Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

  • 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui, Maui, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1129 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1129 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
10.0

My stay at the Banana Bungalow was nothing short of amazing! A great party hostel, staff is super friendly. The free tours were a blast. The tour guide Billy was absolutely fantastic - knowledgeable, interacted well with all the guests, and most of all created a great atmosphere while we were in the van and at the destinations. I picked this hostel over the others because their tours cover the most area and diversity of other hostels. Definitely recommend staying here if you come to Maui!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
10.0

What a great atmosphere! Staff was super helpful and good spirited. This is most definitely a social hostel, come here ready to meet people from all over the globe. Nice change of pace from the low key ARB&B style hostel that seems to be more trendy these days. Location is truly Hawaii, not a tourist trap. Gonna miss that adorable soft white doggy dog.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • RachaelNeil
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Apr 2017
8.3

Awesome hostel with free tours every which were awesome! Staff were awesome and always up for a party! Basic facilities but totally did the job! Only issue is the hostel is located in a dodgy area and so it's not safe to go out on your own at night, especially as a girl! However there is enough going on in the hostel you don't need to go out on your own!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
11th Apr 2017
6.9

For a hostel it was very expensive and the bathrooms seemed to get cleaned only every second day. Apart from that a nice place with relaxed atmosphere and very close to public transport.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
3.4

I have stayed at several hostels and this had to be one of the worst i have ever stayed at. The bathrooms is disgusting, beyond dirty and they do not check on them or clean them for hours and hours. Shower head was the worst. The security is the worst anyone can get in and out. They do not monitor the noise levels, they allow parties till 3am and later and you can hear everything from your room. So if you are a light sleeper I definitely do not recommend staying here at all.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.9

This hostel is one of the best I've stayed at. The staff are all champions and you really feel part of the family from day one. Our tour guide Billy was fantastic, accomodating and informative...the daily free tours were why I booked this hostel and it definitely exceeded my expectations thanks to our tour guides. If you're staying in Maui, stay here! The location might not be on the beach but it's easy to get around and walking distance to shops/food.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
9.4

One of the best hostels I have stayed in. Great atmosphere, awesome staff, nice common area -> Jacuzzi Make your own free pancakes for breakfast. Free tours every day ! The tours are a lot of fun, you get to see the islands greatest attractions and sights and make heaps of lovely travel friends. Our volunteer guide Billy made the tours very special. Great playlist, safe driver, fun guy, enjoys what he is doing ! They even have real banana trees at the hostel. Definitely coming back !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2017
10.0

I enjoyed my stay. The staff were so welcoming making me feel right at home. Also, The tours were so much fun! Definitely worth it for the experience. Their is a strict 10pm curfew but it's understandable:) .... leaving satisfied

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
10.0

I have no way of describing to you how incredible Banana Bungalow is with words. If you are in search of adventure, excitement, human connection, and genuine love then the Bungalow is where you need to be. The tours are incredible & free, the staff are friendly & caring, & the Bungalow itself is the coolest, funkiest, hippest hostel I've ever stayed in. You can best believe I will be back & next time I'm bringing my brother! Stay here if you want to party and experience Hawaii! - Jace Bandit

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
9.1

This place is so much fun ! Such a great atmosphere. The location on Maui is a bit far from everything but the Hostel organizes a free tour every day (just need to tip the guides). Those tours are pretty good, you can go snorkelling in Maui's best spot, hiking on Haleakala Volcano, swimming with turtles... Check their website for the planning. The guides are awesome, Billy and Lea make sure you are having a good time. Cleanliness can be so-so but I wish I will stay there again one day !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.