X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Airlie Beach Resort Reviews

336 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
380 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

We had a room in block 11. The water pump for the entire block must be broken as every use of shower or sinks made incredible noise. Even if people in other rooms in the block used their water, the noise came out of our sink/pipe. This continuous noise woke us up on a regular basis so we basically had a sleepless night. We won't stay again.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Please accept my apologies for your stay. We have recently been renovating which may have been the cause for the extra noise. Did you make reception aware of this issue? Thank you so much for bringing this to my attention so that I can properly fix this issue with our maintenance team, we'd love to have you back so that you can see how we have improved! Please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Charlotte-Customer Service Manager airliebeach@stayatbase.com

51%

I stayed two nights in two different rooms. The first room was below average and the second room was slightly better. It's a large hostel covering lots of ground and feels more like camp grounds. No free wifi. No lockers in the room. Both bathrooms had a sewage-like smell.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback we do really appreciate all of it! Please accept my apologies that you found the state of the rooms so far below our usual high standard. As we are in a rural area we use Global Gossip as they provide us with a faster internet this does mean we have to charge for WiFi. We do provide free valuable storage in reception for all of our guests sorry this wasnt made aware to you. I hope the rest of your trip is awesome! Base Crew :)

31%

All the facilities are dirty, the beds are very uncomfortable, the showers didn't work in the room. We were told to shower near the kitchen everyday because they weren't going to fix the showers. The staff is so rude, the worst I've encountered traveling. I would never recommend staying here!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, I'm very shocked to see your feedback as this isn't something that usually happens here. I would love for you to email me your full complaint so that I can look into this matter. If you could let me know which room number you stayed in and who you spoke with on reception I would appreciate it. My email address is airliecsm@stayatbase.com. I look forward to hearing from you soon. I hope that you enjoy the rest of your time in OZ! Safe Travels, Charlotte-Customer Service Manager

63%

extra fee for storage room only plates available in kitchen, cutlery and mugs available at front desk good late arrival service

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. There is unfortunately no free storage in Airlie as this is something all people need to use whilst on their trips. We do also take a deposit for cutlery and mugs as we have found that they tend to go missing if left to their own devices! ;) Glad to see you took advantage of our facilities and services whilst here though. Hope you have an awesome time in Australia! Safe Travels! Charlotte- Customer Service Manager

83%

Great location and very clean rooms. Only big issue was the kitchen which people seemed to leave in a tip. Felt sorry for the staff coming in to do the dishes...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback for us (or sympathy) :) I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay! We have 3 cleaners throughout the day cleaning the kitchen area so i'm sorry to hear it was untidy whilst you were here. Please accept my apologies for this as our standards are usually much higher. I'm sure we aren't the only hostel suffering with lazy-backpacker-itis and our cleaners are excellent at whizzing through it all :) Charlotte-Customer Service Manager

83%

Only stayed here one night. Communal room is very small despite the number of guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we welcome it all as its great at showing us where we do well and where we need to improve. We have recently opened up some new beds and so are in the process of updating all of our communal areas, this can take some time unfortunately as we are a 24 hour a day 7 day a week business so i'm very sorry you found us ill-equipped. I hope everything else with your stay was great! Safe Travels! Charlotte- Customer Service Manager

60%

Room was really dirty. Kitchen was bad. It was always too cold there. Waiting in the reception to ask something took ages.. should be more staff there. Location was really good, at the end of the main street but everything was close. Night security was really helpful at 2am when there was a huntsman spider in my room. Nice pool and nice mango trees. If you go on a boat trip, they say you have to pay $6 for luggage storage, but in the kitchen area there are also lockers for $4 which is big enough

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your review of us we appreciate all of these. I'm sorry to hear you found your room dirty, did you make reception aware of this after you checked in? Unfortunately during our peak times it can take longer to speak to our desk, we are constantly improving and updating here so that it doesn't take so long, so please accept my apologies. I would like to know why you thought the kitchen was bad so I have left my email address below I would love some more feedback. Base Team

54%

The worst place I have ever stayed! Avoid at all costs. Was booked in a four bed dorm, was put in a six bed dorm, then an hour or so later two girls arrived and they decided to bring along 8 friends from a previous trip. Had to move to a private room where the air con was light, half the light bulbs didn't work and it was all round scummy. Only positive is the location. Got no apology when I asked to switch. Just got a 'how would you like to pay for that'?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review we really love getting these as it shows where we need to improve and where we are doing well. Im so sorry to hear that you were messed around and moved around so much! Let me apologise on behalf of all of us here for your booking being such a disaster, we can certainly do better and would love to prove this to you! Please dont hesitate to contact us if you are ever back in Airlie. Charlotte- Customer Service Manager

49%

The hostel is not good to meet people, it's too big. Staff isn't really helpfull and the kitchen is way too small for the amount of backpackers staying at the hostel. Other hostels are definetily better! Don't go!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Im sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us and that you found our staff unhelpful as we pride ourselves on knowledgeable and helpful service. Although we are a big hostel, we do also try our best to include all guests in fun while they stay here which is why our bar always has heaps of events on so that everybody can get to know each other. We are working on our facilities as we just expanded but we do have 2 BBQ areas for people to use as well. Kind Regards, Base Team

94%

Great hostel. Would be nice to have some lockers in the rooms, though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback we really appreciate it! Glad you liked our hostel so much, we love it here too! We are slowly updating our accommodation but in the mean time we do provide lockers in the communal kitchen area out the back of reception, We also provide free valuable storage as well :) I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels, if you come back to Airlie I hope you come stay with us again, beers on me! Charlotte- Customer Service Manager Base Airlie Beach Resort

1 2 Next » last »
(30 results)


View all Airlie Beach Hostels

Please give us your feedback