Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Airlie Beach Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 586 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 586 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Apr 2017
4.6

No value for money. Kitchen is an absolute disaster (so disgusting!!). The sink and the shower were broken in our room. Definitely too expensive for what you get,go somewhere else!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Apr 2017
6.0

The room was fine but not overly clean. Staff unfriendly and rude at times, one even barged into our room. Like a lot of the reviews, they charge for everything, even the bar is more expensive than the pubs down the road. Kitchen is completely byo even down to cutlery which is odd.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
5.4

My partner nearly got impaled on a bed spring that was visibly sticking ou t of the bed. It was a room and nothing more no free parking no free internet everything was a charge.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
6.3

No lockers in room, the bathroom needed a good clean and lots of insects in room due to windows being left open. Location was great and staff were friendly. As a deposit is needed for crockery, it meant sometimes waiting for a while at reception and having to go back and for. Wifi wasn't great (even paying the $4 for 24 hours didn't work great)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Mar 2017
6.0

Nice staff, but the kitchen was awful and the showers were dirty

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Mar 2017
6.6

The flats around the pool are by far the nicest. Aircon is good, beds are reasonably comfy. Pool is super nice, kitchen is small but clean and wifi doesn't work well and not many places to hang out. Right next to a good bar and all the shops. I got locked in a bathroom and there were lots of ants and insects everywhere, the bathroom was mouldy and the door didn't open properly. Had to move rooms twice which wasn't nice. Staff are pretty helpful but reception is always SO busy so you have to wait

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
9.4

my friend and I paid for a shared double and it was awesome. with a fridge in the room. wifi was not very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Mar 2017
8.6

Base and nomads are the same, amazing resort with 2 pools and very clean rooms and batch rooms. Was a nice atmosphere but also quiet at night to sleep as it's not above big bars like other hostels in airlie. Would defiantly recommend and stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th Mar 2017
9.4

Definitely place to be when staying in airlie. Nice rooms, freezing aircon and nearest to the bar :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Feb 2017
7.1

The kitchen and bedrooms are pretty disgusting. But the atmosphere at base is amazing. Met some incredible people while there and all the staff are lovely. My advice would be to stay at nomads instead. It's all attached so has the same atmosphere but the facilities at nomads are far better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.