Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Banana Hostel

  • Jinshan S. Rd. & Xinyi Rd. intersection, (MRT Dongmen Station), Taipei, Taiwan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 491 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 491 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.5
Banana Hostel Located at Jinshan S. Rd. & Xinyi Rd. intersection, (MRT Dongmen Station), Taipei.
Banana Hostel
Taiwan
Taipei 106 Jinshan S. Rd. & Xinyi Rd. intersection, (MRT Dongmen Station)
95% 491
25.0336051 121.5273660
Banana Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Sep 2016
9.7

Hostel Banana is a definitely a place to be in Taipei. Its location is perfect, very central, right next to the metro station and close to one the coolest area of Taipei and not far from a small though convenient night market. The dorm is unusually comfortable and offers a lot of privacy, having single cells with curtains. The entire place is rather small, but very cozy, the cleanliness is also very good, all the rooms are being cleaned every day. Very safe place indeed. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Sep 2016
10.0

Really cool place and cool people . Jade was super nice . Thanks much for everything .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
8.6

Great, clean hostel that is simple and easy. The dorm room was set up in a nice way with 16-beds, but each in their own private cubby. Not too much environment in the way of people chatting, but chill.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2016
7.1

The hostel has an industrial design where walls / floor decorations are left unfinished. Bananas pictures everywhere. There isn't much of an atmosphere. It is mostly run by foreign students in exchange for temporary accommodation, and I wouldn't say the owner / manager is particularly friendly. This is an OK hostel, quite central. My problems is with the beds: the mattresses are the cheapo sink-in type, really uncomfortable. Overall not too bad if you can just sleep anywhere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2016
10.0

The best possible location in Taipei if you are a foodie. The hostel has a very modern / industrial feel to it. Strong Wifi and A/C. Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
9.4

Dorm room door is not locked so security isn't super, no lockers in room and so bags are just under the bed but a small locker for valuables can be provided. However, beds are huge and comfy, aircon strong, and thick walls between beds! Will definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2016
8.3

The location of Banana hostel is phenomenal. Extremely close to the Dongmen MRT, which itself is in a very nice part of Taipei. The hostel was clean, but the facilities had a very industrial feel, at times veering towards prison, what with the 16-bed dorm room and security cameras aplenty (yeah, and there is a staff member that watches them behind the counter). While the staff in general were friendly, I couldn't shake the image of the owner as hostel warden. Wasn't the warmest guy at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
9.4

Friendly place in excellent location. The room was a bit small but all other facilities were spacious and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Jun 2016
9.7

Couple, stayed in the "luxury" double. Certainly the best hostel we stayed at in Taiwan, including two others we tried in Taipei. Probably one of the best Hostels we ever saw! Especially the super friendly staff and the nice area to hang out around the reception help for a great atmosphere and it's very easy to get in touch with the other guests. Nothing more to say, just go there :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
9.7

My stay at banana hostel was really pleasant. The staff is lovely and helpful, the free breakfast in the morning plus free food and water in common area is nice and the dorm is absolutely great ! The disposition is convenient and gives a real privacy (the bed is in a kind of cell, with curtain and inside there is a lamp and two international power plug). Long story short, I liked my stay there and will stay there again if I come back to Taipei.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.