Hostelworld.com

Bambu Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 590 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 590 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
10.0

Gregg and all the staff at the Bambu are friendly and helpful. If your looking for a five star hotel, this ain't it, but if clean, laid back, and affordable is your style you are in luck. David, while (not much) of a tourist destination, is a great base for exploring southern Panama. Transportation is cheap and easy to arrange with the help of the Bambu staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
9.4

Great staff, very nice oasis in David. 10:30 check out is a little early. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
9.4

Treehouse dorm was cool, staff were real nice and inviting, and kitchen was great. A short but fab stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
9.1

Loved this hostel. Price wise it was a bit steep for me especially as I have Canadian dollars and need a private room. Other than that everything was fine. Lovely mix of international travellers. Big outdoor kitchen a plus, also the clean swimming pool. An excellent place to stay with a car, but doable without.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jem_whitehead156316
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
8.0

Nice stay here, staff were super friendly and helpful. Pool was nice and cheap drinks at the bar which lends to a good atmosphere. Kitchen cleanliness was a bit meh but passable. Showers very good and warm, AC worked well. Main things to be improved were the wifi which was very slow and temperamental, and ridiculous squeaky bunk beds which was not fun.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Jan 2017
7.7

Pool was nice and location was good enough. Close to a big super market which was handy. The jungle dorm room just wasn't for me. Loud, creaky and beds weren't the best either. Outdoor kitchen was kinda cool and the staff was very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2017
9.1

Great stopping point and walkable to the grocery store. Has a really good seafood restaurant directly accross and an awesome stage. Ended up staying an additional night because of the vibe with other traveler's. Have fun!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2017
9.4

Very good hostel! The outside courtyard is spacious and clean. The pool is perfect and the owner (and the staff in general) are really nice. They also have a cool bar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
9.1

We absolutely enjoyed our time in this hostel. Amazing fish restaurant right across the street! About ten minutes walk to the supermarket and just a block away from the bus stop. The pure highlight of the stay are the staff. Everyone was so friendly, social, and will most often times tell you about all the different things to do in the cute little city of DAvid and the surrounding area. Only thing we would of like to see more or actually hear, is music :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
9.4

We planned to stay at Bambu just for one night after a long bus ride from San Jose to David. However, Bambu was such a nice hostel we decided to stay another night to relax. The WiFi was great, so I spent the majority of the day catching up on emails by the pool. Gregg even helped me do my laundry! I would highly recommend Bambu. Staff is friendly, kitchen is big and clean, AND rooms are air conditioned!!!! PS- the seafood place across the street is killer. Entrees are $5 or less!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.