Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

  • 310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui, Maui, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1219 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1219 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
7.1

My husband and I only stayed here for about 4 hours. The staff are super nice and the guests are too, however, if you value your sleep (particularly when you have activities planned) you will not do very well here. There is no AC so the windows must remain open- and the screens do not fit the windows, therefore the security of the room is poor and the yelling among guests and loud reggae music will keep you awake ( music goes off at 10pm-guests don't). Very clean and staff very nice- but no go.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2017
5.7

ADVERTISED BEACH SHUTTLE DOESN'T EXIST AND AIRPORT SHUTTLE DOESN'T DO "DROP OFFS UPON REQUEST". The staff was very nice and helpful, and the tours sound great (I was only there one night). Nothing was particularly clean, but the bathrooms were nasty. I got a rickety bunk without railings, and the hostel isn't near anything...which would have been fine if there was actually a beach shuttle like the ad promised.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
8.9

We arrived in Maui from Australia and stayed in a private 3 bed room. We had our own bathroom facility that was kept clean and adequate privacy was available. The staff were great and were very accommodating. The only issue was the broken fly screen that was in our room. This should be addressed, especially considering the presence of the mosquito-borne Zika virus on Maui. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay in this hostel and would come back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Jul 2017
9.4

Awesome hostel! The free trips are awesome, you just have to give a $10-15 dollar tip but it's for the whole day. The staff are super friendly and helpful. Good common area and great atmosphere. The rooms were really hot but nothing you can really do about it in a hostel. Would definitely go back here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
8.6

Overall a great stay, the staff were friendly and helpful and the tours everyday were fantastic. It costs more than I would usually pay for a hostel but the free tours more than made up for it. The kitchen is small, especially as everyone wants to cook dinner at the same time as often there is only an hour between arriving back from a tour and the kitchen closing. My room was extremely hot, almost unbearable to sleep in. We had one fan for 4 people so had to alternate who it pointed at!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Maui unfortunately is an expensive island and we are competitively priced with other hostels here but I understand the sticker shock coming from some other places! Summers in Maui can definitely get hot and we are working on ways to mitigate the heat (we are all feeling it!) We're in the process of outfitting all our rooms with higher powered fans designed to circulate air all through the room so no more late night battles of where the fan is pointing (though I'm glad to hear it sounds like you guys adopted a more cooperative approach!) We do apologize for the discomfort but we will continue to try and find ways to beat the heat! Best of luck on the rest of your adventures and hope you visit us again!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jul 2017
6.9

Lifting Banana from average status - wonderful staff and free daily trips around Mai. It's also close to bus stops. However Wailuku is not a holiday town, not close to the airport, beaches. Other complaints: 25 mins walk from nearest big supermarket; kitchen not opened until 0740 (sometimes later): not great for those people used to an early breakfast or wanting an early start to some distant Maui location; and an outsider got in and took property from a room (keep those dorm doors locked folks)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2017
10.0

Amazing staff, great place! Loved IT!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2017
9.4

The place is awesome! Great staff and the free tours are absolutely amazing. Definitely recommended staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alisa-reinhardt7014
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
9.4

This was the best hostel I met in my entire life. The atmosphere was great I don't even know how to describe it ! It was this Hawaiian feeling and attitude you get from the island. The staff is so great and I decided to go back and work there for a bit as well. You can't even imagine how much fun you will have their. You will create story's you will talk for the rest of your life about! I highly recommend visiting this hostel if you want to feel young and free and happy all the time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
9.1

Amazing staff! Had such a great time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.