X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Barbieri Sol Hostel Reviews

Victoria 6 piso 2 Madrid, Madrid, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
508 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The hostel is very centrally located and convenient for seeing big attractions in Madrid, but VERY noisy on the streets at night (and late). Our showerhead was broken and had to be held by hand while showering or it would spray all over the room. Otherwise, it was a clean hostel with a beautiful terrace. Staff was nice, but didn't go out of their way. They offer a good discount for Flamenco and let you know when museums are free. Good for a short stay in Madrid if you don't mind the noise.


77%

If you are looking for a quiter place in a good location of Madrid then this is the right hostel. I walked almost everywhere by foot and was fine. Just so you are aware there are no lockers in the rooms so you just have to trust in other people not to take your things. Wifi only works well in the living rooms and breakfast is cearal and toast.


83%

Great location Had the private double bedroom - squirmy camp beds but after a busy day anything I nice En suite in room however very basic, had to hold shower head as otherwise a bath Toilet basic/not discreet but can use the communal ones

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Very friendly staff, nice terrace. Mattress bit dirty and shower mildewed

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Fantastic location. Plenty to do/eat within walking distance. Only issue is that the lockers in my room had no way of being locked, so I had to carry my bag around with me.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

In the overhall it is a good place, excellent location right in the heart of Madrid. Staff was nice and helpful. A minor problem is the lack of space and the uncleaned water coming out of the fowssets.

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The blonde female at the front desk was extremely friendly/helpful. Some of the staff do not speak English. I, on the other hand, only speak English, but did not find a problem here; I just wanted to give other people a heads up. The hostel is very clean. No lockers are available, but I felt safe with my belongings. I reserved a 4 bed and received a 3 bed, which I appreciated. Atmosphere is okay, a lot of Koreans. The en suite bathroom was very small, but achieved its goal. Would stay here again


71%

Good location but an overall small hostel with limited atmosphere and pokey communal spaces. Lockers were small and could easily be a pain point depending on the amount of valuables you bring.


83%

It is a simple, but nice and clean hostel. It is situated perfectly!

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It was a clean and cozy hostel located near the Sol metro station. The staff was very efficient and helpful. The luggage storage service cost EUR 2, but there was no particular security measure (eg luggage tag for identification) except that the door of the storage room was locked.


89%

Well we stayed only for one night in this hostel and we didn't spent a lot of time there. But I don't remember anything bad! The hostel is central located, that's perfect! The stuff was friendly! But maybe they could extend breakfast time until 11:00, especially for young party people. Well it is a simple breakfast, but ok!

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

this hostel is nice and the staff is nice too! full breakfast


80%

evrything is good, staff is kind , position perfect, rooms cleaned. the bed are unconfortable, sorry but they are too little, very strange 1,80 cm bed ...


20%

TOTTALY WORST EXPERIENCE EVER. In the begging everything was nice. We booked a twin room with shared bathroom. However you can't sleep because of the COLD. Madrid is a cold place. Owner who is very stingy, slightly turns on the heater at 23.00 and its on until 8am if you wanna spend some time in your room during the day you'll need your JACKETS on you layer by layer. There is an a/c in the room but YOU DONT HAVE AN ACCESS TO REMOTE CONTROLLER to turn it on.


89%

Very well located, helpful staff, I recommend


66%

This hostel wins on location for being so close to plaza del sol and within walking distance to everything. Bathrooms are outdated and tiny. It's what you would expect for being on the cheap end of hostels in a big city.


89%

Overall, great value for your money and the location. Right near El Sol, the touristy/shopping area and Plaza Mayor. Rooms differ in size, in-room bathrooms are all tiny but they also have communal bathrooms (with no shower) to supplement. Nice common areas to socialize and the hostel was clean. 2 euro to leave luggage (5 euro to extend checkout). Staff wasn't the friendliest...they weren't rude, just indifferent.


91%

This hostel was perfect for our trip. Everything we needed was there and convenient. The location was incredible. Looking out the window and seeing such an active street was really fun for our stay. Thank you for accommodating our group of four so we could have our own room (with our own bathroom which was nice).

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Visited here in early November for four days. We booked for 2 beds in the dorms but got upgraded to a private 3 bedroom for free!! It was such a nice surprise! The breakfast was nice. Location couldn´t be better! Very close to the main points.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Perfect location, right in the middle of everything while still being off the main street. Staff were very helpful, able to advise on everything we asked activities and food wise. Wasn't a lot happening with the hostel itself - drinks or activities. Possibly as there weren't many people staying. Rooms were clean, decor a little old. Bathroom ok. Could do with updating, but nothing wrong with it. Great balcony area, would be amazing in the sun (not open 11pm-7am or something though)


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Madrid Hostels

Please give us your feedback