X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Barra Guest Hostel Reviews

Rua Recife 234, Barra, Salvador, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1414 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Bonne auberge, personnel très sympa, chambre propre et nettoyée tous les jours, petit déjeuner frais et très bon. Juste la cuisine qui est un peu vieille (électroménager usé), mais sinon rien à dire! Le bus pour aller à l'aéroport ou dans le centre historique de Salvador est tout proche, et il y a aussi un centre commercial, des supermarchés et des restaurants à proximité. Très bien!


86%

Awesome people and staff, very nice location on quiet street. great value stay with good wifi and air-conditioning. definitely recommend this hostel


89%

Bom custo, ótima localização de restaurantes e bares, como também de supermercados e de shopping.

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

My stay here was just okay. The advice from staff on how to get around, specifics of the city, etc were not that great and seemed to contradict what I've been hearing from my friends who live locally. Because I was traveling alone, safety was really important to me, and I had a hard time trusting the advice of people who have only been living in Bahia for a month. Orher than that, everyone was friendly and I had no major complaints.


83%

Very nice, very helpful staff. Great breakfast, located in very nice area, easy to get to/from bus station/airport. Excellent value.


97%

Fomos em grupo de seis pessoas, todos temos a mesma opnião, não poderia ter sido melhor, bem recebidos, servidos e bem orientados com dicas do pessoal da casa, agradecemos todos, ,mas em especial Chazelle, Marcus e Alejandro pela recepção, obrigado mesmo e espero voltar em breve!

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Muito bem localizado, perto de todos os serviços disponíveis como shopping, brancos, mercados e farmácias. Muito próximo da praia e de todos os pontos turísticos. Super recomendo. Se voltar pra Bahia ficaria no mesmo hostel.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The people who work is very nice and friendly, the location is very easy you can get to everywhere around very easily.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a great time at this hostel. The location is great and it doesn't feel like you're in gringoland at all. I met some really cool people here and loved how open and warm the receptionists were.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Jamaica
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

When I arrived at the well-located BGH, I felt very welcomed by the staff and also secure because of the cameras around the house. The rooms are comfortable and were cleaned everyday like the rest of the hostel. I really enjoyed the huge fresh breakfast buffet and of course the free Caipirinha in the evening which brought everyone together. On top it is possible to rent a towel for a deposit (which you get back when you give the towel back). Thank you so much!! I will definitely come back!

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The landlady is so attentive. She allowed us to leave our bagage in hostel and use the room after check out. The breakfast was good.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing hostel! Excellent location, walking distance to the beach to enjoy the sunset. Rigth between Rio Vermelho for nightlife and Pelourinho for sightseen. Also you get an all-you-can-eat breakfast (coffee, fruits, sausages, cakes, etc) to start up the day and a Caipirinha to start up the night... and its every day! For Free!! The staff is also great and willing to help at all times! Defintely a place to go back!

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Passei ótimos dias no Barra Guest, o hostel é excelente! Fui muito bem recebido pela Soraia e Ronald, simpáticos, atenciosos e sempre dispostos a te ajudar. O hostel está muito bem localizado, no bairro da Barra, próximo da praia e de bairros interessantes que certamente você irá visitar: Pelourinho e o Rio Vermelho. Possui ambiente bem agradável, bom café da manhã e é super bem cuidado pelas meninas da limpeza. Parabéns a todos do hostel e até breve!!!

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

O hostel fica em uma casa um pouco antiga mas muito limpa. Os quartos tem um espaço bom entre as camas. Cada cama conta com luz individual e tomada. Bom café da manhã com pão, bolo, frutas, sucos e opção de preparo de ovos tb. O staff é muito prestativo, em sua maioria estrangeiros q estão aprendendo português. Localizado em uma região segura com fácil acesso as áreas turísticas de ônibus, shopping center a poucos metros e a praia a curta distância tb. Ah, tem capirinha de graça toda noite tb =)


49%

The hostel was a huge disappointment. The location was near nothing, there was absolutely no atmosphere at all and at times it felt like an open plan prison with the barbed wire and the incessant amount of rules! You wasn't allowed to fill up your water bottles, wasn't allowed in the kitchen past 10, wasn't allowed in the gardens past 10 and had to pay for almost everything e.g. 10br for a towel that smelt damp and dirty. Many of us who paid to stay cut our visit short to move to a better hostel


94%

One of the best hostels we ever stayed in! cleaning lady every day, good breakfast, good location. Staff is great except that it would be helpful if every staff member speaks portuguese. If you book the day trip to Praia do Forte, make sure they do not book with cassi Tours anymore, be because in our case they did not Show up at all and we still dont know the reason.


97%

A estadia foi muito tranquila. O lugar é ótimo e os funcionários atenciosos. O custo-benefício é o melhor. Indicarei! Pontos a melhorar seria a caipirinha que não é preparada da melhor forma, e a toalha que estava com cheiro forte. Fora isso, foi tudo nota 10!


100%

The best hostel I've ever been, in fact the breakfast and hosts are a blust...Surely I'll be there in another next trip to Salvador. Thanks

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, it was a pleasure to have you here, talking to us and being so friendly to all of us, so polite and understanding, making friends with other guests, you're very wellcome here and we do hope you come back. Thanks and... see you soon!!!! :)

86%

This was a great hostel. Located right down near the coast line, made for some great walks and sights. The staff were amazing, fluent in English and had a great attitude. It's not in the old part of town, so you need to get a bus (about 15-20mins) but they are frequent and cheap. The same for the airport (but its about 45mins-1hrs) and leaves from the front of the shopping centre.


86%

Thanx again for the very welcoming atmosphere (esp. Samaya!!!). We had a great time staying there and if you're into surfing: they got 2 boards to use! Recommend it!!!


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Salvador Hostels

Please give us your feedback