X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Barnacles Temple Bar House Reviews

19 Temple Lane, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
4790 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Great location with helpful and friendly staff, although the private room was quite small

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Blown away by the service we received! Staff went above and beyond for us, I've been to a lot of hostels and can honestly say this is the best! Two doors away from The Temple Bar Pub, the location was perfect - right in the centre of temple bar and close to all other tourist attractions. Rooms were cleaned every day, they were always spotless and not too noisy at night considering the location. I would definitely stay here again (and most likely will) and would recommend it to anyone! 10/10


94%

The staff was extremely helpful. The two ladies working the nights were cheerful and quick to suggest things to do. Thanks everyone!

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

It was very quiet, considering the location. The staff were fantastic. I got into Dublin in the morning from a long haul flight, and they were able to get me settled in quickly so I could rest. Dining room and kitchen were great, as was the common room. Beds were comfy as well. Overall, I loved staying there.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Really good hostel to stay, mainly if want to go to pubs and clubs. Walking distance from everything.


83%

The space to open the under-the-bed lockers is not so good. But it is an amazing hostel anyway.

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Brilliant staff, specially the security guard Wednesday night (14/01/2015). Very helpful, awesome double bedroom. Great location and brilliant value for money!

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A grand hostel, staff were great, so helpful and funny. Very clean, free breakfast was lovely. It was really quite inside too, which was great. I would stay there again.


94%

Definitely a great location if you want to be in the center of the city with a lot going on...guests were nice, facility was clean. Its in a loud part of town, so not the best place if you want to go to bed early, but a great place if you're going out! Would recommend to anyone

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Not the most modern or updated hostel, but definitely in a great location. Staff was helpful and friendly as well, and made some good friends while spending time in the lounge. 4 out of 5 stars.


83%

Great location, really safe and friendly. Rooms are on the small side but clean and serviceable. Breakfast was light. Definitely worth the money on weekdays, a little expensive on the weekend.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostal it's great, the staff is pretty nice and everything it's pretty clean, it's a little bit loud at night but of course it is due the location in the best area.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Can't get a better location if you are looking to bar hop in the Temple Bar area and it is an all around great part of Dublin with lots of restaurants and bars nearby and close bus stops. We even walked to the Guinness Storehouse from here in about 15-20 minutes. We stayed in a private room and the bed was comfy and we had a balcony. Staff was very friendly and helpful.


91%

This the second time I have stayed at this hostel it's in a great location in temple bar and has friendly staff! Highly recommend it!!


100%

The location of this hostel could not get any better. It's right in the heart of temple bar and the staff at the hostel were great. Very friendly and welcoming and happy to answer any questions we had. Would definitely stay here again!

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Excellent location. Staff was helpful. Room was absolutely freezing. Bathrooms were disgusting. But, if you're just looking for easy drunk commute from bar to home this is the ideal place to stay.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Just the 1 night stop over here but it was fine for what we needed, cheap enough in a great location next to temple bar. Standard large hostel :)


49%

Very, very small room with just one bath. definitely dont support comfortable so much people per room.


91%

One of the best hostel I have ever been. The staff was excellent (thank Vinicius for the tips!). The location is perfect (in the middle of temple bar). The atmosphere was excellent; made a lot of friends there!


91%

One of the best hostels I have been to :)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(168 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback