X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Airlie Beach Resort Reviews

336 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
278 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Different layout to your average hostel. Dorms dotted around. But good value for money none the less.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Jack, Thank you so much for taking time out of your travels to leave us with a review. We're very proud of the layout we have here in Airlie. Bungalows surrounded by gardens and a pool. Not above a busy bar like most others. So we're pleased you enjoyed your stay. If you're ever in the area again please stop in and say hello. We'd love to have you come stay again. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

69%

Base has a lodge type layout which means everything is spread out. No lockers in rooms and lack of plugs in the bedroom. Ours had 4 in the bathroom and 3 in the bedroom. Good location and staff were very helpful. Also has a good coin op laundry.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sam, Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We're truely sorry that we do not have lockers in the room. However, you may be pleased to hear that we have FREE valuable storage in reception. Also, we're looking into purchasing lockers for under the beds in all rooms. It's a work in progress. So thanks again for your feedback. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and visit again someday. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

100%

Stayed at Base Airlie for a total of something like 8 nights and absolutely loved it! Staff were great, bar was great, location was great and I had the absolute best time! Would definitely recommend this to any backpacker 100%!!

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Danielle, Thank you so much for your outstanding review of our property. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, the nightlife and food. Please come visit us again soon Kind Regards, Aotea RM

100%

I really enjoyed my time here! The staff were super friendly, the room was awesome with a toilet and a BATH!! The meals were really cheap and so so good! I can't wait for my next stay here! Highly recommended to anyone going to Airlie Beach!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Crin, Thank you for your friendly review. It's always so enlightening to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and would recommend us to fellow travellers. You're awesome! Please be sure to visit us again sometime. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

83%

Had a perfect stay at Base for my trips too whitsundays islands and the barrier reef. They had thick blankets which I liked for the cooler nights.


77%

I stayed in Base for one night after my boat trip. I couldn't check in earlier and had to wait until 2pm because of the cleaning process. I checked in and the Bathroom was still dirty, bin was full and I had a dirty blanket. The rooms and the pool area are really nice. The check in needs ages! Just one person is sitting there. I was waiting 45 min.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your very informative and useful feedback. I am very sorry that you had to wait longer then normal to check in, and incredibly embarrassed that once you finally checked in, your room was not clean. Did you address this with the staff, were there others already in your room? As 302 is the most immaculate room we have in the hostel. However, in saying this I do again apologise. I hope this answers all your concerns and we wish you the best Kind Regards, Aotea RM

71%

I enjoyed my stay here. I was concerned about my stay when I read about the unhelpful staff. But during my stay it's obvious they have really reacted to this criticism and now the staff and a huge reason I enjoyed my stay. Rooms are decent and reasonably clean. Only huge negative is there is absolutely no social vibe within the hostel. By this, I don't mean I expected a party hostel. It would just be nice to actually talk to anyone. Everyone just keeps to themselves which I found hard.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your awesome review. I'm pleased to hear that someone has recognised our effort to ensure a quality of customer service. We have tried really hard. Further, I'm sorry to hear that you found there to be a lack of atmosphere. You'll be happy to hear that because of reviews such as yours we are now working towards organising games and activities for our guests to enjoy. I hope this helps and we do hope you choose to come visit with us again. Regards, Aotea RM

63%

The kitchen was probably the worst kitchen we have used up the east coast. Neither of the microwaves worked and the staff member that I told just told me he wasn't an electrician and walked off. It was also very poorly equipped. All but two of the staff members were grumpy and unhelpful. The only good part of the hostel really was the beds and the duvets. I wouldn't stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. It's very unfortunate that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, and for this I apologise. The fact that you had addressed an issue with staff and it was not fixed is not acceptable and I shall communicate this immediately. That behaviour is completely unacceptable. Also, we try our very hardest to keep the communal kitchen stocked. But theft is a huge issue we're yet to overcome. Please accept our apology and we wish you all the best. Regards, Aotea RM

86%

Had a good stay in Airlie beach! The rooms were nice and spacious! A clean once in a while wouldn't go a miss as the floors were always dirty and there were tiny ants on the sides and got into everything. The staff were lovely and were very helpful seeing as we always seemed to be in the reception! We did have mess up with our first room which was annouying as I had pre booked and it seemed that walk ins got our room over us :/ but ANDY on the travel desk in reception was VERY helpful!!! Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, I'm pleased to hear you found the staff friendly. We'd love to have you return. However, we apologise that there was a fault. I can assure you that the staff were not trying to service someone elses needs over yours. It's our procedure to accomodate arrivals as best we can. Further, I shall address the cleanliness with our team. The floors, bins and bathrooms are to be serviced daily. I apologise that they were not. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Regards, Aotea RM

97%

Great place to stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We appreciate the time that it took to respond and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Airlie Beach. We hope you come back to visit us again soon. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

71%

They make you pay for everything. Bag storage, wifi etc. room was v average. Pool/outside area quite nice. Staff were nice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback as it is valuable to us. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed our property, pool and service provided. However, I do apologise that you find it upsetting that there are charges for luggage and wifi. Unfortunately as our provider charges us for access the charges are then incurred to our guests. But for $4 unlimited WIFI for 24 hours. We find that a rather cheap rate in comparison. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

43%

Terrible! This place has the worst customer service of any place I've seen. Many people say the same thing. The kitchen has nothing. Literally nothing.


71%

Staff had were overworked and as a result often rude...this could be helped by not having to deal with inconvenient little extras like cutlery deposits!! exxeption was Jamie on travel desk who went out of his way to ensure i got on a whitsundays cruise-helpful, friendly and informative! LOVED the pool. Hostel lacked atmosphere but overall ok, just not great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you. We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service you received from our Travel Desk Manager Jamie. He is a legend!! Also, I am sorry that you find the cutlery bond inconvenient however, due to theft historically we have had to charge. This is only a bond refunded when returned. Further, my apologies for the service you received from the other staff. We shall look into alternative ways of service thus less overwhelmed. Enjoy your travels! Regards, Aotea RM

69%

Not super friendly.ni ask for a shuttle with the car to the greyhound bus in case they pick someone up, they told me they don't do drop off and the car is broken, but they came there. I don't get the point why they couldn't take me with my heavy bag if they go there anyway and most of all why they lie to me. Very poor service! I was quite angry.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We appreciate your feedback. Unfortunately we only run a pick up service due to 1 driver and vehicle. Given that the run times overlap if we ran both services incoming arrivals would be forced to wait longer times then necessary and that would be unfair. You'll find that most hostels in airlie beach don't even run a pick up let alone a drop off service for their guests so this is a courtesy we extend. I hope this answers your concerns and again sorry. Regards, Aotea RM

60%

Slowest staff on planet earth, kitchen barely useable. Facilities are ok, price is ok. Not the worst place to be but definitely not the best!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you found the staff slow. However, we have recently had a change over and current staff are still in the process of training. As I hope you can understand with all newstarts there are expected delays and waiting times can be a little longer then normal and for this we apologise. I am however, happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities. We wish you well for the rest of your travels. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

83%

WELL IT WOULD BE A FUCKN GOOD IDEA TO TELL AUSTRALIAN BACKPACKERS ONLINE WHEN BOOKING THAT YOU BASE ONLY TAKE INTERNATIONAL BACKPACKERS !!!!!

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Big and well equipped rooms, great value.


86%

Nice hostel, very clean. Not overly noisey as bar is separate from hostel. Most of the noise comes from Nomads next door. Only annoying thing is the wait to do anything at the reception counter. Never enough staff on.


83%

It was a nice hostel, though nothing too special about it. Don't have any complaints either. The rooms were nice and clean, and had a good sleap there. The staff at the travel desk were really helpful. Stayed for another night after my sailing trip. It was quite easy to get to know the other travellers here. Good meal deals for the Down Under Bar. :)




View all Airlie Beach Hostels

Please give us your feedback