Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

  • 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui, Maui, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1067 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1067 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Feb 2017
4.9

The room seemed clean but was dusty and smell a bit stale. The bed was pretty unconfortable, you could feel the strings. There wasn't much places to put your clothes on. The shared bathrooms were really disgusting with mud and trash all over the floor, mushrooms in the shower areas.The sound isolation is really bad, people were always slaming the doors and we had the unpleasant experience of people banging on the door at 2:00 and 3:00 AM two nights in a row and no repercusion from the staff.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Feb 2017
8.0

Out stay at the hostel was great! The staff was very friendly and always helpfull . The shared bathrooms are alright and enough for all the people there. The location is near from the airport but far from the beach (around 45min by bus) The daily tours are awesome, the best one by far is the Volcano hike I think. Free pancakes and bananas everyday 😉👌🏼

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Feb 2017
9.1

Very accommodating! Even though our plane landed late and we arrived after reception had already closed - no problems at all. Recommend to anyone! The pancakes in the morning are a nice touch as well :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • michalmajewski
  • Poland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Feb 2017
8.3

Friendly Staff. Great place for party! If you want to be alone and read out books - do not go there ;)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • danamalcolm4076
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Feb 2017
10.0

This was my first time travelling completely alone and I don't think it could have gone any better. This hostel provides great free tours that take guests all over the island, with incredibly fun tour drivers, Billy, Lia, and Zach who take everything up a notch. The staff work hard to keep everything clean, safe, and always have the answers to any questions you may have. Fun, easy atmosphere and an excellent place to meet likeminded travellers! 10/10 in my books.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Feb 2017
9.7

Most accommodating hostel I have stayed. Staff did a great job of ensuring all patrons felt included and went above and beyond in facilitating last minute booking changes. The tours that left the hostel daily, had knowledgable and keen staff who were happy to share their experience with the rest of the group. Free alcohol nights were lots of fun, and the friendly atmosphere of the hostel extended far beyond the hostel walls. Great level of cleanliness.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
9.1

Great hostel, with just some little things to fix, someone here so you guys can improve: 1) curtains to stop the sunlight (in room 22) 2) lack of lockers in room 3 3) no knives in the kitchen 4) no propane on bbq, no working hottube.. Anyway great great staff, good trips, good environment (in an island with no party at all it's definitely a good news). Kitchen is a bit chaotic but it's the biggest hostel in the island

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
3.7

scary neighbourhood, gate unlocked when I arrived at midnight (unsafe), dirty soaked bathmats in bathroom, very noisy partiers on property.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2017
8.0

Great cheap place to stay! Awesome vibe, fun day trips, quiets down fairly early which is nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jan 2017
7.1

Really good hostel to stay in if you plan to be in Maui for a while and could do a bunch of the free tours, if you were just staying for one or two nights probably better to stay somewhere more central as there isn't a whole lot in the surrounding area. The free tours looked great though and the hostel is pretty social so would definitely recommend, especially for solo travellers. The free pancakes available every morning were an added bonus!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.