X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Airlie Beach Resort Reviews

336 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
346 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Rooms are not very clean. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm and there was mold on the walls and anywhere in the bathroom. Kitchen tables are still dirty when you go there in the morning for breakfast. Until now it was one of the dirtiest places I stayed at the east coast. It's not really really bad but there are much better hostels for the same price. Staff is friendly and location is good.


69%

I liked it, Base usually is a good choice if you wanna meet people! The only things that bothered us was that we have to leave a deposit at the reception if we needed cutlery for the kitchen and there was always a really long line in the lobby, so whenever you needed something, it took forever. Also I'm used to friendlier staff at Base. But other than that there is not much to complain about :)


100%

Top location with extremely clean rooms and lovely staff - highly recommend


46%

worst hostel I been in Australia. Very dirty. It seemed like they had never cleaned the floor the bathroom. Still old toilet paper sticking the floor. Bed linen not clean, was used before by someone else. Open luggage storage only every 30 minutes.


60%

Okay hostel for a couple of nights. Rooms were fine but reception staff awful, not helpful and there was always a long queue.


83%

The staff and location is what make this place great! Would stay here again for sure.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review! I can assure you it was our pleasure to have you here :) If you are ever back in Airlie we would love to have you stay with us again, there may even be a beer in it for you! Safe Travels! Charlotte - Customer Service Manager Base Airlie Beach Resort

100%

Great location, air conditioning working, heated water shower working as well, shared room confortable. Wifi 4 dollar per day worth it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, I would just like to take the time to thank you for your feedback, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us! If you are ever back in the area don't hesitate to pop in and say hey! Enjoy the rest of your trip! Charlotte- Customer Service Manager Base Airlie Beach Resort

40%

Staff were the worst I've experienced in the world. Unfriendly and rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback for us we do appreciate it all good and bad. Let me please apologise on behalf of our reception crew that you found them so rude and unfriendly. I am very disappointed to hear this and also very embarrassed, it can be stressful during our peak times of year but this is no excuse for the kind of behaviour you encountered. If you are ever back in town I would love to have you back here so you can see this isn't normal! Base Team

60%

We had a room in block 11. The water pump for the entire block must be broken as every use of shower or sinks made incredible noise. Even if people in other rooms in the block used their water, the noise came out of our sink/pipe. This continuous noise woke us up on a regular basis so we basically had a sleepless night. We won't stay again.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Please accept my apologies for your stay. We have recently been renovating which may have been the cause for the extra noise. Did you make reception aware of this issue? Thank you so much for bringing this to my attention so that I can properly fix this issue with our maintenance team, we'd love to have you back so that you can see how we have improved! Please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Charlotte-Customer Service Manager airliebeach@stayatbase.com

51%

I stayed two nights in two different rooms. The first room was below average and the second room was slightly better. It's a large hostel covering lots of ground and feels more like camp grounds. No free wifi. No lockers in the room. Both bathrooms had a sewage-like smell.


31%

All the facilities are dirty, the beds are very uncomfortable, the showers didn't work in the room. We were told to shower near the kitchen everyday because they weren't going to fix the showers. The staff is so rude, the worst I've encountered traveling. I would never recommend staying here!!!!


63%

extra fee for storage room only plates available in kitchen, cutlery and mugs available at front desk good late arrival service


83%

Great location and very clean rooms. Only big issue was the kitchen which people seemed to leave in a tip. Felt sorry for the staff coming in to do the dishes...


83%

Only stayed here one night. Communal room is very small despite the number of guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we welcome it all as its great at showing us where we do well and where we need to improve. We have recently opened up some new beds and so are in the process of updating all of our communal areas, this can take some time unfortunately as we are a 24 hour a day 7 day a week business so i'm very sorry you found us ill-equipped. I hope everything else with your stay was great! Safe Travels! Charlotte- Customer Service Manager

60%

Room was really dirty. Kitchen was bad. It was always too cold there. Waiting in the reception to ask something took ages.. should be more staff there. Location was really good, at the end of the main street but everything was close. Night security was really helpful at 2am when there was a huntsman spider in my room. Nice pool and nice mango trees. If you go on a boat trip, they say you have to pay $6 for luggage storage, but in the kitchen area there are also lockers for $4 which is big enough

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your review of us we appreciate all of these. I'm sorry to hear you found your room dirty, did you make reception aware of this after you checked in? Unfortunately during our peak times it can take longer to speak to our desk, we are constantly improving and updating here so that it doesn't take so long, so please accept my apologies. I would like to know why you thought the kitchen was bad so I have left my email address below I would love some more feedback. Base Team

54%

The worst place I have ever stayed! Avoid at all costs. Was booked in a four bed dorm, was put in a six bed dorm, then an hour or so later two girls arrived and they decided to bring along 8 friends from a previous trip. Had to move to a private room where the air con was light, half the light bulbs didn't work and it was all round scummy. Only positive is the location. Got no apology when I asked to switch. Just got a 'how would you like to pay for that'?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review we really love getting these as it shows where we need to improve and where we are doing well. Im so sorry to hear that you were messed around and moved around so much! Let me apologise on behalf of all of us here for your booking being such a disaster, we can certainly do better and would love to prove this to you! Please dont hesitate to contact us if you are ever back in Airlie. Charlotte- Customer Service Manager

49%

The hostel is not good to meet people, it's too big. Staff isn't really helpfull and the kitchen is way too small for the amount of backpackers staying at the hostel. Other hostels are definetily better! Don't go!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Im sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us and that you found our staff unhelpful as we pride ourselves on knowledgeable and helpful service. Although we are a big hostel, we do also try our best to include all guests in fun while they stay here which is why our bar always has heaps of events on so that everybody can get to know each other. We are working on our facilities as we just expanded but we do have 2 BBQ areas for people to use as well. Kind Regards, Base Team

94%

Great hostel. Would be nice to have some lockers in the rooms, though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback we really appreciate it! Glad you liked our hostel so much, we love it here too! We are slowly updating our accommodation but in the mean time we do provide lockers in the communal kitchen area out the back of reception, We also provide free valuable storage as well :) I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels, if you come back to Airlie I hope you come stay with us again, beers on me! Charlotte- Customer Service Manager Base Airlie Beach Resort

89%

air con was broken, shower and stove was not in a good condition.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear you didnt get the chance to enjoy our facilities at their best. Did you let reception know you had problems with your Air Conditioner? I can assure you they would have been happy to help you with this! We are currently in the process of updating our facilities in our communal areas so Im sorry to hear you found them in poor condition. We would love for you to contact us directly so we can look into the issues mentioned Base Team airliebeach@stayatbase.com

100%

Nice accomodation in individual houses. Staff, however, could try to be a little more helpful when asked for information and help..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear you found the staff here unhelpful. We have passed on your comments to all front desk staff and they have taken on board your comments. We love getting reviews so we can see where we need to imrpove and where we do well, customer service is always a work in progress and we do feel we can do better. So glad you enjoyed our Beautiful hostel, we think its pretty great too. There's nothing like waking up in tropical gardens! Charlotte- Customer Service Manager

« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Airlie Beach Hostels

Please give us your feedback