X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Barmy Badger Backpackers Reviews

17 Longridge Road, Earls Court, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
363 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

We stayed at the Barmy Badger on the last night of our holiday, and loved it. We arrived after reception had closed, but a note had been left, along with keys, passwords, sheets and info to get settled in. The location is brilliant, a short walk to the tube along a street with lots of restaurants. The hostel is also close to a tesco which was convenient. I think the best part about the hostel is the people who are there, everyone was super friendly and very inviting. Will definitely be back!


100%

Fantastic - great staff, facilities and location.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We were welcomed with open arms and had a great night stay in out private room. The balcony was a major plus and everyone was so friendly! Will definitely be visiting again!

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel. Clean, quiet, well located close to Kensington Gardens and Earl's Court tube station, with a couple of lines that take you to all the main places to visit. The staff is extremely nice and helpful, they provide all the info you need to enjoy your stay in London and make you feel at home. I'll recommend it to my friends and visit again next time I'm in London. Thanks for everything, Badgers!

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Old building made very comfortable and welcoming in a charmingly slightly shabby style. Staff are absolutely wonderful and helpful. Room rates are fantastic for central London. Earl's Court Tube is only minutes away. Rooms have ample space; lockers are enormous with safes. Bathrooms are small. Lounge is comfortable and welcoming. Basement kitchen is fantastic and encourages social interaction. This hostel is excellent as usual. Warning: many steep stairs.


74%

It is in a lovely location with pubs and restaurants nearby. The people were friendly and there are many that stay long term. Beds were hard, you have to make your own bed, so you can see the quality and cleanliness or lack thereof. Showers were tiny. It's a good stop for a night or two, especially given the prices in London.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Really enjoyed my stay here. Spent seven nights at Barmy Badger and they were great. Security is good-need a code to get in the door and the lockers in the room are huge and include a safe. The location is excellent, as well. Earls Court is a good spot in London and the Earls Court underground is just a few minutes walk away. The hostel is also located by some great restaurants! Would definitely recommend and would stay here again!


77%

Thanks for a great night

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good hostel. Only complaint was the pillow was a bit flat, luck of the draw I guess. Would stay there again.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are pleased that you found us a very good hostel and that you would stay again! Safe onward travels from all of us at the Badger.

97%

I loved staying here! It is such a nice environment- a lot of times hostels can feel very impersonal but coming back to the Barmy Badger at the end of a day of activities felt like coming to a home. Everyone who works there is supremely nice and helpful and just all-around lovely. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in London!

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are pleased that you loved your stay with us and found us like home! Safe onward travels from all of us at the Badger.

89%

Great location, close to Earl's Court, making it an easy way to get from Heathrow to the hostel. Earl's Court has lifts and ramps - great when dragging heavy suitcases. Clean facilities and friendly people. Good price. Will definitely use them again when going to London.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are pleased that you found our facilities clean, our guests friendly, a good price and that you will return! Safe onward travels from us all at the Badger.

86%

Lovely place, great proximity to Heathrow and walkable to some nice parks.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are pleased that you found us a lovely place and in a great location! Safe onward travels from all of us at the Badger.

100%

Hostel was extremely easy to find and lots of food places nearby. Greeted by a lovely welcome at the reception desk. I was staying at the hostel while working for a few days in London and will definitely use this hostel in the future. Very good value for money!!

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are pleased that you had a lovely welcome, you found us good value for money and you will return! Safe onward travels from all of us at the Badger.

77%

Good location. It's a standard old school hostel - kitchen, common room, dorms, privates. None of the modern facilities that define the great hostel chains: laundrettes, bars, restaurant, etcetera. It's reasonable value for money considering the city and the location within. But it is not a party hostel. Just a classic well staffed basic hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are pleased that you found us a classic, well staffed hostel! The Badger is the smallest hostel in London so not big enough for a bar, restaurant, et al (we do have a laundry though). We try to offer something different for guests who do not like the large, generic chain hostels and hope you enjoyed your stay. Horses for courses and all that! Safe onward travels from all of us at the Badger.

83%

A lovely hostel in a convenient location with the friendly cute dogs being an added bonus. Great wifi and peaceful garden My mattress was a little bit lumpy and possible ending the end of its life. Other girls in my dorm had a lovely night sleep though

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are pleased that you found us a lovely hostel, the WiFi great and the dogs friendly and cute! Safe onward travels from all of us at the Badger.

100%

Really enjoyed my stay. Intimate nature of the hostel was great for meeting new people. Like the communality of the kitchen, even if provisions were basic. Hostel was kept clean by a regular cleaning lady.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are pleased that you really enjoyed your stay and liked the community spirit here! Safe onward travels from all of us at the Badger.

94%

The kitchen is the best part of this hostel I liked the ensuites but if someone just wanted to use the toilet whilst one person was taking a shower that is the only drawback. Liz the manager and Spencer the night manager were very helpful if I needed something, which is actually priceless comparing to most hostels. My only suggestion would be that since July was extremely hot we really needed a fan in the bedroom to keep cool with 4 people trying to sleep at once.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are pleased that you liked the kitchen, the en-suites and the helpfulness of our staff! Safe onward travels from all of us at the Badger.

69%

Good points: Staff is very friendly, helpful and flexible, location is great, easy to get there Bad points: Cleanness is poor, moldy, broken appliances (window, toilet, door), smelly and dirty beddings

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful! Am slightly bemused by your bad points. I asked in the middle of your stay if the cleanliness, room etc was good and to let us know if there were any issues. You replied it was great and no issues. The toilet was out of order for one day whilst it was being fixed and the door was a little stiff from the fire door closer. Safe onward travels from the Badger Team.

91%

Really enjoyed my stay will be definitely staying there every time it have an event in London

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are pleased that you really enjoyed your stay at the Badger and we ook forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in London for an event! Safe onward travels from the Badger Team.

100%

An excellent staff, clean bathroom and rooms. Thanks a lot! I'll keep the address in the case I come back in London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are pleased that you found our staff excellent, our bathrooms and rooms clean amd you will stay with us again! Safe onward travels from the Badger Team.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(68 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback