Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Base Brisbane - Central

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,120 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,120 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.5
Base Brisbane - Central Located at 308 Edward Street, , Brisbane.
Base Brisbane - Central
Australia
Brisbane Queensland 4000 308 Edward Street
74% 1120
-27.4671932 153.0254101
Base Brisbane - Central
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
6.9

The rooms are noisy

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
4.9

Staff did not seem to have a clue. At check in they have me someone else's bank card after I'd paid for the room. I rented a hairdryer and was told I had to leave a bank card or ID behind reception so I handed over my drivers licence which they have now lost. Staff were unapologetic and made no real effort to look for it. I have had to leave without it now. When I asked for the managers contact details staff didn't even know her full name!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
5.1

Location is the only thing going for this place. Everything else was pretty awful. They are big on rules. Wifi is terrible and not the advertised price. Paying for wifi and luggage store after check out to me are basics that shouldn't be charged for... especially when you step out the door and there is free wifi on the street. It's a big hostel and 3 showers and 3 toilets for an entire floor is not enough. It was fine for a short 2 night stay but any longer and I would have left after 1 night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2016
4.9

Incredibly loud every night from the bar downstairs, do its difficult to sleep until after 3am. The room had a strong smell which I'm fairly sure is from the old carpet. Toilets were fairly dirty and some broken. The staff seemed friendly enough and the location is very central but there's other options around so I'm not sure why you would stay here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
9.1

Friendly staff. Really nice and Cheery. Cheap bar. Good location. Would definitely recommend On negative - Rooms a bit on the small side. Last one to arrive in dorm of six and almost no space for my bag. kitchen fridges absolutely packed. The 5 dollar deposit for cutlery is a huge pain in the arse as you keep returning it and having to get new stuff (wouldn't trust just leaving it in kitchen).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2016
8.0

Really loud every night because of the sound of club under ground.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
8.3

Everything was pleasant except for the cleaner who commences his duties at 7am, puts his earphones in, and whistles loudly enough so that the whole floor can hear him.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
8.0

Location was good if you don't have a car. If you have a car, plan on walking 15 mins to park for free. The rooms were a good set up for the 10 bedders but the beds were squeaky. The hall way light comes through the room, so if you need a black room to sleep plan on brining a face mask.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
5.1

The staff were the only good part about the place. Everything else is falling apart and more than half the machines don't work because they're too old to get parts for. Would not recommend it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
5.4

Old Lift was broken. Bunks are too short for people taller than 175cm. Hardly any ventilation in the bedrooms in what is an old building. Mattress was comfortable. Given the amount of people in each bedroom it would seem overcrowded in the event of a fire. Location is good.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.