X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Barnacles Temple Bar House Reviews

19 Temple Lane, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
5124 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Negative points: The room was a little bit dark and wet. Positive: the best location, great atmosphere and staff! Great hostel!! I recommend


97%

Very kind and helpful staff. The entire place was clean, warm, and well-lit. I felt very safe and comfortable during my first-ever stay in a hostel. They made a wonderful first impression!

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

DON'T BOOK 8-PERSON MIXED!!! We made the mistake of booking an 8-person mixed room. I say mistake because these rooms are in the basement and have very poor air circulation. They are stuffy (especially if anyone decides to use the shower) and smell moldy - you could even see mold on the windows. We tried to switch rooms but the hostel was booked (great location). When one of us fell sick, the staff (which was great) finally upgraded us to 2 person private (all that was left) which was nice.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The location was perfect: central to lots of food and sightseeing. The bedrooms were also very nice, the comfiest beds I slept in on this trip (keeping in mind its still a hostel). The "breakfast" was moderate: toast, cereal and really bad coffee, but the kitchen and common rooms were very nice. The staff was SUPER helpful with directions and suggestions. Also the prices were great. However, friend and I came back at 2 am and had to bang on the door for ten minutes before someone came to open it


100%

Very nice hostel, well located, friendly staff :)


94%

Very good location and the staff is really helpful!

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The only thing is the shower pressure is so high it hurts! I prefer high pressure to too low, but really if it's possible to tone it down a bit that'd be great. It was genuinely painful and I think I wasted a ton of water. Amazing location, really friendly and helpful staff, everything else was good and clean.


100%

Barnacles is located in the best area any lover of food, music, and drinking can hope to have. Right outside Temple Bar, the hostel truly is in the heart of it all and never feels removed from the happy partying atmosphere of Dublin's City Centre.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The location is really good. Staff are helpful.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

AWESOME! The staff were all very friendly. Breakfast was nice and it was very clean and in a great spot. I would definitely go back and highly recommend this place!

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

perfect location. STAY HERE

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Stay here for the location and a good place to crash at night. Facilities are a bit out-dated, especially the bathrooms. The staff wasn't unfriendly but they were not over-accommodating either. Easy access to great parts of Dublin.


80%

Very nice hostel.... Located in a very nice area, close to templa bar and really well served with all the facilities. Most of the staff is really helpfull and friendly. Rooms are quite small and the lockers are iron cages under the bunk beds, so it's not easy to use specially when people are sleeping. That was a bad thing. The hostel provides leisure activity so guests can interact and you can book tours right from the front desk.... Great hostel


100%

Very friendly and ideal location - we had a great time in Temple Bar on the pub crawl and got a nice restful sleep that night!


100%

Has such an amazing time and met so many great people on the pub crawl! The room was great and the bathroom was very clean. I can't wait to visit again!

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a great stay at Barnacles, excelent locaiton, near a lot of Dublin attractions (just walking), helpful staff. A lot of noise in the nights of people arriving late, but definitely staying again


74%

The location is great but breakfast is lacking - it was basically bread, butter and jam.

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I stayed in a 10 person room for 3 nights.. you'd expect the bathroom to get dirty but it and the room was cleaned every day! Can't beat the location, took advantage of a "stay 2 nights, get 3rd night free" promo, and everyone was so friendly! Favorite hostel in Dublin (and I've stayed at several!), would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat! Super friendly staff, helped with all questions.. lovely place to stay!


91%

+ Great location, friendly staff - Relatively small rooms (6 beds dorm)

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Short but sweet stay! Great hostel, fantastic location. Only downside was there was only one bathroom to a whole dorm of about 10 people which wasn't enough!!


(174 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback