X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Airlie Beach Resort Reviews

336 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
318 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

31%

All the facilities are dirty, the beds are very uncomfortable, the showers didn't work in the room. We were told to shower near the kitchen everyday because they weren't going to fix the showers. The staff is so rude, the worst I've encountered traveling. I would never recommend staying here!!!!


83%

Great location and very clean rooms. Only big issue was the kitchen which people seemed to leave in a tip. Felt sorry for the staff coming in to do the dishes...


83%

Only stayed here one night. Communal room is very small despite the number of guests.


60%

Room was really dirty. Kitchen was bad. It was always too cold there. Waiting in the reception to ask something took ages.. should be more staff there. Location was really good, at the end of the main street but everything was close. Night security was really helpful at 2am when there was a huntsman spider in my room. Nice pool and nice mango trees. If you go on a boat trip, they say you have to pay $6 for luggage storage, but in the kitchen area there are also lockers for $4 which is big enough


54%

The worst place I have ever stayed! Avoid at all costs. Was booked in a four bed dorm, was put in a six bed dorm, then an hour or so later two girls arrived and they decided to bring along 8 friends from a previous trip. Had to move to a private room where the air con was light, half the light bulbs didn't work and it was all round scummy. Only positive is the location. Got no apology when I asked to switch. Just got a 'how would you like to pay for that'?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review we really love getting these as it shows where we need to improve and where we are doing well. Im so sorry to hear that you were messed around and moved around so much! Let me apologise on behalf of all of us here for your booking being such a disaster, we can certainly do better and would love to prove this to you! Please dont hesitate to contact us if you are ever back in Airlie. Charlotte- Customer Service Manager

49%

The hostel is not good to meet people, it's too big. Staff isn't really helpfull and the kitchen is way too small for the amount of backpackers staying at the hostel. Other hostels are definetily better! Don't go!


94%

Great hostel. Would be nice to have some lockers in the rooms, though.


89%

air con was broken, shower and stove was not in a good condition.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear you didnt get the chance to enjoy our facilities at their best. Did you let reception know you had problems with your Air Conditioner? I can assure you they would have been happy to help you with this! We are currently in the process of updating our facilities in our communal areas so Im sorry to hear you found them in poor condition. We would love for you to contact us directly so we can look into the issues mentioned Base Team airliebeach@stayatbase.com

100%

Nice accomodation in individual houses. Staff, however, could try to be a little more helpful when asked for information and help..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear you found the staff here unhelpful. We have passed on your comments to all front desk staff and they have taken on board your comments. We love getting reviews so we can see where we need to imrpove and where we do well, customer service is always a work in progress and we do feel we can do better. So glad you enjoyed our Beautiful hostel, we think its pretty great too. There's nothing like waking up in tropical gardens! Charlotte- Customer Service Manager

86%

Great clean hostel in the thick of it all. Big office where you can book tours, pool and stuff and next to a pub. Also a couple of minutes walk from the lagoon. Only negative was no locker in the room where I was.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, good or bad we love to hear what our guests think of their stay here so we can make any improvements necessary. We are currently in the process of updating all of our rooms here and take on board your comments, we do provide luggage storage as well as lockers in our Communal Kitchen area, maybe these options weren't given to you, which I can only apologise for. We hope to see you again in the future! Charlotte- Customer Service

100%

What an awesome hostel to stay at! Massive property and because of the way it is set out you don't get any of the noise from the bustling strip. The staff were awesome and so welcoming, thanks guys! Do not get me started on the duvets, I think my favourite thing was recovering from a very severe hangover in my dorm with the air con blazing snuggled up in the most comfortable duvet I have ever encountered in a hostel. (I am sorry for my lack of energy saving measures taken) but desperate calls.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Hahaha sounds like you appreciated our Bar and our Hostel! Thrilled to hear you enjoyed yourself in Airlie and that you got full use of our amenities here, thats what they're there for after all and I think we can all appreciate an Airlie Beach hangover needs only the best facilities to recover in :) We would love to have you back here in the future so please dont hesitate to look us up again Charlotte- Customer Service Manager

89%

Only bad thing no pickup service from greyhound bus, but it was only a 15 m walk. And there should have been lockers in the rooms or at least shelves at top beds to keep personal belongings.. But overall a nice hostel/camping. Super friendly staff, nice location and clean. Rooms are a short walk from bar so you get a good night sleep aswell.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate these as they show us where we need to improve and where we are doing well. We do now operate a pick up service for the Greyhound and Premier Buses which has been receiving great comments from our guests so thanks for the tip! If you are ever back in the area please dont hesitate to come and see us! Charlotte-Customer Service Manager

100%

Absolutely the best location in Airlie! Right in the heart of it - all staff are incredibly friendly and the down under bar is top notch!!

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Sorry for taking such a long time to reply to your lovely review! We appreciate all reviews good and bad (but mainly the good ones ;) ) We hope you think of us again if you ever come back to Airlie. Kind Regards, Charlotte-Customer Service Manager

74%

Nice hostel and good location. Grand place to spend a few nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! These are really useful for us to see where we are doing well and where we need to improve. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again! Kind Regards, Charlotte- Customer Service Manager

80%

Hostel has over 300 beds so just be aware the staff can't be as attentive or helpful. Luggage room only opens every half hour as well. Excellent location though.


91%

Overall I loved staying here. The room we were in was great, it overlooked the pool and behind the buildings looks like a rainforest! Our room did not have a curtain on the main window by the door which was kind of inconvenient because you couldnt change in the room cause it lacked privacy and the light on the porch shown in at night. Also a shower curtain would have been nice so we didn't water all over the bathroom. Just minor things, this hostel is amazing otherwise!!!


100%

Cool hostel, rooms are huge and staff are fun! You have to pay $5 deposit for cutlery but is expected to stop theft.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Kai, Thank you very much for your outstanding review of our property, and for understanding why we must charge a bond for a mug and cutlery. It always so great to hear good things about the hostel and staff. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and you re-visit us again someday. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

100%

Great hostel with an awesome and chill atmosphere. The rooms are very big and clean. Some of them even have a bath! The location is perfect, in the center of Airlie close to the bars and the harbour. The staff was really friendly and they also have a Travel desk where you can book you're whitsundays and Fraser. They got the best tips and info there! Awesome hostel with a great athmosphere and a very nice summer vibe :) Also got a bar (down under) next to it, whit great food and nights out!


100%

Amazing property, not like any other hostels Ive stayed at before. All the rooms are set out amoungst the tropical gardens around a huge swimming pool. Rooms are far enough away from the street and bar I had a quiet night sleep (apart from other roomies coming in and out) Staff were really friendly and helped me sort out my Whitsunday Sailing trip...they also stored my valuables at reception for FREE as there are no lockers in the room. loved my stay here wish I was there for longer.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Pam, Thank you for your glowing review. We're so pleased you enjoyed yourself during your stay and were able to see what Base and the Whitsundays are all about. We do hope it's not the last we'll see of you?? Please come back and visit us again soon. It will be our pleasure to accomodate you. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

49%

The kitchen was disgusting. No matter what time you came in it was extremely dirty. You had to hire forks and stuff for $5. You had to pay extra for the wifi. The linen were absolutely disgusting. There was dirt on it - looked like blood. And at check out time we should remove only the pillow case. So maybe you sleep in a bed someone slept in before. And there was party all night long. No possibility to sleep - even with earplugs

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Meike, Thanks for your feedback. We try our hardest to keep communal areas clean. Staff clean 7am-1pm / 3pm-10pm. I hope you understand it is also up to fellow travellers to clean after themselves. There is only so much we can do. The $5 is always refunded on return and incurred due to theft. I can also assure you the linen is freshly cleaned. Unfortunately, if other guests are noisy we are not at fault. For this reason a security guard is present after hours to assist. Regards, Aotea RM

« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Airlie Beach Hostels

Please give us your feedback