X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Barbieri International Hostel Reviews

c/Barbieri 15, Madrid 28004, Madrid, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
981 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Good nice and clean hostel. Only the bed made a sound every time i are moving.


74%

The Hostel location is quite perfect and the staff are really attentive and friendly, although some of them unfortunately do not speak english. The building has a beautiful structure but it needs some repair.


91%

Staffs are helpful, kitchen facilities good, place are clean. Not really close to the center but a 10min walk will.do.Over all, a good choice. I have a very god time there! Many thanks !


74%

It was an interesting experience. The staff was all friendly, but the place is definitely a fixer upper. The tiles in our room were all cracked, and the lockers weren't all that sturdy, besides this there was some questionable box springs. Every single bed had squeaky box springs, despite the noise level of the box springs this is probably the most comfortable hostel bed that i've stayed in during my past 6 months in Europe. So props for that. Breakfast was also pretty good. I would go again.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

It has nothing more than the essential. Bed and shower. But the rooms are too small. Also there were only two showers and one was out of service. The kitchen is VERY small. Sometimes it is uncomfortable.


77%

The staff was very welcoming 24/7 and the hostel itself reflects their wartmh. Always with a smile on theri face and eager to help orient myself in the city. So thanx!

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Hostel definitely needs an upgrade. Floor tiles in the room were popping out, as well as paint peeling on most of the walls. I also booked through hostelworld and the description said a 7 person room with its own bathroom, and the room I was given was actually 8 people with no attached bathroom. The facilities weren't great either, but they were pretty clean at least. The best part was the location: you could pretty much walk to the main areas of Madrid from the hostel.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent location, value for the money and kind staff :) We stayed in a private double room - a bit tiny, but we felt very good in the place and we would definitely come back there :) Staff, thanks for everything! :)

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Beds and bathrooms were sketchy but good WiFi. great staff, get what you pay for.


89%

great staff! clean, good location... nice cost/benefit.


69%

great staff, nice breakfast and good people to hang out


100%

Every guest loved this hostel including me. I feel lucky that my first hostel experience is a place where the staff and the people create an excellent environment. It's very clean and very well located. The staff is very nice and cheerful people always willing to help out with what you need. Very nice breakfast. I don't know all I can do is talk good about the Barbieri hostel.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Not very clean (linels etc.) but clean toilets. Very noisy at night because they had parties. Atmosphere very young and friendly. Staff very helpful. Internet connection poor especially if trying to use Skype. It would be OK for some days and the cost is really low!


86%

Very friendly staff who did everything to make the stay enjoyable


94%

The staff was amazingly helpful and friendly! It's an awesome location that definitely helps you experience Madrid.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Big thanks for the staff - always ready to help and guide us with their beautiful city! Hostel was easy to find and at excellent location. No complaints, definitely going to visit again! :-)

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

It was a very nice, but basic, hostel. The bathrooms were very nice, the staff was very friendly, and free breakfast is always a plus. Also, they had a cleaner, who came and fixed up our sheets on our bed for us, which was very nice to come back to after traveling throughout the city all day. My only complaints were that the beds weren't super comfortable (but they were still fine) and, while it was definitely clean, the room smelled like sweat and feet the whole time. Great place though!


57%

Good location, it´s a specific neighbourhood.... some guys from the stuff really annoying really bad attitude exept Thiago really nice guy... the breakfast really poor though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very bad customers... making noise and dont allowing anybody to sleep because the hit on every girl... also they sleep naked without using sheets so they make all the blankets and bed very, very dirty...

71%

Maybe they could get new bed sheets and blankets? Good breakfast. Clean and tidy. Nice staff. THE ONLY PROBLEM was that the morning we left we were stopped by the guy at the desk who argued that we couldn't leave the hostel because we hadn't paid and threatened us on calling the police. It turned out he didn't check properly and we were badly accused and delayed for our flight. Make sure they give you a receipt as soon as you pay.


74%

Good basic hostel. Not in the heart of the centre, but in a nice characteristic district walking distance from pretty much anything in the city centre. Couple of cons: The beds in my dorm were quite squeaky and the dorm socket was out of order (which unfortunately is a bit of an inconvenience with the sad battery life of phones of the day). Also, you have to pay some 2 euros if you wish to leave your luggage after checking out.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Madrid Hostels

Please give us your feedback