X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Banana Bungalow San Diego Reviews

707 Reed Ave, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
194 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Cool Place! The staff was awfoul tough, it seemed like he tought he had the most boring Job in the world. And the breakfast could have at least one option that doesnt contain wheat(gluten). Otherwise all good!!

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great staff. Good people. The best location in PB. $10 all you can drink night was great!


26%

Worst hostel i ever been! The Staff was childish and unprofessional, rude and lazy! There are No locks on any room-doors and nobody ever check the people coming in, so you can everything stolen!. no respect for the quite hour, especially from the staff, and this same people usually cook and eat and don't clean after them-self, and the "kitchen" is so small that can fit one person at time!

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are strongly disappointed that you have chosen to resort to writing this after we didn't hire you as a staff member. These reviews are a chance to exchange honest and fair feedback for your fellow travelers to choose a hostel that suits them best. You extended your stay several times here and, as we say, even asked for a job too so it's rather ridiculous to score us as low as possible because you didn't get one. We had numerous complaints from guests about your behavior and attitude also.

94%

great place to stay. friendly staff and the best location in san diego- right on the beach! will definitely come back


91%

Right on the beach and next door to all the nightlife! Staff put on a lot of events. Will return.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best location you could ask for. Staff pit on at least one activity a day do people can get to know each other. The deck parties are sooo much fun. Suck DJ! Tip: stay there through Monday and go on the Tijuana tour

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

In 3 and a half months in the USA this was by far the best hostel. Came to stay 3 nights and couldn't leave and ended up staying 9. Staff are amazing and organize anything you need. the outdoor deck is right on the beach aswell as Heaps of cool bars and restaurants close by, what more do you want. Thanks again guys for a great time.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
57%

Staff were terrible. Checked in and were rudely told to wait 3mins when the girl was clearly doing nothing but nursing her ditzy hangover. was charged the wrong amount on check in and surprisingly had more to pay on departure. These things matter to travellers. Lockers in dorms were no way near big enough for belongings.


74%

Banana bungalow is a hostel for social party people. There is an amazing atmosphere! The bunks are ok, so are the rooms, you get what you pay for. Out of the staff, we think Uni was very nice and helpfull, the rest we met seemed like they were so sick of working and that you annoyed them when you had questions and needed help. All in all, worth the money, but be prepared for party:)


94%

Location is spot on, right on the beach with a gorgeous view to wake up to. A really fun party hostel that's a great place to meet people and have fun.


86%

Really fun hostel with a lot of activities set up every night. Stayed an extra 2 nights because i enjoyed the hostel and location so much.


80%

I didn't expect to like this place because of some bad reviews but I did enjoy my stay here. Right on the beach. Come out onto the deck and see the Californians and tourists jogging by and sunbathing. Enjoy the local nightlife such as the Tavern. Some staff looked a bit "tired", must be exhausting chatting up all the female travellers! ;) Lot of "romance" happening at this place. But boy-girl ratio not good for boys! But the locals are friendly and like foreigners so go out!


20%

This is the worst place you can find in San Diego, is very expensive cpmared to a hotel or other hostels, is very dirty, smells terrible, if you are expecting to have a good time don't stay here. The staff is very inpolite and rude. There are curaches all around the place, the worst night of my life.

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You have never stayed at our hostel - you booked the wrong date and when you arrived the day after we were sold out & could not help you. It was entirely your mistake and to write this review out of frustration that you lost your booking deposit is ridiculous. We have notified Hostelworld of this fraudulent review.

80%

Loved the bungalow! Had an awesome night there and met some great people. Clean, safe, and good facilities, great group options too like the tour down to TJ for the day. Most of the staff seemed like they'd rather be somewhere else, but not a big deal.


91%

Awesome hostel of your looking to party and meet people. The staff arrange great activities and nights out . Definitely the best hostel I've ever stayed and I will be going back. Majority of the staff were great but Ed is an absolute legend! Ed is banana bungalow!


74%

I stay here for a week every summer...the location is perfect for the beach, the boardwalk, night life, store, everything...you can't beat it...it is more of a coed party hostel, so know that ahead of time...but it is up to your to join in the beer pong and pub crawls or not....I personally love the mornings on the deck before everyone else is up and the music gets turned on...but that's just me :)


100%

great place, location, staff, crowd and scene!

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Awesome common area, the staff knows to integrate the guests but the room are so warm and you listen all the noise of street, bathroom are not so clean.


100%

Best hostel I have ever stayed in!!

  • 23rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Loved every second home sick for banana bungalows, I felt like crying when I left

  • 2nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(142 results)


View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback