X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Barmy Badger Backpackers Reviews

17 Longridge Road, Earls Court, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
629 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Liz and Kenneth are very warm and welcoming and most helpful with answering any questions. Facilities are great, including kitchen and TV room and breakfast is sufficient - just make sure you get in early! Rooms are pretty spacious and lockers available. Earl's Court is an awesome location, close to tube station and plenty of eating options in the area, plus a supermarket on the corner. Wifi is very strong. Just be wary that there is no elevator in this building but really no big deal :-)


89%

Great little hostel. I love how the rooms are not crowded and a good size. Friendly and helpful staff. Great security with safes to use.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are so pleased that you found us a great little hostel and liked the good sized dorms, the personal locker/safe combo and our staff friendly and helpful! Safe onward travels from all of us here. :)

80%

Arrived at hostel early, allowed to store backpacks in the office until check-in at no charge. Towels and hair dryer for hire. Bunk bed in private double room was solidly bolted to the wall; had reading light and outlet at bedside. WiFi was available in our room, decent signal. Free breakfast was good and filling. Floors were creaky and noticeable everywhere. Friendly staff. Somewhat noisy nearby street, close to the police station, constant sirens from ambulances.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are so pleased that you liked our solid beds, personal reading light/plugs, our good WiFi signal, our free breakfast to be good and plentiful and our friendly staff! Safe onward travels from all of us here :)

100%

Just love the Place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are so pleased that you love the Badger! Safe onward travels from all of us here :)

100%

GREAT hostel!!! I was here for 2 weeks initially when moving to London and it felt as if I was staying at a friends house. Great warm feeling. Everyone at the hostel is extremely nice. The owners are awesome and friendly and willing to help you with anything. Fully equipped kitchen, 2 power plugs on each bed with 2 usb plugs as well. The beds are great and sturdy so even you cant feel anyone above you moving around on the bunks above you. Not a party hostel but still place to meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are so pleased that you found us a great hostel with good facilities and felt like you were staying at a friend's house! Safe onward travels from all of us here. :)

97%

Due to the length of the stay I didn't really have the chance to use the common areas, but overall it was a pleasant stay. It can be a bit noisy at night because of other guests, but the location is great, the beds are quite comfortable and it is incredibly clean. The staff were really nice and I would definitely go back if I'm going to London again :)

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are so pleased that you liked our great location, our comfortable beds, our staff nice and found us incredibly clean! Safe onward travels from all of us here and look forward to welcoming you back if you return to London :)

100%

Marvellous place Free wifi Free breakfast Comfy beds Plug and usb post at head of every bed Great garden Laundry room Cute dog! What's not to love

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are so pleased that you found us a marvellous place and enjoyed the varied free facilities/amenities, the comfort of our beds and our great garden! Safe onward travels from all of us here and Tinka sends a paw wave :)

83%

Nice staff and hospitality

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are so pleased that you liked our nice staff and hospitality! Safe onward travels from all of us here :)

80%

Very nice stay and accommodating staff, convenient location in nice district with plenty of food and close to tube.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are so pleased that you had a very nice stay with us, found our staff accommodating and liked our convenient location! Safe onward travels from all of us here :)

100%

Thank you for the hospitality and friendliness. I'll stay with you again when I'm back in London and recommend you to my friends.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are so pleased that you liked our hospitality and friendliness and thank you for recommending us to you friends! Safe onward travels from all of us here and we look forward to welcoming you again when you return to London :)

100%

The people who are running the hostel are so nice. The room was great, and they make sure the garbage is emptied and everything is in tiptop shape. We've had a very lovely stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are so pleased that you found our staff nice, your room great and that you had a lovely stay with us! Safe onward travels from all of us here.

