Hostelworld.com

Banana Beach Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 255 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 255 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.6
Banana Beach Hostel Located at Servidao da Prainha 20, Barra da Lagoa, , Florianopolis.
Banana Beach Hostel
Brazil
Florianopolis Santa Catarina 88061240 Servidao da Prainha 20, Barra da Lagoa
68% 255
-27.5703735 -48.4273910
Banana Beach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jan 2016
5.4

These were the worst nights I have ever had! It had no air cond and the fan was broken! The only way to get some fresh air was openning the window but it was in front of the stairs to the bar! So the whole night people were speaking lound and even more some weird Israeli that worked there! These guys were screaming all night long! One morning I woke up feeling the smell of vomiting cuz somebody passed out in front of the window! I WILL NEVER - EVEER - GO BACK TO THIS PLACE!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
19th Jan 2016
6.3

The staff were a bit cliquey and we felt like a bit of an inconvenience but I guess it depends on who is volunteering. The hostel has everything you need and a nice terrace. Better if your a group of mates.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2016
4.6

The staff was rude and unhelpful, especially the blonde girl from Israel at the reception. The hostel is too noisy and doesn't have a good atmosphere. I would never go back there, especially when there are many better hostels in Florianopolis than this one.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Jan 2016
6.0

Not the cleanest, breakfast was okay, atmosphere wasn't great, wouldn't go back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2016
6.0

Although located literally on the beach, the hostel itself definitely needs some improvements. The hostel is way overpriced and lacks basic maintenance. The bathrooms are not clean, and some of the toilets were clogged. The wifi is quite terrible and overall this hostel didn't make me want to stay more than the nights I already booked.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Dec 2015
4.0

There must be worse hostels in the world, in the same way that there must be aliens in the universe... But no one has found either yet. The shower/rooms do not have doors and the toilet bins don't have lids so it's like sleeping in a sewer. The staff almost seem to resent any foreign customers and are of no help whatsoever. Our saving grace were the other hostels around whose staff took pity on us when they heard were we staying... Stay at Barra Beach Club if you can, or anywhere else but here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Dec 2015
8.6

Excellent location and very nice staff who moved my girlfriend and me to a nicer room because it was vacant and because they had a large group that were likely to make a lot of noise (though we never noticed). The breakfast was good and the free caipirinhas are hard to say no to! The rooms are simple, and there are a few improvements which could be made, but it still a hostel which we would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Dec 2015
4.0

I can speak on behalf of about 10 people. We have never felt welcome in this hostel. it's just a business for the owners/managers/staff. They don't create the environment that we already experienced in other hostels in Florianopolis. I'd like to mention among the staff a "funny" guy from Israel in a very good shape, not taller than a little girl who made us feel uncomfortable since the very first moment we met him.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thank you for your comment which does not add up! You made a reservation for 2 people and not for 10. We try best to make the most of your stay! Banana Beach Thanks anyway ...

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2015
10.0

Definitely the best hostel I stayed in the last 6 months. The wonderful staff. Full breakfast. It has a pool they do party, 1 caipirinha every night, if you really want to stay in this hostel is the best place to interact with other people.The room I got was very good, and it was cleaned every day. Recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Nov 2015
4.0

good location, fair price for a very basic accommodation. Great breakfast! BUT... Room is small, bed very uncomfortable and smells ugly. No people at all so also no atmosphere. Pool isn't working, so we paid for facility that wasn't available. At night was extremely load because of some renovations (?!) At that time was nobody at the reception, who could be informed about. We didn't feel safe during our stay at Banana Beach Hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks for your comment that is not useful! If you did not like the accommodation, bedroom, bed, 24-hour reception, full breakfast because it became a daily the most? We did everything to be a great stay!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.