X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Barnacles Temple Bar House Reviews

19 Temple Lane, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
4189 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Very central, good if you are planning to explore the Temple Bar district. Good hostel, nothing special (neither very good nor very bad). The low water pressure in the shower made it almost impossible to have a shower. Maybe this is only true for the third floor.

  • 1st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

They did not get my booking. Luckily I had a confirmation. We had to change our room every day, but they gave us a great discount and extended checkout time every day..

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

This hostel is in a great location but the facilities were horrible. The place needs to be renovated because everything is old and falling apart. The free internet was crazy slow, the staff weren't much help until we asked about getting a refund, and the toilets never flushed on the first try.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Sorry we made you unhappy from start as we couldn't let you go to your room earlier due to a large number of check outs as it was New Year’s Eve. Your room was renovated last February and it is nice and cozy. Our staff were trying their best but it simply wasn't enough. Please, receive our apologies. Our toilets are good old Irish things and we are proud of having them as a part of our history. We wish you All best. Kind Regards, Manager

91%

Great location in the middle of Temple Bar. Helpful and friendly staff available 24/7. As a solo traveller, it was a bit hard to talk with others staying in the hostel since most of them were travelling in groups. Bed was a bit squeaky and breakfast was just toast, but other than that I enjoyed my stay.


86%

The location is amazing. If you go there to sleep at all, stay clear. You are right next to Temple bar and it is insanely loud until 330 am. If you come to party choose this place, great party hostel. Unfortunately I wasn't there to just party so no sleep was rough. Area of improvement: Wifi. It was not up to par to other hostels I've stayed at.


80%

good location

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostels are great, the staff very helpful and accommodating. I would stay here again and definitely recommend both the Galway and Dublin hostels.

  • 22nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The very central location of the hostel makes it perfect! Right next to the famous Temple Bar! The staff was really nice and helpfull. Rooms were good. Pubcrawl was great!


89%

Only stayed one night but wish I could have stayed longer! Nightly pub crawl was an A+ for facilitating guest interaction and meeting fellow travellers. Facilities were clean, staff was nice, and the location was perfect for exploring Dublin.


77%

the rooms were really small but they were nice, staff was really friendly!


97%

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the hostel is very clean. Also perfect for girls travelling alone like me. Rooms (I was in a 4 bed room) are quite small, but for 2-3 nights it was not a problem .

  • 9th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

brilliant location, very friendly and helpful staff both before and during our stay. highly recommended.

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Perfect location for girls/lads weekend!

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything about my stay was good except the wifi didn't work in our rooms which meant having to go to the dining area or freezing cold common room to use the wifi. Staff were very friendly too!


89%

Checked in by a gorgeous American girl, offered us late check out which was amazingly appreciated! Great mood while checking in!!

  • 3rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Good spot in Dublin. I'm not a big fan of the city but its in a nice location close to many pubs and great places to be.


57%

During the time of our stay the supply of hot water was not working properly which resulted in a lot VERY cold showers...

  • 1st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

I can not understand how this won Hostel of the year for Ireland, it was the WORST hostel i stayed in ever. room only had 3 lockers for 4 beds. We had no hot water for 2 days, which sucks in winter. The shower head pointed over shower bottom so when u opened shower door to turn on water went out door and onto bathroom floor. Bathroom flooded 2 out 4 days there. Breakfast was poor, only toast, juice, tea coffee, cereal is not hard to offer. Staff was nice but terrible rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for choosing us. You should have told us about the water as we can boost the boilers which will give you plenty of water with-in 10 minutes. You stayed with us for five days in total so couldn't have been all bad. You even left and came back again after 5 a 5 day tour. Strange indeed. Breakfast is free, but you can have as much as you like, and your 4 bed room has an ensuite. Try us again some time, but let us know of any issues and we will fix them.

89%

Perfect location if You look for a place in the city center nearby the pubs in the tempel bar. Just 10 meters walking. Hostel is not quait because of the location. Whe just sleep in the hostel, breakfast is verry early If whe go visit Dublin again for another concert whe will stay here again.


77%

+ Location + Location + Cheap night stay with breakfast included + Staff was very helpful - Very noisy at nights specially if you are near kitchen - Very small room for 4 - Heating was bad, didnt work, I was offered a small heater - Separate hot/cold taps in wash basin/sink :) + If you wanted hot shower, only speed worked was max giving you a good body massage :D


(88 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback