Hostelworld.com

Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

  • 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui, Maui, USA
Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 846 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 846 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel Located at 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui, Maui.
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
USA
Maui Hawaii 96793 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui
78% 846
20.8922938 -156.5043640
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
9.4

The Banana Bungalow is probably the ideal spot for you to settle down on Maui to meet nice people, do fun day trips, and thereby explore the island. Only downside is probably the location, if you are looking for a beach house. But I bet you will always find someone with a rental car (if you don't have one yourself) to drive around. There are also daily tours which are a lot of fun. The great staff is also offering airport pickups and drop offs. All in all, thumbs up! Recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
7.1

It honestly seemed like there was 8 people on staff, 2 of which I saw working, and most were more enamored of getting high in their private rooms. The hostel isn't surrounded by any nightlife so you will have to make it yourself at the hostel. Which, on the nights I was there was fairly lackluster but that's okay given how early you have to start on the island before the heat gets to you. How this place has the high rating I have no idea. Is it clean? Totally. Best hostel ever? No chance.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
9.4

I only stayed a couple of nights, though im not a party animal, if you are, this is the place to be. The tours are free and ran by 2 awesome guys named Zac and Nic. I had Nic for all my tours and he was awesome, showed such passion and love for his job even though he is a volunteer, so tip away guys. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, no bugs, kitchen was big and had loads of room for you to store your food. I felt really safe here and could trust leaving my things around which was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
10.0

This was my first hostel experience.. i was traveling solo and I am super glad i choose Banana Bungalow. They have a huge common area.. the best staff ever. I just felt super welcome.. I went on the free tours they provide and Nick was my guide. He was the best, super funny, showed us all the secret spots and partied with us at the end of the day. If it werent for him getting the whole bus to play a game together i dont think i would have made as many life long friends.. super happy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
10.0

Our stay at Banans Bumgalow was absolutely worth the money! They had tours each day and our drivers/the staff at the hostel were so great and helpful. Alex was so sweet and helped us with anything we needed; advice, charger, warm clothes and great company. Zach and Nick have great personalities, lots of information and they made the tours absolute worthwhile. Thank you so much for making our time in Maui fantastic! I wish we could have stayed longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2016
10.0

I was suppose to stay there 5 nights but then it happen that i stay there my whole vacation. This hostel is the best i never went!! They have such a good atmosphere, the location is perfect and its really clean. This hostel will catch your heart forever. Oh and, you have to do the free tour, Nach and Zich are the best tour guide ever! Hoping i'll go back soon :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
9.1

Great hostel! Great place to party! The staff is amazing and always there to help. The tours are great and it is an excellent way to explore Maui. It was actually my second time at that place and loved it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
4.9

The rented towel smelled horrible, rooms were not clean. The "private room for three" had two beds and a few blankets on the floor, meant as a matress. Bathrooms cleaned once a day, in the late morning, so when you come later than noon the bathrooms are just disgusting. All in all it seemed like an oversize bachelor apartment - a very neglected one.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! Having spoken with you personally, I am very sorry to hear that despite our best efforts, we were unable to make your stay at the Bungalow a pleasant experience for you. As stated in our room descriptions, triple rooms are two twin beds and a futon mattress on the floor. When you found this uncomfortable yet didn't want to move into a dorm, we gave you a free upgrade to two private rooms so you could all have a bed and be comfortable. I wish you had let us know what else we could have done. We do indeed clean the bathrooms in the morning and then periodically throughout the day. We are constantly striving to be better about our cleanliness all around, including bathrooms, and many people have found that we are improving. I'm sorry to hear this was not the case for you but we will continue to try and be better! The Bungalow does have a social atmosphere. We pride ourselves on being the most fun hostel in Hawaii. However, I can see how this is not for everybody and one might find it a bit "bachelor"ish. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review. Best of luck on the rest of your adventures!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
10.0

The Banana Bungalow offers an amazing atmosphere - you will find people to hang out with very fast! The staff is great and helpful with anything you need to make your stay worthwile. They offered free tours to incredible places every day - Nick, Alex and Zack have lots of information and make every tour unforgettable! Definitely the hostel you want to stay at.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Apr 2016
6.0

pros: -price - near to the airport - kitchen to prepare your own meal - commom areas for entertainment - free tours offered everyday - friendly staff - safe box in the reception - pc with internet access for free dows: - very small shared rooms - proximity to a river attracts many mosquitos, insects and rats - bad showers - no storage in rooms

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.