X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Brisbane - Central Reviews

308 Edward Street, Brisbane, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
908 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

It was very grim and basic. However i was lucky to be in a good room full of great people so I didn't mind because I had a great time. Nice location, noisy but from the bar. Loved the bar expect for the bouncers who were very heavy handed on a young female. The showers were discusting. Some staff were lovely whilst others less so.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Charlotte, thank-you for leaving a review for Base Central. We do offer free ear plugs to any guests that have trouble sleeping from the bar, luckily most people don't seem to be affected by it. All of the bouncers that work for our bars undergo extensive training to deal with any issues that may arise. We hope you enjoy your travels!

71%

BASE CENTRAL IS A MASSIVE HOSTEL, TONS OF TOUR AND JOB OPTIONS, LOCATED AT THE HEART OF THE CITY, WOOLWORTHS IS VERY CLOSE, LARGE KITCHEN, HAS A BAR DOWNSTAIRS, NO HANG OUT AREA. MORE OF A PLACE TO LIVE CHEAP IF YOURE WORKING IN BRISBANE.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Henrique, thank-you for leaving a review! We are currently in the process of creating a larger hang out area for our guests. We hope you stay with us again so you can see it! Enjoy your travels!

60%

It's cheap and you get privacy in a single room. That's about it. I stayed one night while attending a conference. Slept on the fourth floor, well, slept, tried to sleep. Very noisy and very drunk people on the floor, and when that died down, there was the music from the bar down at the hostel, who apparently have a 5am license to make enough bass noise tovibrate me out of my bed. If that's your thing and if you don't plan on sleeping anyway, I guess it may be lots of fun.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Bouke, Thanks so much for leaving a review. I apologise about the loud music coming from the bar underneath the hostel, we do try to address this by giving out free ear plugs to any guests that have trouble sleeping. There is a receptionist that does hourly walks around the hostel to avoid any noise in the hall ways. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you would like to discuss your experience further.

80%

The kitchen is really small for all the people in the hostel. The atmosphere is nice. The bar downstairs is always full...if you are looking for a calm place to stay, I will not suggest this hostel!


54%

Kitchen and dinning area are very small and ill equipped for a 5 story hostel. Very much a party hostel, there are signs saying no alcohol in the room, but every room we saw had bottles and boxes littering the floor as well as ppl drinking in the rooms. The staff don't seem to know what they are doing. They had a hard time finding reservations in the system and couldn't keep track of what beds in the room were suppose to be empty.


97%

I enjoyed my stay at this place, can only recommend to others. Cool!

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review Base Central Brisbane. Were glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Safe travels from the Base Central crew.

77%

It was often seen the lift use to get stuck on 3rd and 4th floor because the door of the lift was malfunctioning properly due to which guest need to use the staircase to goup . Regds Nitesh

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

EXCELLENT location - EXCELLENT staff (very friendly and energetic) - EXCELLENT Value for money The main problem I had was with the SWIPE KEY - it would not work (reliably) for me with the ladies wc/bathroom - which meant I had to walk a long way (downstairs) to use these facilities. I brought it to the attention of one of the reception staff, and they checked the card and reloaded(?) it, but it was still unreliable for use with the wc/bathroom facilities at level 4.

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and let us know your thoughts on the hostel this information is invaluable so we can make improvements to the hostel. It's great to read you found our staff's service and help excellent. We have fixed the card reader on the bathroom. Thanks again safe travels from the base Brisbane crew.

69%

The atmosphere is poor because even if there's an awesome rooftop terrace, it is forbidden to smoke there, so all people basically gather in the street besides the hostel =/ It is also forbidden to drink anywhere in the hostel, so that there is virtually no atmosphere. The hostel is incredibly NOISY due to extremely powerful ventilation systems that buzz like hell the whole time. If you pick a private room, be prepared ! The staff is friendly. All in all, just an average hostel

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

It's Base.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We hope you enjoyed your stay at Base Central. Travel safe. Base Brisbane Central.

