X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Base Airlie Beach Resort Reviews

336 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
241 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Nice place and friendly staff. Although kitchen was really small for a place as big as this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding the communal kitchen. With our hostel still growing there has been discussions regarding opening another camp kitchen. So feedback such as yours helps us in reaching that goal faster. Best wishes for the remainder of your time in Australia. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

80%

Really good hostel but the shover didn't work properly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for Base Airlie Beach. Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have have since had our maintenance crew look at your room 104 and the shower is fixed. It just needs a new shower head. Thanks again with out feed back like yours things like this can be missed. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around Australia & if you ever get the chance to visit again please pop in and say hi. Cheers Kellie | GM

66%

Hostel environment is very nice but the rooms are quite dirty. There was molt on the walls as well as on the airconditioner. But the rooms are spacy, the food is good and nice location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time away from your holiday to respond. I am sorry to hear that the cleanliness of the room was not to standard. However, you may be happy to hear that a lot of the rooms have been taken off the run to re-vamp. Gradually the bathrooms are being re-tiled and walls re-painted which is amazing. I am however pleased to hear that you found the rooms spacious and we hope that you enjoy the rest of your holidays and thanks again Kind Regards, Aotea RM

100%

More a resort than a hostel.. big clean room with own bathroom & helpful friendly staff. Onsite bar offered cheap meals $10 with a pint & live music, great place to mix with the locals and other backpackers stay at XBase and other hostels.

  • 7th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review & better still a fantasic review. I think its the staff that really make a stay at Base and we are blessed at the moment with such amazing staff..so thanks again & I hope you enjoys the rest of your travels. Cheers Kellie | GM

80%

I had a very pleasant stay there. Location is central in Airlie Beach and good if you need to walk to the marina where the cruises to the Whitsundays depart (20 min walk approx). The staff was really nice though a bit understaffed, which made waiting quite long when we wanted to check in/out. We stayed there twice in 2 different rooms, both were nice but in everyone of them taps were leaking! The Down Under Bar related to Base offers some good deals for eating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, this is really important to us and helps us fix any problems we might have. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay & found the staff as friendly as I do (they are what makes the hostel I think) we were a little under staffed when you stayed but have just employed another couple of staff which are both very bubbly. We have since had someone fix the taps in your room. If you get a chance to visit again pop in and say hi. cheers Kellie | GM

100%

This was one of the best hostels i have ever stayed in! It's located on the main street with all the bars, shops and restaurants and just down the street from the marina (which was super convenient because we went sailing--which I also recommend). The bar had great food--we ate there for breakfast and dinner, and had deals for every day! The room had A/C which was fantastic because Airlie gets really humid so it was nice to come back to a cold room and relax. The rooms were also extremely clean!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review Base Airlie & thanks again for such a fantastic you have made my day! get a chance to make it back to Airlie again please pop in and say g'day! Enjoy the rest of your travels around Oz :) Cheers Kellie | GM

100%

Airlie Beach was fantastic! The staff were super helpful and kind. The room was absolutely amazing and the area itself was so relaxing. Great location, and the Down Under Bar was a blast!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us such an amazing review! Its reviews like yours that let me know that we are doing something right :) Glad you had a Blast in Airlie, it's a pretty fun place to live also. if you get a chance to come back again please come and say hello! Enjoy the rest of your travels. Cheers Kellie | GM

83%

Good selection of information available. Good food and drink deals. Excellent towel and toiletry pack.

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave feedback & chosing to stay at Base Airlie. Its makes my day to see good feedback like your..please come back and visit us again if you get a chance & say hello. Cheers Kellie | GM

100%

We stayed here with our friends and didn't want to leave, in the main street with a pool. So much fun!

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your outstanding review. It's always such a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed the time they spent with us. We do hope that you come visit us again soon. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

100%

Merry christmas stay, the hostel staff made me feel like i was part of a big family when i was alone for christmas - THANK YOU. I love this place!

  • 21st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We appreciate the time it took you to provide us with your feedback. And we're pleased that we helped ensure you had a fantastic christmas. We thrive off our extended family here at Base. We hope your New Year has been just as pleasant. Please re-visit again soon. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

94%

Great rooms! Clean and also spread out around the pool and hamicks. Very fun staff, so friendly and helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Excellent... How fantastic to hear that we here at Base Airlie Beach have created such a fun environment for you on your stay. It's always so pleasurable to hear that we've done a great job. Best wishes from your Base family here in Airlie Beach. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

89%

Really nice place. I loved it! Nothing to complain . I was in the special rooms for girls (4beds)! No lockers... thats the only thing

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We have been looking into providing lockers for our rooms. However, in the meantime we do provide FREE storage for valuables in reception. Hope this information assists a future stay. And we hope that you do come back to Base Airlie Beach soon. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

100%

Very friendly staff & rooms have a good size bathroom and clean..great value for money. You get cheaper meals in the bar as a guest.

  • 11th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Cheers! Your feedback has made our day. We're so grateful that you had a satisfying stay with us here in Airlie Beach. We also hope that it will not be your last. Best wishes. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

97%

Big clean room, mine even had a bath. Huge pool even though it is right accross the road from the lagoon. Very friendly and helpful staff...will definatly reconmend to all.

  • 11th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, What a delight to hear you enjoyed your stay, our facilities, and customer service. We do strive to provide a fun atmosphere for our guests during their stay. Here's to hopeing that you have a fabulous new year and Base Airlie Beach will hold fond memories throughout the future. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

100%

Best XBase so far. Great location, friendly staff & party bar.

  • 11th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Come back!!! Enough said... Kind Regards, Aotea RM

66%

Good location, next to main street, clubs and lagoon. Light flashing on/off in room, advised hostel staff and they said it would be fixed. Upon our return later that night it wasn't. Also found shower leaking and broken rap laying on the floor. Also light in the toilet broken. Couldn't use the toilet in the morning as someone must of missed whilst doing a #2 in the dark and the stench was awful!! Decided to wait till I get to another toilet rather than use that one. Good for a bed to sleep on

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thanks for providing us with feedback. Without it we wouldn’t know areas which require improvement. I'm deeply sorry to hear that after reporting maintenance issues they were not followed up accordingly. This is completely unacceptable and will be addressed immediately. Further, unfortunately we have no control over people’s bodily functions but again there should not have been a non-working light in the toilet. My sincerest apologies, Aotea RM

83%

can be quite loud at evenings with people outside the rooms but i went to party so didnt bother me! rooms were spacious and the bar downstairs was a good starting point!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Hannah, Thank you for your feedback. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the facilities and were involved in what Airlie's nightlife has to offer. Please come back and visit us again sometime soon. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

80%

The best Of the best was Jame. Very helpful guy at the front desk. He made our stay there unforgettable. Nice room but a little bit far from the entrance to carry our lugagge. No free internet. Great bathrooms. A little bit noisy. Not the best but very reccomended to stay few nights.


89%

Good location to explore the town

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We appreciate your response and wish you the best with your future travels. Kind Regards, Aotea RM

94%

Really enjoyed the staff at the hostel. Very helpful. Thanks.


1 2 Next » last »
(40 results)


View all Airlie Beach Hostels

Please give us your feedback