X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Barnacles Temple Bar House Reviews

19 Temple Lane, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
5627 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Very good Hostel: clean, good position and very helpful staff! Reccomended!

  • 4th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

It's in the middle of the Temple Bar Area, so don't expect to get too much sleep if you don't sleep in on the mornings. Great hostel, pretty clean, easy to find, proper internet (though Wi-Fi doesn't always work in the rooms). Lockers under the bed are useful to store valuables (bring a padlock!).


83%

The hostel was in a great location, and it was easy to walk everywhere. A bit noisy some mornings when they're delivering to the bars.


80%

It was a little difficult to find, even with the hostel provided directions, since they did not specify which direction to walk once you are at the bus stop. Unfortunately I chose the wrong direction, but got lucky with a Bus employee who helped me find it! Shower was hot and great water pressure! Bed was extremely firm but better that than too soft. Pillow was extremely flat. I did enjoy having my personal plug outlet though! Windows do let in a lot of noise even when shut.

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location! Bathrooms could be updated, but it isn't a deal-breaker!


86%

Great hostel ! The staff is very friendly, always there to help !! The location is perfect ! We booked late so the prices were up... 120 euros for 2 in a small room ! Except that, we were very happy to stay there !! Thank you !!

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very good located. Rooms are small but clean.


74%

It is a nice Hostel. Is next to The Temple Bar. Just to say that is a little noisy in the night but is the price to paid if you want to be close to the bar.

  • 26th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location, right in the heart in Temple Bar which is central to almost all of the other sights around Dublin. Staff was great, we stayed on pasta night and one of the staff cooked us all really great pasta. The bathroom in the room was very clean, it was just hard sharing it with 5 other people when trying to get ready in the morning. The room was also a bit cramped so if anyone had their locker open, you could not get to your bed. Overall, great place to stay in wonderful Ireland.


94%

Really enjoyed staying here in the heart of Dublin. The hostel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I'm allergic to feathers and they took no time in finding me another pillow (trivial to some ppl but made the world of difference for me). They were knowledgeable about the area and helpful for day tours and any information you needed. The hostel was clean and had good wifi although a little slow. The location is perfect as there is tons to do in the area & it's close to airport bus.

  • 25th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Perfect location, great staff, would stay again. Only downside was wifi wasn't great in the room I was in.


100%

Really nice Hostel, however I would have love if they could have some organised activities


66%

It's quite impossible to have a quiet night in the hostel, because of the location of the place ; it's located next to The Temple Bar, a famous bar in Dublin, where people go out at the middle of the night, singing and laughing loudly, that you cannot not hear them. So if you want to sleep for one night (or if you're sick as I was), bring earplugs. Moreover, each dorm has its own bathroom, but there are (only) one common toilet and one common shower that everyone can use.

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The room was clean, just a bit old and the bathroom had no ventilation. The location was GREAT but I'd wished there was a better atmosphere with better group events, or a place to meet others... I booked a co-ed room and was in a room with 3 men that were older than 40. I'd hoped to be placed with at least 1 other female in the room, so that made me pretty uncomfortable.


100%

Awesome place, I had great time

  • 20th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Hostel was clean and beds are comfy. They have a large kitchen and there is a Spar/Tesco close by if you want to prepare your own food. Staff are friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend the pub crawl! The rooms are somewhat on the small side and my room faced the street Temple Bar is on, so it was loud at night, but I knew this before booking. I am a light sleeper and I was still able to sleep through any outside noise. I would stay here again if I was in the area.


80%

Great location, staff was nice enough. Won't talk to you unless you start the convo. Carpets are gross so bring slippers or flip flops! Atmosphere was pretty weak.


97%

Great location, great value for the money, excellent staff!

  • 19th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Location is just brilliant, right next door to Temple Bar and the whole of the Temple Bar area, where you want to be (loads of pubs with live music all times of the day). Very small private room, bunk bed with bathroom, but guess that's the deal with such a good location. Would stay here again if ever in Dublin!


100%

Barnacles is one of the finest hostels you can find in Dublin.Its right in the center of everything and you really cant ask for a better location.The facilities are modern and new and the rooms are clean and spacious enough.They have a large kitchen with all the appropriate equipment for cooking and suprisingly its great place to meet new people.The common is area is also nice for hanging out.They also organize different events like movie nights,pub crawls which make things more interesting.


(196 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback