Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bambu Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 641 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 641 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • StacyPostupack
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2017
10.0

Wonderful staff and comfortable clean rooms make this a great choice for anyone who wants to spend time in beautiful David. Thanks Greg for helping me find some great stuff to do in the area. I appreciate the hospitality very much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jun 2017
10.0

Perfect place to stay if you're traveling through Panama and need a night to rest. The pool and dining area are really nice. Supermarket is a 3 minute walk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • randyposner
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
10.0

Bambu Hostel is a great place to stay especially considering how inexpensive it is and how few legitimate options there are in David. If I had known how my stay would be here I would have stayed longer. Even made a couple of new friends of other travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ChanceGardener
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
10.0

What a wonderful place to stay! I loved swimming in the pool. Staff was warm and friendly and helped me figure out fun stuff to do. I would recommend this place to a friend or stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
10.0

Absolutely the best place to stay in David. Bambu Hostel is clean, well-organized, and close to stores and restaurants. The air conditioning also worked very well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
29th May 2017
8.0

Good hostel, stayed in jungle dorm in two top bunks that could have done with a wipe as a lot of 'debris' from insects and geckos above. Other than that it had everything you need and a Pizote joined us for breakfast and tried to steal everyone's food which was amazing. You can even stroke it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th May 2017
6.9

The hostel has a pool and a big kitchen which is nice. The dorm is in a hut that has open windows. There are no lockers in the room. For a night as a stopover in David it was okay but I wouldn't stay longer there. It's very far from the centre.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are a 5 minute 2-3 dollar taxi ride, or 20-25 minute walk, or .35 cent (US) bus ride (about 10 minutes) from the terminal, and we are located in the real shopping district of David, a kind of city center in itself, so I must disagree that we are 'far' from the city center. Also the 'open' hut is actually a replica of houses built by Ngobe-Bugle people of Panama, made with native woods on stilts, built to be comfy and cool even on hot evenings, hardly a hut...sorry that you missed the cultural meaning of it...guests tend to love it, when they 'get' it.

  • spostma929019
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th May 2017
8.9

Perfect if you're using as a place to crash while travelling long distances (from Panama City into Costa Rica for example). Comfy and spacious rooms with a refreshing pool. Staff was approachable as well. My only complaint is David is not a happening town, meaning I would not stick around for more than a short night of needed rest if you're an on-the-fly traveller.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Apr 2017
8.0

Good place to stay while in David. Shopping within a bit of a walking distance. The kitchen is kind of dirty but thats mostly due to the other visitors. Rooms are clean but there are no keys. You can use the lockers in the reception area if you have important things to lock away. It's a 3$ taxi ride from the bus station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Apr 2017
7.4

Bamboo is a nice hostel but it could be great with some tweaks. The place would look tonnes better with a lick of paint and some fairylights by the pool/treehouse. The hammock area gets ignored because it doesn't look inviting. Staff are friendly but not knowledgable about the area as they are all volunteers passing through. Would have been nice to meet the owner or to see a security person on the door. All in all a nice place for a layover - atmosphere could be better with lights etc

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.