Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bambu Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 626 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 626 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
7.4

Nice hostel with all the facilities, such as a kitchen and a pool, which was great relief after a hot day on buses. The volunteer staff were eager to help with check-in and the other guests were friendly. The grounds are nice, with plenty of trees but the whole place needs a bit of a spruce up. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2017
10.0

Nice place. No issues, no problems.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2017
10.0

This place has a great vibe and helpful staff. Great typico Panamanian food across the street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Mar 2017
6.6

No lockers but there were no issues with security when I was there. Close to a supermarket but far from the city centre. Facilities are good but there was no atmosphere. I didn't even realise there was a bar until I checked out which is a shame as I would have liked a beer at the end of the day. Nice hammocks though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Mar 2017
8.9

Good hostel, nice staff and owner. Swimming pool looked like it needed a bit of a clean but was great to have. Another shower would have been helpful too. But overall great layover spot between Panama City and Boquete.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2017
10.0

Great swimming pool and kitchen. The jungle dorm is breezy at night and easy to sleep in. There's lockers at reception. Great staff and plenty of information about how to go to the next place. Great choice to relax after a long day traveling!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
1st Mar 2017
8.6

Nice hostel to hang out and relax at! The outdoor areas are great, many people just hung by the pool all day! Easy to meet others, nice restaurant and supermarket nearby. The manager makes a real effort to make the hostel the best it can be.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Bianca_Tobinski5014
  • Germany, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
26th Feb 2017
8.9

We had a nice stay in David. The hostel is not that close to the bus station, but the taxis are cheap. Supermarkets and restaurants are less than a 10min Walk away. Nice kitchen and atmosphere 👍

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
9.4

The owner is genuinely top notch. He and his staff made me feel right at home immediately. Kind of tucked away on a back street but easy walking to grocery and other stores. Hot showers, air conditioned dorms, open air community kitchen and the pool is located between the living quarters and the casual bar. Cool off in the pool and drink a couple of $1 beers. I extended my time here from 2 nights to 4.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
7.4

The pool and bar area were great. There are a lot of things this hostel needs to improve on, however. The facilities are quite old and I am not sure how much cleaning occurs. There was a big dead bug in my 6-bedroom dorm when I arrived in mid February 2017. Staff need to be trained more on directions and they should use a well-defined map to point out nearby places. Cool wildlife, though. Bats and monkey neighbors.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.