X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Auckland Reviews

Corner of Queen St and Darby St, Darby Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1271 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Big hostel with three bars and nice staff. Located in central Auckland close to the harbour, Mission Bay and Mount Eden. The rooms are big enough and clean. Sometimes the air condition is to loud. All in all a good hostel for the price.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The room had no windows and was really noisy beacause there is a disco just under the hostel. You could her the music clearly even at 3 am. I would not recomend it at all.


80%

Great place. Central to Auckland. Very thin walls though so its best to avoid being next to a dorm if you're in a double bed room.


94%

The best localization of the city. Good Atmosphere! I recommend it.


86%

Great Stuff, Nice and safe environment, I liked the kitchen most, people hang around there cook and chit chat, excellent place to meet people. One thing I didn't like about the hotel is that they do not allow children that means they do not allow family. They could have had some family rooms.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Central location: good for a quick overnight, not for long term. Staff was helpful but understaffed. Nothing too exciting about this place but will do if you just need a bed.


71%

Good location in Auckland City.. Good job

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Alright, but not great, as requires some improvements: no hot water for 2 days, no window in the room, mattress and pillow as thick as toilet paper, pans and pots without handles, no clean tea towels....


51%

They said Internet was included but when I arrived I had to pay 12NZD for a having Internet for a week. The kitchen was terrible. Many people said their stuff was stolen from the kitchen. I found a pizza and pieces of onion from a BBQ that took place the day before on the 6th floor. Please don't stay here more than 2 nights.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Just your standard hostel chain, nothing special and everyone miserable


60%

TERRIBLE mattresses, pillows are so thin you can not even call them pillows. Have to pay EXTRA for internet, for towels, for breakfast. Basically for everything!! Location is good, but there are so many other hostels in the center for a better price, better atmosphere and way better facilities. Also 20 dollar key deposit for a pass that you have to carry around all the time. It is all really annoying and I don't recommend this hostel!


86%

Internet and breakfast not included.


80%

Great hostel appart from the smelly kitchen!

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Central airconditioning made it freezing cold, even in our private room. We asked for it to be turned off, but there was nothing the staff could do except give us an other blanket.

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

There's nothing bad about Base. It's your standard large hostel. Has most facilities you could need and at a reasonable price. It's slap bang in the middle of Queens Road so you're close to everything.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Kitchen and dining area is dirty. Very few showers. There was only 1 shower cubicle for men available on the whole floor. Toilets were dirty and water dripping through the ceiling. Room was fine and location is good.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

The best hostel I've stayed in Auckland! 24h reception, huge kitchen, clean toilets with great showers, big spacious living room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Pedro, Thanks for the feedback, I will make sure that our team read your comments!11111111111111111111111

86%

The location is really good for centre of town, view of the sky tower as you step out the main door. Stayed in the girls sanctuary form which was nice and quiet but only two toilets for whole floor and the showers were very basic so bathroom facilities could be better. You have to pay for wifi. No security lockers. Common rooms areas are good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Victoria, thanks for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We actually have security lockers underneath each bed - ones that you can put your own padlock through (or we have padlocks for sale at reception if you need them). I hope you enjoy your travels, and we see you again at some point. Kind Regards, Amanda

100%

The hostel is on a perfect spot in the city, reception very friendly and helpful, rooms clean and tidy. Had a great time at base.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review Lizette, hopefully we will see you again soon.

40%

The entire place was absolutely filthy, the room had no windows, panels were falling off the ceiling and for some reason there was a fridge in the room which was full of rotting food - not sure when it was last cleaned out. We took one look in the kitchen and decided that neither of us could bare to cook anything.


(804 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback