X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bambu Glamping City House Reviews

Calle 6 # 32 - 164, Medellin, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
75 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

The location of the hostel was great. We stayed in an 8 bed dorm. We got the last two beds and the room was already full with backpacks and other stuff that you could barely move. Besides, it was pretty dark in the room and it did not create a great atmosphere at all.


97%

Awesome, quiet, clean and green hostel! Nevertheless, it's located just 3 blocks outside of the parque lleras area with all its bars and clubs. They have a garden with hammocks, a living room that feels like home and the beds have curtains - first time I've seen that. Last but not least, the staff helped me with everything I needed. One of the best hostels I've seen!


89%

I had a good stay at this hostel. The staff were all friendly and helpful, great place outside in the hammocks to relax! it's a small walk in the area of Poblado where all the other hostels and restaurants are located.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel! The staff went above and beyond to help with everything that I asked for (how to get around the region, finding companies for certain outdoors sports, etc) the only downside is that there is no breakfast but the kitchen was very good so it wasn't a problem to cook for myself


97%

Amazing place, quiet, well located, it feels like we were home. It was safe and clean, a very nice hostel, I highly recommend it!!


94%

it is a little outside of the main party center, nevertheless a very laid back atmosphere and perfect for this that don't want be in the middle of the party district. It is a 20 minute walk away from the metro stop and has everything one needs!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

In poblado but not a major party hostel. Liken it to camping in the greenfields at Glastonbury; a reprive away from the craziness, but all is closeby should you want it. Felt like it attracts a more chilled out clientele too. 6 beds per dorm - nice number, hot showers, can use kitchen. Only 2 baños so wkend gets busy but was ok. The V best bits: each bed has a curtain & a nightlight = privacy++, also, due to creek nearby you are lulled to sleep at night by the gentle sound of water, peeaaceful!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely LOVE THIS PLACE. In the best location in Medellin!!!! Everything is walking distance, and the staff are super friendly and very helpful. Daniel was the most welcoming host, showed me all the best spots in the city. They just rebuilt their kitchen and its super nice. The backyard at the hostel is super beautiful as well. You feel liek you are in a jungle lots of plants and trees places to hang your hammock. The backyard is my favorite thing about this hostel, super tranquil.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff is great. Knowledgeable about the area and very friendly. Go for the tents, super nice. Good location close to restaurants and bars but far enough away for no noise. Metro within walking distance. Stayed here twice and would definitely go back again!

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The place was dirty and had mold growing in various rooms. Some beds had bed bugs. The neighborhood was beautiful, but it was so far removed from everything that it made it hard to get to the main part of the city.


83%

Great hostel lots of space to chill and great atmosphere. Love the curtain privacy in dorms


80%

Kitchen needs improving.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

I have stayed in quite a few hostels and this is far an away the best one I have stayed at. The beds are comfortable, the facilities are clean and people are very quiet after midnight. Why stay at a party hostel when you can stay at one where you can sleep and party other places. You won't go wrong staying here. It's also about a 15 min walk to the Metro, downhill. Take a bus back up for 1,700 pesos.


100%

Just Don't make the mistake of going to another hostel


94%

Bambu is an oasis tucked up in the hills of el Poblado, away from the hustle and bustle of Medellin, but close enough that it doesn't feel isolated. Alex and the rest of the staff were very helpful and the atmosphere was laid-back and comfortable with plenty of space to spend time outside. The hostel took on more of a party vibe during the weekend.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The is a great hostel to stay. I loved the neighborhood and location and especially the backyard area. Very chill environment. My only complaint is that the Kitchen doesn't have a toaster but that's pretty negligible. I do note that while I was there two girls got robbed on the street nearby. That has nothing to do with the Hostel but you always have to be wary of your surroundings in Medellin. Tourist (especially Gringos) are looked at as easy cash targets for in any neighborhood.


97%

Wonderful hostel. It seems to be a bit away from everything, but once you understand how to move in Medellin, you'll see that it is on one of the best spots. As of the staff, they did a wonderful job. Facilities are very comfortable and clean. The only reason I didn't set the Value for money section on excellent is because it could be somewhat cheaper, I think. Other than that, I would definitively recommend this hostel.


97%

Fantastic hostel - well designed, clean, and brilliant facilities. Great place to relax and enjoy all that Medellin has to offer. Staff are incredibly helpful. Highly recommend staying here!


100%

Best hostel in Colombia!! Bambu hostel is like a home to me, not just because of the cozy atmosphere but also because of the staff

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This is a lovely hostel in a great part of a beautiful city! It somehow manages to have a spacious garden with hammocks under the trees (birds, stream, the works..) while also being in one of the main areas of medelin. Staff are amazing: from being silently handed a very welcome coffee on my first morning, to late night chats about Colombia, salsa dancing and un-endingly patient advice on what to see, the staff made it feel like we were all friends hanging out. Felt like home - miss it already!


« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Medellin Hostels

Please give us your feedback