X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Barnacles Temple Bar House Reviews

19 Temple Lane, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
4848 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Very nice hostel, well located, friendly staff :)

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The only thing is the shower pressure is so high it hurts! I prefer high pressure to too low, but really if it's possible to tone it down a bit that'd be great. It was genuinely painful and I think I wasted a ton of water. Amazing location, really friendly and helpful staff, everything else was good and clean.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Barnacles is located in the best area any lover of food, music, and drinking can hope to have. Right outside Temple Bar, the hostel truly is in the heart of it all and never feels removed from the happy partying atmosphere of Dublin's City Centre.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

AWESOME! The staff were all very friendly. Breakfast was nice and it was very clean and in a great spot. I would definitely go back and highly recommend this place!

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

perfect location. STAY HERE

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Stay here for the location and a good place to crash at night. Facilities are a bit out-dated, especially the bathrooms. The staff wasn't unfriendly but they were not over-accommodating either. Easy access to great parts of Dublin.


100%

Very friendly and ideal location - we had a great time in Temple Bar on the pub crawl and got a nice restful sleep that night!


100%

Has such an amazing time and met so many great people on the pub crawl! The room was great and the bathroom was very clean. I can't wait to visit again!

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a great stay at Barnacles, excelent locaiton, near a lot of Dublin attractions (just walking), helpful staff. A lot of noise in the nights of people arriving late, but definitely staying again


74%

The location is great but breakfast is lacking - it was basically bread, butter and jam.

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I stayed in a 10 person room for 3 nights.. you'd expect the bathroom to get dirty but it and the room was cleaned every day! Can't beat the location, took advantage of a "stay 2 nights, get 3rd night free" promo, and everyone was so friendly! Favorite hostel in Dublin (and I've stayed at several!), would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat! Super friendly staff, helped with all questions.. lovely place to stay!


91%

+ Great location, friendly staff - Relatively small rooms (6 beds dorm)

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Short but sweet stay! Great hostel, fantastic location. Only downside was there was only one bathroom to a whole dorm of about 10 people which wasn't enough!!


100%

Great hostel. Location is perfect. Staff are super friendly and always ready to help you out. Facilities are great and having a bathroom in your room is an absolute plus! The only negative is the common room and kitchen are a bit out of the way and as a solo traveler it's s bit hard to meet people. But it's Dublin so just go out and drink some Guinness with the locals!!!! Would definitely stay again!


91%

Great staff. Great location for partying. Not the best location for sleeping - can be loud at all hours.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

A great place to crash for the night with many fun day trip options.. friendly staff and comfortable beds (although the dorms may not be very spacious). When I returned to Dublin, I elected not to return to Barnacles because I wanted a location outside of the nonstop noise of Temple Bar. If you're in Dublin to party ever night, look no further. If you just need a place to sleep, you won't go wrong here, but there are better options.


97%

Couldn't have been happier with this hostel! The staff was knowledgeable and approachable, the space was clean, modern, vibrant, and safe, and the location was perfect for a young person exploring Dublin. Definitely hope to return!


80%

Good hostel, fantastic location right next to Temple Bar. Clean rooms and beds, good wifi, nice staff, lockers in room, etc.


91%

First stay at a hostel and I was pleasantly surprised. Facilities are nice, staff are helpful, location amazing, lots of accommodations such as free breakfast and walking tours of the city. Some noise from the busy street but nothing unbearable. Over all a very comfortable stay.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Location is great, next to Temple Bar. Room is warm and cozy, not noisy at the night. Stuff not very friendly that the only issue, others were fine.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(161 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback