X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Airlie Beach Resort Reviews

336 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
321 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

The kitchen was disgusting. No matter what time you came in it was extremely dirty. You had to hire forks and stuff for $5. You had to pay extra for the wifi. The linen were absolutely disgusting. There was dirt on it - looked like blood. And at check out time we should remove only the pillow case. So maybe you sleep in a bed someone slept in before. And there was party all night long. No possibility to sleep - even with earplugs

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Meike, Thanks for your feedback. We try our hardest to keep communal areas clean. Staff clean 7am-1pm / 3pm-10pm. I hope you understand it is also up to fellow travellers to clean after themselves. There is only so much we can do. The $5 is always refunded on return and incurred due to theft. I can also assure you the linen is freshly cleaned. Unfortunately, if other guests are noisy we are not at fault. For this reason a security guard is present after hours to assist. Regards, Aotea RM

71%

I stayed at Base for 4 nights and generally had a good stay. The room was clean as was the kitchen. A little annoying that you have to put down a deposit for plates and cutlery, but am coming to expect this more and more in hostels. My only complaint would be that one of the girls on reception was so unbelievably rude and obviously didn't know how to smile or be happy. Despite this all of the other staff were lovely and so helpful.

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Emma, Thank you very much for your review. We apologise that paying a bond of $5 for a mug and cutlery seems obscene however, we have had to resort to doing this due to theft of our property. It is only a bond and is refunded on return. Further, I apologise on behalf of the employee that seemed to be the only person who did not provide you with the quality service you're entitled too. We do strive to excel in customer service. I hope you enjoy your travels. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

69%

Anybody can come and go into the accommodation area but still need a key to enter the rooms. The staff are overall helpful and the facilities are clean. The place is on par for the Airlie Beach hostel scene.


80%

Different layout to your average hostel. Dorms dotted around. But good value for money none the less.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Jack, Thank you so much for taking time out of your travels to leave us with a review. We're very proud of the layout we have here in Airlie. Bungalows surrounded by gardens and a pool. Not above a busy bar like most others. So we're pleased you enjoyed your stay. If you're ever in the area again please stop in and say hello. We'd love to have you come stay again. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

69%

Base has a lodge type layout which means everything is spread out. No lockers in rooms and lack of plugs in the bedroom. Ours had 4 in the bathroom and 3 in the bedroom. Good location and staff were very helpful. Also has a good coin op laundry.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sam, Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We're truely sorry that we do not have lockers in the room. However, you may be pleased to hear that we have FREE valuable storage in reception. Also, we're looking into purchasing lockers for under the beds in all rooms. It's a work in progress. So thanks again for your feedback. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and visit again someday. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

100%

Stayed at Base Airlie for a total of something like 8 nights and absolutely loved it! Staff were great, bar was great, location was great and I had the absolute best time! Would definitely recommend this to any backpacker 100%!!

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Danielle, Thank you so much for your outstanding review of our property. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, the nightlife and food. Please come visit us again soon Kind Regards, Aotea RM

100%

I really enjoyed my time here! The staff were super friendly, the room was awesome with a toilet and a BATH!! The meals were really cheap and so so good! I can't wait for my next stay here! Highly recommended to anyone going to Airlie Beach!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Crin, Thank you for your friendly review. It's always so enlightening to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and would recommend us to fellow travellers. You're awesome! Please be sure to visit us again sometime. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

83%

Had a perfect stay at Base for my trips too whitsundays islands and the barrier reef. They had thick blankets which I liked for the cooler nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Robbin, Thank you so much for your feedback regarding our hostel. I'm so grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us and the comforts we have to provide. All the best with the remainder of your travels. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

1 2 Next » last »
(28 results)


View all Airlie Beach Hostels

Please give us your feedback