Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bamboo Rio Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th May 2017
6.6

The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was good. However, travellers should note that if you book the private accommodation with ensuite (the apartment) you'll be three blocks away from the hostel itself, in a bland serviced block with no travel atmosphere at all. It's basically a cheap hotel room without holiday atmosphere. You get a TV, a bathroom to yourself and soap and towels. But, you're on your own. Nice if you're looking for a break from the hostel scene, I suppose.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
29th Apr 2017
4.9

We arrived there early in the morning. And just wanna chill/sleep because we had a night flight. No check in before 2pm. Even the beds been free and we need to put our sheds ourselves. Than we would chill in the common area to hangout there. But we are not allowed too. Because it's breakfast time. The guy tried to be nice. But you really can feel that you are not welcome. And when he wants something it was like in school that you did something wrong. And the smallest room I ever saw.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • zarabedford6085
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2017
8.6

Great hostel - it was located 10 minute walk from the beach. The staff were great and so inclusive and gave great advice on what tourist attractions to do and how to get there. Overall would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
10.0

Bamboo Rio Hostel is one of the best! The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful/knowledgable and will help you navigate the city and assist you with tour bookings. Its such a good location too, just a few blocks from the beach front, many restaurants and things to do very close by. I passed through Rio as a solo traveler and I'm so glad I stayed here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
10.0

The hostel staff were friendly, helpful and just plain fun. They gave excellent advice on what to see and where to shop. The evening events were a lot of fun and an opportunity to meet new people. They did give us some good bar recommendations though, and are in a great location to get everywhere. I would definitely stay again! Don't miss to have a couple of beers with Fabio and Leo, the owners, they are great guys.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
9.1

Awesome experience! We had heaps of fun at Bamboo... staff are so friendly and helpful and will go above and beyond to help you out! Our rooms and bathrooms were cleaned daily! I'd defiantly recommend staying here! It was a little expensive but that was only because we stayed during carnaval.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your positive review! We are always trying to improve in what we can! See you soon, hopefully ;)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Feb 2017
10.0

Awesome staff Decent breakfast Central location Wifi can get a bit overloaded at times Cell reception within the hostel is poor, but easily fixed by stepping out on to the street, just a bit annoying. We stayed for 2 weeks over Carnival and in a private room. Well worth it when you plan to be in the one place for decent length of time. Also received a free upgrade to the best room for a few nights when it came available. Can't thank all the staff their enough for being absolute legends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Jack/Daniel! Thank you for your review! We expect you guys back soon :) :) :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2017
5.1

The stay was ok. I would not stay here again. There is no atmosphere. The staff are friendly enough. There are better places to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jan 2017
7.7

The Wifi doesn´t work in the rooms, just in the bar and lobby! Also they want a 50 Real safety deposit, which is not on the website, so prep for that. Breakfast is really good and the Caipirinha Happy Hour was awesome! We had a private double room with two single beds and shared bathroom and the room was kinda crappy and too hot, because right under the roof, so that the air-condition didn´t make any difference. We then changed for a fee into a nicer room, which we enjoyed very much.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
5.1

The pool is very filthy, it is the highest price for laundry that i hve seen in all south anerica witch is 20 real for a kilogram of clothes (6 dollars), they want 5 real for taking a shower after doing the chack out and 5 real for every bag you leave at the storage room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience as we had hoped. Nevertheless, I think I could reply some of your arguments. Our laundry is a service we offer that, even though it might be considered high, is a 24 hour done service, with washed and ironed clothes to be left and picked back up at the front desk. The price is higher than other places for the convenience that we offer to our guest that does not have to do anything other than just leave the clothes with us and have it done in so little time - also, it's a service, the guest may choose not take it if he is not pleased, we certainly don't force anyone to take it. Before your check in and after your check out, that is, once the daily rate the guest have paid for the stay is over and he is no longer a guest of the hostel, we charge for some services, as such the use of our shower and our storage room. Once more, these are services that we offer and the guest may choose or not to enjoy of them. Other services, as such the use of free wifi, permanence within our facilities, use of bathroom etc, are not charged whatsoever. About the pool, we experienced some issues with it indeed because of the quantity of people using it, but now it's already fixed - we apologize for that and assure we are always trying to improve in whatever we can. I hope what has been said is taken into consideration. Kind regards,

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.