Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

  • 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui, Maui, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 985 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 985 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.4
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel Located at 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui, Maui.
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
USA
Maui Hawaii 96793 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui
83% 985
20.8922938 -156.5043640
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
9.7

Best hostel EVER

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Nov 2016
9.4

This was possibly the best hostel I've ever stayed at. In terms of amenities, it really wasn't anything special. The Wi-Fi works, bathrooms are OK, and there is access to a fully stocked kitchen but what really sets this hostel apart is the staff. The staff is laid back, helpful, and genuinely a blast and they set the tone for the overall atmosphere at the hostel. They also do daily tours that make it easy to meet people if you're traveling solo. Definitely stay here if you're in Maui.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2016
7.4

Bargain price at expensive Maui!! What a wonderful idea on complimentary daily tour, which offers opportunity for fellow travelers to travel together and meet people. The number of disposable cups in the early morning after Friday night keg party is proof that people had a great time. One thing can be improved is the showers. They are so wet that the bathroom rugs are dripping soaked. Overall, I had a very nice stay and will recommend the Banana Bungalow. Thank you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2016
5.1

Expensive accommodation for what you get and you are asked to tip (the volunteer ends up getting 200$/day!) for tours which are said to be free (loose time at supermarket and come back early). Private rooms should have private bathroom. Bad breakfast. Location sucks: far from everything. Worst part: 10pm quiet time (you are asked to be quiet, no music, no light, and there is nowhere to go out).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Oct 2016
6.0

Nice place, too noisy for my opinion .

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Oct 2016
9.4

I had a blast. Staff was great, the location is not that great but free tours are great idea. It was really nice to stay at this hostel. Will definitely recommend this and I will be coming back. Room was worth the money, typical hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Oct 2016
10.0

Great place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Oct 2016
10.0

Amazing place to stay!!! Best hostel I've ever stayed at! Great atmosphere great staff & a great place to meet new people! Can't wait to go back! Thank you to the bungalow team for such an amazing stay!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
5.4

There is a beautiful courtyard & offers wide range of day trips - amazing. My low rating is purely based my room itself. I booked a 3 Bed Private Shared, & to my dismay, there were two twin beds & "one" foam mattress tossed on the floor - it was two foam mattresses held together by the sheet. I'm no stranger to hostels & love to meet new people & get a feel for the city, but I feel the term "3 Bed" was purely misleading. The cost was high in my opinion for a foam mattress on the floor.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the courtyard and our awesome tours! Our private triples are two twin beds and a mattress on the floor as stated in the descriptions on Hostelworld and unfortunately, we don't have too much control over the way Hostelworld presents that information. I can see how one would find that misleading, though, and we will try and work with Hostelworld to see how we can make the description more clear to any guests looking to book the room! Best of luck on the rest of your adventures!

22nd Oct 2016
8.3

Everything the basic traveler would need.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.