Hostelworld.com

Barnacles Temple Bar House

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5,961 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5,961 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
Barnacles Temple Bar House Located at 19 Temple Lane, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin.
Barnacles Temple Bar House
Ireland
Dublin 19 Temple Lane, Temple Bar, Dublin 2
88% 5961
53.3451329 -6.2658762
Barnacles Temple Bar House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Jun 2016
8.0

This was a very nice hostel (beds were very comfortable!) But it is very loud all day and all night. So bring earplugs!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jun 2016
10.0

Best place ever. Friendly staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
9.4

Barnacles was the best hostel we stayed in on our trip through Ireland! The place was clean and secure. The location is super convenient to Temple Bar/Trinity College/Christ Church and there's lots of bus stops nearby. As many have warned, since it is in temple bar area, there is noise from outside until late in the evening; but we did not mind as we were often out during these times as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
10.0

Great location for getting everywhere fast. The staff were amazing and super helpful. You're right above Temple Bar so be warned the noise goes on for a while.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
8.6

Great location, right in the center of temple bar district! Staff is pretty friendly and helpful. This is a great hostel for solo travelers because it's easy to meet people. My only complaint is the bedrooms get super hot which is strange because the weather in Ireland is fairly cool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
9.1

Superb location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jomacsweeneyis3915
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
18th Jun 2016
8.9

Nice hostel, great location. Freindly staff. Weird cage type lockers under the bed that were very awkward to get to. If one was pulled out no one else could reach theirs. But at least they don't charge for them like other Irish hostels. Good bed, decent linen. No towels provided, not even in the toilets but this is par for the course. Would recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
9.4

Fantastic hostel with great location, complimentary breakfast, internet, helpful friendly staff. Top marks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jun 2016
6.3

The location reasonable but very expensive to park €24 for 24 hr and that's from travelogue car park which allowed you to take the car out from 3am The bed linen had pubic hair on sheets and room smelt musty , the staff cleaned the room and changed sheets straight away . The next day the staff left our bedroom door unlocked . Would not stay there again .

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, really sorry you had problems with your room but as you say we did try to fix them straight away. The car park is not associated with the hostel so the fee the charge is out of our control. Best Regards The Team@Barnacles

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
8.3

Great location as far as being in Temple Bar goes. Room was clean and my stuff was locked up and safe. Only negative was that it was incredibly noisey at night since you're two doors down from the bars.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Apologies about the street noise but it is out of our control. Please get in touch if you are returning to Dublin- we can allocate you a quieter room at the back of the building. Best Regards The Team@Barnacles

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.