Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Banilah

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.0
Banilah Located at 11 Sotesueksa Road., Changphuek, Muang, Chiang Mai.
Banilah
Thailand
Chiang Mai 50300 11 Sotesueksa Road., Changphuek, Muang
88% 467
18.8046743 98.9794349
Banilah
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
9.7

We loved staying at Banilah. The staff was great and always helpful. They gave us a detailed map, great food recommendations and even helped get us a bike rental. We would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Nov 2016
9.7

Our stay here was absolutely wonderful, we showed up exhausted and not feeling well after a long travel day and they were quick to read us and sent us up to bed. The staff was accommodating and incredibly friendly, always going above and beyond for everything and anything we needed. They organized many day trips for us with ease, and even dropped us off personally at a local food spot so we could try a delicious northern Thai dish, free of charge. The staff made our trip to Chiang Mai amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Nov 2016
9.1

We were beyond pleased with our stay at Banilah. Nancy at the front desk is amazing and was the best tour guide in the city (free of charge). We stayed in an ensuite, double bedroom. It was very clean, quiet, showers were old but had warm water, and the decor was actually romantic. The best part is they have bicycles you can use for free. We will definitely go back and stay at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Oct 2016
6.6

Great place to stay. Is a little out of the way from the city centre though. Staff are wonderful, especially Nancy. I needed to go to the clinic to have my stitches cleaned and redressed and Shen drove me to multiple places and spoke to the staff for me to ensure that I was taken care of. Facilities are a little dated and not quite as polished and nice as the photos. I booked a single private for a decent price Andy was upgraded for free to a double on he main floor because the singles were o

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Oct 2016
9.4

Great place excellent staff.. will come back next.time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Oct 2016
9.1

Banilah is so amazing because of its staff. The women who work there are incredibly hospitable, helpful, and informed - you have an authentic guide book steps away. The standard room means one with air conditioning - I read the wrong description but we ended up booking a basic (very lovely, just had no a.c.). The staff was totally cool with us upgrading the next day and set us up in another room right away. It is a walk to get to the old city (15 min tops) but it's a cool walk - a local feel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Aug 2016
8.0

Great Hostel and base for our trip to Chiang Mai. Very helpful staff, minor points were minimal plug sockets in the room and no fridge. Overall a great stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2016
8.3

Lovely stay here with my boyfriend. When we arrived we were greeted by the lovely smiley people who work at Banilah. She took around 30 minutes to point out lots of places of interest on a detailed map - this was great! She even gave it to us in a water proof pouch! She also booked us tuk tuks, our trip to the elephant sanctuary and hired us mopeds within seconds of us asking ! At Banilah you get what you pay for - a nice charming place to sleep, with outstanding staff and a nice atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
9.7

Banilah was such a wonderful place to stay! Staff: The staff was so friendly and went out of their way to explain the local area, arrange tours and transportation, and ensure we had a comfortable stay. One of a kind service! Security: There is a night security guard so we felt extra safe during the evenings. Atmosphere: We liked the cats!! Location: A bit far from old town (15 min walk), meaning we were away from the touristy area, which we actually preferred.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
9.7

One of the best hostels I have been staying with. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful and they have spent huge efforts in finding my friend's lost phone. Many thanks to Banilah team and definitely will come back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.