X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Base Auckland Reviews

Corner of Queen St and Darby St, Darby Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1246 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Auckland is an odd place. It seems to be mostly people living in hostels while they work. I got put in a room with two old men in their 60s and one had household things with him (kettle, toaster, other weird stuff). They snored all night. It sucked. I asked to change rooms the second night and was told no. The toilets were a bit average, but usable. Ended up moving the second night to the one up on K Road which had a better atmosphere and was a bit smaller. Would not recommend for a solo person


43%

Stayed for 1 night. The guy who checked me in was cranky and not friendly at all. Room had no windows. Would never go back again. Didn't like the atmosphere.


63%

Know you get what you paid for but was surprised the carpet was damaged throughout the floor, from water and wear. The hair dryer also didn't work. The bunkbed ladders were difficult to get up and down due to high side bar.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Good party hostel for a weekend getaway. Right next to the sky tower, so location is perfect. I wouldn't mind the room to have a window to enjoy the view though:)


100%

Great staff at the check in desk.Room was great for the cost,comfortable bed and really nice shower, couldn't ask for anything more! Will happily come back again.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Big hostel with three bars and nice staff. Located in central Auckland close to the harbour, Mission Bay and Mount Eden. The rooms are big enough and clean. Sometimes the air condition is to loud. All in all a good hostel for the price.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The room had no windows and was really noisy beacause there is a disco just under the hostel. You could her the music clearly even at 3 am. I would not recomend it at all.


80%

Great place. Central to Auckland. Very thin walls though so its best to avoid being next to a dorm if you're in a double bed room.


94%

The best localization of the city. Good Atmosphere! I recommend it.


86%

Great Stuff, Nice and safe environment, I liked the kitchen most, people hang around there cook and chit chat, excellent place to meet people. One thing I didn't like about the hotel is that they do not allow children that means they do not allow family. They could have had some family rooms.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Central location: good for a quick overnight, not for long term. Staff was helpful but understaffed. Nothing too exciting about this place but will do if you just need a bed.


71%

Good location in Auckland City.. Good job

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Alright, but not great, as requires some improvements: no hot water for 2 days, no window in the room, mattress and pillow as thick as toilet paper, pans and pots without handles, no clean tea towels....


51%

They said Internet was included but when I arrived I had to pay 12NZD for a having Internet for a week. The kitchen was terrible. Many people said their stuff was stolen from the kitchen. I found a pizza and pieces of onion from a BBQ that took place the day before on the 6th floor. Please don't stay here more than 2 nights.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Just your standard hostel chain, nothing special and everyone miserable


60%

TERRIBLE mattresses, pillows are so thin you can not even call them pillows. Have to pay EXTRA for internet, for towels, for breakfast. Basically for everything!! Location is good, but there are so many other hostels in the center for a better price, better atmosphere and way better facilities. Also 20 dollar key deposit for a pass that you have to carry around all the time. It is all really annoying and I don't recommend this hostel!


86%

Internet and breakfast not included.


80%

Great hostel appart from the smelly kitchen!

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Central airconditioning made it freezing cold, even in our private room. We asked for it to be turned off, but there was nothing the staff could do except give us an other blanket.

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

There's nothing bad about Base. It's your standard large hostel. Has most facilities you could need and at a reasonable price. It's slap bang in the middle of Queens Road so you're close to everything.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback