Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Bamboo Rio Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 410 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 410 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.8
Bamboo Rio Hostel Located at Rua Lacerda Coutinho # 45, , Rio de Janeiro.
Bamboo Rio Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro 22.041-030 Rua Lacerda Coutinho # 45
73% 410
-22.9687065 -43.1889295
Bamboo Rio Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Apr 2016
3.7

If you are 25 and up or out of the party phase of your life don't stay here! If you love to party get drunk and loud then you will fit right in. The prices for things such as water and laundry are double the prices than regular. The staff also seems to have a bad taste for Americans. My largest complaint is that even though it says here that they have A.C they only turn it on for 8 hours after 10 p.m. which was an issue for me due to a medical condition...Windows have no glass or screens.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
24th Mar 2016
7.1

Pretty crowded rooms, top floor was dingy. Good bar , very nice staff

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2016
7.4

good location, close to a metro station and bus stops. helpful staff. good value.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your opinion and your stay, always welcome to come back!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Feb 2016
7.1

We stayed here during carnival so it was a bit more pricey compared to other times. The great company of other backpackers and the caprihna happy hour gave the place a great vibe, The bar was good and I can think of at least 3 members of staff who were friendly and helpful, some of the others seemed rude/ disorganised, (but hey they could've just been having a bad day), a staff member tried to charge me twice for a tab that I had paid 10mins earlier to him but he lost his receipt.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2016
6.9

Take a mattress cover with you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us. Actually, youdo not need to have any cover as we always provide fresh linnen and a blanket if needed ;)

3rd Feb 2016
8.0

Great hostel to stay during carnival! Brilliant staff and a nice bar. No air-con in the room made it hard to sleep though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for being a guest of Bamboo Rio Hostel. The only room which used to have no air conditioning, now has it, so all our rooms have the air now!

  • jondneumann6012
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Feb 2016
8.0

I stayed here during Carnival. It's in a great location, not too far from the action and not in the center of it either. They have a great Happy Hour with free caipirinhas. The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. I had no issues whatsoever. I stayed in the 4 person room with AC and was very comfortable. We each had a key to the room and a personal locker inside. The bathrooms were decent. Overall, great value for the money. I would consider staying here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2016
6.0

9 bed dorm with triple stack bunk beds and no a/c or fans. Not pleasant at all. Breakfast is super minimal and rationed out (looks nothing like the picture on here). Very average wifi.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jan 2016
9.1

Great and safe location! As a young women in this big city I felt totally comfortable there. Small supermarkets, cafés and the beach are all just a short walk away. The hostel itself is a small, colorful place with outgoing people and really nice staff. Ask the receptionist for the Favela Walking tour and they will arrange everything for you. A must-see!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.