Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 250 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 250 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
9.4

Comfortable, safe, well located, and WiFi - and now that Uber is in Stellenbosch, this place is perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
6.3

This place is great in every respect but they do have a SERIOUS bedbug infestation in the lounge, on the big brown sectional couch. They say they spray regularly (I've seen them do it) but this isn't solving the problem. Other guests have been bitten head to toe, but I was fine -- I think the problem hasn't traveled upstairs to the dormitories. Unless they toss the couch and respray the hostel, or possibly close for a few days for a proper full fumigation, I wouldn't stay here!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jan 2017
7.4

Basic B/Ps close to the university. Supermarket in walking distance. Not so much atmosphere but very ok when passing through for a night or two. Shuttle to bazbus worked well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jan 2017
8.0

We stayed two nights in a dorm and a third night in a private room. The dorm was cramped and the bathrooms dirty with flooded floors all the time. The private room was really nice though, as were all the hostel common areas downstairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
9.7

Very nice staff! Great hostel with very nice garden and pool. The half day wine tour with Alan was amazing and really worth it:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
9.7

There's a free breakfast but it's not very good. Also they ran out of bottled water. Other than that, no complaints.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
9.4

Great breakfast!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
7.4

All very good value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Crunchie
  • South Africa, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Nov 2016
10.0

Great atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Sep 2016
6.9

If you're looking for a budget place in Stellenbosch, the Banghoek backpackers is definately good value for money. The 2p ensuite was brand new and very comfortable. And there are very cosy seating areas outside everywhere. However, the backpackers is quite a long stroll from town and at night it's not the best idea. Also, the girl working at the backpakers made some kind of snarky remark about me taking a taxi back from town, I did not appreciate that!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.