Hostelworld.com

Bananas Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 192 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 192 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6
Bananas Hostel Located at Rua Pedro Longo, 169, Pituba, Itacare.
Bananas Hostel
Brazil
Itacare Bahia Rua Pedro Longo, 169, Pituba
86% 192
-14.2797508 -38.9919590
Bananas Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th May 2016
9.1

Without a doubt the beeeeest hostel I stayed at during my entire six months travelling South America. Pete and his wife are absolute gems and will do anything they can to help you out and make sure you have a banging time!! This hostel is where it's at! Brilliant atmoshpere... Amaaaazing breakfast... Clean rooms... Reeeally good value for money. I'd definitely recommend it for anyone who wants to explore the magical Itacare. Don't miss this one!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2016
9.1

Wicked vibe, awesome staff, delicious breakfast. Best place to be in Itacare. Be prepared to stay longer than planned.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2016
9.7

Loved it! Definitely highly recommend it and would stay there again at the blink of an eye!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Feb 2016
9.4

This is such an awesome hostel!!!! It has definitely been one of my favourite places I have stayed on my 6 month trip. The owners and the staff are just amazing, so friendly and helpful and make everyone feel so at home. I am a solo traveler and every morning one of the staff members would suggest an idea and a big group from the hostel would get together which is so perfect for meeting people. Also the jam nights every Thursday are really fun!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2016
6.3

Really friendly staff but there were many issues...wifi wasn't working, rooms didn't have air conditioning and the fans were very weak...something that isn't ok in Brazil, every time you flushed the toilet you would literally get rug burn from the rope. The list keeps going, but if your priorities for picking a hostel lie with atmosphere then this is a good pick, it seemed like everyone was really friendly and chill.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2016
10.0

Very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2016
6.9

Great atmosphere at night. and perfectly located. However the rooms are a bit shabby and the ceiling fan does not help at all so you will wake up covered in sweat.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
27th Jan 2016
6.9

Staff were awesome, great location & a good breakfast. Dorm rooms were very hot with only one fan blowing onto two of the five beds. It didn't work one of the nights at all. No mosquito mesh on some parts so got bitten a lot in the night. Locker doors were broken & you couldn't shut the toilet door in our room. Could do with a bit of maintenance and with the energy of the staff would be an epic hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2016
6.9

We had a problem with our reservation, but it was hostelworld's fault. the guys were supper helpful, they let us leave our bags and go to the beach till they fix it. they even gave us a beer for free while we were waiting. we took the private suite for two, and it was really ugly. the bed was awful. the bathroom was ugly and the water on the shower was verry little. if you are looking for cheap, rent the doorms but i will not recomend the suite, it looks like they dont rent it often.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We're glad that you found our staff helpful and enjoyed the beer. We're sorry you found the private suite ugly. It is a popular suite normally. It had a 2 week old mattress, pillows and fan when you stayed, but we take any criticism seriously and will improvements where we can. For the shower, there were water shortages throughout the town and we were lucky enough to still have water when others had none. We know it's inconvenient and did our best, making sure everyone could shower multiple times per day.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2016
8.9

Really fun hostel to stay. Some of the friendliest staff we have come across on our trip. Lots of different events organised during the week at the hostel such as Jam nights, taco nights and live music. This all takes place down the bottom of the garden. There is also the option to pitch a tent if you are wanting to save money. The main thing that I think would improve the place is to put air conditioners in the room. Fans don't do the job. Otherwise, thanks for an awesome stay!!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.