Hostelworld.com

Barnacles Temple Bar House

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 5,857 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 5,857 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
Barnacles Temple Bar House Located at 19 Temple Lane, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin.
Barnacles Temple Bar House
Ireland
Dublin 19 Temple Lane, Temple Bar, Dublin 2
89% 5857
53.3451329 -6.2658762
Barnacles Temple Bar House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
9.7

Great value for the money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
8.0

A friend and I accidentally booked a mixed dorm when we wanted all-female; staff was helpful and allowed us to upgrade to a private room for the first night we were supposed to stay, but the private rooms were full the second night so they refunded us and we found another place. Make sure to book the room you want because they are VERY busy and may not be able to accomodate changes. Private room was tiny and pricey but good enough, all the basics & free towels. Location 2nd to none!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
10.0

Amazing as always! Love this hostel. I have stayed here many times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
9.1

The staff were lovely and could not have been more helpful ☺️ our room was lovely the only fault we had was that the hot water didn't work in our shower!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. Apologies for the lack of hot water, we have fixed the problem now. We hope to see you again soon Best Regards The Team @ Barnacles

16th May 2016
9.1

For being right in the heart of temple bar, it was remarkably quiet at night. Great full twin size beds, bathroom in each room. The bathroom could have been cleaner but wasn't horrible. One of my favorite hostels so far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th May 2016
9.4

I only spent one night here but the staff was very nice and helpful. You get a locker under your bed and once you check out luggage storage is only 1 euro. Bathrooms were nice, clean and they obviously put a lot of effort into keeping the whole building as nice as possible. It's located in the heart of temple bar so it's a great place if you want to be able to go out, have fun and then be able to walk home. Overall, it's a great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, we will pass your compliments on to our staff who work really hard to keep our hostel clean We hope to see you again soon Best Regards The Team@Barnacles

16th May 2016
7.4

Your standard hostel - nothing too impressive. I felt the dorm room was very small. I was in a 6-person female dorm and between the bunks and people's luggage it was hard to move. Bathrooms are older and not super clean. Also may have been a fluke the night I was there but it was HOT in our room - like a sauna! If you're looking to party in the Temple Bar area then pass out this is your place. If you want more than that look somewhere else.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th May 2016
7.4

If you like to be in the bar scene that hostel is perfect. It s pretty central too. It s very noisy at night because of the pubs beside it. The room is also very small and hot. The shower did not have any hot water and it was plugged so after a few minutes the shower would be filled with water. A good thing I did not know before is that they have a shuttle from the airport to the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th May 2016
8.3

Great location if you like to party, staff were friendly, but this hostel didn't have as much of the friendly atmosphere I enjoyed at other hostels. Limited common room area and the common rooms were strangely quiet considering we were in the heart of Temple Bar. Only bad housekeeping was a clogged shower drain (had to shut off my shower and wait for it to drain so I wouldn't flood the bathroom).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th May 2016
9.4

Great location. It was right beside the main strip. The shower in our ensuit would get water all over the washroom so it was constsntly soaked and most of my showers we're cold.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.