Hostelworld.com

Banilah

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 426 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 426 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
Banilah Located at 11 Sotesueksa Road., Changphuek, Muang, Chiang Mai.
Banilah
Thailand
Chiang Mai 50300 11 Sotesueksa Road., Changphuek, Muang
89% 426
18.8046743 98.9794349
Banilah
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Apr 2016
6.0

wonderful helpful staff. however the location is a bit further from the main attractions then I would have liked. the rooms are a bit run down.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2016
8.0

Rooms were basic but very clean, better then I expected for what I paid. The woman who worked in the cat cafe was so helpful and polite, me and my friend were using the computer to try and book ongoing flights and she really helped us out so we ended up saving over half then what we was going to pay! We were provided with so much info on things to do and places to go in the city as well

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Apr 2016
8.0

As everyone has mentioned the staff is absolutely phenomenal at this guesthouse. You feel really welcome, especially being a solo traveler. Having said that it is quite difficult to meet people at this location, but it was quite quiet and the free bike rentals were a huge plus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Apr 2016
8.3

Cannot fault the staff, two super friendly, lovely ladies. Very clean room, with very good air conditioning. Only downside was it is quite a way from he old quarter. About a 15 min walk, which we didn't mind as the quality of the property made it worth it. We actually came back for a second stay for a one night stopover.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
9.4

The staff at Banilah were amazing and incredibly friendly. On our first night we were given 3 maps and shown all the places we can go, things to see and places to eat! Room was fine and we left our bags in there with no problem. in a great location and near by lots of great places to eat. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and if we ever come back to Chiang Mai, I would love to stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • desireeamber
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Mar 2016
10.0

Amazing experience here, the women who run it are so kind and helpful. They went above and beyond several times to make sure we were taken care of. Booked our taxis, explained where to go in the city and reccomended many places to check out. The rooms are clean and cute. Would most definitely stay here again. Thank you for a great stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2016
10.0

Our stay at Banilah was amazing. It was the best place we have stayed at in our month in Thailand, if not the entire two months of travel. The owner and her staff were extremely helpful in helping us get information and plan the next leg of our trip, as well as everything pertaining to Chiang Mai. There is a coffee shop with cats downstairs, the security guard is very nice, the rooms were great, the cleaning ladies very efficient, there's free bikes; overall an excellent place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
6th Mar 2016
6.9

Be careful what room you book that the upstairs rooms don't have AC! You have to pay extra for AC! Wouldn't suggest booking using HW, I would email them instead. Staff very knowledgeable about the area and super friendly. If you talk loud outside, everyone in the hostel will hear you. Otherwise good place to stay, clean, not too far from everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2016
9.7

I just loved it here! I had a single room with a fan. It was a great size, came with a net and an en suite. The staff were so lovely, on arrival they gave me maps, highlighting good places to eat, places to see and also the best routes to get to the main sites. The location is a little outside of the old city but easy enough to walk or taxi. My room included free bike hire which was perfect. Also, for food there was plenty of options near the hotel, including a daily market.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Feb 2016
9.4

If you visit Chiang Mai, you must remove all other hostel/guesthouse options from your list & check out this one... please take my word for it!! Amazing hospitality, plentiful amount of info given to you upon check-in (they highlight on a map popular areas and attractions to check out around the city), lots of nice cats in reception area, AMAZING coffee, a little far from Old Town but this never bothered us, rooms are of GREAT value; super quaint, security guard is friendly... say hi to him :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.