X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Banana Backpackers Reviews

61 Pine Street, Ambassador House 1st Floor., Durban, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

55%

Rating
118 Total Reviews
  • 58%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 53%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 42%Atmosphere
  • 49%Cleanliness
  • 53%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

Very dirty.. Cockroaches everywhere even in bedroom and bathroom. Paint peeling off everywhere. No fans or ventillation

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I think you need to supervise very strong on cleanliness of the rooms,especial where i there's thatch roof. and utensils to be bleached for health purposes

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Connie , You seemed to be confused , we do not have thatch in the backpackers and lastly you did Not stay at Bananas

63%

the building is very old,plugs @ some rooms not working,unsafe but you stand with no choice because you are told you book @ your own risk,coming back will be a big no no,we refered many members from our church but there was no appraisal from your oiffice.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


43%

Would bot recommend staying here at all! No safe parking, rooms were clean, but ugly and you could hear everything which was happening at the main areas. Showers were old and dirty with no doors but with groce curtains, kitchen was a mess…. Don't go


77%

No safe off-street parking around (we left our car right across the street from the hostel, and it was ok - or we were lucky - as long as you do not leave anything inside), no safe walking after sunset in the area, the area is quite noisy at night (music from hostel and traffic on streets. We were happy to leave Durban asap. Free wifi, though, to mention something positive.


66%

Good staff, hôtels pretty clean ans close to the océan, breakfast non included but good value for thé monde. However, rooms are noisy, kind of expansive and really far from thé city centre (15MIN driving). Better for surf lovers . Area pretty safe , in a luxuous neighbooroud. Pay attention 9am ckeck out really early

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank-you for comments , however confused about comment on city centre , we are 5 mins walk from The city centre and check-out time a very lax 10am with plenty of storage facilities for baggage



View all Durban Hostels

Please give us your feedback