X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Auckland Reviews

Corner of Queen St and Darby St, Darby Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1291 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

I found this hostel to have no atmosphere whatsoever. The staff were very hostile and not welcoming. I was still charged the full amount for a room which was confirmed as cancelled with just a loss of deposit. The place seems extremely unorganised, especially the reception desk, luggage storage and kitchen, and I would not recommend Base Auckland to any fellow travellers


54%

Check in staff incompetent. Slow. Put me in wrong room. Queue up to complain. Then put me in room with no free bed. No atmosphere here at all. Only stay here if everywhere else is full...

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Staff is nice, our room wasn't good because it had no windows so it was really hot and claustrophobic. The bathroom on our floor was flooded and really small, not a lot of space for 5 girls to get ready. I've stayed here and at Nomads in the city and I have to say id go to Nomads next time as the facilities were a lot better and price was better! I paid $20 deposit only to be told that wasn't included in the final price of the room so had to pay $48 plus $20 for the key to our room. GO TO NOMADS

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel was ok but it lacked character and had a lot of recent graduates staying so it was more for students than travelers wishing to meet fun new people. The hostel staff where also a little brash, perhaps this was because seemed very over worked. This meant the serivce could have been better at times.


57%

Bad equipped and dirty kitchen. Most of the stuff isnt working properly.

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Room was a bit claustrophobic with no windows


91%

Was really lovely, thanks for the great nights sleep.

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great fun!


74%

Sleeping in a room without any windows feels a bit like sleeping in a closet.. there was space though, and it was not cold, so that was good. Toilets and showers would need a bit of refreshing I think. Only stayed for a night.


100%

This is the best hostel in town! Staff are so friendly and its central location is perfect! Can't wait to go back!


71%

I booked on hostelworld.com and later tried to change my booking (which hostelworld states i could do up to 24hours prior). When I called Base to change the booking i was told I had to give 48hours notice. Hostelworld.com are therefore advertising and selling a service that Base do not provide. Big lines at the reception every time i went there too.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Extra important info: -You need an elevator pass to use the elevator but don't need to go via reception which is great if you have your own room and want to bring a friend up -There's an alcohol ban in the hostel (including rooms). Which means no common areas to just relax, drink and socialise. Your only option is the underground club below the hostel (loud) -REALLY slow check in -Wifi $4 day/$12 week -$20 deposit on EACH roomkey Was great but would try dif hostel for better atmosphere

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

This hostel should have more staff as there were around 20 customers every time I need assistance.


71%

Be friendlier!!!

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

Nothing in the kitchen works. Security doors don't work and I found a homeless man just walking about the floor once. Told the staff and they didn't do anything about it. The rooms are tiny and just filled with as many bunk beds as they can get in. Staff are unfriendly and not willing to help. They leave u to it and expect to find everything out for yourself. Had to ask where the kitchen, bathrooms, everything was. For the price they could do better.


94%

It was a bit noicy from the bar above in the night - and some fresh air in the room was needed, since it didn't have any windows and the guys had been staying in there for several weeks, which made the air a bit tight. But apart from that it was good.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Although, I've been at the ACB one night, I spent an awesome time. Very good people, the staff very friendly, comfortable facilities and a great location. I highly recommend it guys!

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The kitchen is horrific (not enough stoves, dishes, tables, room in the fridge etc.), the matraze had holes, the beds were really unstable, rooms are either freezing cold or boiling hot, there are some really weird people in the Hostel (Long termers) And some idiot stole my charger including adapter.


60%

Expect if you ever need reception to wait at least 20 minutes. Slowest service ever. Atmosphere is very dry and sterile here. The only hostel I've stayed at that requires a 50$ bond before your stay along with a key deposit. Location is good right in the middle of the city.


66%

Good place to stay...so long as you aren't in what's called 'the strand' which is a horrible place with garanteed noise all night long. The kitchen facilities are great so long as you get one of the working hobs. There's also what could be described as the resident dj (although isn't actually) who persists on hanging in the kitchen and playing snippets of loud RnB music and nothing more. Other than this, yeah it's a great place to stay.


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback