Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barnacles Temple Bar House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 6462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 6462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
8.0

Great location and awesome staff who were helpful. The kitchen and breakfast were fine - just toast/jams, pancakes, juice, coffee. The beds in the dorms were comfy and the location was great. The streets can get a little loud at night but I think that's all part of the experience of staying so close to Temple Bar! The only problem was the bathroom. There was one bathroom/shower in a room of 11 which wasnt the cleanest. There was also only one toilet and one shower for the floor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
9.7

Really nice hostel. My only complaint was not being able to stay another night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • joanneedwards9970
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Apr 2017
6.3

Check in time is 2:30pm and not a minute before, found he staff tinge extremely strict on this rule, tried to check in at 2:11pm and had to wait until 2:30pm exactly. 6 bed dorm more cramped than a usual hostel. Ensuite toilet didn't flush properly, makes for an awkward introduction to fellow roomies. Great location though right in the middle of temple bar if you don't mind the noise.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. The reason you couldn't check in until 2.30pm is the housekeeping team need this time to get the rooms cleaned , it's that simple really. If the rooms are clean and ready to go early we would have let you check in. Apologies over the toilet flush, it has now been fixed. We hope you enjoyed your time in Dublin and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Regards The Team @ Barnacles

8th Apr 2017
8.6

Really central location, nearest street can be noisy but I was still able to sleep relatively well. I think the atmosphere wasn't social at all which was pretty weird because the hostel tried to organize some events but people just weren't attending. So I would recommend this place if you are travelling with a friend or with group, if you are travelling solo I would look for some different place...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
10.0

I had a single room and it was like a b&b. So clean and so comfortable. The staff was beyond helpful, accommodating, and nice. I would recommend this to all of my friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
8.0

Really good location, good facilities, big kitchen. The shower was not good, to much water pressure, we got pain because that. The drain in the shower is not enough to flow the water.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Mar 2017
9.4

Would recommend! The staff is very nice, provided me with an extra pillow and gave me suggestions of where to eat and recommended a pub crawl. Location is great, right downtown! Very safe as well. Great hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mollygreenhood165
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Mar 2017
10.0

Perfect location right in the heart of Temple Bar! Friendly staff, clean rooms and spacious as well. If you're looking for a quiet place to stay, I don't recommend it here, as the nightlife is loud and goes late into the night. Wasn't an issue for me, but I see how it could be for others! Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
6.9

I originally booked a 4 bed female dorm but they put me in a mixed dorm anyhow. The room was small and believe me when I say there is no space to do anything useful. There's barely a spot to rest your toothbrush in the bathroom. On top of all this, I had a really unstable roommate that was passed out drunk all day and snored all night. From the phone calls she was making, she sounded like she was hiding from the law. Definitely didn't feel safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Mar 2017
8.9

Great location - walkable to most amenities and attractions. Gets a bit loud at night but the hostel supplies ear plugs. Overall good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.