Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barnacles Temple Bar House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 6630 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 6630 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2017
8.6

Great location and nice breakfast. Only downside was the double beds was too short for someone who's 6 foot

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2017
7.7

Pros: located right next to the Temple Bar, center of the city. Very secure. Large cages to store full sized suitcases. Free small breakfast (pancakes and cereal). Staff was nice. Cons: gets very loud at night; wifi hardly works in the rooms; can use a really good deep cleaning, especially bathrooms - it's a bit dingy; rooms can get very cramped and there's nowhere to really put your stuff; bathroom is only ensuite (minus one community toilet), one tools and one shower - privacy is difficult.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Sep 2017
10.0

I've stayed here twice now and the place is great! Staff are very nice and the room is very clean and secure. Checkin was after 3pm and we were allowed to put our bags into a secure closet until we returned later that night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
9.4

Good rooms, friendly staff, great location, good free breakfast. I would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Aug 2017
8.6

Really liked this place. 4 person dorm. Cozy. Clean. Comfy. Only complaint was being right next to the bars and needing the window to be open for cooker air and it being super loud. Other than that it was really nice. Staff was great too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2017
9.7

This place was my first hostel experience and it was worth every penny! You could not find a better location. We would have stayed another night here but it gets a little pricey on the weekends. Loved our six bedroom with our private bathroom/shower. Breakfast was also great. Thanks so much for a wonderful first experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2017
9.7

We had a great stay at Barnacles! We were a group of friends who came here on our first night in Ireland, arriving right off the plane at 6am. We couldn't check in that early, but staff allowed us to get breakfast in the kitchen and locked up our bags for us so that we didn't have to lug them around while we went out to explore the city. The staff was very friendly and the accommodation was just what we needed for our night!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lilyc98
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Aug 2017
9.1

This was my first hostel so I was quite nervous, but the staff were so lovey and helpful! The location was right in the middle of Temple Bar area so you can't really get closer to the good nightlife if you try! I was in a room in the basement and it was quite crammed and warm but still pleasant and comfortable. Would stay again definitely

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alanaflorence3418
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Aug 2017
8.9

Barnacles was an excellent hostel. When they say it's in the centre it really is in the centre of everything. Ha penny bridge, temple bar the shopping district, Trinity College and of course Dublin Castle. The only problem is the noise but of course if you want to be in the centre you have to put up with it. There was great storage and charging points at your bed which is great. Also staff are very friendly. Would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2017
8.9

Pretty good hostel. Good bedding (blankets, mattress, linens). Very clean and perfectly located right next to Temple Bar!!! Atmosphere could be improved with some activities, hope they'll keep working hard!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×