X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Base Auckland Reviews

Corner of Queen St and Darby St, Darby Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1184 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The hostel is on a perfect spot in the city, reception very friendly and helpful, rooms clean and tidy. Had a great time at base.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Enjoyed my stay in this hostel. Made good friends with the girls in my room. The staff at the travel desk was really helpful, thanks Nikkie! The rooms were nice and clean. The showers were a dissapointment though, only one of three was working and not very well. Other than that, everything was good.


63%

Estuvo bien pero es muy caro para tener que compartir con otras tres personas. La habitacion es muy oscura y pequeña, a las 9 am con las luces apagadas parecen las 3 am porque no le entra luz por ningun lado. Es demasiado pequeño y la mayoria de gente necesita tener sus maletas a la mano lo cual lo hace un poco mas incomodo de lo normal.

  • 16th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

War ok , perfekte Lage , besonders gut ist dir bar , perfekt um Leute kennenzulernen


71%

No windows in the rooms..feels like a prison!


94%

For what you pay this place is great! Toilets and showers could do with a deep clean but overall very happy to stay here! Fantastic location for all your Auckland needs! I'd suggest paying the $2 to spin the lucky wheel too....Everyone is a winner!

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

nous etions dans une chambre individuelle. L’insonorisation entre les chambres ne sont pas top mais sinon le reste va. Les receptionnistes n etaient pas forcement tres souriants mais ce backpack est une usine et ce n est pas forcement evident pour eux d aider tout le monde! Par contre il est tres complet: agence de voyage, bureau d aide a l emploi, cafe...

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Staff weren't the friendliest and there was a queue when checking which isn't a problem when the people at the desk call the next person in the queue when there free, this wasn't done and was upto the guests to approach them


97%

love the place and the ambiance


100%

Excellent Hostel - the best I have been to in Nz so far. Staff were very helpful and friendly - check in was quick and easy. The room was extremely tidy and clean with everything I needed. Great value for money. I will definitely be staying with Base Hostels for the rest of my 3 month trip in Nz! Highly reccomend!

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Had a lovely stay at Base Auckland and would definitely recommend. Kitchen is large but not really enough seats or tables. Staff were friendly and helpful!

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Stayed in 4 bed mixed, had a mini fridge and no windows, was ok for 2 night stay, but might get claustrophobic for longer stays. Key card didn't work the 2nd day (couldn't use elevator to get to room) so had to wait in line for 30+ mins to get it reactivated! Need better wait system so people don't cut in line. Would be great if there were more hangers in the showers. Didn't use the kitchen, mall on queen street had great/ cheap food options.


80%

Great localization and good atmosphere, but the bathrooms should be better.

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

To stay at the base, it is quite nice, to work there for accommodation, I wouldn't. They actually asked me to fill this out and score them 100% as a part of the process of me being hired.. So the ratings might not be too accurate. Didn't enjoy most of my time there, lets just leave it at that.

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Facilities were cleaned only with some dry clo and des infecting spray, Disgusting. Toilet floors haven't been cleaned with a wet mob, water and soap for months probably. When I told my concern to staff, they sent somebody immediately, but those persons didn't even have a mob with them. When I showed the cleaning staff what I meant and that they should use some wate for the floor, they told me they can't see anything dirty... I'm traveling for more than 15 yrs and haven't seen sth that dirty!!!

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great for what I needed. It was good how there were signs up advising to keep the noise down after 10pm for early risers. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Bathrooms and room were clean.

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Biggest annoyances were the elevators (always a wait even with 3 and no stairs option), the long wait at reception


60%

it was dirty, the room had no window, there were very cheesy shoes standing around on the corridor all the time of the stay (is there no cleaning-stuff around?) the room had no window and the aircondition was not regulatable... they have a huge wonderful kitchen, but it was so dirty, that i couldn't use it... no clean plates, pots or anything. food on the walls and on the floor. shroom-fridge was interesting to watch growing, but not save to open... smelly! i would never go there again!


54%

A small stinky room with no windows and bad aircon. Toilets and showers - with the amount of people staying should be cleaned and fixed more regularly. Clean and white sheets though - that's a plus!


91%

Staff very frienly,quite lenient on my group, cleaners were very good.

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(63 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback