X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Barnacles Temple Bar House Reviews

19 Temple Lane, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
4527 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Excellent staff in a prime location, will definitely return.


86%

great location in the middle of temple bar. hostel tries to pack in as much as possible, including one bathroom only for a room of 12 (and only one shared bathroom for the entire hostel of 200ish) which meant wait times were big. its quite a small hostel and has a lot of people, so even the common areas are crowded. but, you are paying for location, and that is what you get.


91%

Otherwise I was very happy with my stay, but the wifi and public computers did not work which made it harder to make travel plans.


91%

The location of this hostel was perfect, right near Temple Bar and a short walk to Trinity College and other major attractions. The staff were very knowledgeable and friendly as well. As some other reviews mentioned that showers are bit difficult to use, but for the price and location this is a very small discomfort. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone!


97%

Good hostel with a very central location. Staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were large and comfortable.


80%

Wasn't wowed, particularly considering how well this place is rated. Awesome location (but most of the Dublin hostels are in the same area) for partying and reasonably priced. The bed allocation system is rubbish and leads to continuous middle-of-the-night mix ups, confused staff and upset travellers. The dorms are cramped (and thusly stinky), but clean. People only seem to hang out in the common room to watch movies, so it's not the best place to meet others and the best events (walking tour an


91%

Great location right in temple bar!! Simple breakfast, clean rooms and kitchen, good wifi, nothing to complain about.


100%

No negative comment about the hostel! Really great place to stay, great location, staff very friendly and good price!


91%

Be mindful that 3 days before you stay at the hostel that they will pre-check your credit card. My card was stolen so the initial card I used I no longer had. Due to this, my first nights reservation was cancelled, but they held beds in another room for us just in case. We decided to stay somewhere else the first night, but still went to Barnacles. They were very nice and apologetic for the situation. Also, since it is right outside Temple Bar, be ready to hear the people at the bar at night.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Christine, Thanks for staying and understanding, we do our best to help and accommodate all guests. Best of luck on your future travels. Thanks, Shane

83%

Location was great, but with warm weather expect to have windows open, and with that noise from the streets of Temple Bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Lauren, We really are not prepared for the warm weather. Now it has blown over we are back to normal again, with overcast skys and a nice 17oC. ear plugs at reception for all who may need them, All the best, The Crew

71%

I thought this place was overrated. it was good in location but so are tons of hostels in dublin. Common area was small and not great just a few people drinking and on computers. Not worth the money


60%

I booked weeks before my arrival and expected a shower inside my room. After receiving a room in the musty stenched basement I realized the shower was broken and the staff didn't care too much. In fact, they weren't surprised about the broken shower which makes me think they had known for a while about it. I had to use a shower located one floor above me which was a shared bathroom on that floor after paying full price for my accommodation. Also they double charged my card. Lots of people though

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We did indeed had a problem with the shower. The part was broken from the weekend before and as it is specific for a disabled shower room we had to wait for the part to come in. We did inform people about this on check in. The 'basement' is actually ground floor, so not sure about the musty smell. You paid cash for the first reservation and credit card for the 2nd night. The double charge is a Pre Auth to guarantee the first night as is common in Ireland and per terms and condt's.

91%

The staff, the location and the kitchen would be my key selling points for this hostel. I enjoyed my stay here.


91%

I loved it. It was a bit of all hallways and nothing much and the bathrooms are joined into the rooms which is kind of annoying but everyone who worked there was very nice and it was in a perfect location. I loved the area and my stay there! Thanks barnacles!

Owner Comment (Hide)
No Problem Guys, Come back again soon... The Crew

77%

We were a little bit surprised that there was so many "children" (about 30 14-year-old teens). So guess that at the time of our stay a school/summer class must had been there. We hoped that we'll meet some nice people but unfortunately the common room and kitchen were always empty or full of teens. However, the hostel was clean, the staff was nice and the location was more than perfect for a weekend stay!!!!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location, lots to do in Temple Bar and within easy walking distance to most sights in Dublin. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm, ensuite was great. This was my second stay at Barnacles and this room and bathroom was much nicer. Overall a great place to stay


83%

I came in Dublin to visit and I like the hostel because it's easier to meet nice people and visit with them if they want! Then, in the hostel it was good because the rooms have good beds and it's possible to put your clothes on the consigne except when you have got a big bagage like me !! I think if I could I come back one day here!

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Aurore, Glad everything was peachey. All the best on your travels, The Crew

80%

Really nice stay at the Barnacles. Very well located, great things organized every day, the staff was helpfull and the room was clean. A perfect place for backpackers or people who whant to meet others from all around the world.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Ann Christin, Delighted you had fun. Will do better to make sure you have more fun the next time, All the best, The Crew

97%

Great hostel, definitely recommend staying here. Staff where friendly and accommodating, good place to meet fellow travellers.


83%

The shower was so higher pressure when you wanted the water to be warm that it hurt your skin to be under it.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Christie, It seams this has been an issue for a few people. We are looking into it with the hope of finding a solution for this. Cheers for staying with us. All the best, The Crew

(182 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback