Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Barra Guest Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,492 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,492 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Barra Guest Hostel Located at Rua Recife 234, Barra, , Salvador.
Barra Guest Hostel
Brazil
Salvador Bahia 40140-330 Rua Recife 234, Barra
89% 1492
-13.0042232 -38.5262632
Barra Guest Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jul 2016
8.6

The atmosphere of BGH was amazing and the staff are wonderful. Unfortunately, my stay ended on a sour note: the mattresses at this place are filthy and the sheets ill-fitting. My sheet slipped off in the middle of the night and I developed a serious allergic rash on my face, arms, and neck after making contact with it. Our room was poorly ventilated (smelled). Breakfast left a lot to be desired, flies and ants everywhere. I realize in Brazil they are hard to avoid, but other places do better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Jul 2016
9.4

Really cool hostel, with good location and stuff and tasty breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
9.1

I just had a wonderful time there! The hostel is really well located. It is in a nice neighbourhood and there is everything close to it (supermarket, shopping mall, restaurants, bus stops). I had no problem in finding places. Also, I knew that the hostel crew was always there in the case I needed help. The owner of the hostel is a really nice guy and you can always find him around the hostel. The crew is very nice also. Had a amazing samba night with one of them and other guests. I recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
9.4

This was my second time staying here. The space is very comfortable, it's not as large as some hostels (in a good way), it's about a 10 minute walk from the beach, and the owner is extremely nice. She creates a great environment and truly wants you to feel at home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
4.6

Not worth the money. Stayed in a private double and slept on what has to be the least comfortable bed ever made (4" thick foam pad over a wooden frame so you can feel every rail). Stuff was falling from the ceiling, general uncleanliness and a worn down building. The AC barely worked. They also chose to put a massive bunk bed in the room with the double bed, so there was no space for anything. Spend your money somewhere else.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2016
7.4

Great staff and really safe hostel. Kind of far from the center and historical area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
8.9

I had a great experience staying at Barra Guest Hostel! The staff was beyond friendly, welcoming and accommodating. I would recommend to any traveler who wishes to be close to tourist sites, the Historic Center, beaches and night life!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Apr 2016
10.0

Staff great, location great, big lockers , ace breakfast very social nice and chilled with comfy beds and hot showers Great little hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Mar 2016
8.3

Great beds. Aircon gets turned on a little too late but it's an overall great place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • FrederickRuoff
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Mar 2016
9.1

The hostel is located in the safest area. Supermarkets and banks are really close. The beach is approximately 10 mins away. The hostel has a book with all informations about Salvador therefore don't worry about organizing any trip. The stuff was so friendly and helped us with all of our questions, they even let the breakfast made earlier because we were doing a day trip! The breakfast is also really delicious. Check out the free Calpirinha time from 18:30-19. I would definitely go here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.