Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Banilah

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 448 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 448 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
Banilah Located at 11 Sotesueksa Road., Changphuek, Muang, Chiang Mai.
Banilah
Thailand
Chiang Mai 50300 11 Sotesueksa Road., Changphuek, Muang
89% 448
18.8046743 98.9794349
Banilah
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
9.7

Banilah was such a wonderful place to stay! Staff: The staff was so friendly and went out of their way to explain the local area, arrange tours and transportation, and ensure we had a comfortable stay. One of a kind service! Security: There is a night security guard so we felt extra safe during the evenings. Atmosphere: We liked the cats!! Location: A bit far from old town (15 min walk), meaning we were away from the touristy area, which we actually preferred.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
9.7

One of the best hostels I have been staying with. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful and they have spent huge efforts in finding my friend's lost phone. Many thanks to Banilah team and definitely will come back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
9.7

Great place with friendly and very helpful staff. Very clean room and bathroom for a very reasonable price. The bed was also super comfortable would recommended for all travellers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
10.0

The staff here are amazing - they are so helpful and gave us loads of information, organised excursions and transport for us and got me rescued from the mountain when I was lost! The free bikes are great and you can easily cycle to the old city in 10 minutes. Lovely location and place to stay and the cute cats are a bonus too. One of the best hostels I've stayed in!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • janemcguire
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jun 2016
3.7

Staff were lovely, but the hostel was SO out the way and looks absolutely nothing like the photos. I'd recommend staying much nearer the backpacker areas.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2016
10.0

Had an amazing time at Banilah! Felt so welcome the second I walked in, the hostess sat down with me and color coded a map of the city highlighting attractions and restaurants. The room was very clean (and cleaned daily), A/C worked great, and had a real hot shower! Location is farther from the tourist part of town, but you can easily motobike anywhere you want (rental is next door) and I liked it better that way anyways. Definitely recommend it and I will stay again next time I visit Chaing Mai

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
9.4

Couldn't have asked for a better stay! For your own room, this is a great value. The staff is what truly makes this hostel/hotel great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jun 2016
10.0

Loved everything about this place including their cat cafe! Staff are superb! The moment we arrived, they served us complimentary iced tea, gave us a map and highlighted places to eat and to go around Chiang Mai. The ensuite rooms were cleaned everyday. In addition, towels were changed frequently, complimentary water in the room were always filled, TV in the rooms had good channels to watch movies, and great wifi! Although it was a 15 min walk to the old city, you can use their bikes for free!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mayawilkinson4302
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jun 2016
7.7

Very helpful staff and a nice room, but a bit far away from the 'centre of things' and a strange separate bathroom (concrete, with mosquitoes) bring our rating down.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jun 2016
9.4

Perfect place to stay in almost every area: water included saves you $1 a day, bikes included saves another $1.50, the staff is the best super friendly and full of tips for great food spots and fun things to do including clear maps to use on your trip, the location was our favourite of all the spots on Chiang Mai where we stayed and visited with cheap tasty food and drink and a nearby 711. The only problem is the Mosquitos, as with everywhere in this area but an outdoor bathroom hurts with this

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.