Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barra Surf Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.9
Superb 141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 10.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 10.0
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 10.0
  • Cleanliness 10.0
  • Facilities 10.0
BOOK NOW
9.9
Superb 141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 10.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 10.0
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 10.0
  • Cleanliness 10.0
  • Facilities 10.0
Barra Surf Hostel Located at Angelina Joaquina dos Santos, 90, Barra da Lagoa, Florianopolis.
Barra Surf Hostel
Brazil
Florianopolis Santa Catarina 88061150 Angelina Joaquina dos Santos, 90, Barra da Lagoa
99% 141
-27.5746252 -48.4275176
Barra Surf Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
27th Mar 2016
9.7

amazing hostel, really close to the beach, and close to the main shops and restaurants of the town. unfortunately no washing machine, which would be useful for washing swimming/surfing clothes, but there is a laundrette around the corner. staff are amazing, and happy to cool to hang out with when they aren't working. they sometimes do meals in the evenings which you can sign up for. there are surfboards you can borrow. I'd definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Mar 2016
6.0

Very unfortunately I wouldn't recommend this place. While the location is amazing (less than 5 minute walk to the beach), the rooms and the style are meant to be stylish and the staff is friendly as well as accommodating, the hostel lacks essential cleanliness. They area my room was located in smelled like pee and you wouldn't wanna sit down when doing your business. This is too bad since the hostel definitely has potential to be a great place to stay, even if it cost a little more.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Mar 2016
8.0

Barbra surf hostel was a wonderful laid back place to meet amazing new people. The accommodations are more than enough for a comfy stay, although In a place as hot as Florianopolis they should consider putting A/C in the rooms especially the ones that don't get that nice breeze around the area. Other than that I had a great time, the staff were especially friendly and welcoming people. It's not far from restaurants and it's right by one do their beaches. All in all a great place to stay 👌

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Mar 2016
10.0

Super place, super people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2016
7.4

The hostel is superbly located only a 2' walk away from the beach and bus-stop, as well as little shops, restaurants etc. All rooms are clean and cleaned daily. Dorms are spacious with comfortable beds and lockers. Showers have hot-water and good water-pressure. Included breakfast is great with fruits, bread, cereals etc. Wifi is also super-fast and stable. The staff and the owners are lovely and helpful, making the atmosphere very appealing. I can recommend this place wholeheartedly to anyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Mar 2016
7.4

My welcom was very unprofessional and kind of unfriendly. They appologised, but nothing changed (no explenations or anything). The boss is friendly and the breakfast is really good! In the dorm wasn't enough space for all the backpacks. Even though they clean the bathrooms a couple of time a day, it still was dirty sometimes. But they do clean!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Feb 2016
8.3

The breakfast is amazing. Location is great close to supermarkets and only a three minutes walk to the beach. Cheap surf board rental. Rooms are a little small. Owner is a great guy. No outside alcohol allowed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Feb 2016
10.0

Excelent!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you so much for staying with us

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Feb 2016
10.0

I spent 5 days there, and it definitely was an amazing experience ! Perfect place to chill out and meet people, the beach is really close, the room comfortables and the breakfast good ! Highly recommended :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am happy to see that u like to stay with us. Was a pleasure to have you in our hostel.

18th Feb 2016
6.3

Stayed here on the strength of reviews on Hostelworld. Had a mixed experience. Firstly the positives: Found the couple who run the place very friendly and both spoke good English. The location is 50 metres from the beach and close to the various eateries in Barra da Lagoa. They also had surfboards and boogie boards you could borrow. The Negatives: CLUTTER: They seem to be hoarders. Communal space is eaten up by junk. Cleanliness was poor. Floors need a good mopping. No air con, rooms hot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi i am sorry to hear that you weren´t happy here. you were a exception It is not advertised room with ac..... and specially the week u had in our hostel the whole state received a heat wave .... We clean our hostel 4 times per day, as you can see in other reviews thank you Rodrigo

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.