X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Airlie Beach Resort Reviews

336 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
369 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

extra fee for storage room only plates available in kitchen, cutlery and mugs available at front desk good late arrival service


83%

Great location and very clean rooms. Only big issue was the kitchen which people seemed to leave in a tip. Felt sorry for the staff coming in to do the dishes...


83%

Only stayed here one night. Communal room is very small despite the number of guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we welcome it all as its great at showing us where we do well and where we need to improve. We have recently opened up some new beds and so are in the process of updating all of our communal areas, this can take some time unfortunately as we are a 24 hour a day 7 day a week business so i'm very sorry you found us ill-equipped. I hope everything else with your stay was great! Safe Travels! Charlotte- Customer Service Manager

60%

Room was really dirty. Kitchen was bad. It was always too cold there. Waiting in the reception to ask something took ages.. should be more staff there. Location was really good, at the end of the main street but everything was close. Night security was really helpful at 2am when there was a huntsman spider in my room. Nice pool and nice mango trees. If you go on a boat trip, they say you have to pay $6 for luggage storage, but in the kitchen area there are also lockers for $4 which is big enough

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your review of us we appreciate all of these. I'm sorry to hear you found your room dirty, did you make reception aware of this after you checked in? Unfortunately during our peak times it can take longer to speak to our desk, we are constantly improving and updating here so that it doesn't take so long, so please accept my apologies. I would like to know why you thought the kitchen was bad so I have left my email address below I would love some more feedback. Base Team

54%

The worst place I have ever stayed! Avoid at all costs. Was booked in a four bed dorm, was put in a six bed dorm, then an hour or so later two girls arrived and they decided to bring along 8 friends from a previous trip. Had to move to a private room where the air con was light, half the light bulbs didn't work and it was all round scummy. Only positive is the location. Got no apology when I asked to switch. Just got a 'how would you like to pay for that'?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review we really love getting these as it shows where we need to improve and where we are doing well. Im so sorry to hear that you were messed around and moved around so much! Let me apologise on behalf of all of us here for your booking being such a disaster, we can certainly do better and would love to prove this to you! Please dont hesitate to contact us if you are ever back in Airlie. Charlotte- Customer Service Manager

49%

The hostel is not good to meet people, it's too big. Staff isn't really helpfull and the kitchen is way too small for the amount of backpackers staying at the hostel. Other hostels are definetily better! Don't go!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Im sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us and that you found our staff unhelpful as we pride ourselves on knowledgeable and helpful service. Although we are a big hostel, we do also try our best to include all guests in fun while they stay here which is why our bar always has heaps of events on so that everybody can get to know each other. We are working on our facilities as we just expanded but we do have 2 BBQ areas for people to use as well. Kind Regards, Base Team

94%

Great hostel. Would be nice to have some lockers in the rooms, though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback we really appreciate it! Glad you liked our hostel so much, we love it here too! We are slowly updating our accommodation but in the mean time we do provide lockers in the communal kitchen area out the back of reception, We also provide free valuable storage as well :) I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels, if you come back to Airlie I hope you come stay with us again, beers on me! Charlotte- Customer Service Manager Base Airlie Beach Resort

89%

air con was broken, shower and stove was not in a good condition.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear you didnt get the chance to enjoy our facilities at their best. Did you let reception know you had problems with your Air Conditioner? I can assure you they would have been happy to help you with this! We are currently in the process of updating our facilities in our communal areas so Im sorry to hear you found them in poor condition. We would love for you to contact us directly so we can look into the issues mentioned Base Team airliebeach@stayatbase.com

100%

Nice accomodation in individual houses. Staff, however, could try to be a little more helpful when asked for information and help..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear you found the staff here unhelpful. We have passed on your comments to all front desk staff and they have taken on board your comments. We love getting reviews so we can see where we need to imrpove and where we do well, customer service is always a work in progress and we do feel we can do better. So glad you enjoyed our Beautiful hostel, we think its pretty great too. There's nothing like waking up in tropical gardens! Charlotte- Customer Service Manager

86%

Great clean hostel in the thick of it all. Big office where you can book tours, pool and stuff and next to a pub. Also a couple of minutes walk from the lagoon. Only negative was no locker in the room where I was.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, good or bad we love to hear what our guests think of their stay here so we can make any improvements necessary. We are currently in the process of updating all of our rooms here and take on board your comments, we do provide luggage storage as well as lockers in our Communal Kitchen area, maybe these options weren't given to you, which I can only apologise for. We hope to see you again in the future! Charlotte- Customer Service

100%

What an awesome hostel to stay at! Massive property and because of the way it is set out you don't get any of the noise from the bustling strip. The staff were awesome and so welcoming, thanks guys! Do not get me started on the duvets, I think my favourite thing was recovering from a very severe hangover in my dorm with the air con blazing snuggled up in the most comfortable duvet I have ever encountered in a hostel. (I am sorry for my lack of energy saving measures taken) but desperate calls.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Hahaha sounds like you appreciated our Bar and our Hostel! Thrilled to hear you enjoyed yourself in Airlie and that you got full use of our amenities here, thats what they're there for after all and I think we can all appreciate an Airlie Beach hangover needs only the best facilities to recover in :) We would love to have you back here in the future so please dont hesitate to look us up again Charlotte- Customer Service Manager

89%

Only bad thing no pickup service from greyhound bus, but it was only a 15 m walk. And there should have been lockers in the rooms or at least shelves at top beds to keep personal belongings.. But overall a nice hostel/camping. Super friendly staff, nice location and clean. Rooms are a short walk from bar so you get a good night sleep aswell.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate these as they show us where we need to improve and where we are doing well. We do now operate a pick up service for the Greyhound and Premier Buses which has been receiving great comments from our guests so thanks for the tip! If you are ever back in the area please dont hesitate to come and see us! Charlotte-Customer Service Manager

100%

Absolutely the best location in Airlie! Right in the heart of it - all staff are incredibly friendly and the down under bar is top notch!!

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Sorry for taking such a long time to reply to your lovely review! We appreciate all reviews good and bad (but mainly the good ones ;) ) We hope you think of us again if you ever come back to Airlie. Kind Regards, Charlotte-Customer Service Manager

1 2 Next » last »
(33 results)


View all Airlie Beach Hostels

Please give us your feedback