80%

The continuos broken showers were a bit off putting, but don't know how to stop that

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review Base Central. We were working on a shower room during your stay this work has finished, we do apologize for the inconvenience this caused. Safe travels from the Base Central Crew.

51%

No alcohol allowed, almost no plugs in the room, bad beds making a lot of noise, no air conditioning and impossible to open the window, impolite staff The bar and the location are good, but it doesn't worth the money.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we take all of our guest’s feedback negative or positive on board so that we can make any necessary improvements and improve our service for our guests. I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at Base Central. The hostel is a licensed premises so it is against the law to allow alcohol upstairs. We have addressed the issue of power points in the rooms where there were not enough. It's good to read you enjoyed the bar.

54%

The room itself was clean but on arrival the corridors were filthy and there was a foul smell throughout the 2 night stay. The corridor ceilings were leaking with buckets to collect the dripping water everywhere. The hostel itself really needs a lick of paint as I expected it to be up to the standard of other Base hostels which I have otherwise always found to be very good! Very disappointed with the state of the hostel. The reception staff were also not very friendly or helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we take all of our guest’s feedback negative or positive on board so that we can make any necessary improvements and improve our service for our guests. At the time of your stay Brisbane had a severe weather storm we were able to fix all the area's were water had leaked. You will be glad to hear that the hostel is being painted. Safe travels from the Base Brisbane Crew.

49%

Beautiful building from the outside, complete dump on the inside. It was raining while we were there (standard for Queensland) and they had to cope by putting buckets and towels in the hallways to deal with the leaks. The toilets were constantly dirty and half the showers were broken. Save yourself the pain and misery and go elsewhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we take all of our guest’s feedback negative or positive on board so that we can make any necessary improvements and improve our service for our guests. We would like you to know we are going through major refurbishments including the bathrooms and showers and the leak we had has been fixed. Safe travels from the Base Central Team.

71%

The location is fantastic for a backpacker but every corner you turn there is water dripping from the ceiling. I can tell that if they don't sort that out then they won't pass safety and cleanliness regulations.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking time to leave feedback. The aftermath from the storm that hit Brisbane was felt everywhere. Were glad to say our maintenance team has fixed any issues. Our location is very handy, making it easy to navigate and get to know Brisbane. Safe travels from the Base Central Team.

31%

Just bad.. Very bad...


77%

Clean but really hot room without airconditioning. Very close to all highlights


57%

I would not stay there again. First room was completely filthy and had no air-conditioning. Luckily we could change rooms and the second one had a ceiling fan at least. It smelled like vomid everywhere. The kitchen was a big dirty mess. If you wanted to cook or use something you have to wash it first. Rooms on lower levels heard the party noise from the bar downstairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we take all of our guest’s feedback on board so that we can make any necessary improvements and improve our service. Firstly we are going through major changes, it's great to hear reception fixed you up with a new room; the housekeeping manager has been made aware of your comments and is fixing these issues. The kitchen is cleaned 5 times a day unfortunately some guests don't no how to wash up after themselves. Safe travels.

63%

This hostel is really well located. It is a huge hostel. A lot of young people. You need to pay for the wifi. The kitchen was REALLY dirty. I was afraid just to boil water. The washroom was soaked under water. The temperature in the room was nice. There is a lot of activities planned by the hostel. The staff make very loud announcement on the intercom even when I was sleeping. I do not recommend for someone who wants a quiet place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we take all of our guest’s feedback on board so that we can make any necessary improvements. Were glad you took advantage of the activities provide by the hostel. The kitchen is cleaned 5 times a day unfortunately some guests don't no how to wash up after themselves. The hostel has a party atmosphere and we can also arrange a peaceful night sleep. Safe travels.

80%

Another good hostel.The downunder bar downstairs have quite expensive drinks for a backpackers.I went down the street and got drinks for half the price.Generally though a very good hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Were glad you enjoyed your stay. The Down Under Bar gives all in house guests 20% off food and drinks when your room key is shown. Safe travels from the Base Central Crew.



View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback