Hostelworld.com

Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

  • 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui, Maui, USA
Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 819 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 819 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel Located at 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui, Maui.
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
USA
Maui Hawaii 96793 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui
78% 819
20.8922938 -156.5043640
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
9.7

If you're an adventurer, this place is made for you. If you wana meet a bunch of like-minded people, this place is for you. And if you want to make the best of your stay in Maui, this place is for you. Good mana is in this place's foundation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
9.4

The staff is amazing and helpful with ANYTHING you need or any questions. The daily tours are wonderful and the tour guides are the best!! The other travelers were pretty awesome as well. It was rare if you went in the commons area and couldn't find someone to talk to. One of the best weeks of my life. I will definitely be returning to the Bungalow sooner rather then later.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
8.9

I had a very positive stay at this hostel. The staff is very friendly and available. They have nice common area for hanging out and socializing with other people and I met some really fun people. They were very punctual about everything be it closing common areas at 10 pm, tours or checkout reminders. I went on couple of free tours organized by them and they were very well done with excellent tour guide Nick. I highly recommend the tours. This hostel is recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2016
10.0

I was only there for one night but, having visiting quite a few hostels, I thought the facilities were top notch. A bit far from everything, so a would suggest a rental car on good walking shoes :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
9.1

Great Hostel. great common area for everyone to chill out in after a long day! The tours are really good, great way to meet other backpackers and see Maui, especially good as a solo traveller!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
8.6

Really enjoyed staying here, people and staff were very nice and welcoming. Would stay here again for sure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Mar 2016
5.7

If you like smoking weed in an inconvenient location this is the spot for you. That sounds harsh but its not half bad in a broader respect.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback! I'm sorry to hear you found our location inconvenient! Wailuku is located in a less touristy part of Maui but it is centrally located, making it an easy starting point to get to anywhere on the island. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere! Thank you again and best of luck on the rest of your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2016
5.4

A local at the airport warned me to be careful at this hostel because IHO it's not in a good part of town. It is not in walking distance to much, including the beach, however they do offer tours to a different part of the island on each day of the week, space available. This is the draw and it probably wouldn't survive without em. As far as cleanliness, it's a hostel; nothing special. Just remember that you're not paying for the Marriott. The staff was more disorganized than at most.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! Wailuku is in a less tourist part of town but the central location makes it a good starting point to get to anywhere you want to go on the island! We take security very seriously and provide a safe at reception for anyone concerned about their valuables as well as a fenced in property and locking all the doors after 11 PM when reception is closed. I can see that you were checked in by a staff member who was on his first day of training so I'm sorry if he seemed a bit disorganized as he was learning the ropes! Our free tours are certainly a draw as is our awesome atmosphere! Our guests enjoy the social component we offer, both on our tours and in the evenings in our large common area. Thank you again and best of luck on the rest of your travels!

1st Mar 2016
6.0

Banana Bungalow hostel wasn't terrible, but it also wasn't the greatest. The bathrooms got really dirty towards the end of the day, and I felt a bit like I was in a fraternity at times. Additionally, if you don't have a car, staying here could be difficult. That said, the staff was wonderful, the tours were great, and I met a lot of great people while staying here. My room was neat and clean, and they really do enforce quiet hours, which I appreciated.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Guam, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2016
5.4

Staff were very helpful and provided friendly service. Main complaints: Dorm room did not have a closeable window. There was a bar close enough that the noise level was unbearable. Heard cops come by twice the first night. Sleep was interrupted several times. Even if there was a window to close that could block out the noise, you wouldn't want to because the room was hot, there was no AC, and only a ceiling fan.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.