X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Barnacles Temple Bar House Reviews

19 Temple Lane, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
4839 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Stay here for the location and a good place to crash at night. Facilities are a bit out-dated, especially the bathrooms. The staff wasn't unfriendly but they were not over-accommodating either. Easy access to great parts of Dublin.


100%

Very friendly and ideal location - we had a great time in Temple Bar on the pub crawl and got a nice restful sleep that night!


100%

Has such an amazing time and met so many great people on the pub crawl! The room was great and the bathroom was very clean. I can't wait to visit again!

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The location is great but breakfast is lacking - it was basically bread, butter and jam.

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I stayed in a 10 person room for 3 nights.. you'd expect the bathroom to get dirty but it and the room was cleaned every day! Can't beat the location, took advantage of a "stay 2 nights, get 3rd night free" promo, and everyone was so friendly! Favorite hostel in Dublin (and I've stayed at several!), would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat! Super friendly staff, helped with all questions.. lovely place to stay!


91%

+ Great location, friendly staff - Relatively small rooms (6 beds dorm)

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Short but sweet stay! Great hostel, fantastic location. Only downside was there was only one bathroom to a whole dorm of about 10 people which wasn't enough!!


91%

Great staff. Great location for partying. Not the best location for sleeping - can be loud at all hours.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Couldn't have been happier with this hostel! The staff was knowledgeable and approachable, the space was clean, modern, vibrant, and safe, and the location was perfect for a young person exploring Dublin. Definitely hope to return!


80%

Good hostel, fantastic location right next to Temple Bar. Clean rooms and beds, good wifi, nice staff, lockers in room, etc.


91%

First stay at a hostel and I was pleasantly surprised. Facilities are nice, staff are helpful, location amazing, lots of accommodations such as free breakfast and walking tours of the city. Some noise from the busy street but nothing unbearable. Over all a very comfortable stay.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Location is great, next to Temple Bar. Room is warm and cozy, not noisy at the night. Stuff not very friendly that the only issue, others were fine.


91%

Great location, great staff, and decent facilities. Yes, the place is loud... But that's to be expected due to the location. Between the street noise, drunken guest wandering in at all hours of the night, and inconsiderate individuals hooking up in the top bunk (and apparently unable to master the concept of a whisper, haha), it was pretty difficult to sleep. I suppose that would not be an issue if I had been drunk. That being said, if you want to get drunk and party, stay here. Otherwise don't.


91%

Very enjoyable stay!

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Barnacles is a beautiful hostel in a great location. It would be well suited to people who want to go out in Temple Bar; however, it can be a bit noisy with people yelling in the street below at night. I wish I'd brought a pair of ear plugs. However, security was really good and there was so much going on around the hostel to keep guests entertained.


100%

Definitely BEST place to stay in Dublin!! Vary happy with the place :)

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice hostel, well located, great shower, big lockers, plugs beside bed.


100%

Best hostel I've ever stayed in! Loved it!

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Great location!! Was a bit hard as a solo traveler to meet people as the layout is a bit odd with the common room in a closed room upstairs and hidden away a bit. But overall a really good hostel


86%

Good hostel. friendly atmosphere. Great location. stayed in a private room.. Fairly decent. Would stay here again!!!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(156 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback