Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Banana Bender Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 125 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 125 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
9.1

Fab hostel with great staff. Absolutely loved my time at Banana Bender it's a small hostel with good facilities. Kitchen is small but it kind of helps with meeting people. I met loads of people and the staff were friendly and very helpful. Beds were comfy as well. There's a street of bars around the corner which was fun and only 10 min walk into the city. I would highly recommend staying here. Free wifi is very limited but you can get a deal for more.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2017
9.4

Excellent! Everything you need at a backpackers (chilled vibe with some cool people version), supermarket down the road, short walk to both the CBD and South Bank (a little further to Fortitude Valley or West End)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
31st May 2017
8.0

Isn't that far to walk into cbd or even south bank. Rooms were comfortable enough and the beds were comfortable. Security was a little iffy with security lockers only big enough for small bag and the room door being left open frequently (though this is likely just my roommates). Generally felt clean but the bathrooms didn't fully feel that way. Perhaps just tired/worn out and in need of paint.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lindaheise1948
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Apr 2017
8.9

I love this hostel. Great atmosphere, very nice staff and great to meet other not so very young backpackers. I'll come back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
9.4

Great Hostels. Much friendlier atmosphere than chain hostels such as YHA.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.9

Great atmosphere!!! A great place to stay if you are alone because it's safe and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Mar 2017
8.3

Not enough cuttlery, additional costs for A/C!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • danj0rdan
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Feb 2017
9.4

Stayed here for a month whilst working, the staff are all great real friendly, felt welcome by the owners too. A great place if you wanna see Brisbane at your own leisure as you're allowed your own space if that's what you want. But equally a nice little pit stop if you're just passing through.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iran, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
5.7

-No air-con inside rooms! -no free wifi as advertised(ONLY 100mb free!!!) -No breakfast! -Kitchen will be locked after 9:30pm -Only one shower/bathroom for 8-10rooms. *** I should be honest; except one of staffs, the rest were polite and nice. After two nights staying there, I found another hostel closeby, cheaper! With free wifi, breakfast, aircon, and perfectly clean and I am super happy there!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
8.0

Good hostel, nice friendly staff. Rooms were ideal room fan kept you cool all night and had a good sleep. Paid for wifi but was cheap and wifi was satisfactory for all my needs. Would recommend hostel to any traveller. Chilled out hostel, perfect for my weeks stay in brisbane. Would come back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.