
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jun 2017
10.0

Great location and facilities. Everything was perfect. They let us check in earlier and where very helpful in general. Just 3 blocks from Copacabana Beach. Good Breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I have stayed at! The owners and staff are extremely friendly, and knowledgeable of the area. Great vibe. I had good experience in my stay. The atmosphere is friendly, the rooms is clean and the hostel is very good located!!!. That is possible to relax during the day in the beautiful Copacabana beach and enjoy party at night. Great place to meet new people. I'm sure I'll visit again. Thank yo

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Chrisharis1234
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Jun 2017
10.0

Had the most amazing stay!! Booked 2 nights and ended up staying 6 nights. Awesome hostel with a very relaxed vibe! Visited during the low season but had a great stay, met cool people and the hostel prepared the best Brazilian BBQ party possible. Shout out for the guys who run this place! Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Jun 2017
10.0

A really enjoyable stay at a fantastic hostel. Situated reaaly near from the beach, this hostel is comfy, safe and the staff are the best! They are very welcoming and helpful, if you want to do something just ask and they will help with everything. Having a BBQ in bamboo bar was a highlight. The perfect hostel in a beautiful area. Thanks so much for everything!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shanz99999
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
10.0

I have stayed at many hostels around the world. The hostel was good and the staff were all amazing. Very friendly, helpful and could always have a great laugh with them all. I can't wait to stay here again next time I'm in Rio. The only place to stay in Rio.😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th May 2017
2.3

No water to have a bath or shower. No clean dishes or cups to have breakfast .. That means No breakfast. The manager is careless. Hygiene is zero.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
6.6

The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was good. However, travellers should note that if you book the private accommodation with ensuite (the apartment) you'll be three blocks away from the hostel itself, in a bland serviced block with no travel atmosphere at all. It's basically a cheap hotel room without holiday atmosphere. You get a TV, a bathroom to yourself and soap and towels. But, you're on your own. Nice if you're looking for a break from the hostel scene, I suppose.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.