Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 279 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 279 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
8.0

Nice hostel close to the centre of Stellenbosch - only about a 10 minute walk. Staff were helpful although it was sometimes hard to find someone that worked there. No lockers in rooms which was a bit of a pain but reception were happy for you to put stuff in their safe. The rooms were fairly basic but the bed was comfortable and it was pretty spacious. Overall I was happy with the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Jul 2017
9.4

Banghoek place was a good stop over for our day of wine tasting, if you stay two nights you can get a discount on he wine tasting tour they recommend which was a really good tour! Locations pretty good there's a supermarket 500m up the road and a few mins drive from bars restraunts, rooms were tidy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2017
5.7

There are bed bugs. The way to proceed with this infestation is not the propper one (a gas bomb). They should use proffesional help and not book those infested rooms.They changed me to another room, but after a few days I was plenty of bites on my body. It is very important to don't leave your luggage open or you can take them home.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
9.1

The guy that welcomes us was very nice and polite. He gave us very good advices about restaurants, tour operators and everything! Thank you very much from Canada!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Democratic Rep. of Congo, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
6.3

We were satisfied with the breakfast but we were disappointed about the cleanliness of the room. There were dust over the windows and chairs. Furthermore, the small carpets in our room were not clean. The receptionist was friendly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
9.4

Such a wonderful place to stay at. It's a bit further out from the town centre, which makes it a perfect retreat after a busy day . The fact that it's a bit smaller than most hostels creates a relaxing atmosphere. I felt at home and can definitely see myself returning. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
10.0

No lockers in rooms, but the safes by the counter and the exceedingly helpful staff more than made up for that. My request to change rooms to get a lower bunk was readily obliged, and the breakfast every morning while simple fare was really appreciated.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.7

Great stay. Staff organised wine tasting for us (which was amazing!) and were really fantastic. Breakfast was great and the pool was needed! Would recommend people to stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
9.4

Comfortable, safe, well located, and WiFi - and now that Uber is in Stellenbosch, this place is perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
6.3

This place is great in every respect but they do have a SERIOUS bedbug infestation in the lounge, on the big brown sectional couch. They say they spray regularly (I've seen them do it) but this isn't solving the problem. Other guests have been bitten head to toe, but I was fine -- I think the problem hasn't traveled upstairs to the dormitories. Unless they toss the couch and respray the hostel, or possibly close for a few days for a proper full fumigation, I wouldn't stay here!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.