Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Auckland

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 2166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 2166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Schittlauch
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
20th Sep 2017
6.3

The hostel has nice staff, a nice location but NO FREE WIFI. Seriously, calling wifi that is slower than Wifi I had in freaking Bolivia AND HAVING IT only run from 8:00 until 19:00 is just a joke. It's a joke, a bad one that is. Beds are meh, if you get the free breakfast included with Hostelworld, that is pretty good. Location is right in the center. Atmosphere is the anonymity of a big hostel, has 2 bars attached though. Bathrooms should be cleaned more often.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2017
6.3

The key card system only worked about 10% of the time, which was annoying as it was the only way to get to your floor. The beds, toilets and bathrooms etc were not as clean as other hostels I've stayed in. The staff were OK but not as friendly and welcoming as I'd like. The hostel was very noisy as there is so many people staying. The kitchen facilities were poor. Many things missing or broken, not very clean and not enough space for everyone to keep their food. Overall, would not recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2017
8.3

Only drawbacks are the club Habana Joe's downstairs blasting music until 4am. That really sucked and caused me to lose heaps of sleep. Room was very warm with little ventilation but I got an upgrade to a 4 person room from a 6 person room for free. That's was cool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2017
10.0

The best hostel really lovely staff feels like home the staff go above and beyond location is awesome recommend to everyone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2017
8.0

Overall ok probably biggest/best in the area, can't fault the staff or location however the facilities need an upgrade, 3 lifts pretty much 2 out of 3 were broke constantly and we were there a week so had to wait a lifetime for them. The toilets and showers are grim (compared to the ones downstairs) and the kitchen is a nightmare but this mainly because people are to lazy to clean up after themselves so your having to wash other peoples stuff before you can use it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2017
4.9

Place was very dirty and had a cold damp atmosphere. Corridors smelt. Rooms were very basic and I didn't feel like I had value for money. However staff were very friendly and it's a good location in the centre.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Base Auckland. We really appreciate all the comments we receive. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Regards, Sam

  • jamiejoana
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Sep 2017
5.7

Staff was very friendly. But there was a really impersonal atmosphere. If you like to party all night, it might be for you. It was not really clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Base Auckland. We really appreciate all the comments we receive. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Regards, Sam

  • Anonymous
  • Antarctica, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Sep 2017
4.6

Each year it gets worse! Its a party hostel ok, but not for that had to be left to drift. Facilities need maintenance, half of the kitchen was closed for a flood coming from the roof. Rooms are just a noisy bed and 2 plugs. The lovely girl in the reception should be working in a better place. Oh and the FREE WIFI is a lie! 6nzd per day if you need to conect. HOSTEL TO BE USE JUST IN CASE OF EMERGENCY

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2017
6.6

We stayed on the 6th floor which is the same floor as the rooftop bar and it only had one toilet. Once the bar opened the whole floor was filled with smoke. the room it self was clean and the staff were friendly

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2017
9.4

Pretty central. You'll be pretty surprised at how central it is. Its a big hostel so you can expect most of the facilities you need short or long haul. Free travel desk, gym, massive well stocked kitchen and trendy lounge, the list keeps on! not the cheapest but maybe for auckland. the room I was staying in was good size and clean. Happening spots nearby if you're up for a night out. Guess kinda caters to needs of most kinds of backpackers. Totally recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Base Auckland. Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. All the best for your future travels . Regards, Sam

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×