Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Bay of Islands

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 132 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 132 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Mar 2017
4.9

Kiwi Experience - a nightmare. Crowds of young, indifferent people are arriving every day at this hostel, ruining the atmosphere. It is unfortunately not a nice atmosphere. If you can avoid places where you see the green bus from kiwi experience.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We do have Kiwi Experience staying at our hostel which brings great mix of nationalities and faces to our hostel. We do have a great social vibe so sorry to hear you did not experience that We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels Base Pipi Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Mar 2017
7.1

Great location, party hostel. Each dorm fitted with its own bathroom and basic kitchen facilities. Wifi from 7am to 7pm only and very poor quality and only works in the common room (though there is an option to pay for extra wifi). Lack of sockets in the bedrooms for charging.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
7.7

Wifi was really slow, and they turned it off at 7. The plugs in the room were all in the lockers at the back of the room. Very small kitchen for a hostel this size. However I found it very easy to make friends here, and had a good atmosphere at night. Although the bar became one in one out at 10pm so you had to queue to get into your own hostel bar

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. In the room you have stayed in we have recently had lockers installed which contain 2 plugs so you can secure your belongings and charge them at the same time. Glad you enjoyed our bar. Its is one of the highlights for many of our visitors. Its is a popular spot so its advisable to get in early to avoid queuing We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels Base Pipi Patch Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
8.9

Nice hostel - close to everything. Beach at the end of the road and town a 5 min walk. Decent BBQ offer on first night and bar has good atmosphere but can get a little noisy especially if you want an early night. We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom and small kitchette with 2 other rooms. Had TV in room and supplied towels (yay!), toilettries and earplugs which was a nice touch. Kitchen decent but was a bit messy when I used it. Nice area outside to sit and eat as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Jan 2017
8.3

Had a double room here for one night. Room was a little dated but the bed was comfy and the facilities were good. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for taking your time to leave feedback. We are currently updating our private rooms so hope to see you back again to see the updates Great to hear your enjoyed your stay. Enjoy the rest of your time in NZ Base Pipi Patch Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
4.9

No plugs or lamps in bedrooms No security on gate Broken shower door

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for your review. I am un-sure what room you stayed in as we have plugs and lights in all our bedrooms. We have an on-site 24hr security guard and 2 security guards onsite for our bar between 10pm and 1.30am every night - they are not always on our gate but can always be found on the property for any queries We hope you enjoyed your stay here Base Pipi Patch Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
4.0

The cleaning crew took some of my belongings because they thought I checked out, while I had extended my stay. When I checked out the day after and asked about it, they suggested I wait for the cleaning crew to arrive. I didnt want to wait, so this issue remained unsolved...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. I am unaware of this situation but here at the Pipi Patch we do our very best to ensure all belongings that are left behind are reunited with their owners. Sometimes we can not immediately assist if our housekeeping team are not present as they record the lost properly I hope you have been in touch since to resolve and get your item back Kind regards Sinead Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
8.3

The kitchen was fully equipped, quite messy and didn't smell great but that was after a full day of use, the next morning it was nice and clean and tidy. Room was pretty messy with loads of left over food from previous guests, there were ants on the surfaces. Was fine if you don't use the kitchenette in the room. Bathroom was OK and bedding was clean. Great location 5 minute walk from the centre of Pahia and only 2 minutes to the beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
8.3

Overall pleasant stay, however the mattresses were a bit uncomfortable because you could easily feel all the springs. Great staff, helped my friend and I book tours and give tips for around town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Oct 2016
9.4

Really good place to stay! Amazing staff that was very helpful for our next journey. Free wifi that was a little slow and the kitchen is not well equipped. Cool little pool and spa to chill in after kayaking or other activities in the hot sun! I recommend it for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.