Hostelworld.com

Base Auckland

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 1,635 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 1,635 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.0
Base Auckland Located at Corner of Queen St and Darby St, Darby Street, Auckland.
Base Auckland
New Zealand
Auckland 1010 Corner of Queen St and Darby St, Darby Street
68% 1635
-36.8497838 174.7645854
Base Auckland
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th May 2016
8.3

Great location! The staff were amazing! Super friendly and extremely helpful! Special mention to Andrew for all his help! Showers could have been better but at the same time they weren't the worst I've used. Am currently staying at one of their other hostels as I think they are a great hostel chain. Definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
8.3

Great location close to everything . Only thing is that we had some foreigners intrude in our room at 5am demanding alcohol luckily our last night other wise I would feel extremely uneasy . Price was average . Really good sized rooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
6.6

I stayed at Base for 4 nights while attending to the Black Sabbath and Iron Maiden concerts, I didn't care for quality to be honest. Tha location is unbeatable, right in the middle of the action. I knew what I had coming, paper thin walls, drunk teenagers, and noise. ALL there. no surprises. The hostel was big and well equiped, the bed was reasonably comfortable, and the toilets were clean, you can't get any better for the cost.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.0

Got in at 2am and was helped to find my room and bed. Lovely people in room, very considerate and friendly. Comfy beds, clean bedding and room in general. Staff helpful with directions. Lovely couple of nights in this hostel, would definitely return for a few more but not long term.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
4.9

Reception staff were very rude and not helpful at all. I only arrived into New Zealand and was expecting it to bit more welcoming. The room was filthy, needs new carpet, ladder was at the end of bed rather than the side which I felt was dangerous. Lacked power sockets in the kitchen if you wanted to eat and charge devices you had to sit by travel desk. Big let down compared Base in Australia, I will not be using Base in NZ if and where possible.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2016
7.1

Great location, enough facilities but you have to pay for most of them and okay staff. Right in downtown though, which is the best part of staying here

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2016
7.7

The hostel was pretty clean and had lots of facilities and is also situated in a good location. One downside I found was that the staff were quite rude and a lot of the people staying there are living there permanently whilst working and because of that are probably so used to people coming an going that they are not fussed about making new friends. The hostel is huge and sleeps about 500 people and without a main chill out common area it can make it difficult to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
6.6

Staff can always improve by being more genuine accessible and more knowledgeable and friendlier. Due to the it's location, this place charges a bit more for one to stay there. Not the cleanest place but it wasn't that bad.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • kathryndugdale
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
8th Apr 2016
8.0

Basic hostel, good locations, bathrooms could be cleaner

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Apr 2016
7.7

I was actually pretty surprised that it was good after reading all the reviews. I didn't have any problem at all. I didn't use the kitchen so can't talk about that. But I think the rooms were clean, so as well the toilets and shower. I would stay again (which I did two days after again).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.