Hostelworld.com

Bank Street Lodge

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 428 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 428 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0
Bank Street Lodge Located at Bank Street, Inverness-shire, Fort William.
Bank Street Lodge
Scotland
Fort William PH33 6AY Bank Street, Inverness-shire
78% 428
56.8181808 -5.1084709
Bank Street Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Jun 2016
7.7

Bank Street Lodge is in a great location in the centre of town. The SYHA hostel is 3 miles out of town, so if it's location, location, location, then this is a clear winner. Other plusses, great drying room and lovely, hot powerful showers. Minuses, small bedrooms, showers, toilet and wash basins all in the same room. This is often the case when camping but this isn't a campsite. As with most independent hostels, the kitchen is small as is the dining room. Would I stay again? An easy yes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
12th Jun 2016
8.3

Decent enough hostel. Second time I've stayed; not phenomenal, but reasonable and I'm not a picky traveller. I just needed a base for some hillwalking and it was fine. Staff are friendly. Beds were fairly comfortable too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2016
7.1

This is a perfectly serviceable hostel. Safe location, convenient to downtown, and with decent showers. However the 4 person dorm we stayed in was extremely cramped, the beds not particularly comfortable, the kitchen tiny, and the bathrooms not ideal. They also have an odd way of handling keys where you turn in your room key every time you leave, which wouldn't be an issue except they don't ask for any kind of ID when giving the key back to you. Overall, not bad, but not my favorite.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jun 2016
4.6

Room smaller and beds worse than in a youth hostel, showers horrible and without a window (= all in all a bad athmosphere)

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
10.0

nice wee place,have stayed there before but this was the first time ive been in one of the bunk rooms,great no issues at all,staff very welcoming and helpful,certainly would use it again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th May 2016
8.0

Nice and central place, but more for young families than backpackers. Location was a lot better than the student hostel (which is over 45 minutes outside of town, I walked it) and has a good kitchen and recreation room. The 4 bedroom dorm was incredibly small, like 9 sq m. if that. Over, staff was really helpful, facilities was good (even though theres only one toilet and two showers on the ground floor, barely saw another person in there). Not the place to meet other travellers though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
6.3

A bit pokey and no easy sitting in the lounge.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
7.1

We had a room to ourselves which was good, but the overall security wws dodgy due to the system used for keeping the keys. Kitchen facilities were great although it was little. Beds are ok, not the best not the worst compared to other hostels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th May 2016
6.3

You like hard beds and to little rooms for showers and toilets? Your right here!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th May 2016
8.9

Good location to explore. We stayed here the night before we completed the three peaks challenge. Nice room but wifi not in rooms. Good kitchen and dinning area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.