Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Auckland

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 2089 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 2089 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2017
5.1

Toilets were sooo dirty, especially the showers. The elevators were obnoxious, the whole place had a weird vibe. They had all the kitchen/laundry stuff you'd need, and the beds were decent. One staff member was friendly, but mislead me in Skybus information. I almost missed it. It's also a dodgy place of town. It works on a pinch though. Not the worst place ever

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
9.7

Great location. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Free WiFi until 7pm (available in rooms too!) Big hostel but seemed quaint.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Base Auckland. Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. All the best for your future travels . Regards, Sam

11th Jul 2017
5.1

Although the staff was very friendly, the overall facilities were less than adequate. The sheets were gross and dirty (looked uncleaned). The elevators were all broken except one so that left us waiting forever to get up to our floor. Would not recommend to anyone. Stay elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Jul 2017
8.0

Base hostel in Auckland is a lot nice than the ones I had stayed in Australia. Nice large Kitchen area. But only had one lift working when i stayed and could only use the stairs to go down to the ground floor. Stay on level 6 which only had one shower in the men's working. But overall a good hostel with a nice bed and comfy pillow.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate all the comment we receive. Sorry to hear our lifts were playing up when you was here. We are working on the issue to stop this from happening. All the best. Regards, Sam

8th Jul 2017
4.3

Has to be one of the worst sleeping experiences of my life. Firstly, the room looked like a crack den, no sign of cleaning to be done with the floor matted with dirt and chewing gum, the windows were severely cracked. Furthermore, it seemed fitting that you can feel the 'base' of the club next door shuddering through your evermore despondent body. I also seemed to be sharing a bed with unwanted guests as I awoke to find myself covered in bites; at least we know they weren't from the cleaners...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
4.3

Good location but poor facilities. Showers are dirty, some rooms have no natural light (which they classed as an 'upgrade') and they charged $6 a day for WIFI which is daylight robbery. Housekeeping came in before the check out time of 10am to start cleaning on the 10th floor.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
8.0

Great location, friendly staff, good facilities!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Base Auckland. Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. All the best for your future travels and hope to see you at a base hostel again soon. Thanks, Sam

  • felpssouza1
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2017
10.0

It was really good to stay in Base Auckland, good location , happy staf , and very safety, I hope can back to Base Auckland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Base Auckland. Its great to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I wish you all the best with your travels and we hope to see you at base again sometime soon. Regards, Sam

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Jun 2017
7.4

Lack of free wifi in this day and age is poor. Toilet and bathroom facilities could do with being cleaner and hostel in general needs a refurb. Not the best hostel I've ever stayed in but is fine. Location excellent and staff helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Base Auckland. We really appreciate all the comments we receive. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Regards, Sam

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
7.7

Generally good but awful showers let it down. For such a massive hostel I do find it annoying how much they charge for wifi and the staff were not actually forthcoming about free wifi being in the lobby

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Base Auckland. We really do appreciate all the comments we receive. I'm sorry to hear that the shower where what let your stay down. I have passed on your comments on to our housekeeping department. All the best with your future travels. Regards, Sam

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.