X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Barbieri International Hostel Reviews

c/Barbieri 15, Madrid 28004, Madrid, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
792 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

This hostel is very good value for money and well located for the sights in Madrid and the metro system.A good breakfast and friendly staff.Only criticism is perhaps make sure guests dont make too much noise after 11pm as this can be really annoying if you are trying to sleep.


77%

The reception is not open 24h like it's supposed to.. We were stuck outside at 4h30 in the morning.. Lucky for us a resident from the hostel heard us and came to open the door. If you plan to go out late I guess it's better you stay somewhere else.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
apology for what happened, we are aware, and unfortunately what happened was a single event that our receptionist came out to the streets to help other passengers who were lost, our reception is normally open 24 hours.

83%

Very centrally located for sight seeing in central Madrid.Bars and restaurants nearby as well.Really good value for money with a decent breakfast thrown in .Staff on the whole were pleasant and friendly.


94%

Fantastic hostel, really enjoyed my stay there, great atmosphere at the balcony bar and friendly young staff. I will definitely stay there again next time I'm in Lisbon!


49%

Not the world hostel ever, but definitely now the best. The main thing for us was that the door to the room didnt lock and the lockers were very small and very unsecure. I wouldn't stay there again, nor would I recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi sorry that you dindt like our hostel, the lockers can fit a cabin bag and other small backpak, and locks in the rooms works but sometimes the backpakers who share the dorms dont close it :(

63%

The room was Very small and stuffs for bed is quite old and not clean, they should change. At night, a guy shouted and cried... And the room doesn't have an air condition so too warm


83%

Conveniently located, especially if you have to take the night bus to the airport (very close to Plaza de Cibeles). Friendly staff, decent breakfast, clean showers. Only small complaint is about the aircon that didn't work the 2nd night I stayed there. Overall good value for money, would recommend staying there.


31%

Place says air conditioner but they only turn it in at night and you have to ask. Wake up in sweat shuts off middle of night. Staff sucks. Wifi doesn't work throughout hostel. Leave heater on in common room even though it's hot. Cleaning lady is super rude. Charge to leave bags and hang out after check out. Beds don't feel clean and mold in the bathroom shower.


49%

- don't charge to keep luggage when there is no safety - offer lockers -buy better breackfast product -don't let people making noice untile 4 am -control airconditionning

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear Audrey sorry for your experience, you dont have a locker in your room becouse you had a room upgrade in 2 beds rooms instead 7 beds room, our storage room is safer control by our receptionist 24hours, the air condition control is in the room maybe you havent see it :(, the Breakfast product is coming from the local supermarker DIA, the people who lives in Madrid do the diary shopping there . thank you for your review ;)

91%

this hostel had a great friendly atmosphere about it. the staff were very accommodating and extremely willing to help out and answer any questions. the rooms were a good size and air conditioned as well. the was breakfast supplied which included croissants, muffins, toast, cereal, tea, coffee and juice. the people who came to stay at the hostel were friendly and we would all go out at night and hang out during the day as well. i would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone.


91%

A really good place,clean and with excellent breakfast!


80%

Told the night receptionist guy that there were no toilet paper in one bathroom and he did nothing about it. Neither did he wash his hands after going to the bathroom.


74%

im glad that the hostel is situated in a very nice location near Gran Via and is kind of between the area of the palace and the area of the 3 museums. the only problem i would have to say abt the location is that i didnt research about Chueca (the area that the hostel is located at) is actually a popular spot for teens, bars, night life and gay/lesbian activities. i was shocked when i went back to hostel one night and found that the street was full of drunk ppl. that was a bit dangerous.


80%

Good Hostel, great staff, great location.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really loved our stay! Great location, casual vibe and good kitchen. Good free breaky too of toast, cereal, juice tea and coffee. Great location to walk around Madrid. We had a twin room which overlooked the street which was fun to have a wine and people watch. A lot of food around and supermarket a few doors down.


69%

It's definitely good value for money as you get breakfast included in the price. On the down side the atmosphere may be a little dull, but great for resting after travelling and sightseeing all day. The living room is nice. The kitchen is small but okay. The common areas are not big in general. But all in all, it's alright.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The place is Ok. Good location and free breakfast and internet.


100%

had good time staying in this place, met new acquaintances and friends. staff are nice and no other words to say.. just great!


100%

love this place. was there before, will be back again.....


86%

Nice smiley staff and good location. Value for money I can totally say it's just perfect!


« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Madrid Hostels

Please give us your feedback