X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Banana Backpackers Reviews

61 Pine Street, Ambassador House 1st Floor., Durban, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

56%

Rating
121 Total Reviews
  • 57%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 63%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 37%Atmosphere
  • 49%Cleanliness
  • 43%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

I would not recommend this backpackers to others. Here s why: - not enough fresh air in our room. The only window opens to the communal area in the middle. - loud music till around 1.00 am. - no fan (for us it was quite warm there) - the place is not very clean compared to other hostels I ve been in South Africa.


43%

Very dirty.. Cockroaches everywhere even in bedroom and bathroom. Paint peeling off everywhere. No fans or ventillation

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I think you need to supervise very strong on cleanliness of the rooms,especial where i there's thatch roof. and utensils to be bleached for health purposes

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Connie , You seemed to be confused , we do not have thatch in the backpackers and lastly you did Not stay at Bananas

63%

the building is very old,plugs @ some rooms not working,unsafe but you stand with no choice because you are told you book @ your own risk,coming back will be a big no no,we refered many members from our church but there was no appraisal from your oiffice.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


37%

Staff was more concerned with doing each other's hair than guests. Huge cockroaches. Weird atmosphere with what seemed like families living there and the guys walking around in their underwear, and a bunch of kids (there was at least 20 in the bathroom when I tried going in the morning)? Very loud in the morning with the kids getting ready for school. I don't recommend staying here.




View all Durban Hostels

Please give us your feedback