Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barbieri International

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1613 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1613 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Mar 2017
6.3

Hostel is very sketchy looking, outside and in. Needs lots of TLC. Beds were squeaky, the lockers small and flimsy.. but the location was great, in a gay neighbourhood close to the centre! Simple breakfast. You get what you pay for!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Mar 2017
4.9

I was in Madrid for 3 days with 2 more friends and we had a terrible experience in Barbieri International. In the first night, we found a lot of big insects in the bedroom, the beds were really uncomfortable and make a lot of noise, we couldn't move without waking everyone in the room. The sheets were clean, but really old and not soft. The room smelt really bad, had only one window, not enough to ventilate the room. The bathrooms were clean, but really old as well the building and installation.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
9.1

Great location and friendly staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
9.4

The staff are so friendly and really helpful. The breakfast is nice and the location is so central and feels really safe. It's a 5 minute walk to Sol and 10 to Plaza Mayor, and there are some nice tapas places within a 30 second walk (El Tigre).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Feb 2017
8.9

Great staff, clean hostel and excellent location for seeing the sights of madrid. Hard to get a good sleep though due to being located on a loud street with busy nightlife going on until early hours of the morning every day of the week.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2017
8.9

One showerhead/hose was broken but otherwise the facilities were good, the bedroom was good sized, and there was a good breakfast. Unfortunately the kitchen area is a little small. The staff is very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
8.6

The most I like there is the reception. They are very friendly and helpful, the location is perfect for me, it is really close to the center, and moreover you could taste something really local, and there is quite a lot restaurants nearly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
8.6

Overall I would definitely recommend. The staff were incredibly nice and helpful and the atmosphere was inviting. Breakfast was simple but sufficient. Beds were not very comfortable, however, and the shower water pressure and temperature were hit-or-miss. Location was perfect though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Feb 2017
9.1

I had a nice stay at the hostel. The location is perfect, in a beautiful area, 15 minutes away from the main places to visit. Staff people were very nice too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
3.4

Staff smoking drugs in and around the hostel, they also had a party on a Friday night with more than 20 people all in the living room getting drunk. A fight broke out outside our room and we could hear it all. Tried to check out in the morning and all staff were drunk asleep on the sofa. Quiet time was supposed to be 11pm but the party they had didn't stop until I complained at 1am and they finally left. Even when i went to complain about the noise the manager was drunk with a glass of vodka.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.