Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barkly Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 63 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 63 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
9.4

I returned here recently, I stayed here a few years ago and it's good to see it's still at the same high standard, your in good hands with Matt and his team, easily the best hostel in Melbourne, great location to St Kilda beach and plenty of bars and restaurants,it's clean and relaxed with open access to common room and kitchen area, which helps maintain the great casual atmosphere of the place, and FREE WIFI. Wether your passing through Melbourne or staying to find work this is the place to be!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jun 2017
10.0

Really enjoyed my stay at this hostel, it's a small hostel which is good as you get to meet a lot of people. It has a relaxed, friendly atmosphere, no strict rules like other hostels. The location is good, it's in the heart of st kilda and the trams are easily accesible to Chapel streeet and CBD. Facilities are good has a TV in the lounge and computers in the common area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • asdfreddY
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
9.1

Best Hostel experience I ever had. Definitely recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
10.0

Stayed at this hostel for a few months. The hostel location is great, located around 5 minutes walk from St Kilda beach, Acland Street and the tram network. The hostel is cleaned daily and looks very clean and beds are very comfortable.In contrast to a number of other hostels, the kitchen and communal area is open 24 hours. Great staff always on hand to help. Made some lifelong friends here. If you plan on visiting Melbourne, I definitely recommend staying at Barkly Backpackers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
2.9

Barkly Backpackers is the absolute worst place I have ever stayed. When we checked in, the man at the desk told us that two of the girls that were scheduled to leave did not since their flights were cancelled and that we would be put up in three separate rooms, even though we had asked to be together in a 10-bed mixed. The next day we checked again and a different guy said that it 'wouldn't be fair to move long term folks' for us. It was filthy, cluttered and housed lots of rude long termers.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your feedback.Unfortunately Cyclone Debbie caused many flights and farm jobs to be cancelled thus putting us in a position where people who were due to leave. simply couldn't thus causing a very rare situation where we couldn't get you all in the same room. You seemed understanding at the time even explaining that you had just left there yourself. We apologise for this, however your statement stating that this is the worst place you have ever stayed seems highly exaggerated.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.