X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Banana Backpackers Reviews

61 Pine Street, Ambassador House 1st Floor., Durban, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

58%

Rating
110 Total Reviews
  • 54%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 64%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 48%Atmosphere
  • 46%Cleanliness
  • 50%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Good staff, hôtels pretty clean ans close to the océan, breakfast non included but good value for thé monde. However, rooms are noisy, kind of expansive and really far from thé city centre (15MIN driving). Better for surf lovers . Area pretty safe , in a luxuous neighbooroud. Pay attention 9am ckeck out really early

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank-you for comments , however confused about comment on city centre , we are 5 mins walk from The city centre and check-out time a very lax 10am with plenty of storage facilities for baggage

80%

This backpackers was good value for money in Durban - it isn't a posh or swanky hotel, but a cheap and cheerful hostel, close to the beach area and the staff were really helpful.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank-you for your honest appraisal

89%

The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Thanks a lot!

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

A bit tatty round the edges but great location with very friendly and helpful staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest appraisal

49%

It’s true it is well-located( close to many attractions ) and the staff is very helpful but the dorms weren’t clean and the linen had seen better days. The kitchen is spacious but it is very old and many of the pots and cutlery are dirty. The toilets are relatively clean but it’s old. I haven’t seen rats or cockroaches as I had read in other reviews.


29%

Busdriver already called it "Devils House" or something like that... Some Windows are destroyed. Rooms look a bit like a prison and at some spots it smells like one. The Kitchen is so disgusting, that you don't want to make food in it. Common Room is ok. There are 6 hints at reception that they don't refund / "No refunds when check out earlyer" - That says everything...

Owner Comment (Hide)
How should I respond ? You arrived with 6 others , taking our numbers for the night to 53 . You never lodged a complaint during your brief visit , however 1 out of 53 . Thank you for informing us of the drivers comments and will take the matter further . Sorry we did not provide you with a better service



View all Durban Hostels

Please give us your feedback