Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barnacles Temple Bar House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 6,118 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 6,118 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
Barnacles Temple Bar House Located at 19 Temple Lane, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin.
Barnacles Temple Bar House
Ireland
Dublin 19 Temple Lane, Temple Bar, Dublin 2
88% 6118
53.3451329 -6.2658762
Barnacles Temple Bar House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Aug 2016
6.0

The set up of this hostel isn't good at all. The common room is on the 3rd floor and they lock it up at night. The kitchen is nice but old, the rooms are small, stuffy, dirty and old. The ensuite bathrooms are moldy, the shower is cold and the toilets don't flush. The metal security cages under the beds need to be oiled as they are very loud and squeaky. The place needs to be revamped due to it being an old unkempt building that smells like mold. Would not recommend it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
10.0

This was my first time staying at a hostel or being in Europe but the staff and my bunk mates made the experience much easier and enjoyable In the heart of everywhere you could possibly want to go whether site seeing, shopping, or amazing food Highly recommend staying here unless you are a light sleeper Central location means noise at all hours but still highly recommend for those who want to go out and enjoy their time while in Dublin

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Aug 2016
8.0

The hostel was totally fine. The vibe in the common room was just awful but I guess that depends on the people sitting there (watching tv..). I still think they put not a lot of efforts in creating a social atmosphere. As a solo traveller I was lucky to have a cool group of friends in my room. The room and the shower in the room were both really nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2016
9.4

Great hostel, my one problem is that the rooms are too small. An 8 person room should really be a 6 person room, it's just too crowded with those 2 extra beds in there. Great location, staff was very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Aug 2016
10.0

Everything was awesome. Showers were a little cold but we felt. Shane, Authur, Roxanne, & Helena were amazing. They were always available to help us out. Shane specifically gave us the top places to eat and hang out while we were in Dublin. This place is worth staying at.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
8.0

Stay was okay. Shower leaked everywhere. Small room and super hot. But great location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2016
7.1

Stayed here with two friends and it was OK. Good location, right by all the bars (yet quite touristy). Though, I'd have to say in terms of the hostel atmosphere, it's not great. No where near as good as most of the hostels I've stayed at before. The rooms were also tiny, particularly the en-suite. Also be careful with your bags when leaving them in the storage cupboard. Staff are very relaxed and barely check tags. We actually walked away with the wrong luggage, causing ALL sorts of problems.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
9.4

My first time staying in a hostel went extremely well! Friendly staff, clean and comfortable facilities, fun vibe overall. The shower in our room went from 0 to full throttle, so there was no way to subtly adjust pressure or gage temperature. With that being said, the water pressure was refreshing. Only other note is that the lockers under our beds were fairly noisy. If someone was on the bottom bunk, it was a struggle and a half to get the locker out, while the cage clanged against the frame

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
8.6

Barnacles is centrally located in Dublin's Temple Bar. Truth be told, I didn't spend too much time in the hostel but the staff were great and the facilities ok. There's not much of an atmosphere since everyone's exploring, but if you've got cool roommates, it's easy to make friends fast! Breakfast is basic but it gets the job done. The only thing that was really unfortunate was that there was no ventilation in our room so we had to keep the windows open and you could hear everything!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
10.0

This was my first time staying in a hostel and I couldn't have been more pleased. Clean and right in the center of Temple Bar. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I'd recommend staying here to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.