Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Airlie Beach Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 635 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 635 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
31st Aug 2017
9.4

My room had no hooks in the bathroom yo hang a towel/clothing on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Aug 2017
8.0

Amazing and clean rooms, felt like staying at a hotel. Nice and helpful staff, fun bar and pool just outside your room. Only negative was the kitchen which was the worst I've experienced at a hostel. There was nothing to use - no pots, pans, knives etc and everything that was there was disgustingly dirty. Don't understand why the kitchen was so bad when everything else was so good haha. But except for that, one of the best hostels I've stayed at.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Aug 2017
6.3

They are still recovering from the cyclone. Rooms are decently clean and very spacious. No lockers for valuables. Not much to cook with in the kitchen and is always crowded. $5 deposit for dishes and silverware. Was kicked out at promptly 9:30pm (closing time). Staff is ok, not the friendliest but not rude either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ellahoughtonmortimer749
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Aug 2017
4.3

Worst hostel I've stayed in. Anyone could wander in, no security whatsoever. So understaffed, in order to even get a cutlery set we had to queue for half an hour, always had a queue out the door. The kitchen was appalling, sponges weren't changed the whole time I was there, the stove tops took over half an hour to even heat up, not enough pots and pans or cutlery, huge hostel and not enough cooking space and so unclean. Bins in the rooms weren't changed and were overflowing. Just so dirty.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Aug 2017
4.3

Stayed here for one night but wouldn't go back. The dorm didn't feel clean at all - damp in the bathroom and dirty footprints on the ceiling. The bunks had no privacy. There was no secure lockable storage in the room. The Wi-Fi wasn't working so the only option available was paid.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
26th Jul 2017
6.6

Great location. Got a towel and mini toiletries on arrival and it was nice having a spacious room with our own bathroom & kitchen. But this kitchen seemed fine until my food got covered in ants. The communal kitchen wasn't very clean, always crowded and lacked enough utensils. Constant queues at reception as well anytime you needed something. Can put up with it for a few days but wouldn't recommend for longer stays.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
18th Jul 2017
10.0

Great location! Pool and bar are great! Staff are friendly and kitchen is great!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jul 2017
9.1

The place was great. Two pools and a decent drinking area made socialising easy. It's a 10 minute walk to all the bars and shops. Kitchen was a it small but wasn't a massive problem. Very happy with it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jul 2017
4.0

Noisy backpacker place. Rooms looked nothing like the photos. Facilities really need some investment, our neighbours had a broken pipe in their private room with water flooding the entire cabin - they were put into bunk beds with no refund. Unfriendly staff. In a nutshell - mismanagement of what must have been a nice hostel. On the plus side, the garden is very beautiful.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
6.6

I'm new to the backpackers community, but compared to other hostels I've stayed at it was the least clean of any so far. Bed sheets had s*** spots of them, no curtains for tub/shower so water gets everywhere, no lockers for your bag.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×