Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Airlie Beach Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 621 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 621 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jul 2017
4.0

Noisy backpacker place. Rooms looked nothing like the photos. Facilities really need some investment, our neighbours had a broken pipe in their private room with water flooding the entire cabin - they were put into bunk beds with no refund. Unfriendly staff. In a nutshell - mismanagement of what must have been a nice hostel. On the plus side, the garden is very beautiful.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
6.6

I'm new to the backpackers community, but compared to other hostels I've stayed at it was the least clean of any so far. Bed sheets had s*** spots of them, no curtains for tub/shower so water gets everywhere, no lockers for your bag.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jun 2017
7.1

This hostel is great location for people doing the Whitsundays. Everything is on your doorstep! The room was nice and spacious and toilet and shower was nice and clean! However, the kitchen was absolutely awful! Not enough kitchen utensils to go around, people stealing plates that you have paid for. Very small kitchen also. Not enough space for the amount of people (understand this might be due to the cyclone damage)! Overall, a good hostel!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
6.0

This Hostel is really big. I stayed in a four person room, which was nice. The bathroom could have been way cleaner. For a hostel that prides itself on cleanliness, it definitely did not live up to my expectations. The staff were helpful and friendly and I was able to keep my bags in storage while I went sailing. I also liked that I was able to get my bags whenever I needed and didn't have to wait until the doors unlocked.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
20th May 2017
10.0

This hostel is awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd May 2017
5.7

falling apart inside the private rooms. long queues at check in. nice bar with good food. nice pool area. laundry facilities good. staff on reception are not the best. quite a quiet hostel so feels chilled out. could do with early check ins for empty rooms as they tell you the rooms are full when they are not. its not great getting off the greyhound and having to wait for nearly 7 hours to check in. Definitely not the worst as there are some great features to this hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Apr 2017
5.1

No lockers, no wifi (but to be fair I think that was coz of the cyclone), the place where you could store your bags was just left open, the kitchen was tiny and not very clean. Staff were nice and the rooms were fairly clean but not great value for money.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
7.7

It's more of a party place, so if you are looking for that - the stay will be more than enjoyable! It is a nice complex but maybe a bit worn down.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Apr 2017
4.6

No value for money. Kitchen is an absolute disaster (so disgusting!!). The sink and the shower were broken in our room. Definitely too expensive for what you get,go somewhere else!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Apr 2017
6.0

The room was fine but not overly clean. Staff unfriendly and rude at times, one even barged into our room. Like a lot of the reviews, they charge for everything, even the bar is more expensive than the pubs down the road. Kitchen is completely byo even down to cutlery which is odd.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.