94%

The staff here are fantastic, very friendly and super welcoming. It would be good to be able to turn the radiator off in each room, having the heating on and the window open seems like a waste of electricity. Also, the pillows are truly awful. Overall this place is amazing, thanks :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are so pleased that you found us an amazing place plus our staff fantastic and super friendly! Our heating is set at the most efficient temperature so as not to waste energy - rest assured we try to be as green as possible! We are sorry you didn't like our memory foam pillows. Safe onward travels from all of us here :)

100%

That was my first time at a hostel. And it was a very pleasent one indeed.

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Badger to be the first hostel you have ever stayed in - we are so pleased that you had a very pleasant stay with us! Safe onward travels from all of us here.

100%

The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, giving us information and advise as well as making us feel very welcome. The room was clean and pleasant, with individual safes for valuables and the bathroom was clean and functional. The location was great, not far from the tube station and lots of pleasant pubs/restaurants. All in all I would say this hostel offers great value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are so pleased that you felt welcome here and that you got all the information and advice you needed, liked our cleanliness, the personal locker/safe combo, our great location and our great value for money! Safe onward travels from all of us here.

86%

Great hostel, nice staff, very helpful, nice location, 15 min walk from Hyde Park (Kensington Palace Gardens side). The only handicap is that the amount of bathrooms are low, so every morning the chances that you have to queue are high. Also, despite being a nice room, mine was on the top floor, 4 stairs from the reception, so you better won't forget anything because go and look again for it will test your legs! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are so pleased that you thought we were a great hostel, liked our very helpful staff and nice location! We have a ratio of 5 guests per bathroom which is quite low for hostels :) Safe onward travels from all of us here.

100%

We arrived tired as from NZ and we could not have booked a better hostel than this. Our private double was everything we needed and the staff were beyond helpful, bending over backwards to help at every stage. I cannot recommend this place enough, my 100% rating is no exaggeration!!! STAY AT THE BADGER!!

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, had everything you needed and found our staff to be beyond helpful! Thank you for recommending us. Safe onward travels from all of us here.

97%

Awesome helpful staff and clean room! Good area and very reasonable price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are so pleased that you found our staff awesome and helpful and that you liked our cleanliness, the area and our reasonable prices! Safe onward travels from all of us here.

100%

I stayed here for a week and it was the best decision of my trip so far. Staff was wonderful, especially Ken and Monica. Very easy to meet people in the kitchen area; wonderful location near Earl's Court Underground and central London; very secure with personal safes within the lockers, which were very spacious in the 4-person female dorm I stayed in. the showers are quite small but it does not detract from the experience. I will be staying here again when I return to London!

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are so pleased that you found staying here the best decision of your trip so far, found our staff wonderful (have passed on your kind comment to Ken and Monica), you liked our good location and our security - especially the personal locker/safe combo! Safe onward travels from all of us here and we look forward to welcoming you back!

100%

A great hostel-home in London! Love the location, staff are excellent and really friendly, the hostel is clean with a great big kitchen. I liked the addition of reading light and power outlet\USB charger for each bed. The lockers are big - you can fit most things and there's a personal safe in them. WIFI worked well while I was there and there's a back garden which will be great for barbecues once it heats up a bit. Being on the frozen side I love the central heating in this place. Recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are so pleased that you found us to be a great hostel-home, liked our cleanliness, friendly staff and all the personal extras like the locker/safe combo, reading light, usb chargers, plugs, etc! Safe onward travels from all of us here.

69%

The best thing about this hostel is the staff. Everything else was kind of average. Average breakfast, average room (and a little noisy), cold washing rooms, everything is self-service... We were expecting a little bit more for 40 euros per night. In all honesty, I don't think we'd recommend this place to our friends nor come again. I'm not saying it's a horrible place - just that we'd choose another place next time for sure. Two stars out of five (in hostel terms).

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger. We are so pleased that you liked our staff. We are sorry that you felt everything was average and that you were surprised by the self service element. Hostels differ from hotels because of this (to keep costs down). We provide free breakfast, tea/coffee, use of the kitchen, etc, but we only ask that guests wash their dishes after use. Safe onward travels from all of us here.

(82 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback