Hostelworld.com

Barra Beach Club Oceanfront Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.1

Not sure where to begin - I originally booked for two nights and ended up staying for nine. Dorms great, all secure with lockers, and each bed has its own light and plug socket. Staff so friendly and helpful, always making sure you're having a great time! Easy to meet other travellers and the parties you go to are insane. The food provided by the hostel is delicious (and comes with a free caipirinha!) My favourite hostel in South America, can't rave about this place enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Feb 2017
7.1

I don't understand how it won best hostel in South America. Pros-location close to beach, friendly staff, free surf boards, great bar and socialising Cons- dirty, no air conditioning, dirty kitchen and just old

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! I felt I needed to respond as your comment is a bit rude, and not just to myself but to the hundreds of former guests that stayed with us, sent in their reviews, and gave us the honor of being #1<https://hwhelp.hostelworldgroup.com/hc/requests/1> in SA. Our Guest Kitchen was literally installed brand new this past August. I have 4 cleaners that have been with me for many years that do their job very well. We have a sign in the kitchen that says, "Your mom doesn`t live here. Please wash your dishes and clean up after your done". Did you wash your dishes? Not sure what your cleaning standers are, but don`t give the impression that my hostel is dirty and old. It is not. You also said " no air conditioning". We do. Our 3 privates have. The 10 bed that you reserved does not, as explained in HW website. I guess you didn`t read that. So anyway Trent, glad you liked the amazing ocean views, awesome staff, uncommon free use of surfboards and our always enjoyable TOWER bar and restaurant .... Take care, Jim

10th Feb 2017
9.1

Very good hostel. The view from the bar over the bay is fantastic. And the food from the kitchen is the best I've had a from a hostel for a very long time - tasty, big portions, and not expensive. Good party atmosphere. Don't use the surf school the Hostel recommend - use Nexus surf school half way down the beach. Best surf school I've used around the world and the same cost as the hostel one.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Feb 2017
8.6

The hostel has a good atmosphere and the staff are very friendly. The club nights the staff suggest aren't great and the transfers are overpriced compared to an uber. The public rooms lack air conditioning and are very humid. The bar serves meals which are lovely and cost around £8 each. There is no atm within 30 minutes of the hostel and they have additional card fees. The hostel has surf boards which you can rent but they're too short for beginners. Despite this, it's a great hostel though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
8.3

Amazing staff with vibrant energy and willingness to go out and party with you (missing Maiya already). Amazing onsite chef with excellent healthy and savoury options for all tastes and allergies. Semi-private beach with solid waves just out in the back yard. Chill vibe here. Great clubs for dancing a small communal cab ride away. I would definitely go back. Made some great friends. Friendly spot for solo back-packers. Be careful about the P12 party - very expensive/superficial.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
8.6

Amazing view, friendly staff, great food at reasonable prices. One minor issue was that I was staying in the female dorm but on my second night they placed a guy in the bunk above me - I wasn't overly bothered by it but it was strange that none of the girls in the room were asked whether they minded before he was moved in, indeed it was only when I brought it up the next day that it was acknowledged. Highly recommend any of the 4 bed dorms in any case!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Rebecca! The reason Rafael was placed in your room was that he is transgender. Was a tough call for reception but i feel it was the right one. Glad you had a good time during your stay with us, take care and have fun! JIM

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Jan 2017
9.1

Best hostel I've ever stayed at. Staff are seriously wonderful people. The location is perfect. The view is insane. I can't say enough good things.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Dec 2016
8.6

Nice hostel in a cool location. Appreciated the free surfboards and the breakfasts with oceanview. Overall a great choice though a bit overpriced. Would go back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Dec 2016
10.0

I spent Christmas here and it's felt like home expect it was warm good people great food beach within meters what's not to like !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Dec 2016
10.0

dont read another review or view another hostel.... just stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.