X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Barra Beach Club Oceanfront Hostel Reviews

Servidao da Prainha, 122, Barra da Lagoa, Florianopolis, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
730 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 95%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

A fantastic sociable and clean hostel! Great facilities and organised trips and social events! Absolutely loved our stay, highly recommend!!


46%

They should improve security! During my stay I realized there were people who were not staying at the hostel, even spent all night long there.


100%

I've been back to this hostel 5 times now and it never disappoints. Beautiful location, wonderful staff, awesome place to meet people from all over Brazil and all over the world.


100%

Everything about this hostel was excellent. Definitely the highlight of our trip!

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

great hostel!! Loved it. Make sure you have plenty of cash, since it's a bit far to the closest ATM


100%

Great hostel in an excellent location, short walk across the bridge and up the hill once you get off the blue bus. staff where great and very helpful, the hostel has a nice vibe about it with everybody really friendly and happy to have a chat! free surfboard higher which is great, boards range from beginner to shorter fiber glass boards.


94%

One of the best hostels that I've ever stayed. Is a little bit far away to the center but you have a little private beach right in front of you. What else do you need? Gabriel, Pablo and all the staff are great! I would recommend anyone to stay here. Definitely going to back soon!

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Loved my stay here - great location, great atmosphere, amazing staff and their friends - met so many nice people from different age groups at this hostel - highly recommend! :)


57%

I rented the superior double. It smelled terrible, like the toilet was leaking. The bedroom smelled VERY strongly of mothballs (could have been to drown the smell from downstairs). The downstairs lock did not work, though the manager fixed this after a few days. Some of the dormhouses were nicer. The room does have the most AMAZIING view. Staff were great, except for one staff member who seemed to think it was ok to gossip/pass bad remarks about the guests while sitting at the front desk. Woops

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Caroline, So sorry for the smell that you mentioned. It was due to a stray male cat that kept sneaking into the house and your room because the door didn`t lock properly. The cat is now gone and so is the smell. Sorry again. About the, speak before he thinks, staff member....this has already been resolved. Take care, Jim

94%

Fantastic hostel with unbelievable beachside location. Great for chilling out but not if you want to party in florianopolis. Would recommend staying here during week and somewhere like the tucano at the weekend so youre in the centre

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jake! Thanks for the fantastic review! Just a note; the "Centro" is not where you had been talking about. Centro is 50 minutes from us. You meant Lagoa, which is a 12 to 15 minute bus ride away. The Hostel you mentioned (88% rating) is in Lagoa. For the all-night party animals that don`t want the 15 minute bus ride, there are better hostels in Lagoa. Thanks again and take care!, Jim

94%

Definetely one of the best, if not the best hostel I've ever stayed. Really really nice and helpful staff and also the breakfast was so nice with fresh fruit and juice. Also you had a really nice view on the beach and ocean from the hostel balcony. It's not too close to the centre though, but it' s easy too reach by bus. I can only recommend it to everybody who wants to have a good time, lay on the beach or try to surf. P.s. you can also rent surf boards from the hostel.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic hostel overlooking the beach.. Cooked hot sandwiches and fruit for breakfast, free surfboards and good WiFi connections! Would definitely recommend!


100%

Tough to put into words how amazing this hostel is. I decided to stay an additional 2 weeks after my initial booking. Not only does the hostel have an ideal location with perfect views and beach access, but the staff and mgt. really goes out of its way to ensure that guests have a fun and stress-free time. You can party every night or spend 3 days in a hammock and feel right at home. Finally (and most importantly), this hostel tends to attract really cool, friendly, and interesting people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Felipe! Reviews like yours are what keeps us motivated to make every ones stay as enjoyable as possible! Was nice for us all to have met you.Thanks so much and take care! Jim

86%

The only negative point was about the taxi. You have to order 24 hours in advance and I didn't know that, there were a small signal in the wall but I didn't notice it. Maybe you could arrange more taxis to help you in the transport to the airport.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a great time, the staff was very helpful, the view from the room was amazing and great breakfast. The small beach just down the street was very convenient. The only bad thing was that we were on a room with a shared bathroom and to go to the bathroom we had to go down the stairs. I recommend this great hostel, can't beat that view. Gracias a todos y hasta la proxima! ;) (Ale y Vale)


100%

The location of this hostel is awesome! The hostel itself is very nice aswel, very clean (!) and the staff is really friendly and helpfull! They cook dinner in the evening, which isn't too expensive, it's good food and above all makes it very easy to meet people when you are travelling by yourself. In short one of the best hostels I've been to.


89%

This is a great hostel in Barra. It's close to both beaches in the area, and has really good rentals for equipment. The atmosphere is good with a free caiprinha and optional group dinners that are delicious. My only complaint is that the wifi is pretty poor. It only works in one area of the hostel and it becomes pretty slow because everyone is crowded in that area.


97%

Great hostel. Location is great if you like being close to the beach, Literally 1 main walk if that! Possibly if you wanted to go put every night you might be better staying in lago de conceicao but the buses are easy and cheap and run even at night. Definitely worth getting the food they serve in an evening, its really good and great value


89%

Great hostel in a lovely location. The staff are all really nice and the dinners are great. One negative was avoid the company they use for the transfer bus to P12 and just make your own way there in a taxi. Took close to 3 hours and was terribly organised. This isn't the hostel though but an outside company.


100%

One of the best hostels in south america. Everything is reunited in this hostel: perfect location right on the beach, huge breakfast, lot of amenities (they rent for free surfboards, snorkelling equipment...), staff is helpful and the everyday diners are amazing! An excellent hostel!


(70 results)


View all Florianopolis Hostels

Please give us your feedback