X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Banjos Backpackers Reviews

150 Claisebrook Road, Perth, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
140 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great hostel, really friendly staff and fantastic facilities. Lots of areas to hang out and meet people. Really clean bathrooms and comfy warm beds.


91%

Excellent staff. Very good mattresses, best linen I have encountered in a hostel. Atmosphere I felt is dimished becasue of a very large common area which does not promote close contact. Excellant wifi, though a few more conveniently placed power points would help.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

The common rooms are too big which makes it unpersonnal and not very confy. The rooms are also very cold as they are so big and not windows to warm the place up. The hostel is only 15 min away from the city centre however there is nothing to do in the area, it is just an industrial area. However there is free wifi in the common room and toasts and coffee for breakfast, which is very nice.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I think your bathroom-clean up schedule was rather annoying.


97%

it was the first time for me in Perth. have spent a good time at this hostel. Safe, clean, quite and the staff is very courteous!! if u are intended to come here i suggest u to spend ur time here....

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

There were many pan broken in the kitchen.It was hard to cook with them. So please buy new one… Cleaning time was inconvenience for us. Why do you clean bathroom at around 9pm? I think almost people use bathroom at the time.You should change the time to clean bathroom.But bathroom was clean and tidy.And i wanted to use wifi in my room.Please more strong wifi.That's all. I hope this feedback will help someone.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Chihiro for your feedback. The bathrooms do get a clean throughout the evening but there should always be one set of bathrooms open at all times. I'm very sorry if this was not the case, I will be checking with the cleaners to make sure this is understood for the future. Thank you for informing me on the kitchen equipment I will look into that . I'm sorry you were unable to access the wifi in your room but it is provided free of charge in all common areas.

69%

I can't quite decide whether it was the clientele, the fact that it's low season or the sheer size of the hostel that lead to the dreary atmosphere that engulfed the place. The robotic staff that shuffled blankly about the place were fairly cold and unwelcoming and the confusing uniforms helped alienate them further. I had assumed a mass carbon monoxide leak when I first encountered the hoards of long term residents, mostly unemployed. That being said the facilities were superb, and kitchen big.


86%

Staff were awesome, rooms were clean, beds weren't too uncomfortable, and it is a short walk into Perth CBD. Met some cool people, and the common room/games room was awesome.


83%

Fantastic staff, so helpful and friendly. Great facilities with free wifi, major plus, and huge kitchen with free breakfast. The thing that let this hostel down for me was the people. Lots of long termers and they weren't really welcoming to newbies, fairly cliquey, and very disrespectful when trying to sleep! Fab hostel though if you're just in the mood for sightseeing as it's within the free bus zone, which is awesome!


83%

Actually good value for money :) But... A bit far from city centre(although YellowCAT bus stop is 5minutes by walking). Bad smell in all area except room.


57%

This hostel is in two large warehouses which makes the rooms quite loud and echoy. You can hear most things that happen in the hallway if you sleep close to the doors. In addition, it is located in a strange industrial part of town that is not the nicest and if you want to go to a restaurant or even a convenience store it is at least a 10-20 minute walk. It is also located near a cement factory and you can hear the trucks going in and out starting at about 4am.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I stayed at Banjos for the weekend and thought it was a great hostel. Bathrooms were always clean. The others guests were friendly which made a good atmosphere; I came alone and made friends straight away. It's not right in the city but there's a free bus nearby and a train station. Would 100% come back here when I return to Perth. Staff are friendly and helpful too!

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

- Staff is too strict. You can be fired for nothing. - Some rats in the kitchen - Toaster are broken for 2 weeks no replacement - About cleaning there is a list but you should have the "good face" for the staff


77%

Banjos is a really big backpacker. I would say it best fits those who are coming to Perth to stay awhile. There are many long term guests. The staff is very friendly and knowledgable, so it works for those of us passing through as well. It has a great big kitchen and lots of spacious social areas. I would visit again.


83%

Very nice and clean

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff were all very friendly. Rooms were nice to stay in and made some good friends. Was able to sleep due to the 12-6 no noise rule. Things were mostly clean. Everyone was really helpful.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Good place...would stay again...lots of people here so the few bathrooms do tend to get messy...rooms are great though...my only real complaint is the terrible Internet connection...this shouldn't happen in a major city in Australia.


100%

It was a great place to stay as both of us are over 40 years of age, staying till we get into apartment next day due to extra day of swim training at National Surf life Saving championship. Very handy to shops and no worries about overnight parking.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

A big comfortable room and clean place. People always friendly. I wish come back next time.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Perth Hostels

Please give us your feedback