X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Barocco Hostel Reviews

L�nyai street 9, 1st floor 1, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
332 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

A place to rest your head and for a reasonable price but nothing special. A broken toilet seat that no one seems bothered about and a receptionist that feels it OK to smoke in the small bathroom. Wont be returning

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Hallam! We are terrible sorry but durint that period when you were here we had a "big" guy who broke the toilet all the time. No one can smoke in the small bathroom because the hostel is a non smoking area and the receptionist do not smoke.

71%

The hostel has a decent location; it is only a 5-10 minutes walk away from the Kalvin Ter station. The host was friendly and approachable. Lockers are provided for guests to put their valuables. Unfortunately, my friend and I were bitten by possibly bed bugs for 2 consecutive nights, so we really doubt the cleanliness of the beds. At my time of visit, the door to one of the showers was spoilt, and being a mixed accommodation, it was pretty inconvenient.


94%

Perfect location, very convenient to get around. Comfortable room. Toilets are not sufficient.


83%

Beds are uncomfortable and the hostel lacks atmosphere but all in all it's clean, in a central location, good kitchen facilites and the staff were friendly and helpful.


37%

No keyes to rooms. Staff could barely find a key to locker that works. Staff were not very helpfull, computer was more important then guests. One of the worst i have stayed at.


97%

Wonderful stay, really easy to get to and close to the city centre. Great staff and atmosphere.


97%

Very friendly staff


40%

The entrance is very weird and the hostel is poorly signed. We got there in the morning, unfortunately the staff confused our reservation and we didn’t get a bed for the night. If rated the hostel so low because of that (I think it is unacceptable).


69%

Quite a good hostel. However, the shower and the toilet (especially the floor) were not that clean. Location is ok (close to tram and metro) but not that close to the city centre. Staff was bot always that helpfull with answering questions etc. But overall it was good enough for a good stay.


100%

This is an excellent Hostel in a super good location next to Kalvin Ter and Astoria cloze to everything.with a eally good and friendly Staff.


74%

+ : The hostel felt very domestic and the sanitary rooms were really clean. - : The air-condition was constantly shut off after a few working hours by the staff.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Barocco Hostel was an extremely social and fun place to stay. It had a great location, a functional kitchen, and access to all of the important parts of Budapest. There was always a group gathered at night which made it easy to meet lots of people. Overall, one of the most fun hostels I've stayed in with the best value for the money.


100%

I've been backpacking for 3 months and is nice to get to a hostel where everyone is really friendly and they are not just super helpfull and friendly but also very good loocking :)


80%

Lovely clean hostel. Close to everything. Only worry was lack of security. Flimsy lockers and no locks to the rooms, only a code to the entire building. Other than that it was great!

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good location, near to the one's most famous termal baths Gellert! The room is not bad at all, but with some dust inside. Friendly staf, worth the prize, but don't expect too much!


86%

Nice, clean and well-located hostel. Very friendly and welcoming English speaking staff who provides you with a map and plenty of tips on what to see in the city and where to eat/drink. I definitely recommend this place.


86%

Really great value for money. Right near the Market Hall which was handy for getting cheap eats. Well connected to transit and had some character because it was in a heritage building. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone and If I go back to Budapest I would definitely stay here again.


100%

Loved the hostel. It was clean and a walk from the centre and metro ride to anywhere else.


89%

really enjoyed staying at the hostel. The hostel is small and very cozy. Hostel regularly clean, very friendly and welcoming staff.If you come to Budapest, be sure to stay at this hostel


80%

very nice place on a good spot. friendly and english speaking staff


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback