X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Barnacles Temple Bar House Reviews

19 Temple Lane, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
4459 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

If you're into the Temple Bar party scene and don't mind the noise this is the place for you! Perfect for young backpackers! The staff is friendly and awesome!

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

This was first stay at a hostel and based on the other eight places we've stayed in dublin and around Ireland this was our worse experience. We had a private room with our own bathroom. The shower pressure was overbearing, the shower itself leaked immensely on the floor and worst of all the room stunk badly of mold. If it weren't for the windows it would have been unbearable.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The best location you can get and the staff is so helpfull and friendly This was my fav and best hostal i stayed so fay, i would totally recomend it!


100%

Would love a bit more than just toast for breakfast. but the real coffee was a treat!


71%

It's very noisy, too noisy to sleep


100%

Had a great time at Barnacles, less than a 2 minute walk from the lively atmosphere of Temple Bar and in the perfect location to get to other landmarks. Would definitely stay again.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff is very nice and helpful , there was literally nothing to wory about although in the heart of Dublin. We enjoyed the atmosphere in the common room, being just a few meters away from the center : for a short stay in town: that's excellent... it also gives some drawbacks : the nights are noisy , and the very mining wake-up by the city cleaning activities are hard to get over (for those who have light sleep...)


74%

Lockers were nice to have under the bed. Easy to keep things out without having to dig through your backpack. The shower pressure was ridiculous. It was like stepping in front of a fire hydrant every time you wanted to take a shower and then the ground of the bathroom would be covered in water from everyone. Staff was very friendly and helpful, pub crawl was a blast and worth the money, location excellent. Free pasta on Monday nights was a bonus. Secure with key cards for entry into rooms.


80%

We booked a double room for a Monday. The bed


80%

Great location but LOUD as next to The Temple Bar.


97%

this is the second time that we have stayed in Barnacles while competing in the Belfast - Dublin Maracycle We ware able to store our bikes securely overnight and the kitchen was made available to us from 6.00 on the sunday morning due to our early departure. A great location and a well run establishment. i would not hesitate to recommend this hostel and will certainly book again.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Overall, a very comfortable stay here. The atmosphere was awesome, being in the heart of Temple Bar, but was also quite rowdy at night. Bring earplugs if you want to get some sleep.


89%

Great location, staff is helpful, common areas are great for meeting people.


100%

Good times, very centrally located. Will definitely be back.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Really enjoyed my stay at Barnacles. The location was really good and easily accessible. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the showers were great and the pub crawl was so much fun. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would definitely recommend to my friends!


100%

Great hostel ,very kind staff, nice rooms, great kitchen and common room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muchas Gracias Nuno.... Happy Travels, the Crew

100%

For the price it was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We went on the bar crawl organised by the hostel which was great fun and helped us meet a lot of new people. Our room was beside the main street which was a bit noisy but not a major problem. The location was perfect.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheer for the great review Danny. Next time we will bring you on the Crawl... On us, Just get in touch with Shane...

91%

This is a great, inexpensive place to stay. It's nothing fancy and can be a bit noisy at times, but you can't beat the location. If you're travelling with a group like I was (3 girls), it's worth renting the extra bed in a four bed room so that you have a private room.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel. Very convenient for Dublin and very enjoyable. Rock on Barnacles:)

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Rock on Ryan??

97%

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Most difficult issue was noise from outside hostel late until the wee hours of the morning both band & loud people. Ear plugs should be brought.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It can get a little noisey, smack bang in the middle of it all. Free Ear Plugs at reception for one and all >! The Crew

(169 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback