X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Base Airlie Beach Resort Reviews

336 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
271 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

The whole place itself is really nice, pool good and clean looking(didn't use it as the lagoon is amazing and super close) and staff are great and very helpful. But the bathrooms were run down. Also there are no shower curtains so the floor is always wet. Kitchen is a nightmare in the evening as people just don't care and leave their stuff everywhere. Poor girl who had to clean. Other hostels are able to avoid that. Would be nice to have some chairs or so for the outside sitting area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Extending a huge thank you to you for your praise and acknowledgement that although we do try our hardest to keep our communal kitchen clean and tidy. Without the help of those using the facilities they can get out of hand. On another note you'll be pleased to hear that in stages our rooms are being taken off the run and re-sealed/grouted and re-painted. It is a process but we are getting there gradually having been open 3 years. Best wishes to you. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

74%

Staff are fantastic an so helpful. Location is exactly where you need to be. Little walk from the greyhound stop but easy enough. Great atmosphere and n good deals at down under bar. Only downfall is how dirty it is! Bathroom floors pure filth. Kitchen I didnt use as looked grubby. Bit of bleech an a good scrub needed. An regular maintaing the kitchen an this place wpuld be perfect. I stayed pre n post whitsundays trip and felt my room on return was a poorer standard. Even so id stay again!


74%

The shower and sink faucets were constantly dripping. The noise was annoying and it made it feel grungy. The staff were nice enough but learn to smile more! The guy that helps with tours was great. The girls at the desk just seemed annoyed that they were there. Also you could make it easier on everyone by moving the forms you have to fill out somewhere more noticable. We waited in line for almost 20 minutes only to find out we were supposed to fill out those forms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for advising us of changes that could be made for an easier check in. Without feedback such as your own we wouldn't have known otherwise. I do apologise for the leaking taps. Unfortunately, this has been an ongoing issue of ours and we are fully aware of it. But although the taps are maintained and changed accordingly it is a much larger issue we hope to have soon fixed. All the best! Kind Regards, Aotea RM

74%

The rooms were dirty

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately due to skeleton staff it has been harder for our housekeepers to keep up with a high standard. However, this is not an excuse. We do hope that this has not hindered your thoughts on our busy hostel. And hopefully you will be back again sometime to visit us. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

57%

Staff at this hostel are incredibly rude and arrogant.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, I'm sorry to hear that you found the staff anything but satisfactory. This is unacceptable and shall be addressed accordingly. Apart from that how did you find the accomodation and facilities? I hope you enjoy the remainder of your travels! Kind Regards, Aotea RM

1 2 Next » last »
(25 results)


View all Airlie Beach Hostels

Please give us your feedback