Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barra Guest Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 1557 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 1557 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Feb 2017
8.6

Almost only foreigners stay at this hostel. Air conditioning and fan in the room, that's good for Salvador. Lockers under the beds. Breakfast ok. They could replace some objects/ furniture to look newer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Feb 2017
10.0

Brilliant hostel. Everything you could need and a short walk from beaches and supermarkets etc. Really easy and quick bus journey into the city centre. Would stay here again for sure. Special thank you to the staff for being so nice and helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2017
10.0

I had amazing time there and everyone there is helpful and nice. I made many moments with amazing people 😊 Sam

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ronny730
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
10.0

Probably the best hostel i've been in for the past two month that i'm traveling. The location is excellent- 10 minutes walk from the beach and 5 from the shopping mall, the staff is super nice and welcoming and the overall atmosphere is amazing! The rooms are spacious and orgenaized, and it's been cleaned everyday. A real value for money. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
10.0

Staff and volunteers were awesome, nice atmosphere to meet people and rooms were clean with spacious bathrooms. Security is very good and the hammocks are amazing, would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It was great to have you with us! Trust me, the nice atmosphere was also created by you. Thank you so much for choosing Barra Guest Hostel for your staying. We hope do hope to see you again :=)

22nd Jan 2017
8.9

Loved staying here! The atmosphere is so chill, and free caipirinhas in the evening is a great way to bring people together. The breakfast is perfect. The kitchen could have more utensils, though, and more toilets are needed - the one in the other room broke and the guests in that room were not allowed to use the downstairs bathroom!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
7.1

The volunteers are supernice people, the breakfast amazing and the vibe is really good. Rooms are less, toilet didnt work and youre not allowed to use the toilet downstairs so you have to sneak into another dorm. Rooms arent too clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. However, you seem to be a bit contraditory and sorry to say, you have broken a very serious rule. A guest can never, ever enter into another room and it's written on every and single door. This is for security reasons. I had complaints from another guest about your behaviour. Look, the flush of the toilet broke at 09:00 am. It was fixed at 11:00 am - it took 2 hours. Two hours!! It happens even in ordinary homes and the plummers can take more than this. The toilet downstairs was ocuppied,perhaps you didn't understand what was said. The lady cleans the room every single day. To keep the room cleaned is up to the guests till the next day when she cleans again from 12:00. I fixed the toilet, I hope you have fixed your issues.Good luck!!

14th Jan 2017
10.0

Great facilities and staff was warm and helpful. The owner is so sweet and welcoming. Great location and breakfast too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, girls, such a gift to have guests like you here at the hostel!! I'd love to see you guys again. I hope you made it to Fernando de Noronha ;=)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jan 2017
10.0

A really special hostel. One of the nicest atmospheres I've experienced in South America. Opportunities to chill out or socialise and go out as you wish. Comfortable and air conditioned rooms, really lovely owners and staff and great breakfast. I highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Tom, I was really impressed about your trip. Me and my son are going to follow you to see how everything is going (and your beard at the end...). You gave a special touch at the atmosphere, you know? It was reaaaaally good to have you around. I do hope you come back to tell in person your experiences. You know that besides England you have people in Brasil supporting your experience. All the best, have a great time. Tudo de bom!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
10.0

Can recommend this hostel at 100% and am happy I found my way there! Stayed about 2 weeks, meanwhile went twice for short trips to other places and always could to store my stuff at the hostel for those times, not even had to ask. That's the philosophy of Keiko and Ronald, they want to make you feel home and in my case they did! About the hostel: It is really tidy, spacious comfortable, peaceful and good organized. The staff is always friendly and they have a great breakfast with fresh cake. THX

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.