Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barkly Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 60 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 60 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • asdfreddY
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
9.1

Best Hostel experience I ever had. Definitely recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
10.0

Stayed at this hostel for a few months. The hostel location is great, located around 5 minutes walk from St Kilda beach, Acland Street and the tram network. The hostel is cleaned daily and looks very clean and beds are very comfortable.In contrast to a number of other hostels, the kitchen and communal area is open 24 hours. Great staff always on hand to help. Made some lifelong friends here. If you plan on visiting Melbourne, I definitely recommend staying at Barkly Backpackers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
2.9

Barkly Backpackers is the absolute worst place I have ever stayed. When we checked in, the man at the desk told us that two of the girls that were scheduled to leave did not since their flights were cancelled and that we would be put up in three separate rooms, even though we had asked to be together in a 10-bed mixed. The next day we checked again and a different guy said that it 'wouldn't be fair to move long term folks' for us. It was filthy, cluttered and housed lots of rude long termers.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your feedback.Unfortunately Cyclone Debbie caused many flights and farm jobs to be cancelled thus putting us in a position where people who were due to leave. simply couldn't thus causing a very rare situation where we couldn't get you all in the same room. You seemed understanding at the time even explaining that you had just left there yourself. We apologise for this, however your statement stating that this is the worst place you have ever stayed seems highly exaggerated.

1st Feb 2017
8.3

Barkley is a hostel that is more about the people than the facilities. Often, the facilities are cleaned to the barest of minimums. The kitchen is nice and spacious but come 6pm it will be packed and you'll be fighting for space. Evenings typically turn into some kind of party as you're allowed to drink both in the rooms and the main seating areas. It's typically a lot of long term people so it can be cliquey at first but if you're around for a few days it's easy to break in. Love my barkly fam!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jan 2017
9.4

I originally booked 2 nights here but a few weeks later I keep extending my stay. Love this hostel. Great atmosphere, really nice area to chill out in downstairs and meet other travellers and a big kitchen to cook in. Matt (the manager) is really great and will help you with anything. All in all, stay here! You won't regret it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • cmccrea2
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
10.0

Stayed at this hostel for around 3 months, no compliants at any stage. Friendly staff, good rooms and showers. Great fun at the hostel. Great spot as well close to shops, bars, trams etc. Reccomend to any backpacker from anywhere in the world!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.