Hostelworld.com

Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

  • 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui, Maui, USA
Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 829 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 829 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel Located at 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui, Maui.
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
USA
Maui Hawaii 96793 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui
78% 829
20.8922938 -156.5043640
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st May 2016
9.1

Great hostel! Great place to party! The staff is amazing and always there to help. The tours are great and it is an excellent way to explore Maui. It was actually my second time at that place and loved it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
4.9

The rented towel smelled horrible, rooms were not clean. The "private room for three" had two beds and a few blankets on the floor, meant as a matress. Bathrooms cleaned once a day, in the late morning, so when you come later than noon the bathrooms are just disgusting. All in all it seemed like an oversize bachelor apartment - a very neglected one.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! Having spoken with you personally, I am very sorry to hear that despite our best efforts, we were unable to make your stay at the Bungalow a pleasant experience for you. As stated in our room descriptions, triple rooms are two twin beds and a futon mattress on the floor. When you found this uncomfortable yet didn't want to move into a dorm, we gave you a free upgrade to two private rooms so you could all have a bed and be comfortable. I wish you had let us know what else we could have done. We do indeed clean the bathrooms in the morning and then periodically throughout the day. We are constantly striving to be better about our cleanliness all around, including bathrooms, and many people have found that we are improving. I'm sorry to hear this was not the case for you but we will continue to try and be better! The Bungalow does have a social atmosphere. We pride ourselves on being the most fun hostel in Hawaii. However, I can see how this is not for everybody and one might find it a bit "bachelor"ish. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review. Best of luck on the rest of your adventures!

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Apr 2016
6.0

pros: -price - near to the airport - kitchen to prepare your own meal - commom areas for entertainment - free tours offered everyday - friendly staff - safe box in the reception - pc with internet access for free dows: - very small shared rooms - proximity to a river attracts many mosquitos, insects and rats - bad showers - no storage in rooms

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
9.1

Loved our stay here at Banana bungalow. Tours were great and so worth it! Staff were so friendly and helpful with everything and took so much time to tell us places to go on days we weren't doing the tours. Great atmosphere for single travellers especially, as everyone hangs out in the hostel at night after the tours. Good kitchen facilities, clean bathrooms and bedrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
9.7

If you're an adventurer, this place is made for you. If you wana meet a bunch of like-minded people, this place is for you. And if you want to make the best of your stay in Maui, this place is for you. Good mana is in this place's foundation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2016
9.4

Awesome hostel. Couldn't leave this place, because it's so much fun. Met so many awesome people. The staff is excellent, and the daily tours are worthwile and fun. Awesome staff: Jeremy, Sam, Maude, Nic, Zack, Dani, Alex. Not so awesome: Sarah (stuck up, and doesn't fit the rest of the cool personalities). Only a few comments to improve: when we put things in the safe, instead of showing everyone the objects, make sure the description is perfect. Too many times did I see other people's stuff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
9.4

The staff is amazing and helpful with ANYTHING you need or any questions. The daily tours are wonderful and the tour guides are the best!! The other travelers were pretty awesome as well. It was rare if you went in the commons area and couldn't find someone to talk to. One of the best weeks of my life. I will definitely be returning to the Bungalow sooner rather then later.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
8.9

I had a very positive stay at this hostel. The staff is very friendly and available. They have nice common area for hanging out and socializing with other people and I met some really fun people. They were very punctual about everything be it closing common areas at 10 pm, tours or checkout reminders. I went on couple of free tours organized by them and they were very well done with excellent tour guide Nick. I highly recommend the tours. This hostel is recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2016
10.0

I was only there for one night but, having visiting quite a few hostels, I thought the facilities were top notch. A bit far from everything, so a would suggest a rental car on good walking shoes :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
9.1

Great Hostel. great common area for everyone to chill out in after a long day! The tours are really good, great way to meet other backpackers and see Maui, especially good as a solo traveller!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.