Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

  • 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui, Maui, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 923 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 923 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.7
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel Located at 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui, Maui.
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
USA
Maui Hawaii 96793 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui
85% 923
20.8922938 -156.5043640
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Sep 2016
8.0

The staff is very friendly and although the location isn't great the atmosphere is quite lively and even if there is drinking/partying going on the music has to be off by 10pm and I never had issues falling asleep if I had to go to bed early for a busy next day. Would definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Sep 2016
6.6

Great stuff and nice people! Beds are comfy and the patio looks really nice and welcoming. Good Tours are provided every day. Rooms and bathrooms are not that clean and there are no paper towels or handdryers etc. in the bathrooms and the kitchen. No A/C and the fans don't help much so it's hot in the rooms at night. Not enough silverware for everyone in the kitchen . It's hard to get around without buses or a car since everything (beaches, supermarkets etc.) is kind of far away.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2016
8.9

This hostel is a little out of the way to get to places. Thankfully they have their free tours. On days that we did not go on tours we had to take a public bus to the beach which took about 1.5 hours. The other day we were able to hitch hike which made a cool experience. Other than that, the workers were really nice and inclusive. Jeremy was the best. He could get along with anyone and really tried to help people out to the best of his ability!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Sep 2016
9.4

My rooms was awfully hot with no windows to the outdoors to open and only a small plug-in fan it was tough to sleep. I think I got unlucky other rooms were not so oven-like. Still I can forgive all that thanks to the FANTASTIC free tours offered by the hostel. I did the Road to Hana tour and it was probably the best day of my whole trip. The vibe is excellent and the staff our lovely I just wish my room had a window!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback! So glad you enjoyed our free tours and we were able to be a part of such a great day for you! Our basic dorms are on the interior of the building and so do not have windows going to the outside which is why we offer them at a discounted price! For those looking for a little more light and air, our standard dorms all have windows and tend to be a bit cooler. Hope you have the chance to come visit us again and best of luck on the rest of your adventures!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
6.0

I had a room that the window faced the common area - the "party" music is over at 10 but still with people laughing and chatting loudly I couldn't sleep at all. I had to keep the windows open bc the room was so stuffy and there was no air conditioning. The downstairs bathroom showers need longer curtains (or just move the pole down) bc when someone took a shower it would flood the whole floor of the bathroom. Also wish there was a freezer for use and that the kitchen was open earlier.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
7.7

For hostel very clean, bathrooms nice, clean, cold water almost everyday after 8pm, nice kitchen. Rooms, do not ever want to sleep in number 23, it was 90℉ there, super humid and no fresh air cause it's in the middle of the building, seriously I almost passed out. We had a reservation for mixed dorm and they were overbooked (every day of our stay) so me and my gf had to sleep in separate rooms. Next day we got lucky upgrade to private twin for free. Not enough parking.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
4.9

This hostel is definitely a party hostel. The dorms are very small and have very little air circulation. It gets very hot and muggy. The shared washrooms are never clean. The town it is located in is very deserted with no restaurants or decent grocery store within walking distance. Also, the airport shuttle service advertised on their website is not convenient for every flight. The staff was nice and the tours were good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback! We do pride ourselves on our social atmosphere so if you're looking for a peaceful retreat, this is probably not the right place! There are several restaurants within walking distance (many of whom made the Best of Maui list this year) so in the future, please ask the front desk for recommendations! There is a small grocery store just two minutes down the street and a large Safeway about a 20 minute walk away, and our tours stop at the grocery store every day. We offer our airport shuttle as a perk to our guests but unfortunately we are not a taxi company and so can only offer the shuttle a few times a day. They are listed on our website so it's always a good idea to check what time the shuttles are and see if you can book a flight that works with that! Glad you enjoyed our staff and tours. Best of luck on the rest of your adventures!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Aug 2016
8.6

Awesome Tours!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
10.0

Staying at the Banana Bungalow in Maui was an incredible experience for me and my friend. From day 1 we were treated like family. The tours were amazing and the guides Nick, Zach and Alex did their best to make every tour an unforgettable adventure. The rooms were big and nice, the bathrooms always clean. We made so many new friends and believe our vacation wouldn't be as great, if it wasn't for the bungalow people. Awesome people, vibes and music all day and night. We'll come back for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
7.1

A good hostel with a great atmosphere with helpful staff. The free daily tours is the selling point for this hostel which provides a great opportunity to see the island and meet your fellow travelers. The communal bathrooms can get dirty since there are many guests but not that many bathrooms. The 10pm quiet time is a bit troublesome considering there is not much around the hostel. Also there are no lockers in the rooms but you can have reception look after your valuables. Overall, a good stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.