Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

  • 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui, Maui, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1,032 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1,032 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.3
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel Located at 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui, Maui.
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
USA
Maui Hawaii 96793 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui
82% 1032
20.8922938 -156.5043640
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jan 2017
9.7

The hostel strikes a good balance between getting out and doing things through the day, while providing a great vibe of a night. The staff play a big role in this as they are across the activities worth doing (and also provide a different great tour each day) but all love to come down for a few drinks, or many haha, at night when everyone gathers in the outdoor area out the back. Special thanks to Lia too who gave us some great ideas on the road to Hana when we had no idea what was going on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jan 2017
7.1

Great hostel. Not the best location (not close to a beach and neighborhood isn't the safest) but great staff and good tours. Definitely a party hostel. Only complaint is that I wish there were more private bathrooms and showers as there was always a wait. Had an awesome experience here meeting really cool people. Would most likely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Jan 2017
9.4

Great Hostel and very helpful and friendly staff. The hostel also features a big outdoor area and a jacuzzi. The daily free tours are also great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
3.7

Frat vibe. Loud every 🌃The location! Away from everything, need a rental, but worst neighborhood in Maui. I rented a moped, was told it would be fine parked on the side of the property; stolen after two days. Then, the unsurprised receptionist asked why I didn't park it in the back. The officer asked if they had cameras...despite the signs saying property was "under surveillance," they said no! Either decoys, broken, or they don't care. Other cars in area missing wheels, broken windows, etc.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
10.0

I didn't get to stay very long since I have a friend on the island and a room opened up at his house, but this place is very cool and I would go back. Staff was super nice and there was a cool common area to hang out. The bathrooms were very clean and seemed to have been recently updated.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
10.0

The banana bungalow hostel was amazing. They offer free tours every day (tip the driver) which take you all over the island. Our guide Billy was awesome and super fun :) The hostel is very social and it's easy to meet new people, especially as a solo traveler. They also offer free airport pick up, which was very convenient. Maloha

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Dec 2016
9.4

I must say Banana B is by far one of the best places I have stayed in. Alex and Adam rocked our trips with their daily free tours of th island. Nights here are crazy especially if you are into hot tub drinking games! The staff is amazing! They are the same as the guests... want to have a great time while there! Shoutout to everyone at BB Maui. I am def going back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
7.7

Just got back from staying at Banana Bungalow. The staff was super friendly and helpful! It was really full during our stay so bathroom time was hard to get and it was a fun experience making breakfast with 10 other people in the kitchen. Our room faced N Market St so the traffic noise was bad. Overall, fun experience and we felt safe and the location made it easy to drive to our destinations. Mahalo

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
9.7

Very clean. Friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Dec 2016
10.0

I loved this place ! People are so nice and there is a great atmosphere ! I want to come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.