X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Barnacles Temple Bar House Reviews

19 Temple Lane, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
5641 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Best thing about this hostel is the location. Staff was friendly too. The atmosphere has a very corporate feel to it and not very personal. this is not a good hostel if you're traveling solo and want to meet people.


49%

Good service and location, however the showers were cold (even after we had spoken with reception). Would stay elsewhere next time


97%

The Hostel was great. The staff were so friendly and helpful in so many different ways. There was a different event every night, we enjoyed dinner ith everyone and then a group bar crawl with other hostels which was so much fun and we got to meet a lot of people. The location genuinely could not be any better. My only wish was that we didn't have to leave!

  • 8th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel I've ever stayed at, two thumbs WAY up!

  • 7th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I had a very nice stay at this hostel, the location is perfect, right in the middle of the city center. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast is included. Wi-fi is strong. Absolutely recommendable.

  • 7th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Luxembourg
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location, really friendly and helpful staff! The rooms are big and very clean, and the beds were actually comfortable.


91%

Didn't really stay here much other than to sleep. Good location and good staff.


91%

The atmosphere was very good, rooms clean

  • 3rd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Had a great stay at Barnacles, located around the corner from Dublin's Temple Bar this place is ideal for exploring the city and having a drink at night. With the Airlink (747) stopping at Dame Street, just around the corner, it is very easy to reach from the airport. Staff was very helpful and was willing to provide information about the city and its sights. Rooms are clean (cleaned daily) and quite spacious. The beds are good and towels were provided. Will definitely stay here again.

  • 2nd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Found this to be one of the strangest hostel stays we'd ever had. Upon arrival one of the 4 in our group didn't have photo ID with him and it felt like dealing with a government office rather than a hostel trying to sort it. The toilet in the 4 bed room was not in the best condition with a permanent stink coming from it. The main door's we're locked a few times and a "back in 5mins" sign put up when we we're left waiting closer to 20mins. After breakfast we had been locked out of our room...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for your review. We do require all customers to provide identification on arrival and this is also a legal requirement when providing accommodation. We are sorry if you guys were held up the front entrance however for security reasons we do lock the front door at night time.

100%

Loved my stay here! Second time staying here and it was great once again!

  • 31st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very friendly, clean and excellent value for money! Thank you for a great stay!

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location, comfortable enough, super friendly staff!!!

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We chose to stay here due to the central location and value for money and having never stayed in a hostel before was pleasantly surprised. Everything was clean and the facilities were just what we needed. The location was central to everything! The staff were lovely and helpful, they were happy to answer any questions we had about anything at all. The only negative was that it could be quite loud in the corridors during the early hours but it wasn't a huge problem.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent place, great staff working, great breakfast! better location impossible. beds are really comfortable, and shower was just great as well. i work in hostels in Southamerica sin 5 years so trust me! :)

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Perfectly located hostel with a nice atmosphere. Good facilities, in good state and clean.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Pretty standard hostel, nothing fancy but does the job if you're just looking for somewhere to crash at night. Has a big kitchen and a common room which we didn't really use but might offer a social side if that's what you were looking for. Staff were helpful and nice and perfect location if you want to be close to all that pubs, two doors down from the temple bar.


100%

The staff were friendly and helpful, the hostel was clean and tidy with a great atmosphere. Pricing and location was great, would definitely recommend it to others!

  • 26th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

THE BEST LOCATION In DUblin - you are in the Heart of Temple Bar -


97%

Great staff, great location.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(201 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback