X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Airlie Beach Resort Reviews

336 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
301 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Great clean hostel in the thick of it all. Big office where you can book tours, pool and stuff and next to a pub. Also a couple of minutes walk from the lagoon. Only negative was no locker in the room where I was.


100%

What an awesome hostel to stay at! Massive property and because of the way it is set out you don't get any of the noise from the bustling strip. The staff were awesome and so welcoming, thanks guys! Do not get me started on the duvets, I think my favourite thing was recovering from a very severe hangover in my dorm with the air con blazing snuggled up in the most comfortable duvet I have ever encountered in a hostel. (I am sorry for my lack of energy saving measures taken) but desperate calls.


89%

Only bad thing no pickup service from greyhound bus, but it was only a 15 m walk. And there should have been lockers in the rooms or at least shelves at top beds to keep personal belongings.. But overall a nice hostel/camping. Super friendly staff, nice location and clean. Rooms are a short walk from bar so you get a good night sleep aswell.


100%

Absolutely the best location in Airlie! Right in the heart of it - all staff are incredibly friendly and the down under bar is top notch!!

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Nice hostel and good location. Grand place to spend a few nights.


80%

Hostel has over 300 beds so just be aware the staff can't be as attentive or helpful. Luggage room only opens every half hour as well. Excellent location though.


91%

Overall I loved staying here. The room we were in was great, it overlooked the pool and behind the buildings looks like a rainforest! Our room did not have a curtain on the main window by the door which was kind of inconvenient because you couldnt change in the room cause it lacked privacy and the light on the porch shown in at night. Also a shower curtain would have been nice so we didn't water all over the bathroom. Just minor things, this hostel is amazing otherwise!!!


100%

Cool hostel, rooms are huge and staff are fun! You have to pay $5 deposit for cutlery but is expected to stop theft.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Kai, Thank you very much for your outstanding review of our property, and for understanding why we must charge a bond for a mug and cutlery. It always so great to hear good things about the hostel and staff. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and you re-visit us again someday. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

100%

Great hostel with an awesome and chill atmosphere. The rooms are very big and clean. Some of them even have a bath! The location is perfect, in the center of Airlie close to the bars and the harbour. The staff was really friendly and they also have a Travel desk where you can book you're whitsundays and Fraser. They got the best tips and info there! Awesome hostel with a great athmosphere and a very nice summer vibe :) Also got a bar (down under) next to it, whit great food and nights out!


100%

Amazing property, not like any other hostels Ive stayed at before. All the rooms are set out amoungst the tropical gardens around a huge swimming pool. Rooms are far enough away from the street and bar I had a quiet night sleep (apart from other roomies coming in and out) Staff were really friendly and helped me sort out my Whitsunday Sailing trip...they also stored my valuables at reception for FREE as there are no lockers in the room. loved my stay here wish I was there for longer.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Pam, Thank you for your glowing review. We're so pleased you enjoyed yourself during your stay and were able to see what Base and the Whitsundays are all about. We do hope it's not the last we'll see of you?? Please come back and visit us again soon. It will be our pleasure to accomodate you. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

49%

The kitchen was disgusting. No matter what time you came in it was extremely dirty. You had to hire forks and stuff for $5. You had to pay extra for the wifi. The linen were absolutely disgusting. There was dirt on it - looked like blood. And at check out time we should remove only the pillow case. So maybe you sleep in a bed someone slept in before. And there was party all night long. No possibility to sleep - even with earplugs

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Meike, Thanks for your feedback. We try our hardest to keep communal areas clean. Staff clean 7am-1pm / 3pm-10pm. I hope you understand it is also up to fellow travellers to clean after themselves. There is only so much we can do. The $5 is always refunded on return and incurred due to theft. I can also assure you the linen is freshly cleaned. Unfortunately, if other guests are noisy we are not at fault. For this reason a security guard is present after hours to assist. Regards, Aotea RM

71%

I stayed at Base for 4 nights and generally had a good stay. The room was clean as was the kitchen. A little annoying that you have to put down a deposit for plates and cutlery, but am coming to expect this more and more in hostels. My only complaint would be that one of the girls on reception was so unbelievably rude and obviously didn't know how to smile or be happy. Despite this all of the other staff were lovely and so helpful.

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Emma, Thank you very much for your review. We apologise that paying a bond of $5 for a mug and cutlery seems obscene however, we have had to resort to doing this due to theft of our property. It is only a bond and is refunded on return. Further, I apologise on behalf of the employee that seemed to be the only person who did not provide you with the quality service you're entitled too. We do strive to excel in customer service. I hope you enjoy your travels. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

69%

Anybody can come and go into the accommodation area but still need a key to enter the rooms. The staff are overall helpful and the facilities are clean. The place is on par for the Airlie Beach hostel scene.


80%

Different layout to your average hostel. Dorms dotted around. But good value for money none the less.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Jack, Thank you so much for taking time out of your travels to leave us with a review. We're very proud of the layout we have here in Airlie. Bungalows surrounded by gardens and a pool. Not above a busy bar like most others. So we're pleased you enjoyed your stay. If you're ever in the area again please stop in and say hello. We'd love to have you come stay again. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

69%

Base has a lodge type layout which means everything is spread out. No lockers in rooms and lack of plugs in the bedroom. Ours had 4 in the bathroom and 3 in the bedroom. Good location and staff were very helpful. Also has a good coin op laundry.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sam, Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We're truely sorry that we do not have lockers in the room. However, you may be pleased to hear that we have FREE valuable storage in reception. Also, we're looking into purchasing lockers for under the beds in all rooms. It's a work in progress. So thanks again for your feedback. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and visit again someday. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

100%

Stayed at Base Airlie for a total of something like 8 nights and absolutely loved it! Staff were great, bar was great, location was great and I had the absolute best time! Would definitely recommend this to any backpacker 100%!!

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Danielle, Thank you so much for your outstanding review of our property. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, the nightlife and food. Please come visit us again soon Kind Regards, Aotea RM

100%

I really enjoyed my time here! The staff were super friendly, the room was awesome with a toilet and a BATH!! The meals were really cheap and so so good! I can't wait for my next stay here! Highly recommended to anyone going to Airlie Beach!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Crin, Thank you for your friendly review. It's always so enlightening to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and would recommend us to fellow travellers. You're awesome! Please be sure to visit us again sometime. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

83%

Had a perfect stay at Base for my trips too whitsundays islands and the barrier reef. They had thick blankets which I liked for the cooler nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Robbin, Thank you so much for your feedback regarding our hostel. I'm so grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us and the comforts we have to provide. All the best with the remainder of your travels. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

77%

I stayed in Base for one night after my boat trip. I couldn't check in earlier and had to wait until 2pm because of the cleaning process. I checked in and the Bathroom was still dirty, bin was full and I had a dirty blanket. The rooms and the pool area are really nice. The check in needs ages! Just one person is sitting there. I was waiting 45 min.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your very informative and useful feedback. I am very sorry that you had to wait longer then normal to check in, and incredibly embarrassed that once you finally checked in, your room was not clean. Did you address this with the staff, were there others already in your room? As 302 is the most immaculate room we have in the hostel. However, in saying this I do again apologise. I hope this answers all your concerns and we wish you the best Kind Regards, Aotea RM



View all Airlie Beach Hostels

Please give us your feedback