Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barra Guest Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 1,537 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 1,537 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
Barra Guest Hostel Located at Rua Recife 234, Barra, , Salvador.
Barra Guest Hostel
Brazil
Salvador Bahia 40140-330 Rua Recife 234, Barra
94% 1537
-13.0041709 -38.5260700
Barra Guest Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jan 2017
10.0

A really special hostel. One of the nicest atmospheres I've experienced in South America. Opportunities to chill out or socialise and go out as you wish. Comfortable and air conditioned rooms, really lovely owners and staff and great breakfast. I highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Dec 2016
7.7

The staff (and owners in particular) are great, extremely friendly. They organised the transfer to the aeroporto very well. The TV is a disappointment with most of the channels blocked / not subscribed to. There is no free towel and there wasn't A/C in my room. There is 24 hour security which is fantastic. I didn't like the plastic sheet on the bed. Good location within 5 minutes of the beaches and bars.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Tim!! Thank you for your review. Well, the TV actually has 3 Sport channels but the game you wanted to watch was a bit unusual for us so at 10:00 am it was hard to find the transmission but as I said, you could have watched the game on line, right? The towels we charge a Deposit that is given back to you when you give back the towel. It's just a deposit. We have Air Con in all rooms, we put it on at 22:00. As you went to bed at 20:00 and didn't ask us to switch it on, we didn't and the other 3 guests didn't want the air con, only the fan - it's a democratic dorm but with a conversation you probably would win this. The plastic sheet is not a sheet. It's a matress protector that is changed when the guest leaves to be replaced by a fresh one. We don't use plastic sheets (I never saw one...). I'm glad you liked the staff, we really do our best.Thank you for choosing that movie btw, I loved it!!! Nice travels!!!

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
10.0

This is the best hostel I stayed in Brasil ! The owner and all the staff are amazing. Its super clean, have all the facilities you need, and its located un a safe place. Thanks for all Barra guest Hostel !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We all really enjoyed every minute with you here. We truly miss you and are hoping that you come back to join us soon. I feel so happy when someone comes as a guest and leaves as a friend. Hope you have beautiful travels and when you have time, come back to see us :=)

27th Nov 2016
10.0

Very good location, clean and safe place. The staff are very friendly and the atmosphere is very relaxed. The highlights for my were the chill out music playing in the background and the ability to rent surfing boards.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm really happy that you enjoyed your stay at Barra Guest Hostel. I appreciate the fact that you've noticed that we pick the songs to create a nice atmosphere. Thank you so much for staying with us!!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
8.3

Overall quite happy. Breakfast was lovely and I appreciate the time gone into the preparation. The young gentleman at reception was amazing and could give great recommendations. I didn't feel too welcome when I arrived as I had a 4 hour flight delay and was unable to get internet access so I felt a little unwelcome, but otherwise I felt quite safe and comfortable here. Very quiet when I went. Only shared room with one other male. Showers were cold though I wish I had known if this is normal

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you for your time to make your comment. I'm sorry for you feeling unwelcome but I really didn't understand why. The young gentleman at the recepion was amazing and could give great recommendations. Ok. Got it. The Wi-fi password is on the reception desk and at the wall too. It's the first thing our guests ask for so we keep it very visible and everyone can use even before the check in. We do state that the dorms are mixed, we don't have separeted. The shower broke indeed at the first day and was repaired at the very same day. If not you would be very welcome to have a hot shower in the other bathroom. I'm really sorry about your 4 hours flight delay but this... is not our fault, we did our best to make you feel welcome and you are.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Nov 2016
10.0

Great atmosphere, very relaxed and amazing staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Emily, Thank you so much for staying with us and making me laugh with the English slangs. I wish you a great staying in every hostel you're going. Nice travels!!

10th Nov 2016
8.0

The group that runs this hostel are very enthusiastic which is great. Really quick to respond to things that needed attention in the hostel. It's quite a lively place with the friends of the hostel workers there often and playing music so the room downstairs can get a bit loud but a nice place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review. Hope to see you again in a near future. Then you can ask for the back bedroom, it's reaaaaally calm there, just ask whatever you need, we are here to help you ;)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
9th Nov 2016
10.0

Best hostel! Perfect atmosphere, amazing breakfast, brilliant staff. Thank you for a great stay in Salvador. I wish I could've stayed longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Oh Sarah, we miss you so much, you're taking the best out of your travel. Always wishing you the best and hoping you come back for a longer staying.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Sep 2016
10.0

best hostel! great staff! so well located. really easy to meet people. stayed two weeks and could have stayed more. the owner is a sweetheart. thank you so much for everything!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sweet sweet girl, we all wish you nice travels, hope to see you again very soon :)

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Sep 2016
10.0

Perfect location, very clean, very safe and the owner and the staff is also very nice!! Totally recommendable if u want to have a relaxing atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're waiting for you for more bbq !!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.