X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Banana Bungalow San Diego Reviews

707 Reed Ave, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
193 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Cool Place! The staff was awfoul tough, it seemed like he tought he had the most boring Job in the world. And the breakfast could have at least one option that doesnt contain wheat(gluten). Otherwise all good!!

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great staff. Good people. The best location in PB. $10 all you can drink night was great!


26%

Worst hostel i ever been! The Staff was childish and unprofessional, rude and lazy! There are No locks on any room-doors and nobody ever check the people coming in, so you can everything stolen!. no respect for the quite hour, especially from the staff, and this same people usually cook and eat and don't clean after them-self, and the "kitchen" is so small that can fit one person at time!

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are strongly disappointed that you have chosen to resort to writing this after we didn't hire you as a staff member. These reviews are a chance to exchange honest and fair feedback for your fellow travelers to choose a hostel that suits them best. You extended your stay several times here and, as we say, even asked for a job too so it's rather ridiculous to score us as low as possible because you didn't get one. We had numerous complaints from guests about your behavior and attitude also.

94%

great place to stay. friendly staff and the best location in san diego- right on the beach! will definitely come back


91%

Right on the beach and next door to all the nightlife! Staff put on a lot of events. Will return.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best location you could ask for. Staff pit on at least one activity a day do people can get to know each other. The deck parties are sooo much fun. Suck DJ! Tip: stay there through Monday and go on the Tijuana tour

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

In 3 and a half months in the USA this was by far the best hostel. Came to stay 3 nights and couldn't leave and ended up staying 9. Staff are amazing and organize anything you need. the outdoor deck is right on the beach aswell as Heaps of cool bars and restaurants close by, what more do you want. Thanks again guys for a great time.




View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback