X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Barmy Badger Backpackers Reviews

17 Longridge Road, Earls Court, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
259 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

My pick of London hostels! Quite enjoyed my stay here, of the hostels I've stayed in (Clink, Generator & the Phoenix) it stands out as the best. First up there are wooden bunks, which are more stable and mean if the person above/below rolls around during the night you won't feel it. There is also a great kitchen with a massive communal table, which is great for meeting travellers and also saving money by being able to cook your own food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you found the Badger to be the best hostel in London out of all the ones you stayed at and that you had a good stay!

83%

I liked that each room had a safe per person and enough space for luggage. One thing was that there's very few restrooms in the building. We were never there (2 day trip) and never had a problem but just keep that in mind. Overall, it was very cozy and would definitely recommend it Try Nando's restaurant if you go. It is also very close to the subway.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for recommending the Badger! As an aside, we have restrooms on each floor from the basement to the top floor and 5 rooms have their own bathrooms as well!

100%

Excellent Hostel. Fair price, very kind staff, very clean and good location nearby underground.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review and that you had a good stay at the Badger!

71%

Staff were absolutely lovely

  • 17th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger!

100%

Loved everything about this place. The location is really close to the Earl's Court underground station, making it very convenient to explore other parts of London. Breakfast was provided, which is always a plus, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend staying here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Badger! We are pleased that you loved the Badger and for your recommendation!

94%

I had a really nice stay at the Hostel! The staff was really friendly, the hostel is really close to a tube station and to a supermarket, and the room was great. I would definitely recommend it to friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We are pleased you had a good stay at the Badger and we thank you in advance for recommending us to your friends!

89%

My first ever hostel stay and it was excellent! Friendly helpful staff. Marvelous old building. Great basement kitchen. Good atmosphere with other guests. Location good, a brief walk from Earl's Court tube station. Neighborhood is ok. Good pubs nearby. Close to downtown; easy travel. Room was crowded but comfortable. Bathroom a bit small. Everything clean. Fixtures and furnishings sturdy and comfortable. TV lounge was friendly. Stairs are tall and steep; be warned. This is a great place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and that we made your first ever stay at a hostel an enjoyable experience!

89%

We had a lovely stay, room was good, with a very nice view. The house had a nice feel to it and the included breakfast was good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and that you enjoyed your stay at the Badger!

83%

The double room that we booked was comfortable and clean. The staff is nice and the kitchen and breakfast were ok. It was easy to visit parks and museums from there (science museum, natural history museum) and there were plenty of shops and catering around the area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and that you had a good stay at the Badger!

83%

The most helpful staff I've come across at any hostel. Facilities and location are decent (Earl's Court). No real complaints about the place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and found everything was good, especially the staff's helpfulness!

91%

Good hostel, would recommend it. Nice staff. Room a bit small, but clean. There is a TV room, kitchen and even a garden, which is convenient if you wanna chill outside. Showers and toilets clean as well. Located close to Tube Station, but in a quiet side road with almost no traffic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

97%

Lovely hostel, i usually go there when i go to London.

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and we are always pleased to see you when you return!

74%

Everything is okay! But the room i stayed is a bit small, and there are no chairs for us to sit on. We even cant sit straight on the bed as the space between the upper bed and the lower bed is not large enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for scoring us highly on Cleanliness, Safety, Value, Location and Atmosphere! We made the decision to forgo tables and chairs in the dorms so that each person could have a large lockable cupboard with a personal laptop safe in it along with 3 communal areas with a lot of seating. We did provide you with a chair when you asked for one. Apart from that, we hope you enjoyed your stay with us and Tinka loved the attention you gave her!

100%

Very friendly and helpful staff. Cosy communal areas great for meeting fellow travellers, good kitchen facilities. No complaints :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review and that you enjoyed your stay at the Badger!

91%

We only stayed one night, simple rooms, but we had a comfy bed with a nice view. The staff were incredibly friendly, they helped us with directions and they let us keep our bags there after checkout which was really handy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

80%

Cosy Hostel with a good connection to the city with very friendly and helpfull staff. Our room was small but allright and the bathrooms were cleaner than average

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at the Badger!

69%

Convenient place, very close to the tube. The staff was friendly. The shower in my dorm was leaking and it could not be fixed up before the end of the week-end. I had to go downstairs for a shower. The kitchen was ok but not super clean. Last, it would have been fare better to have a small lamp per bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, the leak required quite a bit of fixing to get it sorted. We are currently looking into getting personal lights for each bed, but that will have to be done in the winter months as rooms will have to be closed off for the electrical wiring to be done.

71%

It is a very good hostel for London standards. However, it was a little dirty there. The rooms and showers are quite small. The location is good, close to an underground station, with direct connections to the most important sights, train stations and the airport.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for staying at the Badger. We always ask that if a guest has a problem with something, to please let Reception know so that we can sort it out or fix it as soon as possible, especially with cleanliness!

80%

Not enough bathrooms. Need an electrical socket in bathroom. Overall good

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! In England, it is illegal to have an electrical socket in the bathroom (shaving sockets are allowed).

100%

A great location for those traveling with Easy Bus. The pick up/ drop off point is only 5-10 minutes walk away. The staff were great, very friendly and helpful, the current residents are really nice too. The hostel is really close to anything you'd need shopping wise and not far from the tube. At the hostel they provide everything you'd need - sheets etc, laundry room, lounge and kitchen. Big thumbs up! Great hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review and that you had a great stay with us!

(141 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback