X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Barbieri Sol Hostel Reviews

Victoria 6 piso 2 Madrid, Madrid, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
591 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I love the rooftop patio! Wish they'd keep it open a little later :).


66%

Nothing to write home about - good location, but very little atmosphere (admittedly could have been the time of year). Slightly dated rooms - could do with renovation. Some staff very helpful, others not so much. Terrace is nice. Request for €5 to be able to stay in the hostel the day you leave, in my opinion - and to advertise it as some 'special offer' is not what a hostel is meant to be about.


86%

Ideal place to stay while on a student budget! Nice rooftop area to relax, clean rooms, friendly staff, good kitchen facilities and right in the center. What more could u ask for?

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent location, very clean and friendly (especially the receptionist Chary) very good atmosphera, highly recommended!!! Excelente ubicación, muy limpio y muy amigable, especialmente la recepcionista Chary q es un amor!! Muy recomendable, a pasos de todo!!

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The perfect location in the center of Madrid. It's a great hostel, very clean, nice atmosphere and helpful staff, good breakfast, and a really nice terrace. Even though it's in the center, it's not so noisy as you may think. I will definitely stay here for my next trip to Madrid! Highly recommended!

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The rooms are small and not clean, I arrived at the late afternoon and the bathroom looked like it hasn't been cleaned several days. There are a nice terrace and a cozy living room, but it doesn't look like a typical common area and there was no one there. Staff is really trying doing their best and they really know the city well.


83%

The hostel was great. Very clean and tidy and the location was perfect, right in the centre of Madrid so it was easy to access every part of the city. The staff were fairly helpful, but I felt that they could've given more information about the city to us and presented us with things to do.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It is my second time in Madrid and I choose to stay again at Barbieri Sol. The staff is friendly, the help you if you hace doubts or if you need something, and the location is great, not only be cause is close to Vodafone Sol, but also becarse the lovely bars and tabernas that are across the steeet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
MUCHAS GRACIAS POR TU COMENTARIO

83%

Simple place to crush for the night or a few more. Place is clean and staff is friendly. Rooms have very little natural light and AC only works at night. But for the price and central location it's perfectly fine.


94%

Really liked it here! Rooms were clean, included breakfast was a lovely surprise, the staff were really friendly and happy to help! Rooftop terrace with fairy lights gave it a nice vibe and also some chill out space considering how hot it is in Spain. Would recommend!!


100%

Very friendly, customer service was great, so easy to book online

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

For how cheap it is, it's a great value. I stayed in a six person room for two nights and ended up booking two more in a double. The bed in the double was very comfortable but it was a pain to have to go down the hall to the bathroom. Breakfast is standard toast and coffee but there is a cute terrace to eat on overlooking tapas bars. The rooms were clean and the staff was helpful.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Pretty good! Very recommendable! Big and comfortable rooms, good and clean bathroom, perfect location. And with a good breakfast. Loved it!


89%

The hostel is located in a fantastic area near the Puerta del Sol and Vodafone Sol metro station, which is always filled with people, has a lot of restaurants, stores, etc near. The staff was very nice and helpful, I didn't have a lock so they kept my bags safely while I took a walk around town. The room had the minimum acceptable conditions just to spend the night but the common areas were very nice and well-equipped. Free "all you can eat" (kind of) breakfast was great and the terrace too.


91%

Centrally located, clean & friendly - spacious terrace.


40%

The hostel is awfully old and unclean.You have to put the bedsheets yourself and give them back upon leaving. I won't talk about the sheets which looked like being from the 19th century. You have to pay for keeping your bags there. You have to pay in cash. Worst hostel experience ever. Will never repeat it and would never recommend such a place for anyone. For same money value, I could have gone to a way better hostel in the same centric zone.


94%

I can honestly say that given its quality in comparison to its value this was the best hostel I have stayed at in Europe. Splendid location, great facilities, clean rooms, toilets and showers attached to the rooms, just everything about this hostel was a wonderful experience, cannot suggest this hostel enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment, We are happy you've had a great time in our hostel

74%

The hostel was quite difficult to find for it was in on the second or third floor of a building on a small street. Despite this however, the hostel itself was nice and clean. Decent living room and kitchen for those staying as well. One other small downside is that they charge to use the locker room, I think it was only 2 euros which is not bad, but still the only hostel I came across on my travels that charged for this service. Great location, close to Playa de Sol, a main metro stop.


91%

First of all apologies for the delay with this as I stayed at the Barbieri Sol Hostel about 6-7 weeks ago for 3 nights and I was very impressed. The location is brilliant. Very close to bars, restaurants and night life. It is also closely situated to a underground station as well for ease of travel. A lot of the main attractions are walkable from the hostel as well. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and will accommodate anything where they can. Roof top terrace was lovely

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

While the location is excellent as it is close to the centre, it means it is very noisy at night/early morning so don't expect to have a quiet night's rest. Other than that it is a great place.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Madrid Hostels

Please give us your feedback