X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Banana Hostel Reviews

Jinshan S. Rd. & Xinyi Rd. intersection, (MRT Dongmen Station), Taipei, Taiwan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
387 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Staff were so helpful!!


100%

Really enjoyed my stay. Will be back in the near future.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the perfect review! And you really come back very soon, we appreciate it:)

97%

The location was fantastic, which is very near from Yungkang Street. The staffs were very kind and friendly. We've stayed at the private room, it was a little bit small, but has many facilities, even TV. I love the interior of Banana hostel, which has a lot of humourous idea. If I have more changes to visit Taipei, I'm thinking of visit again !!


97%

Love everything except that the bunk bed may be a little high and hard to climb up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for giving us very high rating. Hope we can have another chance to host you soon^^

100%

The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the local culture and life. They will give you honest advice on where to go. They are also very open to any topic of conversation. Everyone there is like family. The location is super easy to find and convenient to supermarket and other shops. The atmosphere is also very chill, I got to meet with people with all backgrounds. There is plenty of privacy even in a 16 dorm. BEST STAY! THANK YOUUUUUUU :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the great review! We all staff like you and had a very cool night with you out . Hope we can have such a nice guest like you and see you again soon:)

100%

Very nice hostel! Pretty hard to find but it is totally worth the search!! Clean beds, nice warm showers, nice roof top, good breakfast, etc etc. I am very positive about this hostel! I also really liked the neighbourhood it is in, because there are a lot of nice little shops en not like the commercial big shops you have everywhere. Also a nice park you can chill in!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the nice words and high rating, we appreciate that so much! Hope you have enjoyed your trip to Taipei and come to us again!

94%

I had a one night stay there and enjoyed it very much. The hostel is located about 1 minute from Dongmen MRT station. Staff is very friendly (especially Joy) and everything you need is provided (Towels, linen, toiletries, washing machine, kitchen etc). Big bonus for free bananas and weekend banana cake! Beds are comfortable and I really liked that the room had a window for fresh air. Very minor downside is the pincode entrance (easily breachable but also means you don't risk losing the key).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We like you too^^

100%

Staff was friendly, a lot of thought has been put to make the hostel a comfortable, considerate and homely place for travellers. Clean and not as castrophobic as some other hostels. Totally recommended!

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the nice words and high rating, we appreciate that so much! Hope you have enjoyed your trip to Taipei and come to us again!

100%

A wonderful cozy stay! Feels a bit like coming home to a place where all your friends are.. even if you don't know them yet!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Good location, I love the dorms you get a curtain around your bed and a private light. It makes going to bed and waking up on your own time very easy!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review! We will try to keep good working for banana:)

97%

It was excellent. We only stayed for a night, but it was really convenient, and we were happy the staff was willing to work with us to accomodate our late check in time. I would definitely stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review! We were lucky to have you and hope to see you again soon!

94%

a solid hostel for the price, with a very helpful staff who speak english (if you're into that kind of thing). situated right by the MRT for easy and cheap access to the whole city. Beds are comfortable, showers have hot water, and they have fresh (ish) bananas to munch on for free. the only thing I can think to complain about is their luggage lockers are a bit small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the nice words and high rating, we appreciate that so much! Hope you have enjoyed your trip to Taipei and come to us again!

83%

you have to watch video they sent.

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for letting our future guests know the point! We had many South Korean guests who can not locate correctly Taiwanese address, that' why we made the video, especially for Korean because you probably have different system with other countries. And actually our place is very very near by a metro station and a eating area, should be a upside we think:)

100%

The staff was super nice. I really enjoyed my stay there. The location was great too. It is about 2 or 3 MRT stations from the main station, so it is no problem to get where you want.


100%

Perfect location, super friendly staff and helpful as well, nice atmosphere, can meet very interesting people here . Definitely staying again. Highly recommended.

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review and we are happy to meet you. Hope we can have you again at Banana Hostel!

94%

Amazing place to stay at. At first I was worried that the 16 room dorm would be really cramped but their design was perfect. Maximising every inch of the space to give the best comfort to guests on a tight budget. Very, very close to the subway as well which makes it really easy to travel around. Only drawback is that the shared bathroom walls do not reach the ground meaning the water from the next cubicle can flow into yours while a few are bathing together. A bit unhygienic in my opinion.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for telling us all the above, we will keep the advantage and try to improve the disadvantage. As you mentioned about the bathroom, we are trying to figure out how to make it better, hopefully there's a good method! If you will come back Taipei, wish you could visit us again!!

97%

This is just the coolest hostel I've stayed in for a long time. There's a recent trend toward awful garishness in hostel interior decoration, but this place is most certainly not among them: the whole place is stylish yet comfortable. It wasn't a particularly sociable hostel, but this might be more the language barrier/it being Taipei, a stopover city, than anything else. Back to the plus, many of their beds are capsule-style (=solid night's sleep) and there is no lack of room for your luggage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow~your review is really awesome!! Thank you for those words, we will keep the advantage and try to improve the disadvantage. Hope you will come back Taipei and visit us again!!

91%

Very good location. Walking distance to "ding tai Fung ", "Yong Kang beef noodle " and many famous foods ard thr ! Love the surrounding environment very much. Location is very accessible as well . Staffs are very frenly and helpful. Thanks redpo ,Kaycee & Wilbur ~ Definitely will recommended to my Frens if they visit to Taiwan :)

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the nice words and high rating, we appreciate that so much! We all love you and hope you will come back to us again!

97%

We only stayed for two nights, but we would have really liked to stay at Banana longer. The atmosphere was very friendly and quiet. The kitchen and balcony were great places to meet people and enjoy the view. Location was great. All in all a terrific hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review! We will try to keep good working for banana:)

97%

Great location. Just few minutes away from MRT Station. We stayed in a private room. Clean and comfortable. Public toilet is clean too! Friendly staff as well! Definitely one of the best hostel in Taipei!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review and we are happy to meet you. Hope we can have you again at Banana Hostel!

« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Taipei Hostels

Please give us your feedback