Hostelworld.com

Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

  • 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui, Maui, USA
Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1057 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1057 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • michalmajewski
  • Poland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Feb 2017
8.3

Friendly Staff. Great place for party! If you want to be alone and read out books - do not go there ;)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
9.1

Great hostel, with just some little things to fix, someone here so you guys can improve: 1) curtains to stop the sunlight (in room 22) 2) lack of lockers in room 3 3) no knives in the kitchen 4) no propane on bbq, no working hottube.. Anyway great great staff, good trips, good environment (in an island with no party at all it's definitely a good news). Kitchen is a bit chaotic but it's the biggest hostel in the island

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
3.7

scary neighbourhood, gate unlocked when I arrived at midnight (unsafe), dirty soaked bathmats in bathroom, very noisy partiers on property.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2017
8.0

Great cheap place to stay! Awesome vibe, fun day trips, quiets down fairly early which is nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jan 2017
7.1

Really good hostel to stay in if you plan to be in Maui for a while and could do a bunch of the free tours, if you were just staying for one or two nights probably better to stay somewhere more central as there isn't a whole lot in the surrounding area. The free tours looked great though and the hostel is pretty social so would definitely recommend, especially for solo travellers. The free pancakes available every morning were an added bonus!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
8.9

We enjoyed our stay, always very friendly and easy to meet new friends from all over the world .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jan 2017
9.1

Whilst island-hopping throughout Hawaii, the 2 days that I spent in Maui at the Bungalows were the best. I got in early, and there was still space on a tour so I went out all day and hung around with everyone that night, then the next morning I went and did Road to Hana with some of the people I had met the day previous and then that night was Keg night! Which I wasn't really back in time for but there was still a gathering by the time I got back - great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jan 2017
8.0

Mostly for the young, sociable crowd. If you're interested in quick friends, day trips every day, and imbibing at night, this is an easy way to both experience Maui and party. Big site has lots of nice features. Located in a town of regular locals, not touristy. Prices are high in HI in general, but the Bungalow is worth the money if you're doing the day trips that are included in the $49/nt (though need to tip the guide).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jan 2017
8.0

I will stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2017
8.6

The hostel staff was friendly the room was a two bed dorm and was excellent. The only negative thing i have to say is the fridges and freezers were all not very clean. It was between the airport and the good beaches

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.