Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barra Guest Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1586 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1586 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th May 2017
8.9

This is a nice hostel, but it needs work. It isn't what you expect of a hostel with such a high rating. The mattresses are terrible! They are a very thin block of foam that have collapsed further from years of use. They are extremely uncomfortable and if you lay on your side, your hip is constantly digging in to the metal below. The sheets are really old and full of holes, and don't fit the foam. Everywhere is really clean, but it looks run-down. It is a nice place though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th May 2017
8.6

I'm gonna start by the main downside : the mattresses are old and thin hence really not comfy! You guys need to change them. Other than that yes the hostel could get a little upgrade because everything is a bit old BUT the staff is really adorable, the location is great (10min from the beach, 3min from the grocery store, 3min from the bus stop to go to Pelourinho), the kitchen is fully stocked, it's very safe and it's cheap! It's a great place to chill :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
10.0

Dont look for another hostel, just book here. If you are looking for a safe area, a nice spot with hammocks to chill out, a short walk to the beach, a clean and looked-after place to sleep, that´´s the place for you. Thanks to Laia, Theo, Ron and Allan for a great time I had here. I will be back for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
8.9

The staff was very friendly and the location was awesome-- super close to a really nice mall and to the beach. The neighborhood Barra is pretty nice and it's near some of the tourist places like the lighthouse. I wouldn't worry too much about saftety. The facilities could definitely use some updating- everything was clean, the bed was very comfy and it even had a bed light and air conditioning, but the shower was never hot and kinda dingy. The chairs in the dining room were pretty worn out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2017
10.0

Since the first moment, the familiar atmosphere let me feel not beeing in a hostel but at home. The rooms are perfectly cleaned every day and every room has a seperate bathroom which is a big plus. Same goes for the breakfest: every morning the day started perfectly with a fresh breakfest where I never missed anything. The friendly staff was always helpful and the whole team made my stay a pleasure. I´ll never forget the wonderful time here. THX !!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
10.0

Amazing Hostel, nice staff, safe district, close to the beach. I felt like at home. Definitely, I would repeat

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2017
9.7

Great hostel. Great location. Great value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
9.4

The hostel has a great breakfast and in general it very clean. great beds and great showers! For mine opinion the owner is the most nice and kindness I ever sow... and that's mean a lot! The only problem for is the location, but still is not so far from the beach and the "old city". Totally worth to come to this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much, your opinion is very important for me. I hope you have time to come back again before you go home,Liron!

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2017
10.0

Amazing staff Amazingly owne Clean Secured Perfect location Just like home

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You said it right, Ben. Home. It means you're always welcome at anytime :)

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
9.4

Very good and o would stay there again next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I hope you do!! Nice travels and thank you for choosing us.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.