Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barbieri Sol Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1123 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1123 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Apr 2017
7.7

Good location, clean, but our room had no curtains so the light from outside kept us awake. Beds very uncomfortable. Staff were nice. Lovely terrace and ok breakfast. The front door to the main building didn't lock and one night a man followed us in and up the stairs - scary. Bathroom small. Very basic. Not much of a party atmosphere. Free walking tour very good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
9.1

This review is for a twin private room that was fantastic!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
8.3

Great location for exploring Sol, Plaza Mayor, Malasaña and even Lavapies. Short walk to Atocha as well. We arrived early, but they let us leave our bags until the 2pm check-in. Didn't really encounter any other travelers during our stay. Rooms are big and very cozy. Super comfy beds! We were disappointed about the closed terrace since it was one of the main reasons we decided on this hostel. Ah well... too early in the season, I guess. Still a good value for your money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
6.3

Central location, however, the bed is too uncomfortable and they have so many rules like they close the kitchen and the terrace at 11 pm. Also, my bedroom toilet was not working and the shower is terrible really really old and small. About the kitchen, the oven was not working too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2017
8.6

Lockers are made for medium or big lockpads. I arrivedwith 2 small lockpads so I could not use locker. Anyway , nothing was stolen from my luggage. Brakfast time ends at 10.00. At 10.15 that cleaning lady has no mercy in a dinning room. But it is not big deal. Every guest gets set of 3+ keys for moving arround premices. Maybe hostel should invest into electronic locks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
8.3

I think the most important thing in a hostel is the dorm bed. In Barbieri the upper one is quite shaky and short - I'm 180 cm and I almost didn't fit. Other taller guest just took the mattress down and slept on the floor. Other very important thing in hostels is a charger next to a bed and Barbieri provided that - but there was no shelf to leave the phone or computer. The main benefit of the hostel is a beautiful terrace and great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
8.3

The staffs Barbeier and Orlando were both very kind and helpful. The location of the hostel is excellent, the place was clean and the free breakfast was good. One major complaint is the Internet connection which is often down. The other guests who had stayed 3 nights earlier also faced the same problem. I wasted LOTS of time unable to do anything and not able to check/confirm details, which is the major reason why i decided to change hostel. Otherwise, this is a good place to stay in Madrid.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your comment, we are reviewing improving our communication wifi

1st Apr 2017
5.7

Buena ubicación , staff poco amable solo me quede 1 noche

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Apr 2017
9.7

5 euros of deposit to borrow the linen and sheet. But you can get return when you check out. Location is nice and kitchen is quite nice. And free breakfast, you can eat breads, coffee, hot chocolate, juice. Staffs are really kind, adorable. Everything is perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Mar 2017
8.6

We stayed in a double bedroom. It was very clean and the decoration is really simple. You have a sink and bathtub inside the room so if you stay in one of these, make sure you are confortable in using these with other person in the bedroom! The breakfast was good and complete, I have nothing bad to say about it. The only thing I didnt like was the noise my bathtub made in the middle of the night, it was super scary. The location is perfect and that's it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.