Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barnacles Temple Bar House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 6405 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 6405 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
9.7

I had such a wonderful time! Beds were comfortable, facilities were very clean, and I met absolutely wonderful people. I especially appreciated having the option of a shuttle to the airport, as my flight was at 5:45am.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
4.6

The location is good and the people at reception were nice, but other than that, my experience at this hostel was not great. The rooms are very crowded and not very clean. Breakfast is only served until 9:30, and then they kick you out of the kitchen at 10. I couldn't even find the common room until my third day, because it's not centrally located and the reception never told me about it. It was hard to meet people at this hostel, and hard to feel comfortable in this environment.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Breakfast is served from 7am-9.30am , we do closed the kitchen at 10 am but just for 30 minutes so we can clean the area. The common room is on the second floor, based on your comments we will review our signage. We do work hard to keep the hostel clean , on this occasion we failed to meet your expectation and for this we apologise. We will use your comments to improve our service. Best Regards The Team@Barnacles

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Feb 2017
7.4

Great location and amazing staff! Little leak in our bathroom but wasn't that bad. Decent rooms!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Feb 2017
6.9

Best part was the central location and the friendly staff! The rooms were pretty clean, I was in an 11 person dorm and surprising the bathroom wasn't too bad and there was even a communal bathroom in case anyone was in a hurry! Only complaint is how the bathroom wasn't the best. It was decently clean but the flush didn't work properly all the time and someone broke the inside part of the door handle so you had to use the hook to close the door and then lock it. The kitchen was good to meet ppl.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
8.3

Brill location,great value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
8.9

The outlets in our room did not work. The shower had intense pressure and the drain did not work properly so you would have an overflowing shower if you did not shut it off for a bit. Other than that, the hostel is pretty great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
6.9

This hostel is fine for a quick weekend trip and is very inexpensive for travelers on a budget, but it could use some improvements. The rooms were a little tight and offered very little space for each person (I stayed in the 8 bed dorm). The location is very central and is easily located from all over the city, but it is right in the middle of the bar district which might be bothersome for people looking for quiet. The free breakfast every morning was great and much appreciated!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
9.7

Barnacles was great!! The location was amazing. Directly in the middle of everything. Perfect walking distance to City Hall for walking tours and also in the center of all the night life. It's on a really cute street too! Staff was helpful and friendly. They stored our luggage when we came too early to check in. Shower was good and rooms were clean. Very quiet place. I will stay here again when in Dublin!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jan 2017
9.4

This is such a perfect location! It's near everything ! Wifi didn't really connect for the 4th floor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jan 2017
10.0

Good value and location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.